Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh et al. (US 2006/0200688 A1) in view of Batzler et al. (US 2013/0193757 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 14, Tofigh teaches a power distribution system comprising two or more solid-state power controllers (SSPCs) configured to regulate power between an input power source and two or more loads, wherein Tofigh teaches a power distribution system including a generator, power supplies, SSPCs, and loads, and teaches that “The SSPCs control the supply of power to loads” (paras 0047, Fig. 1). Tofigh further teaches that a number of SSPCs can be grouped together in a power distribution assembly and that the SSPCs switch power to “supply and remove power from specified loads” (para 0048).
Tofigh teaches each of the two or more SSPCs is coupled to a different load, wherein Fig. 1 shows multiple SSPCs, each coupled between a respective power supply and a respective load, and Tofigh teaches that the SSPCs control the supply of power to loads (para 0047, Fig. 1).
Tofigh teaches a controller coupled to the two or more SSPCs, wherein Tofigh teaches that “a single device such as a microcontroller can be used to coordinate the operational characteristics of each of the SSPCs” (para 0047). Tofigh further teaches a system including “a microcontroller 100 that is connected to a number of SSPCs 16” via a bus (para 0060, Fig. 5).
Tofigh teaches the controller receives feedback data from at least one of the input power source or the two or more loads, wherein Tofigh teaches that each SSPC monitors the supplied power using current sensing circuitry and voltage sensing circuitry, and that the SSPC can transmit information including “the status of the SSPC and the characteristics of the power being supplied via the SSPC” (paras 0052, 0059). Tofigh further teaches reading load current, updating accumulated load current, determining whether an overcurrent fault has occurred, and removing power from the load when a fault is detected (paras 0071-0073).
Tofigh does not expressly teach the controller receiving performance specifications associated with the two or more loads and directing the SSPCs to connect or disconnect the loads based on feedback data to achieve the performance specifications.
Batzler teaches receiving performance specifications associated with the two or more loads, wherein Batzler teaches assigning priority values to electric loads and using priority assignment programs to define the order in which loads are shed (paras 0009-0011, 0033-0043). Batzler teaches that loads are assigned priority values between a highest priority and a lowest priority, and that the priority values may be reassigned based on user input or predefined priority assignment programs (paras 0011, 0033-0043).
Batzler further teaches directing switches to disconnect and connect the loads based on the feedback data to achieve the performance specifications, wherein Batzler teaches that the control unit monitors the load on the generator and begins disconnecting electric loads when the combined load approaches the rating for the generator, based on the assigned priority values, until the combined load falls below the generator rating (paras 0010, 0029-0030, 0045-0047). Batzler further teaches reconnecting loads when generator capacity is available, by closing relays in reverse priority order and closing the highest priority open circuit when possible (paras 0031, 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tofigh’s power distribution system having a controller connected to multiple SSPCs with Batzler’s priority-based load shedding and reconnection control logic, so that Tofigh’s controller directs the SSPCs to disconnect lower-priority loads and reconnect higher-priority loads based on monitored load/source feedback. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the combination to prevent overloading the input power source while maintaining power to higher-priority loads according to assigned performance/priority requirements, as taught by Batzler (paras 0004, 0010, 0030, 0050).
Regarding claim 2 and 15, Batzler teaches the two or more SSPCs include at least a first SSPC providing a first performance specification and a second SSPC providing a second performance specification, wherein the first performance specification is stricter than the second performance specification, wherein Batzler teaches assigning priority values to each electric load between a highest priority value and a lowest priority value (paras 0009-0011). Batzler teaches that “the circuit assigned priority value 1 has the highest priority,” and when the generator load approaches the generator rating, the system disconnects lower-priority loads before higher-priority loads “to ensure that the generator can continue to provide power to the highest priority loads connected to the generator” (para 0004). Thus, the higher-priority load has a stricter performance specification than the lower-priority load because the system maintains power to the higher-priority load while disconnecting the lower-priority load during limited power conditions.
