DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/5/2024 and 7/30/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description:
third surface 1836bc
fourth surface 1836bd
sensing part 1836b
control unit 400
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description:
1836a in Figs. 6-11
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The amendment filed on 9/5/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to KR 10-2022-003088 is ineffective because the attempt to incorporate the subject matter is occurring after the filing date of the application which is occurring after the filing date of the PCT. Therefore, the attempt to incorporate the subject matter of KR 10-2022-003088 is considered new matter. Please correct the specification accordingly. An example of correction includes deleting the incorporation by reference statement.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 10, “control unit configured to control the flow path switching module.”
Claim 11, “control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to the first cleaner flow path” and “control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to the second flow path.”
Claim 12, “control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path.”
Claim 13, “control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path.”
Claim 15, “control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the disclosure fails to provide written description in the form of corresponding structure for the “control unit,” which invoke 112(f), as mentioned above. A structure of the control unit is provided in paragraph [0302] but just teaches “elements mounted on the printed circuit board,” which is not enough due to the lack of sufficient structure associated with “elements.” Claims 11-15 are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim (claim 10).
Regarding claims 10-15, claim limitation “control unit…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. As noted above, the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 11-15 are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, "wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path when a receiving time of the first signal and a receiving time of the second signal are equal to each other before a final signal is received." It is unclear how the controller is able to detect if the first signal and second signal are equal to each other before a final signal is received. The controller must receive the signal from the first and second signals to make a determination. As such the claim is determined to be indefinite. For examination purposes, the examiner believes the final signal is not received but determined and sent from the controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1), and further in view of Cho et al. (US 20210068603 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wie teaches a cleaner station comprising: a housing (housing 110) configured to define an external shape and having a space therein (“The housing 110 may form the exterior of the cleaner station 100. Specifically, the housing 110 may be formed in a pillar shape including at least one outer wall surface. For example, the housing 110 may be formed in a shape similar to a square pillar. The housing 110 may have a space for accommodating a dust collecting unit 130 for storing dust and a dust suction module 170 for generating a flow force through which dust is collected by the dust collecting unit 130,” pg. 15, lines 8-14, Wie), at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing (“The first cleaner 200 may be coupled to a side surface of the housing 110,” pg. 14, line 4, Wie; “In addition, a cleaner bottom plate (not shown) to which the lower side of the second cleaner 300 may be coupled may be further coupled to the first outer wall surface 112a [first outer wall surface 112a is part of outer wall surface 112 of housing 110],” pg. 18, lines 10-11, Wie );
a first cleaner flow path (first flow path 181) disposed in the housing (“The first flow path 181 may be disposed on the rear side of the coupling surface 121 [coupling surface 121 is part of the coupling part 120 which is disposed on the first outer wall surface 112a of housing 110],” pg. 40-41, lines 36 & 1, Wie; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner (“The first flow path 181 may connect the dust bin 220 of the first cleaner 200 and the dust collecting unit 170,” pg. 40, lines 35-36, Wie); a second cleaner flow path (second flow path 182) disposed in the housing (“The second flow path 182 may connect the second cleaner 300 and the dust collecting unit 170,” pg. 41, lines 7-8, Wie; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner (“Dust in the second cleaner 300 may move to the dust collecting unit 170 through the second flow path 182,” pg. 41, lines 8-9, Wie; “The cleaner station 100 may remove dust from a dust bin (not shown) of the second cleaner 300,” pg. 15, lines 16-17, Wie); and a flow path switching module (flow path switching valve 183) configured to connect a dust collecting part (dust collecting unit 170), which is disposed in the housing (“The dust collecting unit 170 may be disposed inside the housing 110,” pg. 40, lines 9-10, Wie), selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (“The flow path switching valve 183 may be disposed between the dust collecting unit 170 and the first flow path 181 and the second flow path 182. The flow path switching valve 183 may selectively open and close the first flow path 181 and the second flow path 182 connected to the dust collecting unit 170,” pg. 41, lines 10-13, Wie).
Wie does not teach a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path ;a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power; a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side, the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose; and a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part, the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
However, Lee does teach an apparatus for diverting fluid flow path comprising a casing (casing 201) having a first cleaner flow path connection portion (first tube connecting member 213) connected to the first cleaner flow path (“The first tube connecting member 213 or the second tube connecting member 223 connects an external tube to the inlets 211, 221 of the first and second paths 210, 220 by any suitable fastening method,” [0051], Lee), and a second cleaner flow path connection portion (second tube connecting member 223) connected to the second cleaner flow path (“The first tube connecting member 213 or the second tube connecting member 223 connects an external tube to the inlets 211, 221 of the first and second paths 210, 220 by any suitable fastening method,” [0051], Lee); a connection hose (path selecting tube 250) having an inlet (inlet 251) configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing (“the inlet 251 of the path selecting tube 250 has a section in an outwardly-rounded arc shape so as to be slid along an upper surface of the guide member 204 which has a section in an inwardly-rounded arc shape,” [0053], Lee; “ The casing tube 201a includes a guide member 204 formed therein in a curved shape. Preferably, the guide member 204 may be formed as a plate in a circular arc shape, with both sides fixed to sidewalls of the casing tube 201a,” [0048], Lee; as shown in annotated), the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion (“The path selecting unit may include a path selecting tube to selectively connect the fixed fluid flow path to one of the selectable fluid flow paths,” [0012], Lee); [a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power;] a driving cam (cam 260) [coupled to the switching motor], the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose (“As the main body is inclined, the driving member 280 in contact with the lower body is moved upward and downward in relation to the main body, to thereby rotate the cam 260. The rotating cam 260 connects the path selecting tube 250 to the first path 210 or the second path 220, to thereby form a path connecting the third path 230 to the first path 210 or the second path 220,” [0057], Lee).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide an apparatus for the diverting the flow path via the connection hose disposed in a casing being driven by a cam to allow for the selected cleaner flow path to be completely sealed while the cleaner flow path not selected is blocked to prevent fluctuations in suction force caused by the diverter not being able to completely separate the two cleaner flow paths from each other ([0007] & [0096), Lee).
Wie, as modified, does not teach a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side and a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part, the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
However, Oh does teach a suction brush for use in vacuum cleaner and method of adjusting the height thereof comprising a switching motor (driving motor 163) disposed at one side of the casing (“a driving motor [163] disposed on one side of the lower casing [115],” [0016], Oh; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and configured to generate power (“a driving motor [163] disposed on one side of the lower casing [115] configured to operate in response to the signal generated from the detecting unit,” [0016], Oh; “The driving motor 163 is connected to an external power source or a battery installed in the cleaner body through a power control part (not illustrated) of the controller (not illustrated),” [0046], Oh) and a driving cam (cam 168) coupled to the switching motor (cam 168 is coupled to driving motor 163 via first supporting rod 165a [coupled to driving motor 163], second supporting rod 165b [coupled to cam 168], and closing-up plate 165 [rotatably supported between first supporting rod 165a and second supporting rod 165b as]; shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side (“a cam 168 having a cam protrusion disposed at the one end of the second supporting rod 165b,” [0047], Oh), and a position sensor (limit switch 169) disposed at one side of the sensing part (as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part (“a limit switch 169 configured to be switched on and off by the cam 168. The limit switch 169 includes first and second switches that have switch terminals disposed at an angle of 90 degrees with respect to each other so that they are switched on by the cam protrusion whenever the cam 168 rotates through an angle of approximately 90 degrees,” [0047], Oh).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Oh to utilize a position sensor comprising a switch to immediately detect and transmit a signal to the control unit of the vacuum system, via the sensing part engaging with the position sensor, thus causing the control unit to respond via turning components of the vacuum on or off, such as the switching motor, based on the signal transmitted by the position sensor ([0016], [0047], & [0057], Oh).
