Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4,13,19-22 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feit et al (2024/0129987) in view of Lacroix (2014/0208204) and further in view of Alcaide et al (US 12,001,602 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Feit teaches a computing device (Feit: Figs. 1-2, 5-7B, para 0003-0021) for controlling a touchscreen (Feit: Figs. 1-2, 5-7B, para 0003-0021, touch screen), the computing device comprising processing circuitry causing the computing device to become operative to (Feit: Figs. 1-2, 5-7B, para 0005-0020, a processor): display a plurality of user-interface, UI, elements on the touchscreen (Feit: Figs. 1-2, 5-7B, and para 0004-0021, a number of icons), acquire information pertaining to a point of gaze of a user gazing at the touchscreen from a gaze detector (Feit: para 0025 - 0031 and Fig. 1, gaze-tracking or eye tracking info is detected), select at least one of the displayed UI elements based on the point of gaze (Feit: abstract and Fig. 6, entrance/exit zones and icon selection when gaze enters the entrance zone is
disclosed.); notifying a user when one of the displayed UI elements is selected (Feig: abstract and Fig. 6, indicate icon is selected 72).
Feit does not explicitly teach a haptic touchscreen and controlling the haptic touchscreen to render the selected UI elements haptically distinguishably from the other UI elements by causing a difference in at least one of: texture, friction, force, or vibration. Lacroix teaches a haptic touchscreen and controlling the haptic touchscreen to render the selected UI elements haptically distinguishably from the other UI elements by causing a difference in at least one of: texture, friction, force, or vibration (Lacroix: Figs 2-4, 17 and abstract, assigning different texture/haptic intensities at different locations of the display such as bitmap/masks is disclosed, which corresponds to rendering one region differently than another. Also, Fig. 12 shows a communication widget texture mask for a text and buttons and edge map.)
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of an input device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feit in view of the teachings of Lacroix so as to output a haptic effect (e.g., different friction/texture/vibration) on the selected icon region as the indication/notification of selection while leaving non-selected UI elements at a baseline haptic state and to provide an improved computing system with a confirmatory tactile feedback and decreased visual load in vehicle systems.
However, Feit in view Lacroix fail to teach wherein a number of the selected UI elements decreases with an increasing fixation duration of the user's gaze at the touchscreen, Alcaide teaches see figs 3A-3C paragraph 0061 ( FIGS. 3A-3E illustrates an example user interaction with the hybrid BCI system 100, according to an embodiment. In this example, the hybrid BCI system 100 is being used to spell words in a two-step process, and the display 106 presents several a UI 371 sub-groupings of characters (e.g., letters, numbers and symbols commonly found on a keyboard) in FIG. 3A. The user wears a video based eye-tracker 102 and a neural recording headset 104, shown in FIG. 3C. When the user focuses their gaze on a sub-group containing the desired letter (e.g., the sub-group indicated by the highlighted circle in FIG. 3A), the UI 371 presented in the display 106 changes to that shown in FIG. 3B where focused sub-group is magnified.)
Feit, Lacroix and Alcaide are analogous art thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feit and Lacroix in view of teaching of Alcaide reducing the size of highlighted UI elements(narrowing a selection by gaze based on duration of fixation) as the user keeps looking at the same place and making the haptic guidance more focused.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches operative to select at least one of the displayed UI elements based on respective distances of the displayed UI elements from the point of gaze (Feit: para [0015] - [0020] and Figs. 5 - 6, entrance/exit zones radial (distance-based) areas around elements; selection is based upon whether the gazing position falls within the distance thresholds).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches operative to select at least one of the displayed UI elements based on the selected at least one UI element being displayed within a partial area of the touchscreen, the partial area encompassing the point of gaze (Feit: para [0015] - [0020] and Figs. 5 - 6, entrance/exit zones; the entrance zone is exactly such a partial area.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches operative to select at least one of the displayed UI elements and control the touchscreen to render the selected UI elements haptically distinguishably from the other UI elements in response to one or more of: detecting that the user is gazing at the touchscreen Feit: para [0015] - [0020] and Figs. 5 - 6 and abstract, see also Lacroix), detecting a touch input to the touchscreen, detecting that an object is approaching the touchscreen, and determining that the point of gaze is substantially stable.
