DETAILED ACTION
Comment on Preliminary Amendment
A preliminary amendment was filed on 27 August 2024. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-5, 7-11 & 13-21 have been amended, claims 6 & 12 have been cancelled, and claim 22 has been added. Thus, claims 1-5, 7-11 & 13-22 are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following issues:
FIGs. 1A & 1B are grayscale / shaded graphics rather than line drawings.
PCT Rule 11.13a: Drawings shall be executed in durable, black, sufficiently dense and dark, uniformly thick and well-defined, lines and strokes without colorings.
The PCT makes no provision for photographs. While they may be allowed where it is impossible to present in a drawing what is to be shown (for instance, crystalline structures), that is not the case here. [MPEP 1825].
Sheet 5 of the drawings includes an unlabeled partial figure (apparently a detail view of a portion circled in fig. 2D).
FIGs 1A, 1B, 2C, 8F, and the unlabeled partial figure on sheet 5 each include extraneous text matter other than the reference characters.
PCT Rule 11.11: The drawings shall not contain text matter, except a single word or words, when absolutely indispensable, such as "water," "steam," "open," "closed," "section on AB,"…
In this case, the words do not appear to be “absolutely indispensable”.
Figures 2B-F & 8C-F each include specific dimensional callouts which raises several issues.
PCT Rule 11.13(c) requires that, when, in exceptional cases, the scale is given on a drawing, it shall be represented graphically.
In many instances it is unclear if a value is a dimensional callout or a reference number.
PCT Rule 11.13(h):The height of the numbers and letters shall not be less than 0.32 cm.
See also PCT Rules 11.13(a) & (c).
Figure 2D uses a detail callout sign B, Figure 2F uses a detail callout C, and Fig. 2G uses a detail callout which is unreadable. It is unclear what details these callouts refer too. Similarly, figure 8E includes a section view label A (which appears to correspond to fig. 8F’s “SECTION A-A”.. It is unclear if these reference signs are included in the specification as required [PCT Rule 11.11(l)].
Several reference signs are placed over the drawing lines (e.g., “23” in fig. 2C & 24; “64” in fig. 6A, etc.)
Figs. 1A & 1B each show two views.
Sheets 3, 4, 7, 8 & 10 fail to comply with PCT Rule 11.13(j). Different figures on a sheet must be clearly separated from one another.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 14, 17, 19 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brombach (US 4,206,783) in view of Dahlheimer et al. (US 2014/0251442 A1; cited in 27 Aug 2024 IDS; hereafter Dahlheimer).
Regarding claim 1, Brombach discloses (figs. 1-4; see also alt. embodiment in fig. 13) a vortex flow control device (as shown) comprising;
a chamber (1) having a first end (8), a second end (i.e., at 4), an inlet (7) proximal to and/or at the first end, and an outlet (4; see also 37 in fig. 13) proximal to and/or at the second end, the first end and the second end being mutually opposed and the inlet and the outlet being mutually orthogonal (see figs. 1-4 & fig. 13; inlet extending along a vertical axis in figs. 2-4, and along an axis orthogonal to the page in figs. 1, 2, 13, while the outlet extends along a horizontal axis in each of these figures),
the chamber defining a first cylindrical volume (2) proximal to and/or at the first end and the inlet being tangential to the first cylindrical volume (col. 4, lines 36-39: “An inlet nozzle 7…issues tangentially and horizontally into the lowest point of cylindrical section 2”);
the chamber defining a tapered volume (3) disposed between the first cylindrical volume (2) and the outlet (4);
Brombach discloses that the outlet nozzle may take various forms, including tubular / cylindrical (i.e., in figs. 1-4) and a flared / diffuser shape (e.g., figs. 9 & 10), however, Brombach does not explicitly disclose the inlet comprising and/or being a flared inlet and/or the outlet comprising and/or being a tapered outlet.
Dahlheimer teaches (various embodiments in figs. 1-5) a vortex flow control device (1) comprising a chamber (4/5) having a tangential inlet (2) and an axial outlet (3), the inlet and the outlet being mutually orthogonal (see figs. 1-4; para. 26).
Dahlheimer further teaches that the inlet can be a flared / frustoconical inlet (para. 29: “the inlet can widen toward the housing and toward the free space in a conical manner”; see figs. 1-5), which “creates a hydrodynamically favorable arrangement, which can prevent clogging by granules” (para. 30).