Wie, as modified, does not teach the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
However, Cho does teach a cleaning device having a vacuum cleaner and docking station having the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose (“the position detection sensor 130 may be provided as a micro-switch that is pressurized according to movement of the flow path valve 163 to output a first value when the flow path valve 163 closes the suction flow path 180 and output a second value when the flow path valve 163 opens the suction flow path 180,” [0137], Cho).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Cho to provide a position sensor to detect if the connection hose is fully closed or open in the flow path switching valve as the suction flow of the vacuum can be very sensitive to even the smallest of openings if connection hose is not fully sealed to either flow path ([0137] & [0138], Cho).
Regarding claim 2, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1.
Wie, as modified, does not teach the sensing part protrudes outward in a radial direction of a shaft of the switching motor and has an end tightly attached to the switch of the position sensor.
However, Oh does teach the sensing part protrudes outward in a radial direction of a shaft (second supporting rod 165b) of the switching motor (“a cam 168 having a cam protrusion disposed at the one end of the second supporting rod 165b,” [0047], Oh; “The air passage closing-up plate 165 is connected to a driving axis of the driving motor 163 so that it is rotated between the open and closed position by the driving motor 163. The air passage closing-up plate 165 is rotatably supported at both ends thereof by first and second supporting rods 165a and 165b rotatably disposed in at first and second supporting brackets,” [0046], Oh), and has an end tightly attached to the switch of the position sensor (attachment between sensing part end and switch as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Oh to allow for the sensing part to protrude outwards towards the shaft of the switching motor to allow for the sensing part to easily engage with the switching motor and allow for the sensing part to be secured tightly to the switch of the position sensor to enable the position sensor to be responsive, rapid, and precise when turning the switch on or off, which wouldn’t be possible if the sensing part was loosely attached to the switch of the position sensor ([0046], Oh).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1), further in view of Cho et al. (US 20210068603 A1), as rejected in claim 1 above, and moreover in view of Kim et al. (US 20090049643 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1.
Wie, as modified, does not teach the sensing part comprises :a first surface protruding radially outward and having an outer end configured to press the switch of the position sensor and turn on the position sensor; and a second surface disposed at one side of the first surface and less protruding radially outward than the first surface, the second surface being configured to turn off the position sensor.
However, Kim does teach a suction brush for a vacuum cleaner comprising a first surface protruding radially outward (outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162) and having an outer end configured to press the switch of the position sensor and turn on the position sensor (“the closed state of the first micro switch 161 refers to a state that a contacting terminal of the first micro switch 161 is pressed by an outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 as illustrated in FIG. 7,” [0056], Kim); and a second surface (recess portion 162a of the outer circumferential portion 162) disposed at one side of the first surface (as shown in annotated Fig. 8 below) and less protruding radially outward than the first surface, the second surface being configured to turn off the position sensor (“the open state of the first micro switch 161 refers to a state that the contacting terminal of the first micro switch 161 locates in a recess portion 162a of the outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 and is not pressed by the outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 as illustrated in FIG. 8,” [0056], Kim).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Kim to enable the driving cam to easily turn the switch of the position sensor on and off by the first surface protruding radially outward make contact and receive the switch of the position sensor, causing the switch to be pressed and establish a closed state, while the second surface less protruding radially outward than the first surface not make contact or receive the switch of the position sensor, thus determining an open state by the switch ([0056], Kim).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1), further in view of Cho et al. (US 20210068603 A1), as rejected in claim 1 above, also in view of Dawson et al. (US 20100192323 A1), and moreover in view of Kim et al. (US 20090049643 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1.
Wie, as modified, does not teach the sensing part comprises: a first surface protruding radially outward and extending in a circumferential direction by less than a predetermined length, the first surface being configured to turn on the position sensor; and a third surface disposed at one side of the first surface and protruding radially outward, the third surface extending in the circumferential direction by more than the predetermined length and configured to turn on the position sensor.
However, Dawson does teach a surface treating head assembly for a vacuum cleaner appliance comprising a first surface (first cam face 50 of cam 37) protruding radially outward and extending in a circumferential direction by less than a predetermined length (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d below), and a third surface (third face 52 of cam 37) disposed at one side of the first surface and protruding radially outward (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d below), the third surface extending in the circumferential direction by more than the predetermined length (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d below)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Dawson to provide cam surfaces of different predetermined lengths to correspond to the respective predetermined vertical positions of the agitator or brush bar ([0007] & [0008], Dawson).
Wie, as modified, does not teach the first surface being configured to turn on the position sensor and [the third surface] configured to turn on the position sensor.
However, Kim does teach the first surface being configured to turn on the position sensor (“the closed state of the first micro switch 161 refers to a state that a contacting terminal of the first microswitch 161 is pressed by an outer circumferential of the first control cam 162 as illustrated in FIG. 6,” [0056], Kim) and [the third surface] the second surface being configured to turn off the position sensor (“the open state of the first micro switch 161 refers to a state that the contacting terminal of the first micro switch 161 locates in a recess portion 162a of the outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 and is not pressed by the outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 as illustrated in FIG. 8,” [0056], Kim).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Kim to enable the driving cam to easily turn the switch of the position sensor on and off by the first surface protruding radially outward make contact and receive the switch of the position sensor, causing the switch to be pressed and establish a closed state, while the second surface less protruding radially outward than the first surface not make contact or receive the switch of the position sensor, thus determining an open state by the switch ([0056], Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 4,
Wie, as modified, does not teach the sensing part comprises a second surface disposed between the first surface and the third surface and less protruding radially outward than the first surface, the second surface being configured to turn off the position sensor.
However, Dawson does teach a second surface (second cam face 51 of cam 37) disposed between the first surface and the third surface and less protruding radially outward than the first surface (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Dawson to provide cam surfaces of different predetermined lengths to correspond to the respective predetermined vertical positions of the agitator or brush bar ([0007] & [0008], Dawson).
Wie, as modified, does not teach the second surface being configured to turn off the position sensor.
However, Kim does teach the second surface being configured to turn off the position sensor (“the open state of the first micro switch 161 refers to a state that the contacting terminal of the first micro switch 161 locates in a recess portion 162a of the outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 and is not pressed by the outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 as illustrated in FIG. 8,” [0056], Kim).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Kim to enable the driving cam to easily turn the switch of the position sensor on and off by the first surface protruding radially outward make contact and receive the switch of the position sensor, causing the switch to be pressed and establish a closed state, while the second surface less protruding radially outward than the first surface not make contact or receive the switch of the position sensor, thus determining an open state by the switch ([0056], Kim).
