DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/IB2023/054476 filed on April 28, 2023.
Claims 29-48 are pending.
Claims 29-33, 35, 36, 38-45, 47 and 48 are rejected.
Claims 34, 37 and 46 are objected to.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 30, 2024 and February 17, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-33, 35, 36, 38-45, 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0240142, hereinafter Abdelghaffar, in view of Mei et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0163057, hereinafter Mei.
Regarding Claim 29, Abdelghaffar discloses a method, performed by a wireless device operative in a wireless communication network having a legacy procedure for the generation, transmission, reception, and processing of Demodulation Reference Symbols (DMRS) and an extended procedure, different than the legacy procedure, for the generation, transmission, reception, and processing of DMRS (Abstract; Figure 2-5, 8-15; Paragraph [0118] New DMRS port mapping and legacy DMRS port mapping configurations), comprising:
obtaining an indication of an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports (Figure 5 and 15; Paragraph [0110-0122] UE configured and signaling with multiple candidate DMRS port mapping tables including an indication of which DMRS port mapping table is to be used with various tables which may be extended modified to reflect both the legacy port mapping configuration and new DMRS port mapping configuration with re-purposing field values);
determining one or more DMRS ports from the extended antenna port table; and communicating with the network using the one or more determined DMRS ports (Figure 5 and 14; Paragraph [0118-0176] Control singling may indicate that the DMRS port mapping configuration corresponds to Table 7 above, and may further indicate antenna port field value=0. In this example, the UE 505 may receive the first DMRS including Codeword 0 using DMRS ports 0 and 1 corresponding to CDM group 0 in accordance with a first mapping for Codeword 0 defined by the DMRS port mapping configuration. Similarly, the UE 505 may receive the second DMRS including Codeword 1 using DMRS ports 2 and 3 corresponding to CDM group 1 in accordance with a second mapping for Codeword 1 defined by the DMRS port mapping configuration; That is the UE is configured and indicated reference port mapping tables and determines one or more DMRS ports from the extended antenna port table and utilizes those DMRS ports for communicating).
Abdelghaffar readily discloses both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports and indication signaling but may not explicitly disclose an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports.
However, Mei more specifically teaches an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports (Figure 14; Paragraph [0065-0066] the DMRS port index to indicate whether a DMRS port is a newly configured DMRS port or a legacy DMRS port. FIG. 10 illustrates an example of a table showing a number of DMRS CDM groups without data for DMRS type 2 for single symbol DMRS. In FIG. 10, the column ‘value’ from 0 to 31 corresponds to an entry of DCI signaling from the network side (e.g., gNB) to indicate, to the UE, which DMRS port is used. In FIG. 10, rank is 2 for new CDM group. As shown in FIG. 10, the DMRS ports of the legacy UE have indices greater than 11. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 0 and 11, the DMRS port corresponds to the legacy DMRS port. Thus, the DMRS port index can indicate whether the CDM group is mapped to 2 REs or not. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 0 and 11, the newly configured CDM groups #0 to #2 correspond to the legacy UE CDM groups #0 to #2. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 12 and 35, the CDM groups #0 to #2 correspond to the newly configured CDM groups #0 to 2, each CDM group with 2 REs per PRB. Thus, the DMRS port index can indicate whether the CDM group is mapped to 2 REs or not. . For example, as shown in FIG. 11, the number of DMRS CDM groups without date can be used to indicate whether the DMRS port is legacy DMRS port or new DMRS port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abdelghaffar with the teachings of Mei. The method enables providing feedback schemes for multiple channels in wireless communication devices in an efficient manner, thus reducing energy consumption and device cost, improving spectral efficiency, and reducing latency of the wireless communication device (Mei Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0006]).
Regarding Claim 30, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 29. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein obtaining an indication of an extended antenna port table comprises retrieving an indication of the extended antenna port table from preconfigured information stored in a memory of the wireless device or receiving an indication of the extended antenna port table from the network (Abdelghaffar Figure 5 and 14; Paragraph [0246-0250] Preconfigured configurations stored in memory and indications received; Mei Figure 14; Paragraph [0082-0085]).