Similarly, Dahlheimer teaches that the outlet can be a tapered / frustoconical outlet (para. 33: “the outlet leading away from the housing and from the free space can narrow and, in embodiments, narrow in a conical manner”), explaining that “the conical design of the outlet can offer hydrodynamic advantages preventing the agglomeration of granules in the region of the outlet” (para. 33).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brombach such that the inlet is or comprises a flared inlet (e.g., a conically widening inlet) and such that the outlet is or comprises a tapered outlet (e.g., a conically narrowing outlet), in view of the teachings of Dahlheimer, in order to provide hydrodynamic conditions which prevent clogging or agglomeration of debris / entrained particles at the inlet and outlet (as suggested by Dahlheimer).
Regarding claim 2, with respect to the limitation wherein a ratio of a length of the first cylindrical volume (2) to a length of the tapered volume (3) is in a range from 10 : 1 to 1 : 2, when describing the embodiment shown in figs. 1-4, Brombach explicitly discloses that the ratio of the length of the first cylindrical volume to the length of the tapered volume is “approximately 1:2.5” (col. 4, lines 28-30).
While “approximately 1:2.5” does not fall within the claimed range of “from 10:1 to 1:2”, as set forth in MPEP § 2144.05(I), a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Additionally, in the embodiment of figs. 1-4, having the ratio of approximately 1:2.5, Brombach discloses that the cone angle 2α of the tapered volume is 72°. However, Brombach also discloses that the cone angle may range from approximately 40° to 135° (see published claim 7), and explains that the cone angle may be varied to control the behavior of the device (e.g., a smaller cone angle may provide increased suction force at the outlet due to venturi action, etc.; col. 3, lines 11-19).
As would have been understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, increasing the cone angle above the 72° cone angle used in figs. 1-4 would shorten the length of the tapered volume, while decreasing the cone angle below 72° would increase the length of the tapered volume.
If not already seen as such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brombach (as otherwise modified above) such that a ratio of a length of the first cylindrical volume (2) to a length of the tapered volume (3) is in a range from 10 : 1 to 1 : 2 (e.g., by increasing cone angle) as a matter of routine optimization / experimentation since it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
See also Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."), each cited in MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Finally, it is noted that applicant’s specification does not appear to establish the claimed ranges as critical to achieving an unexpected result. Rather, these ratios are disclosed in the context of “In one example” (see para. 40 of applicant’s specification as published), and appear to be preferences intended to balance the qualities of a conventional radial vortex flow control device with those of a conventional conical vortex flow control device. Applicant’s specification explains that “increasing this ratio above 10:1 tends towards a conventional radial vortex flow control device while decreasing this ratio below 1:2 tends towards a conventional conical vortex flow control device…”. Given the hybrid geometry of the present device, these are reasonably seen as expected, predictable differences, rather than unexpected results.
Examination Note: to promote compact prosecution, alternative grounds of rejection for claim 2 are provided later in this action.
Regarding claim 3, Brombach discloses the additional limitation wherein a ratio of a first cross-sectional area of the tapered volume (3) relatively more proximal the first end (i.e., the cross-sectional area of the first cylindrical volume 2) to a second cross-sectional area of the tapered volume relatively more proximal the second end (i.e., the cross sectional area of the tapered volume adjacent outlet 4) is in a range from 3 : 1 to 5 : 4.
See published claim 8. Brombach discloses that the ratio of the diameter of the outlet nozzle (i.e., the diameter of the tapered volume at the second end) to the largest diameter of the chamber (i.e., the diameter of the tapered volume at the first end / the diameter of the first cylindrical volume) may be “approximately 1:3 to 1:10”. Reversing the ratios to correspond with the order as claimed, Brombach thus discloses that the ratio may be in a range from 3:1 to 10:1, overlapping the claimed range (i.e. at 3:1).
As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05(I), in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
Regarding claim 4, the device of Brombach, as modified above, reads on the additional limitation wherein the first cylindrical volume (2) comprises and/or is a circular cylindrical volume (see figs. 1-4; col. 4, lines 19-24; see also published claim 11).
Regarding claim 5, the device of Brombach, as modified above, reads on the additional limitation wherein the tapered volume (3) comprises and/or is a frustoconical volume (see figs. 1-4; col. 4, lines 19-24; see also published claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, the device of Brombach, as modified above, reads on the additional limitation wherein the first cylindrical volume (2) and the tapered volume (3) are coaxial.
See axis in fig. 1. See col. 4, lines 19-21: “a conical vortex chamber 1 is provide, formed by a flat cylindrical section 2 and the frustum-shaped section 3” and col. 4, lines 30-31: “the longitudinal axis of the axially symmetric vortex chamber 1…”.