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches operative to control the touchscreen to render the selected UI elements haptically distinguishably from the other UI elements by rendering the selected UI elements with haptic properties different from haptic properties used for rendering the other UI elements (Lacroix: see at least Figs.12a, 12b and 12c see also Alcaide figs 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches operative to control the touchscreen to render the selected UI elements haptically distinguishably from the other UI elements by haptically rendering the selected UI elements but not haptically rendering the other UI elements (Lacroix: see at least Figs. 12a, 12b and 12c and see also Alcaide figs 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 21, the combination teaches the haptic touchscreen being comprised in a vehicle (Feit: para [0015] - [0020] and Figs. 5 - 6 and abstract, see also Lacroix).
Regarding claims 22 and 45, the claims are similarly rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feit et al (2024/0129987) in view of Lacroix (2014/0208204) further in view of Alcaide et al (US 12,001,602 B2) and further in view of Harris et al (US 2006/0036965)
Regarding claim 6, the combination does not explicitly teach operative to select at least one additional of the displayed UI elements based on a spatial arrangement of the displayed UI elements. Harris teaches operative to select at least one additional of the displayed UI elements based on a spatial arrangement of the displayed UI elements (Harris: Figs. 2-4; para [0006] - [001O], and [0018] - [0029], spatially displayed logical groups of controls under a selected tab and the groups are contiguous labeled sections, see also font, clipboard, etc). They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feit ,Lacroix and Alcaide in view of the teachings of Harris so as to provide the predictable result of faster, safer target acquisition in Feit while preserving Lacroix's and Alcaide’s confirmation.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches operative to select at least one additional of the displayed UI elements based on the selected at least one UI element and the at least one additional UI element being arranged as a group of UI elements
(Harris: Figs. 2-4; para [0006] - [001O], and [0018] - [0029], spatially displayed logical
groups of controls under a selected tab and the groups are contiguous labeled sections, see also font, clipboard, etc).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches operative to select at least one
additional of the displayed UI elements based on related functionality which is controlled by the selected at least one UI element and the at least one additional UI element (Harris: Figs. 2-4; para [0006]- [0035], see also font, clipboard, etc; each logical grouping is associated with a subset of functionalities associated with the selected tab.
For exam pie, related functions controlled by the controls in that grouping).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches operative to select at least one additional of the displayed UI elements based on an actuation of a displayed UI element by the user (Harris: Figs. 2-4; para [0006]- [0035], collapsed group: if a group is collapsed into a single selectable control, upon receiving a selection of the single selectable control, showing a menu under the logical grouping).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feit et al (2024/0129987) in view of Lacroix (2014/0208204) further in view of Alcaide et al (US 12,001,602 B2) and further in view of Small et al (2011/0082620)
Regarding claim 10, Feit, Lacroix and Alcaide does not explicitly teach wherein the context information comprises at least one of: weather conditions, ambient noise, road conditions, traffic conditions, a current configuration of a vehicle, or a number of passengers in a vehicle.
Small teaches wherein the context information comprises at least one of: weather conditions, ambient noise, road conditions, traffic conditions, a current configuration of a vehicle, or a number of passengers in a vehicle (Small: para 0030-0040, a means for a vehicle user interface to actively adopt to changing conditions, thereby providing the user with a safe, more intuitive, easier-to-user interface and the conditions comprise weather such as rain, fog, snow sleet, etc).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feil, Lacroix and Alcaide in view of the teachings of Small so as to actively adopt to changing conditions, thereby providing the user with a safe, more intuitive, easier-to-user interface (para 0031).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feit et al (2024/0129987) in view of Lacroix (2014/0208204) further in view of Alcaide et al (US 12,001,602 B2 )and Further in view of Rudchenko et al (2021/0318794)
Regarding claim 11, the combination does not explicitly teach operative to adjust one or more of: a size of the selected UI element(s), and a haptic contrast between the selected UI element( s) and the other UI elements, based on a duration of time the user gazes at the touchscreen. Rudchenko teaches operative to adjust one or more of: a size of the selected UI element(s), and a haptic contrast between the selected UI element( s) and the other UE elements, based on a duration of time the user gazes at the touchscreen (Fig. 12 and see also Rudchenko and Alcaide figs 3A-3C).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention
of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feit, Lacroix and Alcaide in view of the teachings of Rudchenko so as to achieve the predictable result improvements (more clear feedback, fewer false positives).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches operative to re-select at least one of the displayed UI elements based on a change in the point of gaze (Feit: Figs. 5-7, Lacroix: Fig. 12 and see also Rudchenko, for example, entrance/exit corresponds to select/deselect).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feit et al (2024/0129987) in view of Lacroix (2014/0208204) further in view of Alcaide et al (US 12,001,602 B2) and further in view of Arrasvuori et al (US 2012/0068941)
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 (gaze detect/stop and rendering), with the exception of the concept of approaching/hovering detection prior to touch.