Regarding Claim 31, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 30. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein receiving an indication of the extended antenna port table from the network comprises receiving the indication via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Mei Paragraph [0085] Antenna port indication is indicated using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a MAC control element, or a downlink control information).
Regarding Claim 32, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 29. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein determining one or more DMRS ports from the extended antenna port table comprises: receiving, from the network, an index into the extended antenna port table, the index received in Downlink Control Information (DCI); and using the index to determine the one or more DMRS ports in the extended antenna port table (Abdelghaffar Figure 5 and 14; Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Paragraph [0246-0250] Preconfigured configurations stored in memory and indications received; Mei Figure 14; Paragraph [0082-0085] Antenna port indication is indicated using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a MAC control element, or a downlink control information).
Regarding Claim 33, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 29. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose indexing a DMRS description table with the one or more DMRS ports to determine parameters associated with each of the DMRS ports; and wherein communicating with the network using the one or more determined DMRS ports comprises communicating with the network using the one or more determined DMRS ports and the determined parameters associated with each of the DMRS ports (Abdelghaffar Figure 5 and 14; Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Paragraph [0246-0250] Preconfigured configurations stored in memory and indications received; Mei Figure 14; Paragraph [0082-0085] Antenna port indication is indicated using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a MAC control element, or a downlink control information).
Regarding Claim 35, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 29. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose obtaining an indication of a legacy antenna port table including only legacy DMRS ports; receiving, from the network, an indication of whether to use legacy antenna port table or the extended antenna port table; receiving, from the network, an index into the indicated antenna port table; and determining one or more DMRS ports from the indicated antenna port table (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0110-0122] Legacy port mapping tables and new DMRS port mapping tables and control signaling indicating which port mapping table is used).
Regarding Claim 36, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 29. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein receiving, from the network, an indication of whether to use the legacy antenna port table or the extended antenna port table comprises receiving the indication in a Control Element (CE) for a Media Access Control (MAC) (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Mei Paragraph [0085] Antenna port indication is indicated using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a MAC control element, or a downlink control information).
Regarding Claim 38, Abdelghaffar discloses a wireless device operative in a wireless communication network having a legacy procedure for the generation, transmission, reception, and processing Demodulation Reference Symbols (DMRS) and an extended procedure, different than the legacy procedure, for the generation, transmission, reception, and processing of DMRS, comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry operatively connected to the communication circuitry (Abstract; Figure 2-5, 8-15; Paragraph [0118] New DMRS port mapping and legacy DMRS port mapping configurations),
the processing circuitry configured to obtain an indication of an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports (Figure 5 and 15; Paragraph [0110-0122] UE configured and signaling with multiple candidate DMRS port mapping tables including an indication of which DMRS port mapping table is to be used with various tables which may be extended modified to reflect both the legacy port mapping configuration and new DMRS port mapping configuration with re-purposing field values);
determine one or more DMRS ports from the extended antenna port table; and communicate with the network using the one or more determined DMRS ports (Figure 5 and 14; Paragraph [0118-0176] Control singling may indicate that the DMRS port mapping configuration corresponds to Table 7 above, and may further indicate antenna port field value=0. In this example, the UE 505 may receive the first DMRS including Codeword 0 using DMRS ports 0 and 1 corresponding to CDM group 0 in accordance with a first mapping for Codeword 0 defined by the DMRS port mapping configuration. Similarly, the UE 505 may receive the second DMRS including Codeword 1 using DMRS ports 2 and 3 corresponding to CDM group 1 in accordance with a second mapping for Codeword 1 defined by the DMRS port mapping configuration; That is the UE is configured and indicated reference port mapping tables and determines one or more DMRS ports from the extended antenna port table and utilizes those DMRS ports for communicating).
Abdelghaffar readily discloses both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports and indication signaling but may not explicitly disclose an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports.