Regarding claim 6, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 5,
Wie, as modified, does not teach the second surface extends in the circumferential direction by more than the predetermined length.
However, Dawson does teach the second surface extends in the circumferential direction by more than the predetermined length (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Dawson to provide cam surfaces of different predetermined lengths to correspond to the respective predetermined vertical positions of the agitator or brush bar ([0007] & [0008], Dawson).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1), further in view of Cho et al. (US 20210068603 A1), as rejected in claim 1 above, also in view of Van Wolferen et al. (US 20160324382 A1), and moreover in view of Ryu et al. (US 20190328195 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1.
Wie, as modified, does not teach the flow path switching module comprises a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, and wherein the driving cam comprises a gear portion connected to the first link and configured to transmit power to the first link.
However, Van Wolferen does teach a vacuum cleaner nozzle, wherein the flow path switching module comprises a first link (link arm 10) having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose (“Preferably, a link arm extends between said wheel axis and wheel axis and the second axis and is pivotally connected to each of the suction pipe connector [3] and the housing [2],” [0007], Van Wolferen; as shown in annotated Fig. 4 below)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Van Wolferen to provide a suction a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing and another side coupled to the connection hose to enable the casing to pivot about the axis where the first link is rotatably coupled to the casing, independent of the connection hose ([0033], Van Wolferen).
Wie, as modified, does not teach the driving cam comprises a gear portion connected to the first link and configured to transmit power to the first link.
However, Ryu does teach a nozzle for a cleaner, wherein the driving cam comprises a gear portion connected to the first link and configured to transmit power to the first link (“The power transmission member 289 may include a rotary member 289a connected to the pump motor 280 to rotate such as a gear and a cam, a first link member 289b eccentrically rotatably coupled to the rotary member 289a, ,” [0458], Ryu).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Ryu to enable the gear portion to transmit power to the first link to convert rotational motion generated by the switching motor to reciprocal motion, via a combination of the gear and the cam ([0045], Ryu).
Regarding claim 8, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 7,
Wie, as modified, does not teach a connection portion between the first link and the casing is disposed opposite to a connection portion between the first link and the connection hose based on an imaginary line extending in a longitudinal direction of the connection hose.
However, Van Wolferen does teach a connection portion between the first link and the casing is disposed opposite to a connection portion between the first link and the connection hose based on an imaginary line extending in a longitudinal direction of the connection hose (as shown in annotated Fig. 4 above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Van Wolferen to establish structural stability between the first link and its connection portions with the casing and connection hose by having each respective connection portion with directed opposite of each other with respect to the imaginary line extending along the longitudinal direction of the connection hose ([0033], Van Wolferen).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1), further in view of Cho et al. (US 20210068603 A1), as rejected in claim 1 above, and moreover in view of Liu et al. (US 20190350422 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1.
Wie, as modified, does not teach the driving cam comprises a stopper disposed at one side of the sensing part, protruding radially, and configured to prevent the driving cam from rotating at a limited angle or more.
However, Liu does teach a steam cleaning device, wherein the driving cam comprises a stopper disposed at one side of the sensing part (protrusion 130 of cam 127) protruding radially, and configured to prevent the driving cam from rotating at a limited angle or more (“Then, after a certain angle of rotation, the protrusion 130 of the cam 127 is restricted by the second transmission portion 823 so that the cam 127 cannot continue to rotate,” [0082], Liu).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Liu to provide stopper disposed at one side of the sensing part to enable the stopper to control the opening or closing of the flow path switching valve by detecting to user when the when the flow path switching valve is fully closed as to determine when the flow path switching valve is fully sealed with no openings that may affect the suction flow in addition to preventing damage to the flow path switching valve and the vacuum system overall caused by overturning the valve the past the limited angle leading to fracturing or failure ([0078], Liu).
Claims 10-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Wie teaches a cleaner station comprising: a housing (housing 110) configured to define an external shape and having a space therein (“The housing 110 may form the exterior of the cleaner station 100. Specifically, the housing 110 may be formed in a pillar shape including at least one outer wall surface. For example, the housing 110 may be formed in a shape similar to a square pillar. The housing 110 may have a space for accommodating a dust collecting unit 130 for storing dust and a dust suction module 170 for generating a flow force through which dust is collected by the dust collecting unit 130,” pg. 18, lines 10-11, Wie), at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing (“The first cleaner 200 may be coupled to a side surface of the housing 110,” Wie; “In addition, a cleaner bottom plate (not shown) to which the lower side of the second cleaner 300 may be coupled may be further coupled to the first outer wall surface 112a [first outer wall surface 112a is part of outer wall surface 112 of housing 110],” pg. 18, lines 10-11, Wie); a first cleaner flow path (first flow path 181) disposed in the housing (“The first flow path 181 may be disposed on the rear side of the coupling surface 121 [coupling surface 121 is part of the coupling part 120 which is disposed on the first outer wall surface 112a of housing 110],” pg. 40-41, lines 36 &1, Wie; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner (“The first flow path 181 may connect the dust bin 220 of the first cleaner 200 and the dust collecting unit 170,” pg. 40, lines 35-36, Wie); a second cleaner flow path (second flow path 182) disposed in the housing (“The second flow path 182 may connect the second cleaner 300 and the dust collecting unit 170,” pg. 41, lines 7-8, Wie; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner (“Dust in the second cleaner 300 may move to the dust collecting unit 170 through the second flow path 182,” pg. 41, lines 8-9, Wie; “The cleaner station 100 may remove dust from a dust bin (not shown) of the second cleaner 300,” pg. 15, lines 16-17, Wie); a flow path switching module (flow path switching valve 183) configured to connect a dust collecting part (dust collecting unit 170), which is disposed in the housing (“the dust collecting unit 170 may be disposed inside the housing 110,” pg. 40, lines 9-10, Wie), selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (“The flow path switching valve 183 may be disposed between the dust collecting unit 170 and the first flow path 181 and the second flow path 182. The flow path switching valve 183 may selectively open and close the first flow path 181 and the second flow path 182 connected to the dust collecting unit 170,” pg. 41, lines 10-13, Wie); and a control unit (controller or control unit 400) configured to control the flow path switching module (“The controller 400 may control the flow path switching valve 183 of the flow path unit 180. For example, the controller 400 may selectively open and close the first flow path 181 and the second flow path 182,” pg. 45, lines 16-18, Wie), and a position sensor (coupling sensor 125) comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off (“The coupling sensor 125 may also include a contact sensor. For example, the coupling sensor 125 may include a micro switch,” pg. 21, lines 3-4, Wie), the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on (“In this case, the controller 400 may determine that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120 by receiving a signal from the coupling sensor 125,” pg. 43, lines 26-28, Wie), and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off (controller 400 can detect if the micro switch or contact sensor of coupling sensor 125 is off if no signal akin to when the switch is turned on is received), and wherein the control unit determines a position of the [connection hose] on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor (“In this case, the controller or control unit 400 may determine that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120 by receiving a signal from the coupling sensor 125,” pg. 43, lines 26-28, Wie).
Wie, does not teach a connection hose (path selecting tube 250) selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path.
