DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masaki et al (JP 2008004866A).
With respect to Claim 1, Masaki et al discloses a semiconductor device as an RC-IGBT (Figures 2 and 7) having an IGBT part ( Figure 7, 14) and a diode part (Figure 7, 1) in a single chip, wherein a body of the diode part is formed shallower than a body layer of the IGBT part (Figure 7), a lifetime control layer (Figures 2 and 7, 4) of the IGBT part (Figure 7, 14) is formed in the body layer of the IGBT part, and
the lifetime control layer (Figures 2 and 7, 4) of the diode part (Figure 7, 1) is formed in a drift layer (Figure 7, N-) below the body part of the diode part (Figure 7, 1). See Figures 2 and 7 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 23-39.
With respect to Claim 2, Masaki et al disclose wherein the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the lifetime control layer (Figures 2 and 7, 4) of the IGBT part (Figure 7, 14) and the lifetime control layer (Figures 2 and 7, 4) of the diode part (Figure 7, 1) are formed at the same depth. See Figures 2 and 7 and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 3, Masaki et al disclose wherein the lifetime control layer is made of light ion. See Figure 2A, paragraph 23 (boron).
With respect to Claim 4, Masaki et al disclose wherein the body layer of the IGBT part and the body layer of the diode part are formed in different steps. See Figures 2-6 and corresponding text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki et al (JP 2008004866A) in view of Arai et al (US 2017/0317075).
Masaki et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Masaki et al does not disclose an electric power converter comprising : a pair of DC terminals; AC terminals of the number which is equal to the number of phases of AC output; switching legs of the number which is equal to the number of phases of AC output, the switching legs being connected between the pair of DC terminals, and the switching leg including two parallel circuits connected in series, and each of the two parallel circuits being formed of a switching element and a diode connected reversely in parallel to the switching elements; and a gate circuit controlling the switching element, wherein the diode and the switching element are the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Arai et al discloses an electric power converter (Figure 12) comprising : a pair of DC terminals (Figure 12, 911, 912) ; AC terminals of the number which is equal to the number of phases of AC output (Figure 12) ; switching legs of the number which is equal to the number of phases of AC output, the switching legs being connected between the pair of DC terminals, and the switching leg including two parallel circuits connected in series (paragraphs 170-179 and 207) , and each of the two parallel circuits being formed of a switching element and a diode connected reversely in parallel to the switching elements; and a gate circuit (Figure 12, 801-806) controlling the switching element. See Figure 12 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 50-57, 170-179 and 207).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use the semiconductor device of Masaki et al in the electric power converter of Arai et al, for its known benefit in the art as a diode and switching element. The use of a known device, for its known benefit, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
August 30, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812