Batzler further teaches directing the second SSPC to disconnect an attached one of the two or more loads based on the feedback data to achieve the first performance specification with the first SSPC when the input power source has insufficient capacity to power first and second loads, wherein Batzler teaches that the control unit monitors the load on the generator and begins disconnecting electric loads when the combined load approaches the rating for the generator, based on the assigned priority values, until the combined load falls below the generator rating (paras 0010, 0029-0030). Batzler further teaches that the system first disconnects the lowest-priority load and continues disconnecting lower-priority loads until enough load is shed to bring the combined load below the generator rating (paras 0030, 0045-0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Batzler’s stricter/higher-priority and less-strict/lower-priority load-shedding logic in Tofigh’s SSPC-based power distribution system, such that Tofigh’s controller directs a second SSPC associated with a lower-priority load to disconnect that load when monitored feedback indicates insufficient input power capacity, in order to maintain operation of a first SSPC associated with a higher-priority load. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to prevent overloading the input power source while preserving power to higher-priority loads, as taught by Batzler (paras 0004, 0010, 0030).
Regarding claim 3 and 16, Batzler teaches directing the second SSPC to connect the attached one of the two or more loads based on the feedback data when the input power source has sufficient capacity to power the first and second loads, wherein Batzler teaches that after loads are shed, the control unit continues to monitor the generator load and determines whether the total load is below the generator rating (paras 0031, 0048-0050). Batzler further teaches that once the combined load on the generator falls below the rated value, “the relays contained in each of the contactors can be closed in a reverse priority order such that current from the generator is again supplied to the electric loads” (para 0031). Batzler also teaches determining whether “the highest priority circuit that is open can be closed without exceeding the rating of the generator” and closing the circuit when possible (para 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Tofigh’s controller, which controls multiple SSPCs, to implement Batzler’s reconnection logic such that a previously disconnected SSPC/load is reconnected when monitored feedback indicates that the input power source has sufficient capacity. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to restore power to loads after capacity becomes available while still avoiding overload of the input power source, as taught by Batzler (paras 0031, 0050).
Regarding claim 4, Batzler teaches wherein the performance specifications include at least one of uptime or reliability specifications for the two or more loads, wherein Batzler teaches assigning priority values to electric loads so that lower-priority loads are shed before higher-priority loads when generator capacity is limited (paras 0004, 0010). Batzler teaches that when the load on the generator approaches the rating for the generator, the automatic transfer switch disconnects lower-priority loads and continues shedding loads “to ensure that the generator can continue to provide power to the highest priority loads connected to the generator” (para 0004). Batzler further teaches monitoring the load on the generator and disconnecting electric loads based on priority values until the combined electric load falls below the generator rating (para 0010).
Thus, Batzler’s priority values constitute performance specifications including uptime or reliability specifications, because the assigned priority values specify which loads must remain powered more reliably during limited generator capacity and which lower-priority loads may be disconnected to preserve power to higher-priority loads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Tofigh’s SSPC-based power distribution system with Batzler’s priority-based uptime/reliability load-shedding control, so that Tofigh’s controller maintains power to higher-priority loads while disconnecting lower-priority loads during insufficient power capacity. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to prevent overloading the input power source while preserving reliable operation of higher-priority loads, as taught by Batzler (paras 0004, 0010, 0030).
Regarding claim 6 and 18, Tofigh teaches wherein the feedback data includes at least one of past, current, or anticipated load conditions of any of the two or more loads, wherein Tofigh teaches that the SSPC microcontroller is connected to current sensing circuitry and voltage sensing circuitry that enable the microcontroller to monitor the power supplied through the SSPC (para 0052). Tofigh further teaches that the SSPC can transmit information including “the status of the SSPC and the characteristics of the power being supplied via the SSPC” (para 0059). Tofigh also teaches reading load current, updating accumulated load current, determining whether an overcurrent fault has occurred, and removing power from the load when the fault is detected (paras 0071-0073). Thus, Tofigh teaches feedback data including at least current load conditions, and also accumulated load-current information.