However, Lee does teach an apparatus for diverting fluid flow path a connection hose (path selecting tube 250) selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path (“The path selecting unit may include a path selecting tube to selectively connect the fixed fluid flow path to one of the selectable fluid flow paths,” [0012], Lee).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide an apparatus for the diverting the flow path to via connection hose disposed in a casing being driven by a cam and switch motor assembly to allow for the selected cleaner flow path to be completely sealed while the cleaner flow path not selected is blocked to prevent fluctuations in suction force caused by the diverter not being able to completely separate the two cleaner flow paths from each other ([0007] & [0096), Lee).
Regarding claim 11, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10, wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to the first cleaner flow path when the control unit receives the first signal from the position sensor continuously for a predetermined time or more, and wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to the second flow path when the control unit receives the second signal from the position sensor continuously for the predetermined time or more (the controller 400 may receive a continuous signal from the coupling sensor 120 as long as the microswitch of coupling sensor 120 is turned on, indicating that the first cleaner 200 is coupled for a period of time, similarly applying when the controller or control unit 400 continuously detects no aforementioned signal due to the microswitch of the coupling sensor 120 being turned off, indicating that the first cleaner 200 is not coupled for a period of time).
Regarding claim 12, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10, wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path when the control unit receives any one of the first signal and the second signal multiple times (the controller or control unit 400 receives any one of the first and second signal multiple times by turning the micro switch or contact sensor of the coupling sensor 125 on and off repeatedly).
Regarding claim 13, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10, wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path when a receiving time of the first signal and a receiving time of the second signal are equal to each other before a final signal is received (“When it is determined that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120, the control unit 400 may operate the fixing unit motor 133 to fix the first cleaner 200 [controller or control unit 400 responds to the signal provided by the coupling unit 120 via the coupling sensor 125 by determining and sending a final signal to fixing unit 133 to fix or clamp the first cleaner 200],” pg. 43, lines 32-33, Wie).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), as rejected in claim 10 above, additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1), further in view of Van Wolferen (US 20160324382 A1), and moreover in view of Ryu (US 20190328195 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Wie, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10.
Wie, as modified, does not teach the flow path switching module comprises: a casing in which the connection hose is disposed; a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to an inlet of the connection hose; a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
However, Lee does teach a casing (casing 201) in which the connection hose is disposed (as shown in annotated Fig. 1 below); [a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power] and a driving cam (cam 260) [coupled to the switching motor].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide an apparatus for the diverting the flow path to via connection hose disposed in a casing being driven by a cam and switch motor assembly to allow for the selected cleaner flow path to be completely sealed while the cleaner flow path not selected is blocked to prevent fluctuations in suction force caused by the diverter not being able to completely separate the two cleaner flow paths from each other ([0007] & [0096), Lee).
Wie, as modified, does not teach a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor.
However, Oh does teach a switching motor (driving motor 163) disposed at one side of the casing (“a driving motor [163] disposed on one side of the lower casing [115],” [0016], Oh; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and configured to generate power (“a driving motor [163] disposed on one side of the lower casing [115] configured to operate in response to the signal generated from the detecting unit,” [0016], Oh; “The driving motor 163 is connected to an external power source or a battery installed in the cleaner body through a power control part (not illustrated) of the controller (not illustrated),” [0046], Oh) and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor (cam 168 is coupled to driving motor 163 via first supporting rod 165a [coupled to driving motor 163], second supporting rod 165b [coupled to cam 168], and closing-up plate 165 [rotatably supported between first supporting rod 165a and second supporting rod 165b as]; shown in annotated Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Oh to utilize a position sensor comprising a switch to immediately detect and transmit a signal to the control unit of the vacuum system, via the sensing part engaging with the position sensor, thus causing the control unit to respond via turning components of the vacuum on or off, such as the switching motor, based on the signal transmitted by the position sensor ([0016], [0047], & [0057], Oh).
Wie, as modified, does note teach a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to an inlet of the connection hose, and [the driving cam] configured to transmit the power to the first link.
However, Van Wolferen does teach a first link (link arm) having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to an inlet of the connection hose (“Preferably, a link arm extends between said wheel axis and wheel axis and the second axis and is pivotally connected to each of the suction pipe connector [3] and the housing [2],” [0007], Van Wolferen; as shown in annotated Fig. 4 below);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Van Wolferen to enable the casing to pivot about the axis where the first link is rotatably coupled to the casing, independent of the connection hose ([0033], Van Wolferen).
Wie, as modified, does not teach [the driving cam] configured to transmit the power to the first link.
However, Ryu does teach [a driving cam] configured to transmit the power to the first link (“The power transmission member 289 may include a rotary member 289a connected to the pump motor 280 to rotate such as a gear and a cam, a first link member 289b eccentrically rotatably coupled to the rotary member 289a,” [0458], Ryu).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Ryu to enable the for the gear portion to transmit power to the first link to convert rotational motion generated by the switching motor to reciprocal motion, via a combination of the gear and the cam ([0045], Ryu).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable for disclosing “ a stop sensor configured to detect a position of the stopper and transmit a signal to the control unit when the position of the stopper is detected, and wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path when the control unit simultaneously receives a signal from the position sensor and receives a signal from the stop sensor.” The closest prior art to the invention of claim 15 is Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), additionally in view of Van Wolferen (US 20160324382 A1), further in view of Ryu (US 20190328195 A1), as rejected in claim 14 above, and moreover in view of Liu (US 20190350422 A1) (“Then, after a certain angle of rotation, the protrusion 130 of the cam 127 is restricted by the second transmission portion 823 so that the cam 127 cannot continue to rotate [second transmission portion 823 may function as a stop sensor due to its purpose in detecting and restricting the stopper, protrusion 130 of cam 127, thus limiting the rotation of cam 127],” [0082], Liu). However, the interpreted stop sensor is not taught to transmit a signal to the control unit, nor does it teach a control unit receiving a simultaneous signal from both the position sensor and the stop sensor.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 10, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 10, 12, and 19 of copending Application No. 18/845,254, in view of Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1) additionally in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), and further in view of Cho et al. (US 20210068603 A1).
Instant Application 18/844,137
Copending Application 18/845,254
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; and a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path ,wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power; a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side, the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose; and a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part, the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; a dust collecting flow path having an inlet selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path, and an outlet connected to a dust collecting part; and a flow path switching module disposed between the dust collecting flow path, the first cleaner flow path, and the second cleaner flow path and configured to selectively connect the dust collecting flow path to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path, the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing.
[Claim 5] The cleaner station of claim 3, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, and an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, wherein at least a part of the flow path switching module cover is tightly attached to the first link.
[Claim 10] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose disposed in the casing and having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being coupled selectively to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion and having an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion; a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose; a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
[Claim 7] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module comprises a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, and wherein the driving cam comprises a gear portion connected to the first link and configured to transmit power to the first link.
[Claim 5] The cleaner station of claim 3, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, and an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, wherein at least a part of the flow path switching module cover is tightly attached to the first link.
[Claim 12] The cleaner station of claim 10, wherein the first link comprises: a gear portion connected to the driving cam and having gear teeth; and a partition wall disposed on a rear surface of the gear portion and extending outward in a radial direction of the gear portion.