Arrasvuori teaches the concept of approaching/hovering detection prior to touch (Arrasvuori: abstract and Figs. 1-2 and related descriptions, hovering object is detected). They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feit, Lacroix and Alcaide in view of the teachings of Arrasvuori so as to improve the functionality of the touch screens although hands are not touching the input surfaces.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feit et al (2024/0129987) in view of Lacroix (2014/0208204) further in view of Alcaide et al (US 12001602) and further in view of Levesque et al (9,196,134)
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 15,
with the exception of the concept ceasing haptic effect after a predetermined time.
the concept ceasing haptic effect after a predetermined time (Levesque: Fig. 5, a haptic effect that is localized in time or space (e.g., a brief, abrupt pulse) may be generated to simulate an edge or detent. For example, FIG. 5 illustrates a localized haptic effect based on impulse signal 225. As an object is detected to be at or to cross x.sub.O on surface 110, the haptic effect may be generated to simulate crossing of an edge or detent located at x.sub.O. The localized haptic effect may cease once the object moves away from x.sub.O or after a predetermined amount of time has passed since the object passed position x.sub.O. For example, a haptic effect may last for 20 msec after the object passes position x.sub.O.).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feit, Lacroix and Alcaide in view of the teachings of Levesque so as to achieve the predictable result/ improvements (an input device with haptic effects).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feit et al (2024/0129987) in view of Lacroix (2014/0208204) further in view of Alcaide et al (US 12,001,602 B2) and further in view of Eden et al (us 2014/0361996)
Regarding claim 16, the combination does not explicitly teach operative to correct the point of gaze by a gaze-point offset determined based on preceding touch inputs received by the touchscreen. Eden teaches correct the point of gaze by a gaze-point offset determined based on preceding touch inputs (Eden: para 0015 - 0020, the eye tracking system may be calibrated to determine a correction). They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify Feit and Lacroix in view of the teachings of Eden so as to provide an improved user input mechanism for a computing system equipped with eye tracking calibration method.
Claim(s) 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feit et al (2024/0129987) in view of Lacroix (2014/0208204) further in view of Alcaide et al (US 12,001,602 B2) further in view of Chew et al (US 2004/0075695)
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 (Feit, Lacroix and Alcaide teach the concept of first touch; second touch actuates UI; if within time and distance thresholds), with the exception of the concept of displaying actuated UI at the first position. Chew teaches the concept of displaying actuated UI at the first position (Chew: para 0005 - 0015 and Figs. 4-8, context UI and pop-out appear where first interaction occurred; also shows dismissal/selection characteristics).
They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a
display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feit ,Lacroix and Alcaide in view of the teachings of Chew so as to provide an improved user input mechanism for a computing system that allows users to activate the full ''card'' for an entry using one gesture on a button while also giving the user the ability to reach a menu of context dependent commands using a second gesture on a button. In particular, the present invention recognizes certain button inputs as context menu gestures. When these gestures are made, a context menu appears. The user is then able to select a comm and in the context menu that is to be performed. The present invention also allows a user to open context menus while only using one hand to operate and hold the device.
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches wherein the first touch input triggers an action, the computing device being further operative to detect that the user reverses the action triggered by the first touch input before the second touch input is received (Chew: para 0005 - 0015 and Figs. 4-8, context menu dismiss on outside touch, e.g., reverses opening action, and temporary previews).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626