Batzler further teaches monitoring load conditions, wherein Batzler teaches that the transfer switch control unit “monitors the operation of the standby generator” to determine the amount of power being generated, representing the total combined load, and begins shedding loads when the combined current draw approaches a preset percentage of the rated load capacity (para 0029). Batzler further teaches monitoring the load on the generator and determining whether the load is below the generator rating before disconnecting or reconnecting loads (paras 0045-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Tofigh’s current/accumulated load-current feedback, alone or together with Batzler’s monitored combined-load feedback, in the SSPC-based power distribution system of Tofigh in view of Batzler to determine when to disconnect or reconnect loads. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to monitor actual load conditions and prevent overload while maintaining power to higher-priority loads.
Regarding claim 7 and 19, Tofigh teaches wherein the feedback data includes at least one of past, current, or anticipated power conditions of the input power source, wherein Tofigh teaches that the SSPC microcontroller monitors the power supplied through the SSPC using current sensing circuitry and voltage sensing circuitry, including measuring current flowing through the line and monitoring voltage of the power being supplied via the line (paras 0052, 0056-0057). Tofigh further teaches that the SSPC can transmit information including “the status of the SSPC and the characteristics of the power being supplied via the SSPC” (para 0059).
Batzler further teaches feedback data including current power conditions of the input power source, wherein Batzler teaches that when power is supplied from the standby generator, the transfer switch control unit “monitors the operation of the standby generator” to determine the amount of power being generated, representing the total combined load seen by the generator (para 0029). Batzler further teaches detecting when the combined current draw approaches a percentage of the rated load capacity of the standby generator and then shedding loads (para 0029). Batzler also teaches monitoring whether the total load is below the generator rating and opening/closing priority circuits based on that monitored generator capacity (paras 0045-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Batzler’s monitored generator/source capacity information as feedback data in Tofigh’s SSPC-based power distribution system, so that Tofigh’s controller determines whether to connect or disconnect loads based on current power conditions of the input power source. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to prevent overloading the input power source and to maintain power to higher-priority loads when the monitored source capacity is insufficient, as taught by Batzler (paras 0004, 0029-0030).
Regarding claim 9, Tofigh teaches a human-machine interface (HMI) communicatively coupled to the controller, wherein Tofigh teaches that messages exchanged between the external microcontroller and the SSPCs can be used to configure the SSPCs and “provide a user interface.” Tofigh further teaches that an external microcontroller receives input from users and provides a graphical user interface to convey information to users. Tofigh also teaches that the graphical user interface is provided by a computing device that communicates with a microcontroller within a power distribution assembly, which controls one or more SSPCs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tofigh’s power distribution system, as modified by Batzler, to include Tofigh’s user interface/graphical user interface communicatively coupled to the controller. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow a user to monitor SSPC status and operational characteristics and to configure or control the SSPCs through the controller, as taught by Tofigh.
Regarding claim 10, Tofigh teaches wherein the HMI displays at least a portion of the feedback data, wherein Tofigh teaches a graphical user interface that conveys information concerning the operational characteristics of each SSPC and enables modification of the operational characteristics of the SSPC (paras 0030, 0088-0091). Tofigh further teaches that the graphical user interface provides information concerning each SSPC, including SSPC status, operational characteristics, whether the SSPC is active, the load current passing through the SSPC, and the rated current of the SSPC (paras 0089-0090). Tofigh also teaches a graphical user interface displaying the rated current, trip constant, load current through the SSPC, threshold current, emergency current, status indicators, fault information, and a graph showing the load current and trip current with respect to time (para 0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tofigh’s power distribution system, as modified by Batzler, to display at least a portion of the feedback data on the HMI, such as SSPC status, load current, rated current, threshold current, trip current, and fault information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow a user to monitor the operating status and load/power characteristics of the SSPCs and to make informed configuration or control decisions through the graphical user interface, as taught by Tofigh (paras 0088-0091).
