DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/03/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min (WO 2012039551) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2019/0081422 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Min discloses A printed circuit board ("PCB") (100, see figs. 1-2) comprising: a PCB substrate (110, see figs. 1-2) comprising a conductive trace (implicit); a dock opening formed from a cutout (112, see fig. 2) extending through the PCB substrate (110); a securing rail (114, see fig. 2) coupled to the PCB substrate (110) along at least one edge of the dock opening (112), the securing rail (114) comprising at least one attachment point;; and a locking member couplable to the securing rail at the at least one attachment point.
But, Min does not explicitly teach at least one connector.
However, Chuang et al. teach at least one connector (21, see figs. 1-5 and see paragraph [0022]-[0027] where a tongue assembly is located at the docking end of a dock opening to place a USD type connector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide at least one connector in the device of Min based on the teachings of Chuang et al in order to prove an adequate alternative of design which has the added advantage to use an USB type of connector.
Pertaining to claim 2, Min discloses, further comprising a second securing rail (110, 114, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph [0034]-[0044]) coupled to the PCB substrate (110) along at least one second edge of the dock opening (the dock opening comprises two rails, one on each side in the sliding direction of the connector).
Pertaining to claim 3, Min discloses, wherein the PCB substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface (110-114, see figs. 1-2 and see paragraph [0034]-[0044]), and the securing rail wraps around the at least one edge of the dock opening from the first surface to the second surface, (the rails are located at the edges of the dock opening and completely wraps them).
Pertaining to claim 4, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein the at least one connector is coupled to the PCB substrate (110 of Min) at a docking end of the dock opening (21, see figs. 1-5, see paragraph [0034]-[0044] of Chuang et al.).
Pertaining to claim 5, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein an external device is couplable to the at least one connector (120, see figs. 1-2, see paragraph [0034]-[0044] of Min) and (21, see figs. 1-5, see paragraph [0022]-[0027]. The external device may be couplable to the connector with and USB connector).
Pertaining to claim 6, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein the external device is positioned at least partially within the dock opening (110, 114, see figs. 1-2, see paragraph [0034]-[0044] of Min) and (21, see figs. 1-5 and see paragraph [0022]-[0027] of Chuang et al.). The external device is placed within the opening and is couplable to the connector.
Pertaining to claim 7, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein the external device is couplable at least partially between the locking member and the at least one connector (110, 114, see figs. 1-2, see paragraph [0034]-[0044] of Min) and (21, see figs. 1-5 and see paragraph [0022]-[0027] of Chuang et al.).
Pertaining to claim 8, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein the at least one attachment point is determined based on a size of the external device (110, 114, see figs. 1-2, see paragraph [0034]-[0044] of Min) and (21, see figs. 1-5 and see paragraph [0022]-[0027] of Chuang et al.).
.
Pertaining to claim 9, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein the external device comprises a stabilizing member that extends at least partially through the locking member when the external device is coupled between the locking member and the at least one connector (124, see figs. 1-2, and see paragraph [0034]-[0044], the edge of the external device fits the rails and acts as a stabilizing member).
Pertaining to claim 10, Min discloses A portable electronic system (see paragraph [0002]).comprising: a printed circuit board ("PCB") (100) comprising: a dock opening formed from a cutout (112, see fig. 2) extending through the PCB (110): a securing rail (114) coupled to at least one edge of the dock opening (112); and; an external device coupled to the at least one connector; and a locking member coupled to the securing rail, wherein the external device is coupled at least partially between the locking member (see paragraph [0002]). The printed circuit board may be part of a mobile telecommunication terminal.
But, Min does not explicitly teach at least one connector.
However, Chuang et al. teach at least one connector (21, see figs. 1-5 and see paragraph [0022]-[0027] where a tongue assembly is located at the docking end of a dock opening to place a USD type connector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide at least one connector in the device of Min based on the teachings of Chuang et al in order to prove an adequate alternative of design which has the added advantage to use an USB type of connector.
