CTNF 18/842,168 CTNF 84410 DETAILED ACTION Status of Case 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 8/28/2024. Claims 29-48 are pending, with claims 1-28 being cancelled. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 9/18/2024 and 2/23/2026 have been considered by Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 29, 35, and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (USPAN 2020/0037343) in view of Cao (USPAN 2021/0051525) . Consider claims 29 and 43, He discloses an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor (see figures 1-3, wherein disclosed is said apparatus which comprises said processor and memory) , and a corresponding method (see paragraphs 244-245, wherein disclosed is said method) , cause the apparatus to: perform, by a user equipment, sensing of reserved resources in both a first sidelink radio access technology resource pool and a second sidelink radio access technology resource pool; based on the sensing, form at least one candidate resource set identifying all resources that are free to be used by the first radio access technology resource pool, based on an indication that these are not being used for transmission by at least one other user equipment of the second sidelink radio access technology resource pool; identify for each of the resources in the at least one candidate resource set corresponding resources to be used for a physical sidelink feedback channel of the first sidelink radio access technology resource pool (see paragraphs 244-245: “If different SCSs and TTI durations are configured for different resource pools, there is a benefit that when one SCI in one resource pool schedules a PSSCH in another resource pool the UE only needs to monitor the resource pool where the SCI resides. Another benefit is SCI resources can be configured with a resource pool in a frequency resource band with higher reliability. There is no SCI format to support this requirement. Therefor there is a need to specify the SCI format in order to support different SCSs and TTI durations between PSSCH and PSCCH resource pools.” “There is a NR V2X requirement for support of Uu-based sidelink resource allocation/configuration with LTE Uu and NR Uu to control NR sidelink and NR Uu to control LTE sidelink. Therefore, there is a need to specify an LTE DCI format to support over NR sidelink from the LTE network.”; also, see paragraphs 348-349: “In one embodiment, PSFCH resource is selected randomly from available PSFCH resources within selection window in the PSFCH resource pool. In another embodiment, PSFCH resource is selected randomly from available PSFCH resources within selection window in the PSFCH resource pool after resource exclusion. Resource exclusion is performed by excluding PSFCH resources from decoded SCI or reservation signal within sensing window that indicates the associated PSFCH resource.”) ; based on the sensing, exclude from the at least one candidate resource set all the resources for which the physical sidelink feedback channel resource is identified to be reserved for the transmission by the at least one other user equipment of the second sidelink radio access technology resource pool; and select a resource to be used for the transmission of a physical sidelink control channel and physical sidelink shared channel from the at least one candidate resource set (see paragraphs 299-303: “At least two sidelink resource allocation modes are defined for NR-V2X sidelink communication. In one example of mode 1, a base station schedules sidelink resource(s) to be used by UE for sidelink transmission(s). In one example of mode 2, a UE determines (i.e., base station does not schedule) sidelink transmission resource(s) within sidelink resources configured by base station/network or pre-configured sidelink resources. It is noted that eNB control of NR sidelink and gNB control of LTE sidelink resources may be separately considered in corresponding agenda items. It is noted that mode-2 definition covers potential sidelink radio-layer functionality or resource allocation sub-modes (subject to further refinement including merging of some or all of them) where: a UE autonomously selects sidelink resource for transmission; a UE assists sidelink resource selection for other UE(s); a UE is configured with NR configured grant (type-1 like) for sidelink transmission; and a UE schedules sidelink transmissions of other UEs. The following is applied to the case where time/frequency relationship between PSCCH/PSSCH and the associated PSFCH is flexible. If a reservation signal is sent a few slots prior to transmissions to indicate a reserved PSCCH/PSSCH resource for the transmission, the associated PSFCH resource is indicated by the reservation signal. When another UE decodes the reservation signal, and find resources for PSFCH indicated by the reservation signal conflicts with resources this another UE selects, this another UE may reselect the resources. The resources indicated for the PSFCH may be both/either time and/or frequency domain. In time domain, the indication may be an offset to the time slot of the reservation signal or the transmission resource. FIG. 1 below shows an example where a reservation signal indicates both the resources for PSFCH and PSCCH/PSSCH”; see paragraph 344: “The following is applied to the case where time/frequency