Detailed Action
This is a Non-final Office action in response to communications received on 4/28/2026. Claims 1, 5, 11 and 18 were amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Drawings
The drawings, filed 9/5/2024, are acknowledged.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment, filed 9/5/2024, is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 in Remarks, filed 4/28/2026, with respect to independent claims 1, 11 and 18, and dependent claims as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Lyons (US 20170236121 A1) have been fully considered and are found persuasive. Consequently, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyons (US 20170236121 A1), in view of Lamesh (US 20210049591 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lyons teaches the limitations of claim 1 substantially as follows:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a sender device operated by a sender, a receiver address associated with a receiver; (Lyons; [0007]: generating, by a generation module of the electronic point of sale device (i.e., sender device), a destination address (i.e. receiver address))
prompting, by the sender device, the sender to interact a card (Lyons; [0106]: the consumer may present the issued payment card to a merchant for use in funding a payment transaction)
interact a card comprising a processor and a memory storing a sender public key and a sender private key of a sender public-private key pair associated with a blockchain network, the card held by the sender; (Lyons; [0006]: storing, in a memory of an integrated circuit card, a structured data set associated with a blockchain network, wherein the structured data set includes at least a network identifier, an unspent output hash, an output index, an output value, and a key pair (i.e., storing a sender public key and a sender private key of a sender public-private key pair ))
transmitting, by the sender device, interaction data including the receiver address, a sender address of the sender, and a value to the card, (Lyons; [0035], [0038]: the electronic point of sale device may electronically transmit at least a network identifier (i.e., sender address of the sender) and transaction value (i.e., value) to the integrated circuit card via the established communication channel. The network identifier may be associated with a blockchain network with which the electronic point of sale device is in communication. The electronic point of sale device may electronically transmit at least the destination address (i.e., the receiver address) to the integrated circuit card using the established communication channel)
wherein the processor of the card retrieves the sender private key and signs the interaction data to produce signed interaction data; (Lyons; [0055]: the signing module may be configured to receive and sign blockchain transactions. The signing module may sign blockchain transactions using a private key included in a key pair included in a structured data set being used in an electronic transaction (i.e., retrieves the sender private key and signs the interaction data to produce signed interaction data))
receiving, by the sender device from the card, the signed interaction data and the sender public key; and (Lyons; [0042]: Once the new blockchain transaction has been generated and signed, the integrated circuit card may electronically transmit the signed blockchain transaction to the electronic point of sale device (i.e., receiving, by the sender device from the card, the signed interaction data) using the established communication channel; the validation module of a point of sale device may be configured to validate that a received unspent output hash corresponds to a genuine previous blockchain transaction in the blockchain corresponding to a network identifier stored in the memory (i.e., validation of a signed transaction necessarily requires the corresponding public key))
transmitting the interaction data and the signed interaction data to the blockchain network, wherein the blockchain network records the interaction data and the signed interaction data in a block of a blockchain, (Lyons; [0040], [0042]: The signed blockchain transaction may then be posted to the blockchain network (i.e., signed interaction data); The signed blockchain transaction may then also include the destination address and remaining blockchain currency amount to be transferred thereto (i.e., interaction data))
wherein the blockchain comprises a plurality of blocks, wherein each block of the plurality of blocks includes a block header, a timestamp, and a link to a previous block, (Lyons; [0023]: Once a block is completed, the block is added to the blockchain and the transaction record thereby updated. In many instances, the blockchain may be a ledger of transactions in chronological order, or may be presented in any other order that may be suitable for use by the blockchain network)
wherein the memory stores a plurality of public-private key pairs associated with a plurality of blockchain networks, and the public-private key pair is one of the plurality of public-private key pairs, and (Lyons; [0031]: The integrated circuit card may be loaded with one or more structured data sets (i.e., a plurality of public-private key pairs) suitable for use in performing the functions discussed herein; Each structured data set may be comprised of a network identifier corresponding to the associated blockchain network (i.e., associated with a plurality of blockchain networks), an unspent output hash, an output index, an output value, and a key pair)
transmitting, by the sender device, the selection of the blockchain network to the card. (Lyons; [0036]: In instances where more than one blockchain network may be suitable (e.g., the structured data sets associated therewith have sufficient output values), the integrated circuit card or electronic point of sale device may indicate a priority ordering of blockchain networks (i.e., transmitting, by the sender device, the selection of the blockchain network to the card))
Lyons does not teach the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the sender device, the sender to select the blockchain network from the plurality of blockchain networks; receiving, by the sender device, a selection of the blockchain network associated with the sender public-private key pair; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lamesh discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the sender device, the sender to select the blockchain network from the plurality of blockchain networks; receiving, by the sender device, a selection of the blockchain network associated with the sender public-private key pair; and (Lamesh; [0109]: an input from a user is received by MMI 104. The input may include a destination account address for the transaction and an amount for the transaction; The destination account address may be selected from known destination account addresses (i.e., prompting the sender to select))
Lamesh is combinable with Lyons because all are from the same field of endeavor of management of blockchain transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lyons to incorporate user input selection as in Lamesh for the predictable result of allowing manual user selection of transaction destination.