Regarding claim 8, Brombach discloses the additional limitation wherein the first cylindrical volume (2) and the outlet (4 / 37) are coaxial.
In particular, while the first embodiment shown in figs. 1-4 is arranged with the axis of the chamber angled relative to the horizontally extending outlet, Brombach also discloses (fig. 13) that the chamber (including the first cylindrical volume) and the outlet may be coaxial (see col. 6, lines 39-45: “In the embodiment…shown in FIG. 13 the vortex chamber has a horizontal configuration. Otherwise the vortex chamber is substantially constructed in the same way as …FIG. 1. Due to the fact that the vortex chamber axis runs horizontally the axes of the vortex chamber 1 and the outlet nozzle 37 coincide”).
Regarding claim 9, the device of Brombach reads on the additional limitation wherein the first cylindrical volume (2) and the tapered volume (3) are mutually adjacent.
Regarding claim 14, the device of Brombach, as modified in view of Dahlheimer for claim 1 above, reads on or otherwise renders obvious the additional limitation wherein the flared inlet comprises and/or is a frustoconical inlet or a bell-mouth inlet (i.e., a frustoconical inlet, which widens in a conical manner, as taught by Dahlheimer).
Regarding claim 17, the device of Brombach, as modified in view of Dahlheimer for claim 1 above, reads on or otherwise renders obvious the additional limitation wherein the tapered outlet comprises and/or is a frustoconical outlet or a bell-mouth outlet (i.e., a frustoconical outlet, which narrows in a conical manner, as taught by Dahlheimer).
Regarding claim 19, Brombach discloses the additional limitation wherein a ratio of a cross-sectional area of the inlet (7) to a cross-sectional area of the outlet (4) is in a range from 5 : 1 to 1 : 5.
When describing the embodiment of figs. 1-4, Brombach discloses that “inlet nozzle 7 has the same internal diameter as outlet nozzle 4” (col. 4, lines 39-41), corresponding to a cross-sectional area ratio of 1:1, which clearly falls within the claimed range.
More broadly, Brombach discloses that the ratio of the internal diameters of the inlet and outlet may be in a range from 1:2 to 2:1, corresponding to a range of area ratios of 1:4 to 4:1, which also lies within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 22, Brombach discloses the additional limitation wherein the tapered volume (3) and the outlet (4 / 37) are coaxial.
In particular, while the first embodiment shown in figs. 1-4 is arranged with the axis of the chamber angled relative to the horizontally extending outlet, Brombach also discloses (fig. 13) that the chamber (including the tapered volume) and the outlet may be coaxial (see col. 6, lines 39-45: “In the embodiment…shown in FIG. 13 the vortex chamber has a horizontal configuration. Otherwise the vortex chamber is substantially constructed in the same way as …FIG. 1. Due to the fact that the vortex chamber axis runs horizontally the axes of the vortex chamber 1 and the outlet nozzle 37 coincide”).
Claims 2, 10 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brombach in view of Dahlheimer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (JP-H10151371-A; hereafter Suzuki).
Citations to the disclosure of Suzuki refer to the corresponding English translation provided with this action.
Regarding claim 2, as previously explained, Brombach discloses that the ratio of the length of the first cylindrical volume to the length of the tapered volume may be “approximately 1:2.5” (col. 4, lines 28-30). However, to promote compact prosecution with respect to the limitation wherein a ratio of a length of the first cylindrical volume to a length of the tapered volume is in a range from 10 : 1 to 1 : 2, the following additional teaching is provided.
Suzuki teaches (fig. 1) a vortex device with a chamber comprising a tangential inlet (4) at a first end, an axial outlet (6) at a second end, a first cylindrical volume (1) at the first end, and a tapered volume (1a) disposed between the first cylindrical volume and the outlet.
Suzuki further teaches that the first cylindrical volume and tapered volume may both have a length 1.5a (i.e., 1.5 x the diameter of the first cylindrical volume).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brombach such that a ratio of a length of the first cylindrical volume to a length of the tapered volume is in a range from 10 : 1 to 1 : 2 (e.g., 1:1), in view of the teachings of Suzuki, as the use of a known technique (i.e., forming a first cylindrical portion and an adjacent tapered volume of a vortex flow device to have equal lengths, as in Suzuki) improve a similar device (i.e., the vortex device of Brombach) in the same way (e.g., providing for a known combination of radial vortex and conical vortex section dimensions to achieve desired pressure drop and/or particle suspension capabilities as may be required for certain applications).