relationship between PSCCH/PSSCH and the associated PSFCH is flexible. PSFCH resource needs to be allocated dynamically and indicated in the SCI. For a case where multiple PSFCHs are multiplexed in a same time-frequency resource, e.g., CDMed/FDMed/TDMed by multiple PSFCHs, resource selection in additional domain needs to be performed. For resource allocation for this additional domain, the following is also applied to the case where time/frequency relationship between PSCCH/PSSCH and the associated PSFCH is fixed.” See paragraphs 348-349: “In one embodiment, PSFCH resource is selected randomly from available PSFCH resources within selection window in the PSFCH resource pool. In another embodiment, PSFCH resource is selected randomly from available PSFCH resources within selection window in the PSFCH resource pool after resource exclusion. Resource exclusion is performed by excluding PSFCH resources from decoded SCI or reservation signal within sensing window that indicates the associated PSFCH resource.”) . PNG media_image1.png 486 662 media_image1.png Greyscale Although He discloses excluding from at least one candidate resource set all the resources identified to be reserved for transmission by at least one other user equipment (see above) , Cao is relied on to more explicitly disclose this. Cao discloses excluding from at least one candidate resource set all the resources identified to be reserved for transmission by at least one other user equipment (see paragraph 46: Resource Indication Procedure: Regarding the resource indication procedure, each UE uses the default or preconfigured initial transmission parameter set in the initialization procedure to transmit an indication signal in a SL channel, such as a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), to indicate reserved transmission resources to other UEs. In example embodiments, each reserved transmission resource is associated with a priority indicator that indicates a priority value of the reservation (e.g. as noted above, the priority value depends on the type of transmission that the reservation is being made in respect of). In this regard, in example embodiments the indication signal sent by a UE includes a resource indication that identifies the transmission resources the UE is reserving, as well as a priority indicator for the resource reservation. UE's that detect and receive the indication signal can determine, based on the information included in the reservation indication and priority identifier, what transmission resources to exclude from a pool of candidate resources in order to mitigate against collisions; also, see paragraph 9: The present disclosure provides methods and systems for selecting resources at a sensing UE based on a priority of a packet which will be transmitted by a transmitting UE. The priority of the packet to be transmitted by the transmitting UE is indicated in an indication signal. A sensing UE may determine whether to consider a resource reservation by the transmitting UE by calculating a priority value for the resource reservation that depends on the type of transmission that the resource reservation is being made in respect of. If the sensing UE determines that the resource reservation is to be considered, resources for a transmission by the sensing UE will be selected to avoid potential collision with resources reserved for the indicated reservation type. Such a method may help to reduce potential collisions between the SL data retransmissions of different UEs and may enable the latency to be lower in V2X transmissions.) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of He and combine it with the noted teachings of Cao. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for selecting resources at a sensing UE based on a priority of a packet which will be transmitted by a transmitting UE (see paragraphs 1 and 9 of Cao) . Consider claim 35, He discloses that the transmission of the at least one other user equipment of the second sidelink radio access technology resource pool is a cooperative awareness message (see paragraph 108: The two primary standardized messages for V2V/V2I communication are the periodic beacons called cooperative awareness messages (CAM) and the event-triggered warning messages, called decentralized environment notification messages (DENM). The CAMs are periodically broadcasted beacons used to maintain awareness of the surrounding vehicles. These messages are sent with an adaptive frequency of 1-10 Hz. The CAMs include information such as position, type and direction.) . Consider claim 42, He discloses that the first sidelink radio access technology resource pool and the second sidelink radio access technology resource pool overlap each other in at least one of time or frequency (see paragraphs 154-157 and 165-171 and 377-379: overlapped resources either in the time or frequency domain) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 30-34, 36-41, and 45-48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jamal Javaid whose telephone number is 571-270-5137 and email address is Jamal.Javaid@uspto.gov. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /JAMAL JAVAID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/842,168 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/842,168 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412