DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in the last line, "second spectral information are formed" should read "second spectral information is formed".
Regarding claim 4, in line 9, "k and n" should read "k and m" and " 1≤k<n, 2≤n" should read " 1≤k<m, 2≤m" to correct the typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation "the central wavelength of passbands" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Are the passbands the same as the passband ranges in claim 2? Are the central wavelengths the same as claim 1? For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as "central wavelengths of the passband ranges". Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20140133511A1 by Tanaka in view of US20130176554A1 by Loncar et al. (hereinafter "Loncar"; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a spectrum scanning assembly (at least Fig. 1), comprising a band-pass waveguide assembly (at least optical waveguide 31, optical coupler 40, optical waveguides 43; bragg reflectors 58 [0051]-[0053], [0056]) and a plurality of micro-ring resonators (built-in-ring reflectors 50A to 50D), and the band-pass waveguide assembly is respectively connected to the plurality of micro-ring resonators ([0052]); wherein:
the band-pass waveguide assembly is configured to divide an optical signal to be tested into a plurality of band-pass optical signals with central wavelengths and then respectively input into the plurality of micro-ring resonators ([0060] "light input to the input port 41 of the optical coupler 40 illustrated FIG. 1 is divided into equal four parts and distributed to its output ports 42A to 42D. The evenly distributed lights are then reflected by built-in-ring reflectors 50A to 50D"; [0059] " built-in-ring reflector 50A (FIG. 1) only reflects the light with the wavelength that, among the two or more peaks appearing in the transmission spectrum It of the ring resonator 52A (FIG. 1), corresponds to the peak of the reflection wavelength band in the reflection spectrum Ir of the distributed Bragg reflector 58A"; [0058] "central wavelength of a reflection wavelength band of the reflection spectrum Ir of the distributed Bragg reflector 58A");
each of the micro-ring resonators is configured to perform scanning for a resonant wavelength in the band-pass optical signal to form first spectral information ([0059] "two or more peaks appearing in the transmission spectrum It of the ring resonator 52A"; [0061] "Formed is a Fabry-Perot optical resonator" which would scan for resonant wavelengths; "Laser oscillation occurs at the peak wavelength reflected by built-in-ring reflectors"); wherein after beam combination is performed on the plurality of first spectral information formed by the plurality of micro-ring resonators, second spectral information are formed ([0010] "combines the lights reflected from the plurality of first reflectors, and re-inputs them to the optical amplifier" thus beam combination and second spectral information).
Tanaka does not explicitly teach band-pass optical signals with different central wavelengths.
However, Loncar does address this limitation. Loncar and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of optical waveguides.
Loncar teaches different central wavelengths respectively input into the plurality of micro-ring resonators ([0014]). Loncar further teaches each of the micro-ring resonators is configured to perform scanning for a resonant wavelength in the band-pass optical signal to form first spectral information ([0026] "using constructive interference in the plurality of micro-cavities to produce optical resonance as a means for spectrally separating incoming signals and transferring the separated signals to different channels"; [0049]; [0024] ring resonator as example of type of cavity), wherein after beam combination is performed on the plurality of first spectral information formed by the plurality of micro-ring resonators, second spectral information are formed ([0050] "The spectrum of unknown input signal is obtained by collecting signal from each nanobeam cavity in the array.")
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use band-pass optical signals with different central wavelengths. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tanaka to include band-pass optical signals with different central wavelengths and that each of the micro-ring resonators is configured to perform scanning for a resonant wavelength in the band-pass optical signal to form first spectral information as suggested by Loncar in order to realize create an efficient spectrometer, instead of sweeping the cavity resonance, it realizes a large number of optical cavities ([0014]).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka modified by Loncar teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 1 and Tanaka further teaches an optical semiconductor element, wherein the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 1 is integrated on the optical semiconductor element (substrate 60; [0043]).
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Loncar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20040228564A1 by Gunn et al. (hereinafter "Gunn").
