DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 03/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 15, 18-21 and 23-28 are pending. Claims 23-27 are withdrawn. Claims 2, 3, 5, 11-14, 16, 17, 22 and 29 are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: aerosol provision device in claims 1 and 28, engagement mechanism in claim 7, and attachment mechanism in claim 8.
Based on a review of the specification, an aerosol provision device is interpreted to include a cylindrical heating chamber into which a rod shaped consumable is inserted to produce aerosol, or equivalents thereof; and an attachment mechanism is interpreted to include a protrusion for engaging with a first slot or cut-out in an aerosol provision device, or equivalents thereof; and an engagement mechanism is interpreted to includes lugs, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 15, 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0037895 to Reevell (“Reevell”) in view of JP S4310849 to Ishida (“Ishida”).
Regarding claim 1, Reevell teaches a cleaning tool for an aerosol provision device (abstract, para [0001], note Figs. 1, 2 and 3A - 3D, note aerosol generation device ref. 34) comprising: a housing (ref. 20); a resiliently biased cap (ref. 22, via spring ref. 24) provided within the housing, wherein the resiliently biased cap is translatable between a first position and a second position (position in Fig. 1 compared to Fig. 2); and at least one brush (ref. 10 and 16, plurality of prongs, or wires, extend from the support, thus comprising a brush as an object made of short, stiff hairs, bristles, or wires set in a block, or support) coupled to the resiliently biased cap.
Reevell discloses a tool wherein the or each brush comprises a support and a plurality of bristles extending from each support (Fig. 3, ref. 16 and 10, respectively), but does not explicitly teach the tool wherein the or each brush comprises a support and a plurality of bristles extending from each support; and wherein the support is formed from at least two strands of wire which are twisted together to secure the plurality of bristles in position. However, brushes comprising a support and a plurality of bristles extending from each support; and wherein the support is formed from at least two strands of wire which are twisted together to secure the plurality of bristles in position, were known in the art as effective for cleaning (see, e.g., Ishida at, inter alia, Fig. 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Reevell tool as was known wherein the or each brush comprises a support and a plurality of bristles extending from each support; and wherein the support is formed from at least two strands of wire which are twisted together to secure the plurality of bristles in position, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it was known as effective for cleaning.
Regarding claim 4, Reevell/Ishida disclose a tool wherein the plurality of bristles extend radially from each support (Ishada, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Reevell/Ishida does not explicitly teach the tool wherein the at least one brush comprises a plurality of brushes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Reevell/Ishida tool wherein the at least one brush comprises a plurality of brushes, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance cleaning and save time. It is noted that duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 15, Reevell/Ishida discloses a tool wherein the housing defines a cavity which houses at least a portion of the at least one brush when the resiliently biased cap is in the first position (Reevel, Figs. 1 and 4), but does not explicitly teach the tool wherein the cavity is dimensioned to receive, in use, an outer wall of a heating chamber of an aerosol provision device. Initially it is noted that the recited heating chamber and its outer wall are not affirmatively claimed and are not interpreted to be requires structural features of the claimed tool.
Further, the Reevell/Ishida tool includes the claimed structural features and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed tool and capable of being operated in the manner recited. Whether or not the Reevell/Ishida tool can be operated in the recited manner will depend upon, inter alia, the size of the cavity being sufficiently large and the size of the recited outer wall being sufficiently small. As previously mentioned, the outer wall is not interpreted to be a required structural feature of the claimed tool, such that it may be considered to be very small in comparison to the cavity. Further, changes in size/dimension are prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 21, Reevell/Ishida discloses a tool intended for use with an aerosol provision device comprising a heater element (Reevell, abstract); wherein the at least one brush comprises a support from which a plurality of bristles extend (Fig. 3, ref. 16 and 10, respectively); and the housing comprises a longitudinal axis (Reevell, note Fig. 2, ref. 20), but does not explicitly teach the tool wherein the at least one brush comprises two of brushes, and wherein each of the supports are spaced in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis by a distance greater than a maximum width of the heater element in the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis. Initially, it is noted that the recited aerosol provision device and heater element are not affirmatively claimed and are not interpreted to be required structural features of the claimed tool. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Reevell/Ishida tool wherein the at least one brush comprises two of brushes, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance cleaning and save time. Further, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to rearrange the placement of the brush supports in a variety of locations, including wherein each of the supports are spaced in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis by a distance greater than a maximum width of a heater element in the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to find the best cleaning results. It is noted that duplication of partis is prima facie obvious, as is rearrangement of parts. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) and (C).
Regarding claim 28, Reevell/Ishida discloses an aerosol provision system comprising: an aerosol provision device (Reevel, Fig. 3, ref. 34, para [0043]) configured to produce aerosol from an aerosol generating article; and a cleaning tool according to claim 1 (as discussed for claim 1).
Claims 1, 4, 6, 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,863,288 to Aversa (“Aversa”) in view of JP S4310849 to Ishida (“Ishida”).