Regarding claim 2, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 1.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 2 as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the receiver address is a receiver public key and the sender address is the sender public key. (Lyons; [0038]: The destination address may be generated via the application of one or more hashing algorithms to a public key of a key pair associated with the electronic point of sale device)
Regarding claim 3, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 1.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 3 as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the interaction data and the signed interaction data to the blockchain network further comprises:
transmitting, by the sender device, the interaction data and the signed interaction data to an access device or a resource provider computer, wherein the access device or the resource provider computer transmits the interaction data and the signed interaction data to the blockchain network. (Lyons; [0034]: the electronic point of sale device may be configured to electronically communicate with an intermediate computing device (i.e., an access device or a resource provider computer), which may be a node of the blockchain network)
Regarding claim 5, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 1.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the selection of the blockchain network comprises transmitting an AID for the blockchain network to the card. (Lyons; [0031]: The integrated circuit card may be loaded with one or more structured data sets suitable for use in performing the functions discussed herein; Each structured data set may be comprised of a network identifier corresponding to the associated blockchain network (i.e., AID for the blockchain))
Regarding claim 6, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 1.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 6 as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein prior to receiving the receiver address, the card is provisioned with the sender public key and the sender private key of the sender public-private key pair from a card issuing computer. (Lyons; [0032]: each structured data set may be loaded onto the integrated circuit card via the payment network (i.e., the card is provisioned with the sender public key and the sender private key of the sender public-private key pair from a card issuing computer))
Regarding claim 7, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 1.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 7 as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein one or more nodes of the blockchain network validate the interaction data and the signed interaction data, generate a valid proof of work for the block, validate that the valid proof of work is valid, generate the block, and add the block to the blockchain. (Lyons; [0023]: a blockchain may also consist of additional, and in some instances arbitrary, data that is confirmed and validated by the blockchain network through proof of work and/or any other suitable verification techniques associated therewith)
Regarding claim 8, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 1.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 8 as follows:
The method of claim 1 further comprising: prior to receiving the receiver address, generating, by the sender device, a digital container creation request message that requests the card to generate a digital container comprising a name, a type, and a key index that is assigned to a private key stored on the card, (Lyons; [0035]: the electronic point of sale device may electronically transmit at least a network identifier and transaction value to the integrated circuit card via the established communication channel (i.e., generating, by the sender device, a digital container creation request message that requests the card to generate a digital container))
wherein the private key stored on the card is the sender private key of the sender public-private key pair; and (Lyons; [0006]: storing, in a memory of an integrated circuit card, a structured data set associated with a blockchain network, wherein the structured data set includes at least a network identifier, an unspent output hash, an output index, an output value, and a key pair (i.e., the private key stored on the card is the sender private key of the sender public-private key pair))
sending, by the sender device, the digital container creation request message to the card, (Lyons; [0035]: the electronic point of sale device may electronically transmit at least a network identifier and transaction value to the integrated circuit card via the established communication channel (i.e., sending, by the sender device, the digital container creation request message to the card))
wherein the card generates the digital container and assigns the sender private key of the sender public-private key pair to the key index. (Lyons; [0031]: Each structured data set may be comprised of a network identifier corresponding to the associated blockchain network, an unspent output hash, an output index, an output value, and a key pair (i.e., wherein the card generates the digital container and assigns the sender private key of the sender public-private key pair to the key index))
Regarding claim 9, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 1.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein after receiving the interaction data the card generates an authentication request message and transmits the authentication request message to the sender device, wherein the method further comprises: after receiving the authentication request message, prompting, by the sender device, the sender to input authentication data; (Lyons; [0083]: perform authentication prior to generation of the blockchain transaction (i.e., authentication request message ). Authentication may include authentication by a personal identification number entered by the consumer, biometric information supplied by the consumer, or other suitable authentication method (i.e., prompting, by the sender device, the sender to input authentication data))
receiving, by the sender device, the authentication data from the sender; generating, by the sender device, an authentication response message comprising the authentication data; and transmitting, by the sender device, the authentication response message to the card, wherein the card verifies the authentication data. (Lyons; [0083]: the integrated circuit card may perform authentication prior to generation of the blockchain transaction. Authentication may include authentication by a personal identification number entered by the consumer, biometric information supplied by the consumer, or other suitable authentication method)
Regarding claim 10, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 9.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 10 as follows:
The method of claim 9, wherein the authentication data includes a personal identification number, a biometric, a zip code, or a one-time password. (Lyons; [0083]: Authentication may include authentication by a personal identification number entered by the consumer, biometric information supplied by the consumer, or other suitable authentication method)
Regarding claim 11, Lyons teaches the limitations of claim 11 substantially as follows:
A sender device comprising: a processor; a memory device; and a computer-readable medium coupled to the processor, the computer-readable medium comprising code executable by the processor for implementing a method comprising: (Lyons; [0027]; Fig. 3)
receiving, by the sender device operated by a sender, a receiver address associated with a receiver; (Lyons; [0007]: generating, by a generation module of the electronic point of sale device (i.e., sender device), a destination address (i.e. receiver address))
prompting the sender to interact a card (Lyons; [0106]: the consumer may present the issued payment card to a merchant for use in funding a payment transaction)
interact a card comprising a card processor and a card memory storing a sender public key and a sender private key of a sender public-private key pair associated with a blockchain network, the card held by the sender; (Lyons; [0006]: storing, in a memory of an integrated circuit card, a structured data set associated with a blockchain network, wherein the structured data set includes at least a network identifier, an unspent output hash, an output index, an output value, and a key pair (i.e., storing a sender public key and a sender private key of a sender public-private key pair ))
transmitting interaction data including the receiver address, a sender address of the sender, and a value, (Lyons; [0035], [0038]: the electronic point of sale device may electronically transmit at least a network identifier (i.e., sender address of the sender) and transaction value (i.e., value) to the integrated circuit card via the established communication channel. The network identifier may be associated with a blockchain network with which the electronic point of sale device is in communication. The electronic point of sale device may electronically transmit at least the destination address (i.e., the receiver address) to the integrated circuit card using the established communication channel)
wherein the card processor retrieves the sender private key and signs the interaction data to produce signed interaction data; (Lyons; [0055]: the signing module may be configured to receive and sign blockchain transactions. The signing module may sign blockchain transactions using a private key included in a key pair included in a structured data set being used in an electronic transaction (i.e., retrieves the sender private key and signs the interaction data to produce signed interaction data))
receiving, from the card, the signed interaction data and the sender public key; and (Lyons; [0042]: Once the new blockchain transaction has been generated and signed, the integrated circuit card may electronically transmit the signed blockchain transaction to the electronic point of sale device (i.e., receiving, by the sender device from the card, the signed interaction data) using the established communication channel; the validation module of a point of sale device may be configured to validate that a received unspent output hash corresponds to a genuine previous blockchain transaction in the blockchain corresponding to a network identifier stored in the memory (i.e., validation of a signed transaction necessarily requires the corresponding public key))
transmitting the interaction data and the signed interaction data to the blockchain network, wherein the blockchain network records the interaction data and the signed interaction data in a block of a blockchain, (Lyons; [0040], [0042]: The signed blockchain transaction may then be posted to the blockchain network (i.e., signed interaction data); The signed blockchain transaction may then also include the destination address and remaining blockchain currency amount to be transferred thereto (i.e., interaction data))
wherein the blockchain comprises a plurality of blocks, wherein each block of the plurality of blocks includes a block header, a timestamp, and a link to a previous block, (Lyons; [0023]: Once a block is completed, the block is added to the blockchain and the transaction record thereby updated. In many instances, the blockchain may be a ledger of transactions in chronological order, or may be presented in any other order that may be suitable for use by the blockchain network)
wherein the memory stores a plurality of public-private key pairs associated with a plurality of blockchain networks, and the public-private key pair is one of the plurality of public-private key pairs, and (Lyons; [0031]: The integrated circuit card may be loaded with one or more structured data sets (i.e., a plurality of public-private key pairs) suitable for use in performing the functions discussed herein; Each structured data set may be comprised of a network identifier corresponding to the associated blockchain network (i.e., associated with a plurality of blockchain networks), an unspent output hash, an output index, an output value, and a key pair)
transmitting, by the sender device, the selection of the blockchain network to the card. (Lyons; [0036]: In instances where more than one blockchain network may be suitable (e.g., the structured data sets associated therewith have sufficient output values), the integrated circuit card or electronic point of sale device may indicate a priority ordering of blockchain networks (i.e., transmitting, by the sender device, the selection of the blockchain network to the card))
Lyons does not teach the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the sender device, the sender to select the blockchain network from the plurality of blockchain networks; receiving, by the sender device, a selection of the blockchain network associated with the sender public-private key pair; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lamesh discloses the limitations of claim 11 as follows:
wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the sender device, the sender to select the blockchain network from the plurality of blockchain networks; receiving, by the sender device, a selection of the blockchain network associated with the sender public-private key pair; and (Lamesh; [0109]: an input from a user is received by MMI 104. The input may include a destination account address for the transaction and an amount for the transaction; The destination account address may be selected from known destination account addresses (i.e., prompting the sender to select))
Lamesh is combinable with Lyons because all are from the same field of endeavor of management of blockchain transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lyons to incorporate user input selection as in Lamesh for the predictable result of allowing manual user selection of transaction destination.