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka modified by Loncar teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 1, and Tanaka further teaches wherein the band-pass waveguide assembly comprises an optical waveguide assembly (optical waveguides 43A to 43D; [0052]; bus waveguides 54A-D and 55A-D; [0055]) and a plurality of band-pass filters (distributed Bragg reflector 58A to 58D; [0055]; applicant describes band-pass filter may be a Bragg grating (applicant's spec [0029])), the optical waveguide assembly is respectively connected to the plurality of band-pass filters (waveguide 55A connected to Bragg filter 58A; [0055]), and the plurality of band-pass filters are respectively connected to the plurality of micro-ring resonators (waveguide 55A connects ring waveguide 55A to Bragg filter 58A); [0055]); wherein:
the optical waveguide assembly is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into each of the band-pass filters ([0055]-[0056] input port 51A);
each of the band-pass filters is configured to filter the optical signal to be tested to form the band-pass optical signals and input the band-pass optical signals into the micro-ring resonator correspondingly connected thereto ([0056] light reflected from the Bragg filter is sent back to ring resonator; [0058]); wherein the band-pass optical signal is an optical signal within a passband range of the band-pass filter in the optical signal to be tested ([0058] "reflection wavelength band of the reflection spectrum Ir of the distributed Bragg reflector 58A").
Even if Tanaka does not explicitly teach the optical waveguide assembly is respectively connected to the plurality of band-pass filters and the plurality of band-pass filters are respectively connected to the plurality of micro-ring resonators since the Bragg filter 58A is located after the ring waveguide 55A, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 Sec. V. C.. The Bragg filter is still performing the function of filtering the optical signal regardless of the location.
Further, Gunn does address this limitation. Gunn and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of optical waveguides.
Gunn teaches an embodiment of the multi-wavelength light source with an optical equalizer comprising a plurality of band pass filters (channel filters 140; [0053]) for respective channels of the multi-wavelength light source (Fig. 4; [0017]). Each channel filter 140 is optically coupled in series with the attenuator 70 and phase shifter 80 for the corresponding channel. In certain embodiments, the channel filters 140 are configured to pass light of a predetermined wavelength or wavelength band, with the different channel filters 140 passing different wavelengths. One example of a channel filter 140 compatible with embodiments described herein is a ring resonator and other examples include, but are not limited to, Bragg gratings, interleavers and other conventional types of resonant cavities ([0053]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plurality of band-pass filters connected to the ring resonators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tanaka to include the optical waveguide assembly is respectively connected to a plurality of band-pass filters (in series with the phase adjusters 45A-D) and the plurality of band-pass filters are respectively connected to the plurality of micro-ring resonators as suggested by Gunn in order to reduce noise in the spectrometer.
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka modified by Loncar and Gunn teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 2, and Tanaka further teaches wherein the optical waveguide assembly comprises an optical input channel (input port 41; [0051]), an optical path switching unit (optical coupler 40 acts as an optical path switching unit since it routes optical signals, also see claim 5; [0051]), and a plurality of optical output channels (output ports 42A-D; [0052]), wherein:
the optical input channel is configured to receive the optical signal to be tested and then input into the optical path switching unit ([0051]);
the optical path switching unit is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical output channels ([0052]);
each of the optical output channels is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into the band-pass filter correspondingly connected thereto ([0052] see claim 2 for band-pass filter explanation).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka modified by Loncar and Gunn teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 3, and Tanaka further teaches wherein the optical path switching unit comprises an optical power splitter (optical coupler 40 is a power splitter; [0051]), and the optical power splitter is respectively connected to the optical input channel (input port 40; [0051]) and the plurality of optical output channels (output ports 42A-D; [0052]); wherein:
the optical power splitter is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical output channels ([0052]).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka modified by Loncar and Gunn teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 3, although Tanaka is silent as to wherein the optical waveguide assembly comprises a plurality of optical transmission channels, and the plurality of band-pass filters are sequentially connected through the plurality of optical transmission channels to form n levels of filtering structures, wherein: the plurality of optical transmission channels are configured to sequentially input the optical signal to be tested into each of the band-pass filters of the n levels of filtering structures in this embodiment, Tanaka does address this limitation in a separate embodiment.