Regarding claim 1, Aversa teaches a cleaning tool (abstract, note Fig. 4) comprising: a housing (ref. 10, col. 1, line 64 – col. 2, line 8); a resiliently biased cap (ref. 18, by means of spring ref. 15, col. 2, lines 9-17) provided within the housing, wherein the resiliently biased cap is translatable between a first position and a second position (spring ref. 15 moves axially to allow brush ref. 16 to emerge from housing ref. 10); and at least one brush (ref. 16 and 17, col. 2, lines 9-17) coupled to the resiliently biased cap.
Aversa discloses a tool wherein the or each brush comprises a support and a plurality of bristles extending from each support (Fig. 4, ref. 17 and 16, respectively), but does not explicitly teach the tool wherein the or each brush comprises a support and a plurality of bristles extending from each support; and wherein the support is formed from at least two strands of wire which are twisted together to secure the plurality of bristles in position. However, brushes comprising a support and a plurality of bristles extending from each support; and wherein the support is formed from at least two strands of wire which are twisted together to secure the plurality of bristles in position, were known in the art as effective for cleaning (see, e.g., Ishida at, inter alia, Fig. 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Aversa tool as was known wherein the or each brush comprises a support and a plurality of bristles extending from each support; and wherein the support is formed from at least two strands of wire which are twisted together to secure the plurality of bristles in position, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it was known as effective for cleaning.
Aversa/Ishida does not explicitly teach the tool being operated in a manner wherein it cleans an aerosol provision device. However, the Aversa/Ishida tool includes the claimed structural features and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed tool and capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 4, Aversa/Ishida disclose a tool wherein the plurality of bristles extend radially from each support (Ishada, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Aversa/Ishida does not explicitly teach the tool wherein the at least one brush comprises a plurality of brushes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Aversa/Ishida tool wherein the at least one brush comprises a plurality of brushes, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance cleaning and save time. It is noted that duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 15, Aversa/Ishida discloses a tool wherein the housing defines a cavity which houses at least a portion of the at least one brush when the resiliently biased cap is in the first position (Aversa, Fig. 4), but does not explicitly teach the tool wherein the cavity is dimensioned to receive, in use, an outer wall of a heating chamber of an aerosol provision device. Initially it is noted that the recited heating chamber and its outer wall are not affirmatively claimed and are not interpreted to be requires structural features of the claimed tool.
Further, the Aversa/Ishida tool includes the claimed structural features and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed tool and capable of being operated in the manner recited. Whether or not the Aversa tool can be operated in the recited manner will depend upon, inter alia, the size of the cavity being sufficiently large and the size of the recited outer wall being sufficiently small. As previously mentioned, the outer wall is not interpreted to be a required structural feature of the claimed tool, such that it may be considered to be very small in comparison to the cavity. Further, changes in size/dimension are prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 21, Aversa/Ishida discloses a tool which appears to be fully capable of use with an aerosol provision device (as discussed in claim 1), including an aerosol provision device comprising a heater element; and wherein the at least one brush comprises a support from which a plurality of bristles extend (Aversa, Fig. 4, ref. 17 and 16); and the housing comprises a longitudinal axis (note Aversa, Fig. 4, ref. 10, col), but does not explicitly teach the tool wherein the at least one brush comprises two of brushes, and wherein each of the supports are spaced in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis by a distance greater than a maximum width of the heater element in the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis. Initially, it is noted that the recited aerosol provision device and heater element are not affirmatively claimed and are not interpreted to be required structural features of the claimed tool. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Aversa/Ishida tool wherein the at least one brush comprises two of brushes, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance cleaning and save time. Further, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to rearrange the placement of the brush supports in a variety of locations, including wherein each of the supports are spaced in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis by a distance greater than a maximum width of a heater element in the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to find the best cleaning results. It is noted that duplication of partis is prima facie obvious, as is rearrangement of parts. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) and (C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (and claim 7 is rejected for lack of written description, and claim 10 is objected to on other grounds), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and properly amended to cure the written description and other objection issues).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art references are: US 2021/0037895 to Reevell and 3,863,288 to Aversa. The prior art references of record, taken alone or in combination, do not anticipate or suggest fairly the limitations of: wherein the housing comprises an engagement mechanism for engaging with an aerosol provision device, the engagement mechanism enabling the cleaning tool to be rotated relative to the aerosol provision device (as in claim 7), wherein the housing comprises an attachment mechanism for securing the cleaning tool to one or more slots or cut-outs provided in an aerosol provision device (as in claim 8), or wherein the housing comprises a longitudinal axis, and wherein the at least one brush is configured to rotate around the longitudinal axis as the resiliently biased cap translates between the first and second positions (as in claim 18), in combination with the other structural elements as instantly recited. Upon further search no other prior art has been located at the date of this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the phrases “aerosol provision device”, “engagement mechanism”, and “attachment mechanism” should not be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) means-plus-function since, it is alleged, the skilled artisan would understand, in view of the specification, the meaning of these phrases (remarks, para bridging pages 6-7). However, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. MPEP 2145.
Applicant further argues that the rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement is improper (remarks, page 7, para beginning “The Office asserts”). First, applicant again argues that the phrase “engagement mechanism” should not be interpreted under means-plus-function as discussed above (remarks, page 7, para beginning “First”). For the reason discussed above, this is again not persuasive.
Second, applicant argues that the specification does provide sufficient written description (remarks, page 7, para beginning “However”). This argument is persuasive, and the rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 02/17/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714