Regarding claim 12, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 11.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 12 as follows:
The sender device of claim 11, wherein the card signs the interaction data with the sender private key to produce the signed interaction data. (Lyons; [0055]: the signing module may be configured to receive and sign blockchain transactions. The signing module may sign blockchain transactions using a private key included in a key pair included in a structured data set being used in an electronic transaction (i.e., signed interaction data))
Regarding claim 13, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 11.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 13 as follows:
The sender device of claim 11, wherein the receiver address is derived in part from a receiver public key, and wherein the sender address is derived in part from the sender public key. (Lyons; [0038]: The destination address may be generated via the application of one or more hashing algorithms to a public key of a key pair associated with the electronic point of sale device)
Regarding claim 14, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 11.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 14 as follows:
The sender device of claim 11, wherein the sender device is a smartphone comprising one or more applications (Lyons; [0107]: The merchant point of sale system may be an electronic device upon which a point of sale system application is run, wherein the application causes the electronic device to receive and communicated electronic financial transaction information to a payment network)
configured to communicate to the card over a short range communication channel. (Lyons; [0033]: the integrated circuit card and electronic point of sale device may establish a communication channel via near field communication)
Regarding claim 15, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 11.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 15 as follows:
The sender device of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: receiving the value from a receiver device, a website, or a scannable code. (Lyons; [0107]: Transaction details may be entered into the point of sale system (i.e., receiver device) of the merchant via one or more input devices, such as an optical bar code scanner configured to scan product bar codes (i.e., scannable code), a keyboard configured to receive product codes input by a user, etc)
Regarding claim 16, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 15.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 16 as follows:
The sender device of claim 15, wherein the scannable code is a QR code or a bar code. (Lyons; [0107]: Transaction details may be entered into the point of sale system of the merchant via one or more input devices, such as an optical bar code scanner configured to scan product bar codes (i.e., bar code), a keyboard configured to receive product codes input by a user, etc)
Regarding claim 17, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 11.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
The sender device of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: establishing, by the sender device, a secure communication channel with the card prior to transmitting the interaction data. (Lyons; [0033]: the integrated circuit card and electronic point of sale device may establish a communication channel via near field communication)
Regarding claim 18, Lyons teaches the limitations of claim 18 substantially as follows:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a card comprising a processor and a memory storing a sender public key and a sender private key of a sender public-private key pair associated with a blockchain network, (Lyons; [0006]: storing, in a memory of an integrated circuit card, a structured data set associated with a blockchain network, wherein the structured data set includes at least a network identifier, an unspent output hash, an output index, an output value, and a key pair (i.e., storing a sender public key and a sender private key of a sender public-private key pair))
interaction data including a receiver address, a sender address of a sender, and a value from a sender device; (Lyons; [0035], [0038]: the electronic point of sale device may electronically transmit at least a network identifier (i.e., sender address of the sender) and transaction value (i.e., value) to the integrated circuit card via the established communication channel. The network identifier may be associated with a blockchain network with which the electronic point of sale device is in communication. The electronic point of sale device may electronically transmit at least the destination address (i.e., the receiver address) to the integrated circuit card using the established communication channel)
retrieving, by the card, the sender private key and the sender public key; signing, by the card, the interaction data with the sender private key to produce signed interaction data; and (Lyons; [0055]: the signing module may be configured to receive and sign blockchain transactions. The signing module may sign blockchain transactions using a private key included in a key pair included in a structured data set being used in an electronic transaction (i.e., retrieves the sender private key and signs the interaction data to produce signed interaction data))