Tanaka teaches in a separate embodiment (Fig. 6) that wherein the optical waveguide assembly comprises a plurality of optical transmission channels (waveguides 43A to 43D; [0080]), and the plurality of band-pass filters are sequentially connected through the plurality of optical transmission channels to form n levels of filtering structures ([0084] Optical couplers 80A to 80C, optical waveguides 43A to 43D and built-in-ring reflectors 50A to 50D act as a folded asymmetric Mach-Zehnder interference optical filter, thus act as band-pass filters; [0080]-[0081]), wherein: the plurality of optical transmission channels are configured to sequentially input the optical signal to be tested into each of the band-pass filters of the n levels of filtering structures ([0080]-[0081]; [0084]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention us a cascading filter structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the first embodiment of Tanaka to include wherein the optical waveguide assembly comprises a plurality of optical transmission channels, and the plurality of band-pass filters are sequentially connected through the plurality of optical transmission channels to form n levels of filtering structures, wherein: the plurality of optical transmission channels are configured to sequentially input the optical signal to be tested into each of the band-pass filters of the n levels of filtering structures as suggested by the separate embodiment in order to limit the amount of shift in laser oscillation wavelength when input electric current is increased ([0086]).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka modified by Loncar and Gunn teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 2, and although Tanaka does not explicitly teach wherein the central wavelengths of passbands of the plurality of band-pass filters are different, Gunn does address this limitation.
Gunn teaches wherein the central wavelengths of passbands of the plurality of band-pass filters are different ([0053] the different channel filters 140 passing different wavelength, see also claim 2).
It would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka to include wherein the central wavelengths of passbands of the plurality of band-pass filters are different as suggested by Gunn in order to create an efficient spectrometer with a robust range.
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka modified by Loncar and Gunn teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 2, and Tanaka further teaches wherein each of the band-pass filters comprises one of a Bragg grating ([0058] distributed Bragg reflector 58A) and a filter unit formed by cascading a plurality of micro-ring resonator cavities. Further, Gunn teaches that the band-pass filters comprises one of a Bragg gratings, interleavers and other conventional types of resonant cavities ([0053]).
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka modified by Loncar teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 1, and Tanaka further teaches wherein the band-pass waveguide assembly comprises a multiplexer (optical coupler 40; [0060] multiplexed by the optical coupler 40) and a plurality of optical output channels (42A-D; [0060]), and the optical output channels connect the multiplexer to the plurality of micro-ring resonators respectively; wherein ([0060]): the multiplexer is configured to divide the optical signal to be tested to form the plurality of band-pass optical signals, and then input into the plurality of micro-ring resonators respectively ([0060]).
Although the optical coupler 40 appears to be a demux structure as described by the applicants specification ([0095]), Tanaka does not explicitly teach a wavelength division multiplexer and wherein the wavelength division multiplexer is configured to divide the optical signal to be tested to form the plurality of band-pass optical signals.
However, Gunn does address this limitation. Gunn and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of optical waveguides.
Gunn teaches a wavelength division multiplexer (optical multiplex/demultiplexer or mux/demux [0036]-[0037]; applicant spec [0095] describes the wavelength division multiplexer as a demux structure) and wherein the wavelength division multiplexer is configured to divide the optical signal to be tested to form the plurality of band-pass optical signals ([0036]-[0037] demux receives multiplexed light comprising a plurality of wavelengths and transmits them to different channels; [0043] demultiplexes the first fraction of light received from the gain medium 20 into the plurality of separate wavelengths and channels).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a wavelength division multiplexer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tanaka to replace the multiplexer with a wavelength division multiplexer configured to divide the optical signal to be tested to form the plurality of band-pass optical signals as suggested by Gunn in order to efficiently separate wavelengths and increase data throughput using a well-known structure such as a demultiplexer ([0003]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Loncar and Gunn as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US20200379181A1 by Akiyama.
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka modified by Loncar and Gunn teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 3, and although Tanaka is silent as wherein the optical path switching unit comprises m levels of optical switching assemblies, each level of the optical switching assemblies comprises a plurality of first input ends and a plurality of first output ends, the first input end of a first level of optical switching assembly is connected to the optical input channel, the first output end of a k-th level of optical switching assembly is connected to the first input end of a k+1-th level of optical switching assembly, and the plurality of first output ends of the m-th level of optical switching assembly are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels, k and n are both natural numbers, 1≤k<n, 2≤n; wherein: the m levels of optical switching assemblies are configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical output channels.in this embodiment, Tanaka does address this limitation in a separate embodiment.