However, Mei more specifically teaches an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports (Figure 14; Paragraph [0065-0066] the DMRS port index to indicate whether a DMRS port is a newly configured DMRS port or a legacy DMRS port. FIG. 10 illustrates an example of a table showing a number of DMRS CDM groups without data for DMRS type 2 for single symbol DMRS. In FIG. 10, the column ‘value’ from 0 to 31 corresponds to an entry of DCI signaling from the network side (e.g., gNB) to indicate, to the UE, which DMRS port is used. In FIG. 10, rank is 2 for new CDM group. As shown in FIG. 10, the DMRS ports of the legacy UE have indices greater than 11. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 0 and 11, the DMRS port corresponds to the legacy DMRS port. Thus, the DMRS port index can indicate whether the CDM group is mapped to 2 REs or not. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 0 and 11, the newly configured CDM groups #0 to #2 correspond to the legacy UE CDM groups #0 to #2. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 12 and 35, the CDM groups #0 to #2 correspond to the newly configured CDM groups #0 to 2, each CDM group with 2 REs per PRB. Thus, the DMRS port index can indicate whether the CDM group is mapped to 2 REs or not. . For example, as shown in FIG. 11, the number of DMRS CDM groups without date can be used to indicate whether the DMRS port is legacy DMRS port or new DMRS port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abdelghaffar with the teachings of Mei. The method enables providing feedback schemes for multiple channels in wireless communication devices in an efficient manner, thus reducing energy consumption and device cost, improving spectral efficiency, and reducing latency of the wireless communication device (Mei Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0006]).
Regarding Claim 39, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the wireless device of Claim 38. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain an indication of an extended antenna port table by retrieving an indication of the extended antenna port table from preconfigured information stored in a memory of the wireless device or by receiving an indication of the extended antenna port table from the network (Abdelghaffar Figure 5 and 14; Paragraph [0246-0250] Preconfigured configurations stored in memory and indications received; Mei Figure 14; Paragraph [0082-0085]).
Regarding Claim 40, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the wireless device of Claim 38. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive an indication of the extended antenna port table from the network by receiving the indication via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Mei Paragraph [0085] Antenna port indication is indicated using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a MAC control element, or a downlink control information).
Regarding Claim 41, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the wireless device of Claim 38. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine one or more DMRS ports from the extended antenna port table by: receiving, from the network, an index into the extended antenna port table, the index received in Downlink Control Information (DCI); and using the index to determine the one or more DMRS ports in the extended antenna port table (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Mei Paragraph [0085] Antenna port indication is indicated using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a MAC control element, or a downlink control information).
Regarding Claim 42, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the wireless device of Claim 38. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain an indication of a legacy antenna port table including only legacy DMRS ports; receive, from the network, an indication of whether to use legacy antenna port table or the extended antenna port table; receive, from the network, an index into the indicated antenna port table; and determine one or more DMRS ports from the indicated antenna port table (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0110-0122] Legacy port mapping tables and new DMRS port mapping tables and control signaling indicating which port mapping table is used).
Regarding Claim 43, Abdelghaffar discloses a method, performed by a base station operative in a wireless communication network having a legacy procedure for the generation, transmission, reception, and processing of Demodulation Reference Symbols (DMRS) and an extended procedure, different than the legacy procedure, for the generation, transmission, reception, and processing of DMRS (Abstract; Figure 2-5, 8-15; Paragraph [0118] New DMRS port mapping and legacy DMRS port mapping configurations), comprising:
indicating to a wireless device an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports (Figure 5 and 15; Paragraph [0110-0122] UE configured and signaling with multiple candidate DMRS port mapping tables including an indication of which DMRS port mapping table is to be used with various tables which may be extended modified to reflect both the legacy port mapping configuration and new DMRS port mapping configuration with re-purposing field values);
sending to the wireless device an index into the extended antenna port table, wherein the index determines one or more DMRS ports; and communicating with the wireless device using the one or more determined DMRS ports (Figure 5 and 14; Paragraph [0118-0176] Control singling may indicate that the DMRS port mapping configuration corresponds to Table 7 above, and may further indicate antenna port field value=0. In this example, the UE 505 may receive the first DMRS including Codeword 0 using DMRS ports 0 and 1 corresponding to CDM group 0 in accordance with a first mapping for Codeword 0 defined by the DMRS port mapping configuration. Similarly, the UE 505 may receive the second DMRS including Codeword 1 using DMRS ports 2 and 3 corresponding to CDM group 1 in accordance with a second mapping for Codeword 1 defined by the DMRS port mapping configuration; That is the UE is configured and indicated reference port mapping tables and determines one or more DMRS ports from the extended antenna port table and utilizes those DMRS ports for communicating).