Regarding claim 11, Tofigh further teaches wherein the HMI provides an alert when the feedback data deviates beyond a selected threshold, wherein Tofigh teaches that the SSPC microcontroller monitors current and voltage feedback and can open the switch when the power supplied through the SSPC attains undesirable characteristics (para 0052). Tofigh further teaches that the SSPC reads load current, updates accumulated load current, calculates a trip constant, determines whether an overcurrent fault has occurred, and removes power from the load when the overcurrent fault is detected (paras 0071-0073).
Tofigh further teaches providing an alert through an HMI/user interface, wherein Tofigh teaches outputting “MOSFET Gate, Gate LED, Tripped LED” information after updating the SSPC system status (para 0073). Tofigh also teaches that each SSPC may be connected to LEDs including a “tripped LED,” “idle LED,” and “gate LED,” and that the LEDs provide visual information indicating the status of the SSPC (paras 0086-0087). Tofigh further teaches a graphical user interface displaying SSPC status indicators, fault information, load current, threshold current, emergency current, and a graph showing load current and trip current with respect to time (paras 0089-0090).
Regarding claim 12, Tofigh teaches wherein the HMI further includes an input device to accept a user input, wherein Tofigh teaches that a keypad may be connected to the external microcontroller and that the external microcontroller sends instructions to the SSPCs in response to input received via the keypad (paras 0086-0087). Tofigh further teaches a graphical user interface generated by a computing device that communicates with a microcontroller within a power distribution assembly, wherein the graphical user interface conveys SSPC operational information and enables modification of the operational characteristics of an SSPC in response to instructions from the user (paras 0088-0091).
Batzler teaches wherein the user input includes switching criteria for achieving the performance specifications for the two or more loads, wherein Batzler teaches a user interface device that allows the user to select predefined priority assignment programs or individually assign priority values to each electric load (paras 0011, 0035-0043). Batzler further teaches that the priority values determine the order in which loads are disconnected and reconnected during load shedding (paras 0030-0034, 0045-0050). Thus, Batzler’s user-selected priority assignment programs and user-defined priority values constitute switching criteria for achieving the performance specifications of the loads.
Batzler further teaches directing the two or more SSPCs to disconnect or connect any of the two or more loads to the input power source in accordance with the switching criteria to achieve the performance specifications for the two or more loads, wherein Batzler teaches that the control unit disconnects electric loads from the generator in sequential order from the lowest priority value to the highest priority value when the combined load reaches the generator rating, and reconnects loads when capacity is available according to the assigned priority values (paras 0010, 0030-0031, 0045-0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tofigh’s SSPC-based power distribution system and HMI/input device to implement Batzler’s user-selected priority programs and switching criteria for disconnecting and reconnecting loads. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow a user to define or select the order in which loads are shed and restored, thereby preventing overload of the input power source while maintaining power to higher-priority loads according to user-selected performance requirements, as taught by Batzler (paras 0004, 0011, 0030-0031, 0045-0050).
Regarding claim 13, Batzler further teaches wherein at least one of the two or more loads comprises two or more load devices connected to a power distribution unit, wherein Batzler teaches that a transfer switch feeds electrical power to a main breaker panel, and the main breaker panel includes a series of individual branch circuits to provide electrical power to normal loads, such as lights, power outlets, and other loads (paras 0019-0020). Batzler further teaches that the main breaker panel is associated with multiple high-power consumption loads, including a hot water heater, air conditioner, pool pump, baseboard heater, dryer, stove, and additional loads, each selectively controlled through outputs and interconnect devices (paras 0021-0028, Fig. 2). Thus, Batzler teaches multiple load devices connected to a power distribution unit, such as the main breaker panel/load-distribution arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tofigh’s SSPC-based power distribution system, as modified by Batzler, such that at least one load includes multiple load devices connected to a power distribution unit, as taught by Batzler. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow an SSPC/load-management system to distribute power to multiple downstream load devices through a conventional distribution panel or power distribution unit while still allowing the controller to manage connection and disconnection of the downstream loads, as taught by Batzler (paras 0019-0028).