Tanaka teaches in a separate embodiment (Fig. 6 , embodiment 3) teaches that the light traveling along the input-side optical waveguide 31 is divided and distributed to two or more optical waveguides, 43A to 43D, by two or more cascade-connected optical couplers (three in the case of FIG. 6, 80A to 80C) ([0080]). The input-side optical waveguide 31 is connected to the input port 81A of the first-stage optical coupler 80A. An optical waveguide 43A is connected to one of the output ports, 82A, of the optical coupler 80A, while the input port 81B of the next-stage optical coupler 80B is connected to the other output port (coupling port), 83A. Similarly, an optical waveguide 43B is connected to output port 82B of the second-stage optical coupler 80B, while the input port 81C of the next-stage optical coupler 80C is connected to the coupling port 83B. An optical waveguide 43C is connected to output port 82C of the final-stage optical coupler 80C, while an optical waveguide 43D is connected to coupling port 83C. ([0081]). The corresponds to m levels of optical switching assemblies, each level of the optical switching assemblies comprises a plurality of first input ends and a plurality of first output ends, the first input end of a first level of optical switching assembly is connected to the optical input channel, the first output end of a k-th level of optical switching assembly is connected to the first input end of a k+1-th level of optical switching assembly. This type of configuration has the benefit of limiting the amount of shift in laser oscillation wavelength when input electric current is increased ([0086]).
However, Tanaka does not teach that the plurality of first output ends of the m-th (or last) level of optical switching assembly are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels, instead, each level is connected to the respective optical output channel.
However, Akiyama does address this limitation. Akiyama and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of optical waveguides.
Akiyama teaches a technique of wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) that increases the number of channels per fiber and the WDM signal is demultiplexed into light signals with different wavelengths ([0004]). Fig. 1 shows an example of an optical demultiplexer in which a plurality of asymmetric MZ interferometers (which may be referred to as “AMZs”) are cascaded in a tree structure ([0018]; similar tree structure to applicant's Fig. 4). These AMZs can be considered optical switch assemblies since they route the optical signals. Also, the applicant's optical switches are similarly formed by a Mach-Zehnder interferometer (applicant's spec [0071]) The optical signals are separated in three stages and four output signals are output from the final level (or m-th level of optical switching assembly; [0019]). This same tree structure is used the further embodiment including the first embodiment in Fig. 3 which also use Mach-Zehnder interferometers and phase shifters([0048]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a tree structure of optical switches to separate light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tanaka to include wherein the optical path switching unit comprises m levels of optical switching assemblies, each level of the optical switching assemblies comprises a plurality of first input ends and a plurality of first output ends, the first input end of a first level of optical switching assembly is connected to the optical input channel, the first output end of a k-th level of optical switching assembly is connected to the first input end of a k+1-th level of optical switching assembly, and the plurality of first output ends of the m-th level of optical switching assembly are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels, k and n are both natural numbers, 1≤k<n, 2≤n; wherein: the m levels of optical switching assemblies are configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical output channels as suggested by the separate embodiment of Tanaka and Akiyama in order to use a well-known demultiplexing technique to separate a signal into a plurality of target wavelengths with low crosstalk (Akiyama [0045]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Loncar and Gunn as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US20200412447A1 by Rad et al. (hereinafter "Rad").
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka modified by Loncar and Gunn teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 3, and although Tanaka teaches various embodiments (Fig. 1, coupler 40;[0051]- [0052]; Fig. 5 and 6 include demultiplexers 71A-D before each ring resonator [0069] ) where power splitters are connected to the plurality of optical output channels ([0051]-[0052]), wherein each of the optical power splitters is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into the optical output channel correspondingly connected thereto ([0051]-[0052]), Tanaka is does not explicitly teach as to wherein the optical path switching unit comprises an optical switch and a plurality of optical power splitters, the optical switch is respectively connected to the optical input channel and the plurality of optical power splitters, and the plurality of optical power splitters are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels, wherein: the optical switch is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical power splitters; each of the optical power splitters is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into the optical output channel correspondingly connected thereto.
However, Rad does address these limitations. Rad and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of optical waveguides.