[Claim 19] The cleaner station of claim 18, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
[Claim 10] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path; and a control unit configured to control the flow path switching module, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a connection hose selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path; and a position sensor comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off, the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on, and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off, and wherein the control unit determines a position of the connection hose on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor.
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; a dust collecting flow path having an inlet selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path, and an outlet connected to a dust collecting part; and a flow path switching module disposed between the dust collecting flow path, the first cleaner flow path, and the second cleaner flow path and configured to selectively connect the dust collecting flow path to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path, the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing.
[Claim 5] The cleaner station of claim 3, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, and an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, wherein at least a part of the flow path switching module cover is tightly attached to the first link.
[Claim 19] The cleaner station of claim 18, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
[Claim 14] The cleaner station of claim 10, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing in which the connection hose is disposed; a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to an inlet of the connection hose; a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
[Claim 5] The cleaner station of claim 3, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, and an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, wherein at least a part of the flow path switching module cover is tightly attached to the first link.
[Claim 10] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose disposed in the casing and having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being coupled selectively to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion and having an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion; a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose; a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claims 1, 5, and 10 of the copending application do not teach a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing, and [a driving cam] comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side, the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose; and a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part, the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
However, Wie does teach a cleaner station comprising a dust collecting part (dust collecting unit 170), which is disposed in the housing (“The dust collecting unit 170 may be disposed inside the housing 110,” pg. 40, lines 9-10, Wie).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application with the teachings of Wie to contain the dust collecting part within the vacuum housing to prevent any dust or debris in the dust collecting part from escaping the housing and the overall cleaner station (pg. 40, lines 9-10, Wie).
The copending application, as modified, does not teach a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing, and [a driving cam] comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side, the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose; and a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part, the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
However, Oh does teach a suction brush for use in vacuum cleaner and method of adjusting the height thereof comprising a switching motor (driving motor 163) disposed at one side of the casing (“a driving motor [163] disposed on one side of the lower casing [115],” [0016], Oh; as shown in annotated Fig. 2) and [the driving cam] comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side (“a cam 168 having a cam protrusion disposed at the one end of the second supporting rod 165b,” [0047], Oh), and a position sensor (limit switch 169) disposed at one side of the sensing part (as shown in annotated Fig. 2) and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part (“a limit switch 169 configured to be switched on and off by the cam 168. The limit switch 169 includes first and second switches that have switch terminals disposed at an angle of 90 degrees with respect to each other so that they are switched on by the cam protrusion whenever the cam 168 rotates through an angle of approximately 90 degrees,” [0047], Oh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the cleaner station recited in claim 1 of the copending application, as modified, with the teachings of Oh to utilize a position sensor comprising a switch to immediately detect and transmit a signal to the control unit of the vacuum system, via the sensing part engaging with the position sensor, thus causing the control unit to respond via turning components of the vacuum on or off, such as the switching motor, based on the signal transmitted by the position sensor ([0016], [0047], & [0057], Oh).
The copending application, as modified, does not teach the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
However, Cho does teach a cleaning device having a vacuum cleaner and docking station having the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose (“the position detection sensor 130 may be provided as a micro-switch that is pressurized according to movement of the flow path valve 163 to output a first value when the flow path valve 163 closes the suction flow path 180 and output a second value when the flow path valve 163 opens the suction flow path 180,” [0137], Cho).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Cho to provide a position sensor to detect if the connection hose is fully closed or open in the flow path switching valve as the suction flow of the vacuum can be very sensitive to even the smallest of openings if connection hose is not fully sealed to either flow path ([0137] & [0138], Cho).
Regarding claim 10 of the instant application, claims 1, 5, and 19 of the copending application does not teach a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, a control unit configured to control the flow path switching module, and a position sensor comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off, the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on, and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off, and wherein the control unit determines a position of the connection hose on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor.
However, Wie does teach a dust collecting part (dust collecting unit 170), which is disposed in the housing (“The dust collecting unit 170 may be disposed inside the housing 110,” pg. 40, lines 9-10, Wie) and a control unit (controller or control unit 400) configured to control the flow path switching module (“The controller 400 may control the flow path switching valve 183 of the flow path unit 180. For example, the controller 400 may selectively open and close the first flow path 181 and the second flow path 182,” pg. 45, lines 16-18, Wie), and a position sensor (coupling sensor 125) comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off (“The coupling sensor 125 may also include a contact sensor. For example, the coupling sensor 125 may include a micro switch,” pg. 21, lines 3-4, Wie), the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on (“In this case, the controller 400 may determine that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120 by receiving a signal from the coupling sensor 125,” pg. 43, lines 26-28, Wie), and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off (controller 400 can detect if the micro switch or contact sensor of coupling sensor 125 is off if no signal akin to when the switch is turned on is received), and wherein the control unit determines a position of the [connection hose] on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor (“In this case, the controller or control unit 400 may determine that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120 by receiving a signal from the coupling sensor 125,” pg. 43, lines 26-28, Wie).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application with the teachings of Wie to contain the dust collecting part within the vacuum housing to prevent any dust or debris in the dust collecting part from escaping the housing and the overall cleaner station (pg. 40, lines 9-10, Wie).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application with the teachings of Wie to provide a control unit that communicates with a position sensor to determine the position of the connection hose based on received signals from the position sensor to allow for the cleaner station to automatically respond to immediate changes to the cleaner station’s configuration, such switching between the first and second cleaner via the flow path switching module, in addition to ensuring that the connection hose is fully sealed to either connection portion of the first or second flow paths to prevent openings or gaps within the connection from affecting the suction flow (pg. 45, lines 16-18 & pg. 42, lines 26-28, Wie).
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claims 5 and 10 of the copending application, as modified, do not teach a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing.
However, Lee does teach an apparatus for diverting fluid flow path comprising a switching motor (driving motor 163) disposed at one side of the casing (“a driving motor [163] disposed on one side of the lower casing [115],” [0016], Oh; as shown in annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Oh to utilize a position sensor comprising a switch to immediately detect and transmit a signal to the control unit of the vacuum system, via the sensing part engaging with the position sensor, thus causing the control unit to respond via turning components of the vacuum on or off, such as the switching motor, based on the signal transmitted by the position sensor ([0016], [0047], & [0057], Oh).
Claims 1 and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6, and 7 of copending Application No. 18/845,089, in view of Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A) and additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1)
Instant Application 18/844,137
Copending Application 18/845,089
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; and a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power; a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side, the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose; and a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part, the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; a dust collecting part disposed in the housing and configured to capture dust in the dust bin of the first cleaner or the second cleaner; a dust collecting motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate a suction force for sucking dust in the dust bin; a flow path switching module configured to selectively connect the dust collecting part to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path; and a control unit disposed in the housing and configured to control at least any one of the dust collecting motor and the flow path switching module, wherein the control unit operates the flow path switching module at least one or more times before the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 3] The cleaner station of claim 2, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing disposed in the housing and having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose disposed in the casing and having an inlet selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a position sensor disposed in the casing and configured to detect a position of the connection hose and transmit a signal to the control unit, and wherein the control unit stops an operation of the flow path switching module when the control unit receives the signal from the position sensor.
