February 10, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandes et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,226,129 B2).
As for Claim 1, Brandes et al teach a latch device that engages with a striker installed on a vehicle body or a vehicle seat, comprising: a latch 26 that can transition between a locked state where the latch is engaged with the striker 6 and an unlocked state where the latch is disengaged from the striker; an unlocking operation knob 16 for switching the latch from the locked state to the unlocked state; an indicator 20 provided on the unlocking operation knob, and showing each state of the locked state and the unlocked state of the latch; a link 22 that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator; and a pin 49 that engages with the link 22, and that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator, each state being transmitted from the link, wherein the pin is provided on the unlocking operation knob 16.
As for Claims 13-14, Brandes et al teach vehicle seat and a vehicle, comprising: the latch device according to claims 1 and 13.
Claims 1-2, 4, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pasternak (U.S. Patent No. 10,906,443 B2).
As for Claim 1, Pasternak teaches a latch device that engages with a striker installed on a vehicle body or a vehicle seat, comprising: a latch that can transition between a locked state where the latch is engaged with the striker (not shown) and an unlocked state where the latch is disengaged from the striker; an unlocking operation knob 1 for switching the latch from the locked state to the unlocked state; an indicator 80 provided on the unlocking operation knob, and showing each state of the locked state and the unlocked state of the latch; a link 60A-2 that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator; and a pin 60A-1 that engages with the link 60A-2, and that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator, each state being transmitted from the link, wherein the pin is provided on the unlocking operation knob 1.
As for Claims 2 and 4, Pasternak teaches that the link includes an engaging portion 40A at an end portion on an unlocking operation knob side of the link, the engaging portion engaging with the pin, and one end portion on a pin side of the engaging portion is open; wherein the one end portion on the pin side of the engaging portion has an open U shape.
As for Claims 13-14, Pasternak teaches vehicle seat and a vehicle, comprising: the latch device according to claims 1 and 13.
Claims 1 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jennings (U.S. Patent No. 7,416,254 B2).
As for Claim 1, Jennings teaches a latch device that engages with a striker installed on a vehicle body or a vehicle seat, comprising: a latch 8 that can transition between a locked state where the latch is engaged with the striker 13 and an unlocked state where the latch is disengaged from the striker; an unlocking operation knob 3 for switching the latch from the locked state to the unlocked state; an indicator 3.1 provided on the unlocking operation knob, and showing each state of the locked state and the unlocked state of the latch; a link 32 that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator; and a pin 34 that engages with the link 32, and that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator, each state being transmitted from the link, wherein the pin 34 is provided on the unlocking operation knob 3.
As for Claims 13-14, Jennings teaches vehicle seat and a vehicle, comprising: the latch device according to claims 1 and 13.
Claims 1 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BOLTE A et al. (DE 10328504 B3).
As for Claim 1, BOLTE A et al. teach a latch device that engages with a striker installed on a vehicle body or a vehicle seat, comprising: a latch 42 that can transition between a locked state where the latch is engaged with the striker B and an unlocked state where the latch is disengaged from the striker; an unlocking operation knob 17 for switching the latch from the locked state to the unlocked state; an indicator 31 provided on the unlocking operation knob, and showing each state of the locked state and the unlocked state of the latch; a link 23 that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator; and a pin 34 that engages with the link 32, and that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator, each state being transmitted from the link, wherein the pin 34 is provided on the unlocking operation knob 3.
As for Claims 13-14, BOLTE A et al. teach a vehicle seat and a vehicle, comprising: the latch device according to claims 1 and 13.
Claims 1 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ANGELKORTE S et al. (DE 10142486 A1).
As for Claim 1, ANGELKORTE S et al. teach a latch device that engages with a striker installed on a vehicle body or a vehicle seat, comprising: a latch 6 that can transition between a locked state where the latch is engaged with the striker 2 and an unlocked state where the latch is disengaged from the striker; an unlocking operation knob A for switching the latch from the locked state to the unlocked state; an indicator 28 provided on the unlocking operation knob, and showing each state of the locked state and the unlocked state of the latch; a link 16 that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator; and a pin 17 that engages with the link 16, and that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator, each state being transmitted from the link, wherein the pin 17 is provided on the unlocking operation knob A.
As for Claims 13-14, ANGELKORTE S et al. teach a vehicle seat and a vehicle, comprising: the latch device according to claims 1 and 13.
Claims 1 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,139,076).
As for Claim 1, Hara et al. teach a latch device that engages with a striker installed on a vehicle body or a vehicle seat, comprising: a latch 16 that can transition between a locked state where the latch is engaged with the striker 18 and an unlocked state where the latch is disengaged from the striker; an unlocking operation knob 34 for switching the latch from the locked state to the unlocked state; an indicator 24 provided on the unlocking operation knob, and showing each state of the locked state and the unlocked state of the latch; a link 32 that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator; and a pin 32A that engages with the link 32, and that transmits each state of the latch to the indicator, each state being transmitted from the link, wherein the pin 34 is provided on the unlocking operation knob 3.
As for Claims 13-14, Hara et al. teach a vehicle seat and a vehicle, comprising: the latch device according to claims 1 and 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636