Abdelghaffar readily discloses both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports and indication signaling but may not explicitly disclose an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports.
However, Mei more specifically teaches an extended antenna port table that includes both legacy DMRS ports and extended DMRS ports (Figure 14; Paragraph [0065-0066] the DMRS port index to indicate whether a DMRS port is a newly configured DMRS port or a legacy DMRS port. FIG. 10 illustrates an example of a table showing a number of DMRS CDM groups without data for DMRS type 2 for single symbol DMRS. In FIG. 10, the column ‘value’ from 0 to 31 corresponds to an entry of DCI signaling from the network side (e.g., gNB) to indicate, to the UE, which DMRS port is used. In FIG. 10, rank is 2 for new CDM group. As shown in FIG. 10, the DMRS ports of the legacy UE have indices greater than 11. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 0 and 11, the DMRS port corresponds to the legacy DMRS port. Thus, the DMRS port index can indicate whether the CDM group is mapped to 2 REs or not. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 0 and 11, the newly configured CDM groups #0 to #2 correspond to the legacy UE CDM groups #0 to #2. If the indicated DMRS port has an index number between 12 and 35, the CDM groups #0 to #2 correspond to the newly configured CDM groups #0 to 2, each CDM group with 2 REs per PRB. Thus, the DMRS port index can indicate whether the CDM group is mapped to 2 REs or not. . For example, as shown in FIG. 11, the number of DMRS CDM groups without date can be used to indicate whether the DMRS port is legacy DMRS port or new DMRS port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Abdelghaffar with the teachings of Mei. The method enables providing feedback schemes for multiple channels in wireless communication devices in an efficient manner, thus reducing energy consumption and device cost, improving spectral efficiency, and reducing latency of the wireless communication device (Mei Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0006]).
Regarding Claim 44, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 43. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein indicating to a wireless device an extended antenna port table comprises sending an indication of the extended antenna port table to the wireless device via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Mei Paragraph [0085] Antenna port indication is indicated using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a MAC control element, or a downlink control information).
Regarding Claim 45, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 43. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein sending to the wireless device an index into the extended antenna port table comprises sending the index in Downlink Control Information (DCI) (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Mei Paragraph [0085] Antenna port indication is indicated using a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a MAC control element, or a downlink control information.).
Regarding Claim 47, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 43. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose indicating to a wireless device a legacy antenna port table including only legacy DMRS ports; sending to the wireless device an indication of whether to use the legacy antenna port table or the extended antenna port table; sending to the wireless device an index into the indicated antenna port table, whereby the wireless device determines one or more DMRS ports; and communicating with the wireless device using the one or more determined DMRS ports (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0110-0122] Legacy port mapping tables and new DMRS port mapping tables and control signaling indicating which port mapping table is used).
Regarding Claim 48, Abdelghaffar in view of Mei disclose the method of Claim 47. Abdelghaffar in view of Mei further disclose wherein sending to the wireless device an indication of whether to use the legacy antenna port table or the extended antenna port table comprises sending the indication in a Control Element (CE) for a Media Access Control (MAC) (Abdelghaffar Paragraph [0019] Control signaling includes a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message, or both and the second control signaling includes a downlink control information (DCI) message; Mei Paragraph [0085] Port indication via a MAC control element).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34, 37 and 46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 34, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the extended DMRS ports in the extended antenna port table that are the same as corresponding legacy DMRS ports reuse the legacy DMRS port numbers; and the extended DMRS ports in the extended antenna port table that are different than legacy DMRS ports use DMRS port numbers not used by legacy DMRS ports.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 37, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the legacy DMRS are generated from one of two codes; and the extended DMRS are generated from one of four codes.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 46, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the extended DMRS ports in the extended antenna port table that are the same as corresponding legacy DMRS ports reuse the legacy DMRS port numbers; and the extended DMRS ports in the extended antenna port table that are different than legacy DMRS ports use DMRS port numbers not used by legacy DMRS ports.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409