CTNF 18/842,979 CTNF 85280 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-5 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by You et al. (US 2022/0007290 A1, hereinafter You) . Regarding claims 1,8, and 16, You teaches a method comprising entering a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode in wireless communications (figure 16-figure 18) and controlling at least one timer or at least one on-duration occasion when in the DRX mode (figures 18-24) . YOU further teaches DRX operation including on-duration occasions, DRX inactivity timers, and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring during DRX operation. See, e.g., Figs. 16, 18-25 and corresponding description. YOU further teaches controlling DRX operation based on signaling and traffic conditions to reduce unnecessary UE power consumption while maintaining responsiveness to scheduled transmissions (figures 19-24, ) . Therefore, YOU teaches or at least suggests the limitations of claim 1. Claims 8 and 16 are rejected for substantially the same reasons because YOU teaches controlling on-duration occasions, DRX cycles, and PDCCH monitoring behavior during DRX operation. Regarding Claims 2-5 and 9-12, YOU teaches maintaining DRX timers, utilizing DRX inactivity timers, configuring DRX monitoring behavior, and performing PDCCH monitoring while timers remain active. YOU further teaches modifying timer operation and monitoring behavior to improve power savings during DRX operation. See Figs. 16, 18-24. Accordingly, YOU teaches or at least suggests the additional timer-control and monitoring limitations recited in claims 2-5 and 9-12. Regarding Claims 13-15, YOU teaches DRX operation including short DRX cycles, long DRX cycles, DRX inactivity timers, and transitions between DRX states. YOU expressly illustrates Short DRX Cycle and Long DRX Cycle operation and timer-based transitions between monitoring states. See Fig. 16. It would have been obvious to implement asymmetric on-duration patterns, utilize short DRX cycles between on-duration occasions, utilize long DRX cycles between groups of occasions, and switch between the short and long DRX cycles based on timer conditions because such techniques reduce UE power consumption while maintaining responsiveness to expected traffic . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 2022/000720 A1, hereinafter You) in view of Mondet et al. ( WO 2023/086709 A1, hereinfafter Mondet) . Regarding claim 6 , You discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the controlling further comprises: receiving a downlink control information (DCI) indicating a specific type of traffic; and controlling the at least one timer or the at least one on-duration occasion responsive to receiving the DCI. Mondet discloses wherein the controlling further comprises: receiving a downlink control information (DCI) indicating a specific type of traffic; and controlling the at least one timer or the at least one on-duration occasion responsive to receiving the DCI (¶[0085],figure 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the cloud gaming indication as disclosed by Mondet to improve communication efficiency and user experience. Regarding claim 7, You discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein a field in the DCI indicates the specific type of traffic being a traffic for extended reality (XR) or cloud gaming. Mondet discloses wherein a field in the DCI indicates the specific type of traffic being a traffic for extended reality (XR) or cloud gaming (¶[0085],figure 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the cloud gaming indication as disclosed by Mondet to improve communication efficiency and user experience . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 2022/000720 A1, hereinafter You) in view of Lee (US 2023/0354193 A1, hereinafter Lee) . Regarding Claims 16 and 17, YOU teaches DRX operation involving Active Time, On Duration, DRX inactivity timers, and PDCCH monitoring. YOU teaches adaptive monitoring behavior during DRX operation to reduce unnecessary UE wakeups and improve power efficiency. See Figs. 18-24 and corresponding discussion. YOU does not expressly use the terms “sparse PDCCH monitoring” and “dense PDCCH monitoring.” Lee discloses sparse PDCCH monitoring” and “dense PDCCH monitoring (¶[0126],¶[0188]) Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of switching between sparse PDCCH monitoring and dense PDCCH monitoring based on Active Time, On Duration timer status, or DRX inactivity timer status because increasing monitoring density when traffic is expected and decreasing monitoring density when traffic is not expected improves power efficiency while maintaining communication responsiveness. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGEL T BROCKMAN whose telephone number is (571)270-5664. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 6:00 AM-4:30 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang can be reached at 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/842,979 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/842,979 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/842,979 Page 4 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/842,979 Page 5 Art Unit: 2412