Regarding claims 10 & 11, Brombach does not explicitly disclose the additional limitations wherein the chamber defines a second cylindrical volume proximal to and/or at the second end (claim 10), wherein a ratio of a length of the first cylindrical volume to a length of the second cylindrical volume is in a range from 5 : 1 to 1 : 5 (claim 11).
Suzuki teaches (fig. 1) a vortex device with a chamber comprising a tangential inlet (4) at a first end, an axial outlet (6) at a second end, a first cylindrical volume (1) at the first end, a tapered volume (1a) disposed between the first cylindrical volume and the outlet, and a second cylindrical volume (2) proximal to and/or at the second end.
Suzuki further teaches that the first cylindrical volume may both have a length 1.5a (i.e., 1.5 x the diameter of the first cylindrical volume), while the second cylindrical volume may have a length of ≥0.5a. Thus, Suzuki teaches that a ratio of a length of the first cylindrical volume to a length of the second cylindrical volume should be ≤ 3:1, overlapping the claimed range of “from 5:1 to 1:5”.
Suzuki explains that the length of the second cylindrical volume affects various flow dynamics, including vortex rotational velocity (see pg. 3 “the turning speed in the cyclone is reduced by increasing the height of the second cylindrical portion 2”) and pressure (pg. 4: “the longer the length of the second cylindrical portion is, the higher the pressure is…”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brombach such that the chamber defines a second cylindrical volume proximal to and/or at the second end (as in claim 10), wherein a ratio of a length of the first cylindrical volume to a length of the second cylindrical volume is in a range from 5 : 1 to 1 : 5 (e.g., ≤ 3:1) (as in claim 11), in view of the teachings of Suzuki, in order to alter the flow dynamics of the device (e.g., reducing rotational velocity and/or increasing pressure at the downstream end of the tapered volume) as may be desired for a certain application (e.g., to further reduce tendency to clog by accumulation of sediment, etc.), or otherwise obvious as the use of a known technique (i.e., providing vortex flow control device with a second cylindrical volume downstream of a tapered volume, having a length in a range of ≤3:1 relative to a first cylindrical volume upstream of the tapered volume, as in Suzuki) improve a similar device (i.e., the vortex device of Brombach) in the same way (e.g., as above, providing a means to adjust design pressure and rotational velocity at the downstream end of the device, etc.).
Claims 13 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brombach in view of Dahlheimer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krohn (US 2009/0208271 A1).
Regarding claims 13 & 16, with respect to the limitations wherein the flared inlet comprises and/or is a replaceable inlet (claim 13), and wherein the tapered outlet comprises and/or is a replaceable outlet (claim 16), as set forth in MPEP § 2111.01(I & II), while the claims are interpreted in view of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
In the instant case, the term “replaceable” has an ordinary and customary definition of “capable of being replaced”. Applicant’s specification suggests that the inlet and/or outlet may be replaceable by being “for example a push fit [inlet / outlet], a screw fit [inlet / outlet] or a bayonet fit [inlet / outlet]” (paras. 54 & 56 as published). However, the term “replaceable” is not limited to such constructions in the claims.
In the device of Brombach, as modified above, while Brombach does not specify the materials used, the disclosed structure would reasonably be replaceable by conventional known means. By way of example, if the device were to be formed from metals or plastics, the flared inlet and tapered outlet would be replaceable at least by cutting to remove the original inlet / outlet and reattaching a replacement inlet outlet (e.g. via welding, adhesives, or mechanical means, etc.).
As set forth in MPEP § 2114(II), "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
However, to promote compact prosecution, the following additional teaching is provided.
Krohn teaches (throughout) a modular connector system adapted to be connected to different types and sizes of “ducts (such as a length of pipe or tubing or a container or fitting)” (para. 2). Krohn explains that there are instances where it may be desirable to connect a coupling device to more than one duct having multiple sizes, thread types, or compositions, providing increased flexibility of use, but also may reduce expense (by avoiding the need for multiple combinations of conventional couplers) and/or may enable a user to maintain a smaller inventory of fittings / components on site (para. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brombach (as otherwise modified above) such that the flared inlet comprises and/or is a replaceable inlet (as in claim 13) and such that the tapered outlet comprises and/or is a replaceable outlet (as in claim 16), in view of the teachings of Krohn, to enable a modular assembly wherein the same device chamber may be connected to inlets / outlets of different sizes/connection types/compositions (or the same inlets/outlets may be connected to a chamber of a different size/configuration, etc.), providing increased flexibility of use while reducing the required inventory of unique components needed to cover a particular range of different configurations.