[Claim 10] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path; and a control unit configured to control the flow path switching module, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a connection hose selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path; and a position sensor comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off, the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on, and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off, and wherein the control unit determines a position of the connection hose on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor.
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; a dust collecting part disposed in the housing and configured to capture dust in the dust bin of the first cleaner or the second cleaner; a dust collecting motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate a suction force for sucking dust in the dust bin; a flow path switching module configured to selectively connect the dust collecting part to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path; and a control unit disposed in the housing and configured to control at least any one of the dust collecting motor and the flow path switching module, wherein the control unit operates the flow path switching module at least one or more times before the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 3] The cleaner station of claim 2, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing disposed in the housing and having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose disposed in the casing and having an inlet selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a position sensor disposed in the casing and configured to detect a position of the connection hose and transmit a signal to the control unit, and wherein the control unit stops an operation of the flow path switching module when the control unit receives the signal from the position sensor.
[Claim 6] The cleaner station of claim 5, wherein the control unit couples the connection hose to the first cleaner flow path connection portion when the first cleaner and the second cleaner are coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 7] The cleaner station of claim 5, wherein the control unit couples the connection hose to the second cleaner flow path connection portion when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor operates and when the first cleaner is coupled to the housing after the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 11] The cleaner station of claim 10, wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to the first cleaner flow path when the control unit receives the first signal from the position sensor continuously for a predetermined time or more, and wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to the second flow path when the control unit receives the second signal from the position sensor continuously for the predetermined time or more.
[Claim 6] The cleaner station of claim 5, wherein the control unit couples the connection hose to the first cleaner flow path connection portion when the first cleaner and the second cleaner are coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 7] The cleaner station of claim 5, wherein the control unit couples the connection hose to the second cleaner flow path connection portion when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor operates and when the first cleaner is coupled to the housing after the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 12] The cleaner station of claim 10, wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path when the control unit receives any one of the first signal and the second signal multiple times.
[Claim 6] The cleaner station of claim 5, wherein the control unit couples the connection hose to the first cleaner flow path connection portion when the first cleaner and the second cleaner are coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 7] The cleaner station of claim 5, wherein the control unit couples the connection hose to the second cleaner flow path connection portion when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor operates and when the first cleaner is coupled to the housing after the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 13] The cleaner station of claim 10, wherein the control unit determines that the connection hose is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path when a receiving time of the first signal and a receiving time of the second signal are equal to each other before a final signal is received.
[Claim 6] The cleaner station of claim 5, wherein the control unit couples the connection hose to the first cleaner flow path connection portion when the first cleaner and the second cleaner are coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor operates.
[Claim 7] The cleaner station of claim 5, wherein the control unit couples the connection hose to the second cleaner flow path connection portion when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing before the dust collecting motor operates and when the first cleaner is coupled to the housing after the dust collecting motor operates.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claims 1 and 3 of the copending application do not teach a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power; a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side, the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose; and a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part.
However, Oh does teach a switching motor (driving motor 163) disposed at one side of the casing (“a driving motor [163] disposed on one side of the lower casing [115],” [0016], Oh; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and configured to generate power (“a driving motor [163] disposed on one side of the lower casing [115] configured to operate in response to the signal generated from the detecting unit,” [0016], Oh; “The driving motor 163 is connected to an external power source or a battery installed in the cleaner body through a power control part (not illustrated) of the controller (not illustrated),” [0046], Oh) and a driving cam (cam 168) coupled to the switching motor (cam 168 is coupled to driving motor 163 via first supporting rod 165a [coupled to driving motor 163], second supporting rod 165b [coupled to cam 168], and closing-up plate 165 [rotatably supported between first supporting rod 165a and second supporting rod 165b as]; shown in annotated Fig. 2) and comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side (“a cam 168 having a cam protrusion disposed at the one end of the second supporting rod 165b,” [0047], Oh), and a position sensor (limit switch 169) disposed at one side of the sensing part (as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part (“a limit switch 169 configured to be switched on and off by the cam 168. The limit switch 169 includes first and second switches that have switch terminals disposed at an angle of 90 degrees with respect to each other so that they are switched on by the cam protrusion whenever the cam 168 rotates through an angle of approximately 90 degrees,” [0047], Oh).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application to incorporate the teachings of Oh to utilize a position sensor comprising a switch to immediately detect and transmit a signal to the control unit of the vacuum system, via the sensing part engaging with the position sensor, thus causing the control unit to respond via turning components of the vacuum on or off, such as the switching motor, based on the signal transmitted by the position sensor ([0016], [0047], & [0057], Oh).
Regarding claim 10 of the instant application, claims 1, 3, and 6-7 of the copending application do not teach a position sensor comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off, the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on, and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off, and the control unit determines a position of the connection hose on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor.
However, Wie does teach a position sensor (coupling sensor 125) comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off (“The coupling sensor 125 may also include a contact sensor. For example, the coupling sensor 125 may include a micro switch,” pg. 21, lines 3-4, Wie), the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on (“In this case, the controller 400 may determine that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120 by receiving a signal from the coupling sensor 125,” pg. 43, lines 26-28, Wie), and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off (controller 400 can detect if the micro switch or contact sensor of coupling sensor 125 is off if no signal akin to when the switch is turned on is received), and wherein the control unit determines a position of the [connection hose] on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor (“In this case, the controller or control unit 400 may determine that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120 by receiving a signal from the coupling sensor 125,” pg. 43, lines 26-28, Wie).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application with the teachings of Wie to provide a control unit that communicates with a position sensor to determine the position of the connection hose based on received signals from the position sensor to allow for the cleaner station to automatically respond to immediate changes to the cleaner station’s configuration, such switching between the first and second cleaner via the flow path switching module, in addition to ensuring that the connection hose is fully sealed to either connection portion of the first or second flow paths to prevent openings or gaps within the connection from affecting the suction flow (pg. 45, lines 16-18 & pg. 42, lines 26-28, Wie).
Regarding claim 11 of the instant application, claims 6 and 7 of the copending application, as modified, do not teach the control unit receives the first signal from the position sensor continuously for a predetermined time or more and the control unit receives the second signal from the position sensor continuously for the predetermined time or more.
However, Wie teaches the control unit receives the first signal from the position sensor continuously for a predetermined time or more and the control unit receives the second signal from the position sensor continuously for the predetermined time or more (the controller 400 may receive a continuous signal from the coupling sensor 120 as long as the microswitch of coupling sensor 120 is turned on, indicating that the first cleaner 200 is coupled for a period of time, similarly applying when the controller or control unit 400 continuously detects no aforementioned signal due to the microswitch of the coupling sensor 120 being turned off, indicating that the first cleaner 200 is not coupled for a period of time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, with the teachings of Wie to provide a control unit that communicates with a position sensor to determine the position of the connection hose based on received signals for a predetermined amount of time from the position sensor to allow for the cleaner station to automatically respond to immediate changes to the cleaner station’s configuration, such switching between the first and second cleaner via the flow path switching module, in addition to providing signals to the control unit from the position sensor continuously for a predetermined time to enable continuous feedback on the state of the connection hose’s position in the flow path switching valve (pg. 45, lines 16-18 & pg. 42, lines 26-28, Wie).