Pertaining to claim 11, Min discloses, wherein the PCB further comprising a second securing rail (110, 114, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph [0034]-[0044]) coupled to the PCB substrate (110) along at least one second edge of the dock opening (the dock opening comprises two rails, one on each side in the sliding direction of the connector).
Pertaining to claim 12, Min discloses, wherein the PCB substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface (110-114, see figs. 1-2 and see paragraph [0034]-[0044]), and the securing rail wraps around the at least one edge of the dock opening from the first surface to the second surface, (the rails are located at the edges of the dock opening and completely wraps them).
Pertaining to claim 13, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein the at least one connector is coupled to the PCB substrate (110 of Min) at a docking end of the dock opening (21, see figs. 1-5, see paragraph [0034]-[0044] of Chuang et al.).
Pertaining to claim14, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein the external device is positioned at least partially within the dock opening (110, 114, see figs. 1-2, see paragraph [0034]-[0044] of Min) and (21, see figs. 1-5 and see paragraph [0022]-[0027] of Chuang et al.). The external device is placed within the opening and is couplable to the connector.
Pertaining to claim 15, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein a position of the coupling of the locking member to the securing rail is determined based on a size of the external device, (110, 114, see figs. 1-2, see paragraph [0034]-[0044] of Min) and (21, see figs. 1-5 and see paragraph [0022]-[0027] of Chuang et al.). The external device is placed within the opening and is couplable to the connector.
Pertaining to claim 16, Min as modified by Chuang et al. further discloses, wherein the external device comprises a stabilizing member that engages with the locking member, when the external device is coupled between the locking member and the at least one connector (124, see figs. 1-2, and see paragraph [0034]-[0044], the edge of the external device fits the rails and acts as a stabilizing member).
Pertaining to claim 17, Min discloses, wherein the locking member defines a stabilizing opening through which the stabilizing member at least partially extends.
.
However, it would have been on obvious matter of design choice to arranged wherein the locking member defines a stabilizing opening through which the stabilizing member at least partially extends, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Pertaining to claim 18, Min discloses, where at least a portion of the locking member abuts a surface of the external device (114, 124, see paragraph [0034]-[0044]. The edge of the external device fits the rails and abuts to its surface forming this way an attachment point.
Pertaining to claim 19, Min discloses, wherein the securing rail comprises at least one attachment point extending at least partially through the securing rail, and wherein the locking member is coupled to the securing rail at the at least one attachment point, (114, 124, see paragraph [0034]-[0044]. The edge of the external device fits the rails and abuts to its surface forming this way an attachment point.
Pertaining to claim 20, Min discloses A portable electronics system comprising: a printed circuit board ("PCB")(100) comprising: PCB substrate (110) comprising a conductive trace (implicit); a plurality of dock openings formed from a plurality of cutouts (112) each extending through the PCB substrate (110); a plurality of securing rails (114), wherein each securing rail of the plurality of securing rails (114) is coupled to at least one edge of at least one dock opening (112) of the plurality of dock openings; and the PCB substrate (110), wherein each connector of the plurality of connectors is coupled to the PCB substrate (110) a docking end of one dock opening (112) of the plurality of dock openings; a plurality of external devices coupled to the plurality of connectors; and a plurality of locking members coupled to the plurality of securing rails (114), wherein each external device of the plurality of external devices is coupled at least partially between a respective locking member and a respective connector,
But, Min does not explicitly teach the plurality of connectors.
However, Chuang et al . the plurality of connectors (21, see figs. 1-5 and see paragraph [0022]-[0027] where a tongue assembly is located at the docking end of a dock opening to place a USD type connector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide at least one connector in the device of Min based on the teachings of Chuang et al in order to prove an adequate alternative of design which has the added advantage to use an USB type of connector.
Relevant Art
Paton (US 2008/0199132-A1) teaches an adapter for an optical printed circuit board, the adapter comprising a socket for receiving a daughter card for connecting to a said optical printed circuit board; and a connector for engagement with the optical printed circuit board arranged such that when the connector engages with the optical printed circuit board an optical connection is established between the optical printed circuit board and the adapter.
Conclusion
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847