Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2022 105 066.1, filed on 3/3/22.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/3/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2018/0164350) in view of Givens et al. (US 2010/0214094). (“Thompson” and “Givens”).
6. Regarding claim 1, Thompson teaches A portable voltage detector [Figures 1-11, a portable voltage detector is shown], comprising a housing (106), a sensor circuit (110) accommodated in the housing (106) for detecting electric fields (501) within a detection range (109) of the portable voltage detector (100) [Figures 1-2, 7-8, a housing 800, a sensor circuit 102 is shown for detecting electric fields (FS)], an evaluation unit (112) accommodated in the housing (106) for evaluating the detected electric fields, the evaluation unit (112) being connected to the sensor circuit (110) [Figures 1-2, 7-8, an evaluation unit 106 (108/110) is shown accommodated in the housing for evaluating the detecting electric fields], a warning device (104) which is connected to the evaluation unit (112) and set up to output a warning signal if the strength of an electric field (501) detected by the sensor circuit (110) reaches or exceeds a warning threshold [Figures 1-2, 7-8, a warning device 112 is shown connected to the evaluation unit is shown], a wireless communication interface (122) which is connected to the evaluation unit (112) and configured to receive a setting signal for determining the warning threshold [Figures 1-2, 7-8, a wireless communication interface BT is taught to receive a setting signal], and a voltage source (124) connected to the sensor circuit (110) and to the communication interface (122) [Figures 1-2, 7-8, a voltage source is taught, a battery pack, see P(0065)].
Thompson does not explicitly teach the voltage source (124) being configured to be charged by means of a unit (400) for inductive charging.
However, Givens teaches the voltage source (124) being configured to be charged by means of a unit (400) for inductive charging [Figure 7, P(0063) teaches inductive charging of the battery using external source/unit].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Thompson with Givens. Doing so would allow Thompson to use inductive charging to charge the voltage source which can help obtain distance flexibility between elements.
7. Regarding claim 2, Thompson teaches the portable voltage detector (100) having only a single manual control element (101), the single manual control element (101) being configured to set the evaluation unit (112), in particular to set the warning threshold and/or to control an output of the evaluation unit (112) [Figures 1-2, 7-8, manual control element 210 is shown, see P(0043, 0063)].
8. Regarding claim 3, Thompson teaches the sensor circuit (110) comprising a sensor element (108) for detecting electric fields (501) and an amplifier circuit (114) connected in series to the sensor element (108) [Figures 1-2, 7-8, the sensor circuit 102 comprises a sensor element 202 for detecting electric fields and an amplifier circuit 206 is shown]
9. Regarding claim 4, Thompson teaches the amplifier circuit (114) comprising a voltage divider (130) having a preamplification function [Figures 1-2, 7-8, see amplifier circuit 206].
10. Regarding claim 5, Thompson teaches the sensor circuit (110) comprising an operational amplifier circuit (116) which has a low-pass filter (144) and is arranged between the voltage divider (130) and the evaluation unit (112) [Figure 1-2, 7-8, the sensor circuit 102 comprises an amplifier circuit 206 and LPF 204].
11. Regarding claim 6, Thompson teaches the evaluation unit (112) being formed by a microcontroller and the microcontroller being in particular set up to switch between a sleep mode and an operating mode, the microcontroller either switching periodically between the sleep mode and the operating mode and, only in the operating mode, comparing a measured value of the sensor element (108), which is processed by the sensor circuit (110), with the warning threshold and, when the warning threshold is reached or exceeded, transmitting an activating signal to the warning device (104), or the microcontroller switching from the sleep mode to the operating mode if a comparator arranged upstream of the microcontroller determines that the warning threshold has been reached, and sending an activating signal to the warning device (104) in the operating mode [Figures 1-2, 7-8, P(0046, 0085-0088) teaches functioning of microcontroller 210].
12. Regarding claim 7, Thompson teaches the sensor circuit (110) comprising an attenuation element (148) which is connected upstream of the amplifier circuit (132) [See Figures 1-2, 7-8, LPF 204 is shown connected to the amp circuit 206].
13. Regarding claim 8, Thompson teaches the attenuation element (148) having no influence on the measurement signal generated by the sensor element (108) in a first operating mode and attenuating the measurement signal generated by the sensor element (108) in a second operating mode [Figures 1-2, 7-8, P(0044) teaches LPF 44 and operating modes].
14. Regarding claim 9, Thompson teaches the attenuation element (108) generating, in a third operating mode, a test signal which is independent of the sensor element (108) and by means of which the operativeness of the sensor circuit (110) can be checked [Figures 1-2, 7-8, P(0044) teaches LPF 44 and operating modes].
15. Regarding claim 10, Thompson teaches A system for warning of voltage hazards comprising a portable voltage detector (100) according to claim 1 and a mobile device (201), the mobile device (201) being configured to exchange data with the wireless communication interface (122) of the portable voltage detector (100) [Figures 1-2, 7-8, a mobile device (cellphone) to exchange data via BT is taught, see P(0045, 0095)].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Casillas (US 2021/0199699), Figures 1-9 shows a voltage sensing glove assembly comprising communication system, voltage sensors, alert system and so on.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858