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application, claims 6 and 7 of the copending application, as modified, do not teach the control unit receives any one of the first signal and the second signal multiple times.
However, Wie teaches the control unit receives any one of the first signal and the second signal multiple times (the controller or control unit 400 receives any one of the first and second signal multiple times by turning the micro switch or contact sensor of the coupling sensor 125 on and off repeatedly).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, with the teachings of Wie to provide a control unit that communicates with a position sensor to determine the position of the connection hose based on received signals for a predetermined amount of time from the position sensor to allow for the cleaner station to automatically respond to immediate changes to the cleaner station’s configuration, such switching between the first and second cleaner via the flow path switching module, in addition to providing signals to the control unit from the position sensor multiple times to allow for the switch in the position sensor to be turned on and off multiples times so that the control unit may determine if the cleaner station being operated by the user or not (pg. 45, lines 16-18 & pg. 42, lines 26-28, Wie).
Regarding claim 13 of the instant application, claims 6 and 7 of the copending application, as modified, do not teach a receiving time of the first signal and a receiving time of the second signal are equal to each other before a final signal is received.
However, Wie teaches a receiving time of the first signal and a receiving time of the second signal are equal to each other before a final signal is received (“When it is determined that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120, the control unit 400 may operate the fixing unit motor 133 to fix the first cleaner 200 [controller or control unit 400 responds to the signal provided by the coupling unit 120 via the coupling sensor 125 by determining and sending a final signal to fixing unit 133 to fix or clamp the first cleaner 200],” pg. 43, lines 32-33, Wie).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, with the teachings of Wie to provide a control unit that communicates with a position sensor to determine the position of the connection hose based on received signals for a predetermined amount of time from the position sensor to allow for the cleaner station to automatically respond to immediate changes to the cleaner station’s configuration, such switching between the first and second cleaner via the flow path switching module, in addition to providing signals to the control unit that are received by the control unit simultaneously prior to receiving a final signal to allow for efficient and synchronized communication between the position sensor and the control unit when determining which flow path is engaged with connection hose in the flow path switching module before a final signal from the control unit is received to determine that the first or second cleaner is clamped to the cleaner station (pg. 45, lines 16-18; pg. 42, lines 26-28; pg. 43, lines 32-33, Wie).
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, and 14 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 11, 13, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/844,327, in view of Wie et al. (KR 20210019940 A), also in view of Lee et al. (US 20100251504 A1), additionally in view of Oh et al. (US 20090064446 A1), further in view of Dawson et al. (US 20100192323 A1), and moreover in view of Kim et al. (US 20090049643 A1).
Instant Application 18/844,137
Copending Application 18/844,327
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; and a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power; a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and comprising a sensing part protruding toward one side, the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose; and a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part, the position sensor being configured to detect a position of the connection hose.
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; and a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a space therein and having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; a first link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to one side of the connection hose; and a second link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to the other side of the connection hose.
[Claim 11] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
[Claim 13] The cleaner station of claim 11, wherein the driving cam comprises a sensing part protruding outward in a radial direction of a shaft of the switching motor, and wherein the flow path switching module comprises a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part and detect a position of the connection hose.
[Claim 2] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the sensing part protrudes outward in a radial direction of a shaft of the switching motor and has an end tightly attached to the switch of the position sensor.
[Claim 13] The cleaner station of claim 11, wherein the driving cam comprises a sensing part protruding outward in a radial direction of a shaft of the switching motor, and wherein the flow path switching module comprises a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part and detect a position of the connection hose.
[Claim 3] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the sensing part comprises: a first surface protruding radially outward and having an outer end configured to press the switch of the position sensor and turn on the position sensor; and a second surface disposed at one side of the first surface and less protruding radially outward than the first surface, the second surface being configured to turn off the position sensor.
[Claim 14] The cleaner station of claim 13, wherein the sensing part comprises: a first surface configured to press and turn on the position sensor; and a second surface disposed adjacent to the first surface and configured to turn off the position sensor.
[Claim 4] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the sensing part comprises: a first surface protruding radially outward and extending in a circumferential direction by less than a predetermined length, the first surface being configured to turn on the position sensor; and a third surface disposed at one side of the first surface and protruding radially outward, the third surface extending in the circumferential direction by more than the predetermined length and configured to turn on the position sensor.
[Claim 14] The cleaner station of claim 13, wherein the sensing part comprises: a first surface configured to press and turn on the position sensor; and a second surface disposed adjacent to the first surface and configured to turn off the position sensor.
[Claim 5] The cleaner station of claim 4, wherein the sensing part comprises a second surface disposed between the first surface and the third surface and less protruding radially outward than the first surface, the second surface being configured to turn off the position sensor.
[Claim 14] The cleaner station of claim 13, wherein the sensing part comprises: a first surface configured to press and turn on the position sensor; and a second surface disposed adjacent to the first surface and configured to turn off the position sensor.
[Claim 7] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module comprises a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, and wherein the driving cam comprises a gear portion connected to the first link and configured to transmit power to the first link.
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; and a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a space therein and having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; a first link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to one side of the connection hose; and a second link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to the other side of the connection hose.
[Claim 11] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
[Claim 12] The cleaner station of claim 11, wherein the first link comprises a gear portion having gear teeth formed at an end thereof, and wherein the driving cam comprises a gear portion connected to the gear portion of the first link.
[Claim 8] The cleaner station of claim 7, wherein a connection portion between the first link and the casing is disposed opposite to a connection portion between the first link and the connection hose based on an imaginary line extending in a longitudinal direction of the connection hose.
[Claim 7] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein a connection portion between the first link and the casing is disposed opposite to a connection portion between the first link and the connection hose based on an imaginary line extending in a longitudinal direction of the connection hose.
[Claim 10] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path; and a control unit configured to control the flow path switching module, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a connection hose selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path; and a position sensor comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off, the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on, and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off, and wherein the control unit determines a position of the connection hose on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor.
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; and a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a space therein and having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; a first link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to one side of the connection hose; and a second link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to the other side of the connection hose.
[Claim 13] The cleaner station of claim 11, wherein the driving cam comprises a sensing part protruding outward in a radial direction of a shaft of the switching motor, and wherein the flow path switching module comprises a position sensor disposed at one side of the sensing part and configured to be turned on or off by the sensing part and detect a position of the connection hose.
[Claim 14] The cleaner station of claim 10, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing in which the connection hose is disposed; a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to an inlet of the connection hose; a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
[Claim 1] A cleaner station comprising: a housing configured to define an external shape and having a space therein, at least any one of a first cleaner and a second cleaner being coupled to the housing; a first cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the first cleaner; a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing and connected to a dust bin of the second cleaner; and a flow path switching module configured to connect a dust collecting part, which is disposed in the housing, selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a space therein and having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, and a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; a first link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to one side of the connection hose; and a second link rotatably coupled to the casing and having an end coupled to the other side of the connection hose.
[Claim 11] The cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a switching motor disposed at one side of the casing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claims 1, 11, and 13 of the copending application do not teach a sensing part protruding toward one side and the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose.