Rad teaches wherein the optical path switching unit (Fig. 2, central stage 104; [0057]) comprises an optical switch (1x2 optical switch 210; [0058]) and a plurality of optical power splitters (second stage MZDI 204a and 204b; [0059]; [0082] "As described above, the second stage may include a MZDI structure, or multiple MZDI structures operating in parallel. Additionally or alternatively, the second stage may include other types of optical power splitters configured to provide multiple outputs to the AWG. Such power splitters may consist of or include a variable power splitter, a variable optical attenuator, a directional coupler, or a combination thereof. The power splitters may be configured to divide an optical input signal into two or more portions in accordance with a predetermined or controllable allocation."; thus the MZDI is a power splitter if it can be replaced with other types of power splitters), the optical switch is respectively connected to the optical input channel ([0059] switch receives output from 102) and the plurality of optical power splitters ([0059] switch coupled to input ports of MZDI), and the plurality of optical power splitters are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels ([0057 MZDI outputs signals 110 and 118), wherein: the optical switch is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical power splitters ([0059]); each of the optical power splitters is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into the optical output channel correspondingly connected thereto ([0057]). Further, Rad teaches that the second stage with the controllable optical switch may be adapted for operation in other embodiments, even without necessarily requiring the first stage (periodic filter MMR) ([0038]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use optical switches to route wavelengths in a waveguide structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tanaka to include an optical switch and a plurality of optical power splitters in the optical path switching unit, where he optical switch is respectively connected to the optical input channel and the plurality of optical power splitters, and the plurality of optical power splitters are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels, wherein: the optical switch is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical power splitters; each of the optical power splitters is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into the optical output channel correspondingly connected thereto as suggested by Rad to employ a well-known demultiplex technique which uses an optical switch to provide measurement adjustability ([0012).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Loncar and Gunn as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US20020141693A1 by Whiteaway et al. (hereinafter "Whiteaway").
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka modified by Loncar and Gunn teaches the spectrum scanning assembly according to claim 3, and although Tanaka teaches wherein the optical path switching unit comprises an optical power splitter, the optical power splitter is respectively connected to the optical input channel (Fig. 1, coupler 40;[0051]- [0052]), Tanaka is silent as to a plurality of optical switches the optical power splitter is respectively connected to the plurality of optical switches, and the plurality of optical switches are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels wherein: the optical power splitter is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical switches; each of the optical switches is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into the optical output channel correspondingly connected thereto.
However, Whiteaway does address this limitation. Whiteaway and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of optical waveguides.
Whiteaway teaches wherein the optical path switching unit (at least Fig, 4) comprises an optical power splitter (3dB splitter 41; [0065]) and a plurality of optical switches (optical switches 47; [0066]), the optical power splitter is respectively connected to the optical input channel ([0065 ]input signal is split by a 3 dB splitter 41)and the plurality of optical switches ([0065]-[0066] splitter is connected to switches through coarse filter, amplifier, and dispersion compensator), and the plurality of optical switches are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels ([0066] switches output to arrayed waveguide AWG), wherein:
the optical power splitter is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical switches ([0065]);
each of the optical switches is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into the optical output channel correspondingly connected thereto ([0066]; also explained in Fig. 10, switches 47 connected to output channels 48).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use optical switches to route wavelengths in a waveguide structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tanaka to include a plurality of optical switches such that the optical power splitter is respectively connected to the plurality of optical switches, and the plurality of optical switches are respectively connected to the plurality of optical output channels wherein: the optical power splitter is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into any one of the optical switches; each of the optical switches is configured to input the optical signal to be tested into the optical output channel correspondingly connected thereto as suggested by Whiteaway since they are easy to manufacture separately which simplifies manufacture and in order to reduce cross-talk in the demultiplexer ([0032]-[0033]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN113466998A (cited in the IDS) teaches a tunable optical filter, comprising: an optical waveguide unit for inputting a broadband optical signal to be processed, providing an optical transmission path for the optical signal without filtering processing, and outputting the filtered optical signal and includes N-level micro-ring optical filter and optical switches between each level.
US20230065945A1 by Van der Heiden teaches a photonic integrated device comprises a substrate, a plurality of mechanical resonator structures on a surface of the substrate, and in an embodiment, the wavelength selectivity of splitter A30 may be realized by adding optical pass band filters (not shown) for different non-overlapping wavelength bands in series with the outputs of splitter A30, before the splitters of the interferometers. Alternatively, or in addition, such optical pass band filters may be used behind the outputs of three-way couplers A70, and/or in the optical paths of the interferometer. In an embodiment, optical combiners A72 may be selective for different wavelength (bands) at different inputs ([0208]).
US20200271864A1 by Beausoleil teaches an example system for multi-wavelength optical signal splitting which includes various configurations of power splitters.
/KAITLYN E KIDWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877