DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/862,052 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a fluid sterilization device comprising:
A cylindrical flow path pipe having a side peripheral wall; and
A light source unit including a light emitting element disposed on the side peripheral wall (placed in through-hole on side wall of pipe) and a substrate on which the light emitting element is mounted, wherein
A notched region (recess and hole) along a longitudinal direction of the flow path pipe is formed in the side peripheral wall of the flow path pipe, and
The light source unit is housed in the notched region.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 6 recite “the light emitting element includes a plurality of light emitting elements” and “the reflector includes a plurality of reflectors”. It is not clear how a single light emitting element or reflector can include a plurality of light emitting elements or reflectors (in the specification the light emitting elements 21 and reflectors 30 are separate elements from each other). Amending the claim to state “the system includes a plurality of light emitting elements and a plurality of reflectors” would overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20190142986 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a fluid sterilization device (fig. 1B) comprising:
A cylindrical flow pipe path (formed by pipe 110 and 112 and elbow 114) having a peripheral wall; and
A light source unit (UV LED package 216) including a light emitting element (UV LED 215, fig. 2C) disposed on the side peripheral wall and a substrate (PCB 217) on which the light emitting element is mounted, wherein
A notched region (formed in elbow 114, fig. 1B) along a longitudinal direction of the flow path pipe is formed in the side peripheral wall of the flow path pipe, and
The light source unit is housed in the notched region.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches a heat sink (208, fig. 2C) that is disposed at a radially outward position (outer part surrounds PCB 217, fig. 2C) relative to the substrate of the light source unit and that is in contact with an outer surface of the substrate, and
A housing (flange nut 206) that houses the heat sink.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Zhang teaches that the flow path pipe has a through hole at a position in the notched region where the light-emitting element faces the notched region (fig. 1B); and
The fluid sterilization device further comprises:
An ultraviolet light-transmitting window (UV window 212) portion provided in the through hole; and
An annular reflector (214) that is housed in the notched region to surround the light-emitting element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Blechschmidt (US 20130236353 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claims 3 and 5 as described above.
Zhang teaches that the light emitting element includes a plurality of light emitting elements, the reflector includes a plurality of reflectors, and the ultraviolet light-transmitting window portion includes a plurality of ultraviolet light-transmitting windows (i.e. there are multiple modules disinfection devices 134, fig. 1D, that each presumably include a light emitting element, reflector and window);
The flow path pipe includes a plurality of through-holes (multiple modules 134 pass through pipe, fig. 1D);
A first through hole among the through holes is provided at a first position of the side peripheral wall of the flow path pipe;
In the side peripheral wall, a second through hole among the through holes is provided at a second position a predetermined distance away from the first position;
At least one light emitting element among the plurality of light emitting elements, at least one reflector among the plurality of reflectors, and at least one light-transmitting window portion among the plurality of light-transmitting window portions face the first through hole; and
Other light emitting elements among the plurality of light emitting elements, other reflectors among the plurality of reflectors, and other ultraviolet light-transmitting window portions among the plurality of light-transmitting window portions face the second through hole (i.e. there are separate light-emitting assemblies in each separate position, fig. 1D).
Zhang does not teach that the distance is in a circumferential direction.
Blechschmidt teaches a UV treatment device having light sources (20a-d) separated in a circumferential direction (in notches 25a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the light sources of Zhang so that they are separated in a circumferential direction as taught by Blechschmidt, as a matter of simply rearranging the light sources of Zhang in order to provide greater illumination of a section of a pipe and avoidance of non-illuminated sections ([0030]) with no unexpected result.
Conclusion
/DAVID E SMITH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881