However, Oh does teach a sensing part protruding toward one side (“a cam 168 having a cam protrusion disposed at the one end of the second supporting rod 165b,” [0047], Oh).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the modify the copending application, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Oh to utilize a position sensor comprising a switch to immediately detect and transmit a signal to the control unit of the vacuum system, via the sensing part engaging with the position sensor, thus causing the control unit to respond via turning components of the vacuum on or off, such as the switching motor, based on the signal transmitted by the position sensor ([0016], [0047], & [0057], Oh).
The copending application, as modified, does not teach the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose.
However, Lee does teach the driving cam being configured to transmit the power to the connection hose (“As the main body is inclined, the driving member 280 in contact with the lower body is moved upward and downward in relation to the main body, to thereby rotate the cam 260. The rotating cam 260 connects the path selecting tube 250 to the first path 210 or the second path 220, to thereby form a path connecting the third path 230 to the first path 210 or the second path 220,” [0057], Lee).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Lee to provide an apparatus for the diverting the flow path via the connection hose disposed in a casing being driven by a cam to allow for the selected cleaner flow path to be completely sealed while the cleaner flow path not selected is blocked to prevent fluctuations in suction force caused by the diverter not being able to completely separate the two cleaner flow paths from each other ([0007] & [0096), Lee).
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, claim 13 of the copending application, as modified, does not teach the sensing part an end tightly attached to the switch of the position sensor.
However, Oh does teach an end tightly attached to the switch of the position sensor (attachment between sensing part end and switch as shown in annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Oh to allow for the sensing part to protrude outwards towards the shaft of the switching motor to allow for the sensing part to easily engage with the switching motor and allow for the sensing part to be secured tightly to the switch of the position sensor to enable the position sensor to be responsive, rapid, and precise when turning the switch on or off, which wouldn’t be possible if the sensing part was loosely attached to the switch of the position sensor ([0046], Oh).
Regarding claim 3 of the instant application, claim 14 of the copending application, as modified, does not teach a first surface protruding radially outward and having an outer end and a second surface less protruding radially outward than the first surface.
However, Kim does teach a suction brush for a vacuum cleaner comprising a first surface protruding radially outward (outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162) and having an outer end (“the closed state of the first micro switch 161 refers to a state that a contacting terminal of the first micro switch 161 is pressed by an outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 as illustrated in FIG. 7,” [0056], Kim) and a second surface (recess portion 162a of the outer circumferential portion 162) less protruding radially outward than the first surface (“the open state of the first micro switch 161 refers to a state that the contacting terminal of the first micro switch 161 locates in a recess portion 162a of the outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 and is not pressed by the outer circumferential surface of the first control cam 162 as illustrated in FIG. 8,” [0056], Kim).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Kim to enable the driving cam to easily turn the switch of the position sensor on and off by the first surface protruding radially outward make contact and receive the switch of the position sensor, causing the switch to be pressed and establish a closed state, while the second surface less protruding radially outward than the first surface not make contact or receive the switch of the position sensor, thus determining an open state by the switch ([0056], Kim).
Regarding claim 4 of the instant application, claim 14 of the copending application, as modified, does not teach a first surface protruding radially outward and extending in a circumferential direction by less than a predetermined length and a third surface disposed at one side of the first surface and protruding radially outward, the third surface extending in the circumferential direction by more than the predetermined length and configured to turn on the position sensor.
However, Dawson does teach a surface treating head assembly for a vacuum cleaner appliance comprising a first surface (first cam face 50 of cam 37) protruding radially outward and extending in a circumferential direction by less than a predetermined length (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d), and a third surface (third face 52 of cam 37) disposed at one side of the first surface and protruding radially outward (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d), the third surface extending in the circumferential direction by more than the predetermined length (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Dawson to provide cam surfaces of different predetermined lengths to correspond to the respective predetermined vertical positions of the agitator or brush bar ([0007] & [0008], Dawson).
Regarding claim 5 of the instant application, claim 14 of the copending application, as modified, does not teach a second surface disposed between the first surface and the third surface and less protruding radially outward than the first surface.
However, Dawson does teach a second surface (second cam face 51 of cam 37) disposed between the first surface and the third surface and less protruding radially outward than the first surface (as shown in annotated Figs. 5a-5d).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wie, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Dawson to provide cam surfaces of different predetermined lengths to correspond to the respective predetermined vertical positions of the agitator or brush bar ([0007] & [0008], Dawson).
Regarding claim 10 of the instant application, claims 1 and 13 of the copending application, as modified, do not teach a control unit configured to control the flow path switching module and a position sensor comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off, the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on, and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off, and wherein the control unit determines a position of the connection hose on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor.
However, Wie does teach a control unit (controller or control unit 400) configured to control the flow path switching module (“The controller 400 may control the flow path switching valve 183 of the flow path unit 180. For example, the controller 400 may selectively open and close the first flow path 181 and the second flow path 182,” pg. 45, lines 16-18, Wie), and a position sensor (coupling sensor 125) comprising a switch configured to be turned on or off (“The coupling sensor 125 may also include a contact sensor. For example, the coupling sensor 125 may include a micro switch,” pg. 21, lines 3-4, Wie), the position sensor being configured to transmit a first signal to the control unit when the switch is turned on (“In this case, the controller 400 may determine that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120 by receiving a signal from the coupling sensor 125,” pg. 43, lines 26-28, Wie), and transmit a second signal to the control unit when the switch is turned off (controller 400 can detect if the micro switch or contact sensor of coupling sensor 125 is off if no signal akin to when the switch is turned on is received), and wherein the control unit determines a position of the [connection hose] on the basis of a length of the signal received from the position sensor (“In this case, the controller or control unit 400 may determine that the first cleaner 200 is coupled to the coupling unit 120 by receiving a signal from the coupling sensor 125,” pg. 43, lines 26-28, Wie).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application with the teachings of Wie to provide a control unit that communicates with a position sensor to determine the position of the connection hose based on received signals from the position sensor to allow for the cleaner station to automatically respond to immediate changes to the cleaner station’s configuration, such switching between the first and second cleaner via the flow path switching module, in addition to ensuring that the connection hose is fully sealed to either connection portion of the first or second flow paths to prevent openings or gaps within the connection from affecting the suction flow (pg. 45, lines 16-18 & pg. 42, lines 26-28, Wie).
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claim 1 of the copending application, as modified, does not teach a casing in which the connection hose is disposed.
However, Lee does teach a casing (casing 201) in which the connection hose is disposed (as shown in annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the copending application, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Lee to dispose the connection hose in the casing to provide structural support for the connection hose when switching between the first and second flow paths in addition to fixing the first and second flow paths to their respective positions within the housing of the cleaner station ([0046 & [0047]], Lee).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Krebs (CN 1110708996 A) teaches a steam cleaning vacuum and a method of adjusting the height thereof.
Tanaka et al. (US 20080060163 A1) teaches an electric vacuum having switch means to provide communication between an air passage and the suction side of the electric blower.
Machida et al. (US 20170196430 A1) teaches an electric vacuum cleaning apparatus capable of providing different methods of collecting and accumulating dust.
/I.M.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL A GUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723