sending, by the card, the signed interaction data and the sender public key to the sender device, (Lyons; [0042]: Once the new blockchain transaction has been generated and signed, the integrated circuit card may electronically transmit the signed blockchain transaction to the electronic point of sale device (i.e., receiving, by the sender device from the card, the signed interaction data) using the established communication channel; the validation module of a point of sale device may be configured to validate that a received unspent output hash corresponds to a genuine previous blockchain transaction in the blockchain corresponding to a network identifier stored in the memory (i.e., validation of a signed transaction necessarily requires the corresponding public key))
wherein the sender device transmits the interaction data and the signed interaction data to the blockchain network, wherein the blockchain network records the interaction data and the signed interaction data in a block of a blockchain, (Lyons; [0040], [0042]: The signed blockchain transaction may then be posted to the blockchain network (i.e., signed interaction data); The signed blockchain transaction may then also include the destination address and remaining blockchain currency amount to be transferred thereto (i.e., interaction data))
wherein the blockchain comprises a plurality of blocks, wherein each block of the plurality of blocks includes a block header, a timestamp, and a link to a previous block, (Lyons; [0023]: Once a block is completed, the block is added to the blockchain and the transaction record thereby updated. In many instances, the blockchain may be a ledger of transactions in chronological order, or may be presented in any other order that may be suitable for use by the blockchain network)
wherein the memory stores a plurality of public-private key pairs associated with a plurality of blockchain networks, and the public-private key pair is one of the plurality of public-private key pairs, and (Lyons; [0031]: The integrated circuit card may be loaded with one or more structured data sets (i.e., a plurality of public-private key pairs) suitable for use in performing the functions discussed herein; Each structured data set may be comprised of a network identifier corresponding to the associated blockchain network (i.e., associated with a plurality of blockchain networks), an unspent output hash, an output index, an output value, and a key pair)
transmitting, by the sender device, the selection of the blockchain network to the card. (Lyons; [0036]: In instances where more than one blockchain network may be suitable (e.g., the structured data sets associated therewith have sufficient output values), the integrated circuit card or electronic point of sale device may indicate a priority ordering of blockchain networks (i.e., transmitting, by the sender device, the selection of the blockchain network to the card))
Lyons does not teach the limitations of claim 18 as follows:
wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the sender device, the sender to select the blockchain network from the plurality of blockchain networks; receiving, by the sender device, a selection of the blockchain network associated with the sender public-private key pair; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lamesh discloses the limitations of claim 18 as follows:
wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the sender device, the sender to select the blockchain network from the plurality of blockchain networks; receiving, by the sender device, a selection of the blockchain network associated with the sender public-private key pair; and (Lamesh; [0109]: an input from a user is received by MMI 104. The input may include a destination account address for the transaction and an amount for the transaction; The destination account address may be selected from known destination account addresses (i.e., prompting the sender to select))
Lamesh is combinable with Lyons because all are from the same field of endeavor of management of blockchain transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Lyons to incorporate user input selection as in Lamesh for the predictable result of allowing manual user selection of transaction destination.
Regarding claim 19, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 18.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 19 as follows:
The method of claim 18, wherein prior to receiving the interaction data, the method further comprises: receiving, by the card, the sender public key and the sender private key of the sender public-private key pair from a card issuing computer via an access device. (Lyons; [0032]: each structured data set may be loaded onto the integrated circuit card via the payment network (i.e., the card is provisioned with the sender public key and the sender private key of the sender public-private key pair from a card issuing computer))
Regarding claim 20, Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 18.
Lyons and Lamesh teach the limitations of claim 20 as follows:
The method of claim 18, wherein the card communicates over a short range communication channel with the sender device. (Lyons; [0033]: the integrated circuit card and electronic point of sale device may establish a communication channel via near field communication)
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Kreder (US 20190052461 A1) which teaches a secure computing environment (SCE) that stores one or more cryptographic secrets, such as private keys, and is able to receive input from secure input devices such as a keypad or smartcard interface and provide output to secure output devices such as a secure display.
Rule (US 20200302432 A1) which teaches a contactless card to receive a request to provide a data element from a device.
Conclusion
/BLAKE I NARRAMORE/Examiner, Art Unit 2438