Regarding claim 17, Batzler further teaches wherein the performance specifications include at least one of uptime specifications, reliability specifications, billing specifications, or cost specifications for the two or more loads, wherein Batzler teaches assigning priority values to electric loads so that lower-priority loads are shed before higher-priority loads when generator capacity is limited (paras 0004, 0010). Batzler teaches that when the load on the generator approaches the rating for the generator, lower-priority loads are disconnected before higher-priority loads “to ensure that the generator can continue to provide power to the highest priority loads connected to the generator” (para 0004). Batzler further teaches monitoring the load on the generator and disconnecting electric loads based on priority values until the combined electric load falls below the generator rating (para 0010).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh et al. (US 2006/0200688 A1) in view of Batzler et al. (US 2013/0193757 A1), and further in view of Ehlers et al. (US 5,684,710).
Regarding claim 5, Tofigh in view of Batzler teaches the power distribution system of claim 1.
Tofigh and Batzler do not expressly teach wherein the performance specifications include at least one of billing specifications or cost specifications for the two or more loads.
Ehlers teaches wherein the performance specifications include at least one of billing specifications or cost specifications for the two or more loads, wherein Ehlers teaches receiving “real-time energy rate broadcasts, load shedding requests and the like” from a power company, receiving “energy pricing information from the utility company or from the customer,” and controlling loads using pricing information (Fig. 4, and col. 15, lines 1-15 and col. 15, lines 20-45). Ehlers further teaches that the system performs scheduled on/off events based on “price-driven customer-set conditions,” including “turning loads on” and “turning loads off.” Ehlers also teaches monitoring appliances to ensure they are not consuming power during specified “peak rate” periods if the customer has agreed not to use the appliance under such conditions, and teaches that load shedding can help reduce energy rates.
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further configure the power distribution system of Tofigh in view of Batzler to use Ehlers’s billing/cost-based load control criteria as performance specifications for the loads. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to reduce energy cost, comply with peak-rate or price-driven customer conditions, and selectively connect or disconnect loads based on energy pricing information while still using Tofigh’s SSPCs as the load-switching hardware and Batzler’s load-shedding control logic.
Claim 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofigh et al. (US 2006/0200688 A1) in view of Batzler et al. (US 2013/0193757 A1), and further in view of Santini et al. (US 2021/0273480 A1).
Regarding claim 8 and 20, Tofigh in view of Batzler teaches the power distribution system of claim 1.
Tofigh and Batzler do not expressly teach wherein directing the two or more SSPCs to disconnect or connect any of the two or more loads to the input power source based on the feedback data to achieve the performance specifications for the two or more loads comprises maintaining an in-rush current below a selected threshold when disconnecting or connecting any of the two or more loads to the power source.
Santini teaches maintaining an in-rush current below a selected threshold when connecting a load to the power source, wherein Santini teaches that prior systems turned solid-state switches on slowly “in order to limit an inrush current” (para 0003). Santini teaches an SSPC having a current sensor and a peak current limit stored in memory, wherein the SSPC senses current on the power bus and compares the current to the peak current limit (para 0035). Santini further teaches that when the peak current limit is reached, the SSPC turns off the switch for a brief period of time and then automatically turns the switch on again to continue ramping up load voltage in a controlled fashion (paras 0036-0038). Santini also teaches using a variable current limit where the circuit allows “only a low peak current initially” and increases the allowable current over time, forming a “soft start” implementation of the SSPC (para 0040).
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further configure the SSPCs of Tofigh, as modified by Batzler, to include Santini’s in-rush current limiting and soft-start control when connecting loads to the input power source. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to limit excessive in-rush current during load connection, reduce false trips, and allow load voltage to ramp up in a controlled fashion while using SSPC switching hardware, as taught by Santini (paras 0003, 0035-0040).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yakes et al (US 2005/0209747) paragraph 0114-0116
/OMEED ALIZADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686