DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 11/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference numbers 51 and 55 in Fig. 5 are not mentioned in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (JP 2021-091859) (cited in the IDS filed on 10/02/2024).
Citations to Sato et al. below refer to the machine translation document filed with the IDS submitted on 10/02/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Sato et al. discloses an anti-fogging agent including a coating hydrophilic polymer and a silicon-based compound. (Abstract). The silicon-based compound includes silane coupling agents such as 3-trimethoxysilylpropyl succinic anhydride (par. [0019]) which is a silane coupling agent having an acid anhydride group. Furthermore, the coating includes a binder compound (par. [0042]) and metal oxide fine particles including silica. (par. [0045]). Sato et al. further discloses a binder composition made from a reaction of ethylene adduct of dodecyl alcohol and 3-glycidoxypropyl trimethoxysilane (Synthesis Example 2) which is further mixed with a hydrolysate of 3-trimethoxysilylpropyl succinic anhydride (Example 4) (i.e. a silane coupling agent).
Regarding claim 2, the synthesis example 2 includes a binder that is an epoxy compound. (3-glycidoxypropyl trimethoxysilane).
Regarding claim 3, 3-trimethoxysilylpropyl succinic anhydride meets the limitations of General formula 1.
Regarding claim 4, Example 4 discloses the reaction product of 3-trimethoxysilylpropyl succinic anhydride with a binder material of Synthesis Example 2.
Regarding claim 5, Sato et al. further discloses a binder composition made from a reaction of ethylene adduct of dodecyl alcohol and 3-glycidoxypropyl trimethoxysilane (Synthesis Example 2) which is further mixed with a hydrolysate of 3-trimethoxysilylpropyl succinic anhydride (Example 4) (i.e. a silane coupling agent). Therefore, the binder contains an epoxy compound and the silane coupling agent includes the formula of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Sato et al. discloses in Example 4 producing a hydrolyzed condensate of 3-trimethoxysilylpropyl succinic anhydride using water and alcohol. The hydrolyzed condensate would have the structure shown in Formula 5 where R54 and R55 are H.
Regarding claim 8, Sato et al. discloses a silane material containing a polyether group produced by the reaction of ethylene oxide adduct of dodecyl alcohol and 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane. (par. [0077]).
Regarding claims 9-10, Sato et al. discloses curing catalysts including aluminum acetotacetate, aluminum perchlorite and aluminum acetate derivatives. (par. [0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2021-091859) (cited in the IDS filed on 10/02/2024).
Regarding claim 7, the content of the metal oxide particles is disclosed to be in the range of 1-500% by weight with respect to the water-soluble polymer (par. [0064]). The content of the silane agents in the inventive example can range from 1-200% by weight of the water-soluble polymer (par. [0063]). Therefore, the relative amount of metal oxide particles to the synthetic product produced by the reaction of the silane materials 1:500 x100 (0.2 parts by mass) to 200:1 x 100 (20000 parts by mass), overlapping with the presently claimed range. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 02/20/2026