DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the limitations reciting “a detection unit that includes a liquid level sensor measuring a capacitance between a distal end of the probe and a reference potential surface and outputting a capacitance signal; and a signal processing unit that determines a state of the probe based on a change in a temporal waveform of the capacitance signal, wherein the signal processing unit stores, as a reference capacitance signal waveform, the temporal waveform of the capacitance signal during a dispensing operation of the dispensing mechanism immediately after the probe is replaced, and the signal processing unit determines the state of the probe based on a waveform change index indicating a change in the temporal waveform of the capacitance signal during the dispensing operation of the dispensing mechanism from the reference capacitance signal waveform” are unclear. Specifically, the phrase “a detection unit that includes a liquid level sensor measuring a capacitance between a distal end of the probe and a reference potential surface and outputting a capacitance signal” is ambiguous. It fails to clarify whether the distal end of the probe and the reference potential surface are structural parts of the claimed invention. In addition, the limitations “the signal processing unit stores, as a reference capacitance signal waveform, the temporal waveform of the capacitance signal during a dispensing operation of the dispensing mechanism immediately after the probe is replaced, and the signal processing unit determines the state of the probe based on a waveform change index indicating a change in the temporal waveform of the capacitance signal during the dispensing operation of the dispensing mechanism from the reference capacitance signal waveform” are unclear because they appear to recite the resulting effects or operation of using the dispensing device rather than structural features of the device itself. Furthermore, the claim is unclear because it does not define what a “signal processing unit” is, nor does it specify whether the device or the signal processing unit comprises a computer and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium programmed with instructions to perform the claimed limitations. Because of these omissions, it is unclear whether the applicant is attempting to claim the structural capabilities of the device, method steps executed by the device, or merely its intended use. Consequently, the metes and bounds of the claim are vague and indefinite. Claims 3-15, which depend on the above elements, are similarly unclear and/or are rejected based on their claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Taniguchi et al. (US 2012/0251393).
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi teaches:
1. A dispensing device comprising:
a dispensing mechanism (e.g., dispensing mechanism for sample supply 2, dispensing mechanism for reagent supply 7) that includes a probe (e.g., dispensing nozzles 27, 28) for dispensing a liquid (see Fig. 6 & ¶ 0074 for example);
a detection unit that includes a liquid level sensor (e.g., detection mechanism 31) measuring a capacitance between a distal end of the probe and a reference potential surface (e.g., cell bottom/ground) and outputting a capacitance signal (see ¶ 0077, 0079-0085 for example); and
a signal processing unit (e.g., computer 19).
With regard to limitations in claims 1, 3-15 (e.g., [...] measuring a capacitance between a distal end of the probe and a reference potential surface and outputting a capacitance signal; and [...] that determines a state of the probe based on a change in a temporal waveform of the capacitance signal, wherein the signal processing unit stores, as a reference capacitance signal waveform, the temporal waveform of the capacitance signal during a dispensing operation of the dispensing mechanism immediately after the probe is replaced, and the signal processing unit determines the state of the probe based on a waveform change index indicating a change in the temporal waveform of the capacitance signal during the dispensing operation of the dispensing mechanism from the reference capacitance signal waveform, etc.), these claim limitations are considered process or intended use limitations, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claims 7, 8, 13-15, Taniguchi teaches:
7. An automatic analysis device using the dispensing device according to claim 1 for dispensing a sample or a reagent (¶ 0074+), wherein a user is recommended to manage maintenance (see i.e., indicator 30 for notifying a nozzle replacement period and analysis accuracy. [...] When an abnormality, such as a crack or a flaw, occurs in the silicon oxide layer on the nozzle surface, the abnormality is detected from a change in electrostatic capacitance, and the indicator 30 is indicated [...] ¶ 0085).
8. The automatic analysis device according to claim 7, further comprising: a display device (e.g., 21).
13. The automatic analysis device according to claim 7, further comprising a display device (e.g., 21).
14. The automatic analysis device according to claim 7, further comprising a display device (e.g., 21).
15. The automatic analysis device according to claim 7, further comprising a display device (e.g., 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al. (US 2012/0251393) in view of Magnussen et al. (US 2009/0000402).
Regarding claim 6, Taniguchi teaches: wherein the dispensing mechanism includes a lamp (e.g., light source 26 ¶ 0074). However, Taniguchi does not explicitly teach: 6. The dispensing device according to claim 1, wherein the dispensing mechanism includes an LED lamp, and the signal processing unit turns on the LED lamp according to the state of the probe determined.
Magnussen teaches: a dispensing mechanism includes an LED lamp (¶ 0171, 0186), and a signal processing unit (e.g., 2112, 2222) capable of turning on the LED lamp according to the state of the probe determined (see ¶ 0171 for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Taniguchi with the LED lamp of Magnussen to indicate the existing probe condition through a visible indicator associated with the dispensing mechanism.
Conclusion
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1795