DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 59-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. (US 20230209538 A1).
Considering claim 59, Cirik teaches a method performed by a communication device (1701, Fig.17) configured for use in a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, for each of one or more uplink channels or signals (Fig.17, [0227] one or more configuration parameters may be sent/received in one or more messages 1710), a configuration that indicates with which of multiple activated unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) states the uplink channel or signal is associated (Fig.17-20, [0227]-[0228] plurality of TCI states may comprise TCI state 1, TCI state 2, . . . , TCI state M, [0391] messages indicating activation of at least two TCI states);
determining, for each of the one or more uplink channels or signals ([0881] base station may receive, via the at least one PUCCH resource and based on the one or more TCI states indicated by the unified TCI state index, an uplink signal), a spatial filter for the uplink channel or signal based on one or more activated unified TCl states that are associated with the uplink channel or signal according to the configuration received for that uplink channel or signal ([0870], [0881] receiving the uplink signal using a spatial filter associated with the one or more TCI states, [0882]); and
transmitting the one or more uplink channels or signals using the one or more spatial filters determined for the one or more uplink channels or signals (Fig.17-20, [0881] receiving the uplink signal using a spatial filter associated with the one or more TCI states, [0882]).
Considering claim 68, Cirik teaches a method performed by a network node configured for use in a communication network, the method comprising:
transmitting (1710, Fig.17), to a communication device, for each of one or more uplink channels or signals, a configuration that indicates with which of multiple activated (two TCI states are activated) unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) states the uplink channel or signal is associated (Fig.17-20, [0004], [0227] sent/received in one or more messages 1710, [0391]).
Considering claim 77, Cirik teaches a communication device configured for use in a communication network (1701, Fig.17), the communication device comprising:
communication circuitry (1502, Fig.15A); and
processing circuitry configured to:
receive, for each of one or more uplink channels or signals (Fig.17, [0227] one or more configuration parameters may be sent/received in one or more messages 1710), a configuration that indicates with which of multiple activated unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) states the uplink channel or signal is associated (Fig.17-20, [0227]-[0228] plurality of TCI states may comprise TCI state 1, TCI state 2, . . . , TCI state M, [0391] messages indicating activation of at least two TCI states);
determine, for each of the one or more uplink channels or signals ([0881] base station may receive, via the at least one PUCCH resource and based on the one or more TCI states indicated by the unified TCI state index, an uplink signal), a spatial filter for the uplink channel or signal based on one or more activated unified TCl states that are associated with the uplink channel or signal according to the configuration received for that uplink channel or signal ([0870], [0881] receiving the uplink signal using a spatial filter associated with the one or more TCI states, [0882]); and
transmit the one or more uplink channels or signals using the one or more spatial filters determined for the one or more uplink channels or signals (Fig.17-20, [0881] receiving the uplink signal using a spatial filter associated with the one or more TCI states, [0882]).
Considering claim 85, Cirik teaches a network node configured for use in a communication network (1504, Fig.15A), the network node comprising:
communication circuitry (Fig.15A); and
processing circuitry transmit (1710, Fig.17), to a communication device, for each of one or more uplink channels or signals, a configuration that indicates with which of multiple activated (two TCI states are activated) unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) states the uplink channel or signal is associated (Fig.17-20, [0004], [0227] sent/received in one or more messages 1710, [0391]).
Considering claims 60, 69, 78, Cirik teaches wherein the configuration for each uplink channel or signal includes a TCl state pointer that points to one or more of the multiple activated unified TCl states with which the uplink channel or signal is associated (Fig.17-20, [0227], [0391]).
Considering claims 61, 70, 79, Cirik teaches receiving/transmitting activation signaling that activates the multiple unified TCl states, wherein the activation signaling associates the multiple activated unified TCl states with respective indices or identifiers (Fig.17-20, [0227]-[0229]), wherein the TCl state pointer included in the configuration for each uplink channel or signal points to one or more activated unified TCl states by pointing to the one or more indices or identifiers associated with the one or more activated unified TCl states (Fig.17-20, [0227]-[0229]).
Considering claims 62, 71, 80, Cirik teaches wherein the multiple activated unified TCl states includes first and second activated unified TCl states ([0227]-[0229]), wherein the activation signaling associates the first and second activated unified TCl states with first and second identifiers, respectively, wherein the TCl state pointer included in the configuration for at least one uplink channel or signal points to the first activated unified TCl state or the second activated unified TCl state by pointing to the first identifier or the second identifier (Fig.17, [0229], [0393]-[0394]).
Considering claims 63, 72, 81, Cirik teaches wherein the multiple indicated unified TCl states includes first and second indicated unified TCl states ([0229]), wherein the activation signaling associates the first and second indicated unified TCl states with first and second identifiers, respectively, wherein the TCl state pointer included in the configuration for at least one uplink channel or signal points to the first indicated unified TCl state and/or the second indicated unified TCl state by pointing to the first identifier, the second identifier, or both the first identifier and the second identifier (Fig.17, [0229], [0393]-[0394]).
Considering claims 64, 73, 82, Cirik teaches wherein the multiple indicated unified TCl states includes first and second indicated unified TCl states ([0229]), wherein the activation signaling associates the first and second indicated unified TCl states with first and second identifiers, respectively, wherein a field in Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling indicates to which of the first identifier and the second identifier the TCl state pointer included in the configuration for at least one uplink channel or signal points (Fig.17, [0229], [0393]-[0394]).
Considering claims 65, 74, 83, Cirik teaches wherein the activation signaling is Medium Access Control (MAC) signaling ([0393]).
Considering claims 66, 75, 84 Cirik teaches wherein the multiple activated unified TCl states are associated with multiple respective transmission reception points (TRPs) ([0205], [0434]).
Considering claims 67, 76, Cirik teaches wherein said receiving comprises receiving, for each of one or more uplink channels, a configuration that indicates with which of multiple activated unified TCl states the uplink channel is associated, wherein the one or more uplink channels include an uplink data channel (Fig.17-20, [0227], [0391]).
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641