DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed July 10, 2026 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claim 1.
Examiner acknowledges newly added claims 14-20.
The rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(10 as being anticipated by Kamoshida et al., WO 2019/189254 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 14 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuno et al., JP H07-82036.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-6, 14 and 19-20, paragraph 0024 of Matsuno discloses oxide based ceramic granules including alumina mixed and sintered with plasticizer, water, hydrochloric acid or acetic acid and polyvinyl alcohol in a slurry-like suspension. Paragraph 0012 discloses that the pH ranges of 5.5. Paragraph 0020 discloses that the binder can include polyvinyl butyral, polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol.
Regarding claim 3, the claim depends upon claim 2 which recites that the ceramic particles can include an oxide or a carbide. Matsuno recites an oxide. Matsuno reads on claims 2 and 3. Matsuno reads on claims 2 and 3 as claim 2 merely requires one of an oxide or carbide.
Claims 1-8, 14-17, and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochiai et al., JP 2000-109315.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14-17, and 19-20, paragraph 0019 of Ochiai discloses an alumina dispersant that includes a monocaroxylic acid. Applicant’s claims are not specific to the acid. Paragraph 0020 discloses alumina particles. Paragraph 0023 discloses at least one solvent and can include two or more solvents including water and ethylene glycol. Paragraph 0038 discloses that the pH of the aqueous dispersion can be more than 5. Paragraph 0041 discloses that the binder component can polyvinyl acetal or polyvinyl alcohol. It is disclosed in paragraph 0043 that viscosity modifies can be included. Examiner is corresponding the viscosity modifiers in Ochiai as the thickener. Applicant’s claims are not specific to the thickener.
Claims 1 and 14 are directed to the dispersion and not the ceramic sintered body.
Regarding claim 3, the claim depends upon claim 2 which recites that the ceramic particles can include an oxide or a carbide. Ochiai recites alumina, an oxide. Ochiai reads on claims 2 and 3 as claim 2 merely requires one of an oxide or carbide.
Regarding claim 7, paragraph 0023 discloses that ethylene glycol can be present in the composition.
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Taguichi et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 20210380813.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-14. 16 and 18, Taguichi discloses a coated silicon carbide particle powder, a dispersion, a green sheet and a prepreg [0001]. Paragraph 0020 discloses the presence of water as the dispersing medium. Paragraph 0039 discloses a pH of from 7.0 to 9.0. Paragraph 0059 discloses that the dispersing medium can include water, glycerin, and ethylene glycol. Paragraph 0066 discloses that the binder can include polyvinyl butyrate. Paragraph 0069 discloses that the plasticizer can include glycerin and dibutyl phthalate. Paragraph 0061 discloses a fibrous substrate. Paragraph 0084 discloses a sintered body of the coated SiC particle powder.
Regarding claim 8, paragraph 0040 discloses that the dispersion can include an acid. paragraph 0066 discloses that the dispersion can include polymethacrylic acid ester-based resins [thickener]. Applicant’s claim 8 is not specific to the thickener.
Regarding claims 10-13, paragraph 0061 discloses that the fiber can include SiC [ceramic fiber}.
Regarding claim 18, paragraph 0066 discloses that the dispersion can include polymethacrylic acid ester-based resins [thickener].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786