DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II (claims 16,19,22,25-29 and 33) in the reply filed on 09/24/2026 is acknowledged. The Non-elected group I (claims 1, 7, 9, 10 and 12-15 have been withdrawn from prosecution in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16,19,22,25-29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minami et al. (US Patent No. 12,571,068) in view of Baker (US Patent No. 2,731,212).
Regarding claims 16 and 26, Minami et al. teaches a method of producing a steel sheet (s, see abstract , figures 1 and 2 and column 6, lines 14-43), the method comprising, in the following order: a process (A) of uncoiling a cold-rolled coil to feed a cold-rolled steel sheet by a payoff reel (10, see figures 1 and 2 and column 6, lines 14-43); a process (B) of passing the cold-rolled steel sheet through an annealing furnace (20, see figures 1 and 2 and column 6, lines 14-43) wherein a heating zone (22, see figures 1 and 2), a soaking zone (24, see figures 1 and 2), and a cooling zone (26, see figures 1 and 2 and column 6, lines 14-43) are disposed in this order from upstream in a sheet passing direction (see figures 1 and 2), to continuously anneal the cold-rolled steel sheet by a process of annealing the cold-rolled steel sheet in a reducing atmosphere containing hydrogen in the heating zone and in the soaking zone (see figures 1 and 2 and column 6, lines 14-65), and a process of cooling the cold-rolled steel sheet in the cooling zone; a process of continuously passing the cold-rolled steel sheet discharged from the annealing furnace (see figures 1 and 2, abstract and column 6, lines 147-65); and a process of coiling the cold-rolled steel sheet by a tension or coiling reel (50, see figures 1 and 2 and column 10, lines 55-58) to obtain a product coil (see figures 1 and 2).
Minami et al. fails to teach a further step of applying a steady magnetic field along the sheet transverse direction of the cold-rolled steel sheet to the cold-rolled steel sheet being passed at least between the step of cooling the cold-rolled steel sheet in the cooling zone and the cooling by the tension reel.
Baker teaches a metal strip processing assembly that comprising a metal strip uncoiler or uncoiling roll (13, see Baker, figure 3 and column 2, lines 26-60) for payoff the metal strip through a travel direction followed by a metal strip processing device (16, see Baker, figure 3 and column 2, lines 26-60) and downstream from the processing device (16) is a coiler or coiling roll (12, see Bake , figure 1 and column 2, lines 26-60) for winding up the metal strip after being processed in the processing device, and a magnetic field device (17) that comprises a first electromagnet (18/38 see figures 1-3 &9 and column 4, lines 48-60) and a second electromagnet (19/38’see figures 1-3 &9, column 2, lines 43-55 and column 4, lines 48-60) disposed along the sheet transverse direction of the of the metal (strip 11) between at least the processing unit (16) and the uncoiler (12) to apply magnetic field to the metal strip to enhance or improve tension in the metal strip to allow effective coiling of the metal strip by the coiler (12, see column 2, lines 26-69 and also see column 1, lines 25-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the process of Minami et al. to place a magnetic field applying device between the cooling zone (26) (i.e., which is the processing device most closer to the tension or coiling reel (50) of Minami et al.) as exemplified by Baker for the benefit and advantage of enhancing or improving tension in the steel sheet to allow effective coiling of the steel sheet over the coiler.
Regarding claim 19, Minami et al. in view of Baker teaches a method of producing a steel sheet that comprises a process of dipping the cold- rolled steel sheet into a hot-dip galvanizing bath disposed downstream of the annealing furnace (20, see Minami et al. figures 1-3 and column 9, lines 50-67) in the sheet passing direction to apply a hot-dip galvanized coating in a galvanized bath (31, see Minami et al. figures 1-3 and column 9, lines 50-67) onto the cold-rolled steel sheet.
Regarding claim 22, Minami et al. in view of Baker teaches a method of producing a steel sheet that further comprises, after the process of dipping the cold- rolled steel sheet into a hot-dip galvanizing bath (31, see Minami et al. , figures 1-3) followed by a process of passing the cold-rolled steel sheet though an alloying furnace (33, see Minami et al. figure 2 and column 10, lines 29-45) disposed downstream of the hot-dip galvanizing bath, to heat and alloy the hot- dip galvanized coating (see Minami et al. figure 2).
Regarding claim 25, Minami et al. in view of Baker is silent with respect to the magnetic flux density applied in the sheet transverse direction of the cold-rolled steel sheet being 0.1 T to 15 T in the magnetic field applying process, however because Minami et al. teaches that same high strength steel sheet having a tensile strength of 590 MPa or more (see Minami et al. , column 4, lines 35-40) as claimed , it would necessarily flow that substantially the same magnetic flux density would be applied in the combined process of Minami et al. in view of Baker.
Regarding claim 27, Minami et al. in view of Baker teaches a method of producing a steel sheet in which during the magnetic field applying process, a steady magnetic field is applied by a magnetic field applying apparatus that comprises a pair of electromagnets (8/38 and 9/38’ 18/38 see Baker, figures 1-3 &9, column 2, lines 43-55 and column 4, lines 48-60) disposed outside transverse direction edges of the cold-rolled steel sheet, and each electromagnet of the pair of electromagnets has a magnetic pole face facing a transverse direction edge surface of the cold-rolled steel sheet, and one of the magnetic pole faces is an N pole and the other is an S pole (see Baker, figures 1-3 , 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 28, Minami et al. in view of Baker teaches method of producing a steel sheet in which the cold-rolled steel sheet is a high strength steel sheet having a tensile strength of 590 MPa or more (see Minami et al. , column 4, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 29, Minami et al. in view of Baker teaches method of producing
a steel sheet in which the cold-rolled steel sheet comprises a chemical composition containing, in mass%, C: 0.030 % to 0.800 %, Si: 0.01 % to 3.00 %, Mn: 0.01 % to 10.00 %, P: 0.001 % to 0.100 %, S: 0.0001 % to 0.0200 %, N: 0.0005 % to 0.0100 %,and Al: 0.001 % to 2.000 %, optionally at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ti: 0.200 % or less, Nb: 0.200 % or less, V: 0.500 % or less, W: 0.500 % or less, B: 0.0050 % or less, Ni: 1.000 % or less, Cr: 1.000 % or less, Mo: 1.000 % or less, Cu: 1.000 % or less, Sn: 0.200 % or less, Sb: 0.200 % or less, Ta: 0.100 % or less, Ca: 0.0050 % or less, Mg: 0.0050 % or less, Zr: 0.1000 % or less, and REM: 0.0050 % or less, with the balance being Fe and inevitable impurity (see Minami et al., column 4, line 39-column 5, line 4).
Regarding claim 33, Minami et al. in view of Baker teaches method of producing a steel sheet in which the product coil has a diffusible hydrogen content of 0.50 mass
ppm or less (see Minami et al., column 5, lines 1-6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeda et al. (US 11,421,312) and Hair et al. (US 3,421,925) are also cited in PTO-892.
/M.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JESSEE R ROE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759