Claims 15 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brombach in view of Dahlheimer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roussel (FR-3003655-A1).
Citations to the disclosure of Roussel refer to the corresponding English translation provided with this action.
Regarding claims 15 & 18, Brombach does not explicitly disclose the additional limitations wherein the flared inlet comprises a set of cutting guides (claim 15), or wherein the tapered outlet comprises a set of cutting guides (claim 18).
Brombach does, however, disclose that the opening area/configuration of the outlet may be adapted to adjust flow (e.g., see replaceable orifice 5 in figs. 1-5 vs flared outlet in fig. 13).
Roussel teaches (figs. 1-3) a flow control device (10) with an inlet (11), an outlet (12) and a fluid receiving chamber (13) therebetween. Roussel further teaches that the inlet and outlet ports may each be molded with different diameter portions (14) to “to allow a connection of the device on water transport circuits of different diameters”, whereby the choice of inlet and outlet diameter to use can be done on-site “by sawing” the connectors on “predefined lines” corresponding to the desired diameters (see pg. 3 of the translation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brombach (as otherwise modified above) such that the flared inlet and tapered outlet each comprises a set of cutting guides (as in claims 15 & 18, respectively), to enable the device to be configurable for use with a range of inlet and outlet sizes, whereby an installer may select the diameters of the inlet and outlet to be used on-site by cutting on the “predefined lines” / ”cutting guides” corresponding to the desired diameters (as suggested by Brombach).
Examination Note: to promote compact prosecution, attention is drawn to US 2,991,625 to Anderson et al., which teaches a conical outlet attached to a pipe via threads, the conical outlet (60) comprising cutting guides (62) “located at specific intervals and marked with figures denoting the specific water flow capacities. The user may cut to the desired line with a pair of tin snips…” (col. 2, lines 39-55; fig. 4).
Claims 20 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brombach in view of Dahlheimer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Adams (US 5,080,137).
Regarding claims 20 & 21, Brombach suggests that the vortex flow control device may be used for “automatic control of discharges and runoffs from storage basins, flood basins, settling tanks and the like” (col. 1, lines 26-31).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood or otherwise reasonably inferred that the vortex flow control device may then form part of a flow control chamber (e.g. storage basin, flood basin, or settling tank) and/or an attenuation tank (e.g., a storage or flood basin), as recited in claims 20 & 21, respectively. However, to promote compact prosecution, the following additional teaching is provided.
Adams teaches (e.g., figs. 1-3) a “catch basin” (21) “for collecting stormwater” comprising a flow control chamber therein (as shown), with a vortex flow control device (30) disposed within the flow control chamber.
Adams explains that attenuation tanks (e.g., catch basins, underground tanks, etc.) are provide to collect stormwater and release the same slowly into a sewage system to prevent flooding events and backups which would otherwise occur if stormwater were to flow into such a system uncontrolled (see col. 3).
Adams explains that “vortex regulators” may be installed in the outlet pipe of these storm sewers and catch basins and are responsive to increase in rate of flow from stormwater run-off, without moving parts and do not require energy or monitoring to operate. When the increased flow causes the vortex spiral, fluid can be discharged at a controlled rate. Adams teaches that such vortex devices can cope with debris which would ordinarily clog a conventional control valve, and the vortex action provides increased fluid velocity which pulls the debris, so the sewer is also not clogged (see cols. 1 & 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vortex flow control device of Brombach (as modified in the grounds of rejection for claim 1 above) in a flow control chamber (as in claim 20) and/or in an attenuation tank (as in claim 21), in view of the teachings of Adams, as a combination of known prior art elements (i.e., an attenuation tank / flow control chamber for regulating stormwater release, as taught by Adams, with a vortex flow control device, as taught by Brombach in view of Dahlheimer) according to known methods (Adams teaches providing such a vortex flow control device within an attenuation tank / flow control chamber) to obtain predictable results (e.g., regulating outflow from the stormwater attenuation tank without moving parts or power, and providing a vortexing outflow in high-flow situations to mitigate against clogging by debris, as suggested by the combination of Brombach and Adams).
It is noted that Adams explicitly recognized the original form of Brombach (US 4,206,783) as a prior art vortex flow control device which is “very reliable” and capable of handling “much coarse contaminant matter and solids”, but sought to improve upon this prior art design to avoid the need for custom sizing / to permit mass production (see col. 1, line 67 – col. 2, line 41).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the attached PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Richard K. Durden/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753