DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024 and 02/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite location information then recites “the area”, “the generated coverage map” (is that a recited 3D coverage map?) “the influence”, there is a lack of clear antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommend to clarify the above recited limitations which recites “the area”, “the generated coverage map” (that is 3D coverage map) “the influence”.
Similar rejection is applied to claims 7 and 9.
An appropriate correction is required.
Note: Regarding claim 9, examiner recommends reviewing claim 9 as it recites “adapted to”, can describe intended use or function without requiring the device to actually perform that function. Also some dependent claims recites “Adapted to” as well. Please review claims 9-14, 19-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-15, 17-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2021/0377788 A1) in view of Svennebring et al. (US 2023/0308199 A1, hereinafter referred as Svenn).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon discloses a method performed by an optimization node for optimizing network performance in a wireless communications network comprising one or more base stations, which one or more base stations provides radio coverage in the wireless communications network, the method comprising (Fig. 1, paragraph 0038 disclose a network device comprising network coverage component, configuration component that receives one or more network metrics information to enhance the optimization of wireless transmissions): for optimizing network performance in a wireless communications network comprising one or more base stations, which one or more base stations provides radio coverage in the wireless communications network, the actions comprising (Fig. 1, paragraph 0038 disclose the network device(s) 112 can include a network coverage component 116 that can receive the one or more metrics 124 from the UE 102, as well as other user equipment, and aggregate the metrics 124 that are utilized to generate a visualization 126 and/or one or more configuration(s) 122. In some instances discussed herein, the visualization 126 can be used, at least in part, to determine and/or indicate locations of transmitters 110 that are active and that are being accessed by UE 102 within the area of coverage, to determine locations where to deploy base stations or other network devices 112, to determine and/or indicate locations having and not having signal strength that meets or exceeds a signal strength threshold): obtaining measurement data related to the performance of the wireless communications network, which measurement data comprises location information associated to the measurement data (Paragraphs 0036-0037 discloses The user equipment 102 can communicate with one or more network device(s) 112 via one or more network(s) 114. For example, the transceiver(s) 106 of the user equipment 102 may transmit one or more metrics 124 to the one or more network device(s) 112, where the metrics 124 include various data associated with the telecommunications network. he metrics 124 depicted in FIG. 1 may include network 1 metrices 124A that are associated with a first wireless access technology (e.g., 4G, . . . ), network 2 metrices 124B that are associated with a second wireless access technology (e.g., 5G, . . . ), a network type 124C metric, a location 124D metric, and other metrics such as discussed herein); detecting, based on the generated coverage map, one or more locations suffering from a degraded performance in relation to a performance requirement (Paragraphs 0047-0052 disclose the heat map 300 can be used, at least in part, to determine one or more configurations (e.g., the configuration(s) 122 in FIG. 1). The configuration(s) 122 may include one or more suggested locations where active transmitters (e.g., the transmitter 302, 303, or 304) are located, what type of transmitters to deploy (e.g., 4G, 5G, . . . ), where user equipment experience interference, weak or strong signal strength, etc., and/or where to deploy additional base stations, for example. In other instances, the size, shape, location, call density, or other information associated with the regions 310-318 may be used to determine one or more configurations for augmenting the infrastructure of the telecommunications network);
estimating a configuration for optimizing the network performance, taking the performance requirement into account, which configuration comprises one or more parameters for restraining the influence of the performance degradation (Paragraphs 0089-0096 discloses the one or more processor(s) 512 may generate configuration data that identifies one or more locations to configure one or more network resources of the telecommunications network. As discussed above, the configuration component 120 may identify that a region may not include enough cells (e.g., 5G cells) within a geographic area/region to handle current or predicted load. For instance, the network metrics 124 may indicate that a geographic area is currently congested. The configuration component 120 may also identify that a region may include cells that are not being utilized and/or not predicted to be utilized); and evaluating the estimated configuration by performing at least one of a first and a second action for optimizing network performance, taking the estimated configuration and performance requirement into account (Paragraphs 0089-0096 disclose the configuration component 120 may identify that one or more particular RF resources (e.g., one or more bands) within a region are congested. In response to determining that an RF resource is congested, or more than one RF resource is congested, the configuration component 120 may change the RF resource(s) being utilized at the congested location to a different generation technology if the UEs (or some number of the UEs, such as a majority) support the different generation technology (first action). As a particular example, assume that a number of UEs are causing congestion in LTE bands 4, 2, 12 and 71 within a particular region. In an attempt to alleviate this congestion, the configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RF resource (e.g., NR band 261, or some other band) that may be utilized to resolve the congestion. Upon determining that another RF resource is available to be utilized that is not congested, the configuration component 120 causes the UEs to utilize the uncongested RF resource (e.g., NR band 261 in this example) to attempt to resolve the congestion (second action)).
Yoon does not explicitly disclose three dimensional coverage map.
In an analogous art, Svenn discloses generating a three-dimensional coverage map based on the obtained measurement data, the coverage map indicating the performance of the wireless communications network in the area covered by the coverage map (Paragraphs 0100-0101 disclose block 1204 to generate a base station coverage map based on the radio signal measurements. For example, the radio signal measurements may be used to determine the radio signal quality across the base station coverage area, which in turn may be used to generate the base station coverage map. The radio signal measurements are used to determine the corresponding radio signal quality at different three-dimensional (3D) spatial regions within the base station coverage area, and the base station coverage map is then generated with a representation of the radio signal quality at the various 3D spatial regions. In some embodiments, for example, the base station coverage map represents the various 3D regions within the base station coverage area as points within a 3D coordinate space (e.g., based on a Cartesian coordinate system or spherical coordinate system), where each point within the 3D coordinate space represents a corresponding 3D region within the base station coverage area. In addition, the base station coverage map also indicates the corresponding radio signal quality at the various 3D regions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Svenn to the system of Yoon to provide techniques and systems relate to utilizing network utilization to optimize performance and network coverage for a telecommunications network (abstract).
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 comprises substantially similar limitations as claimed above in claim 1, claimed as a computer storage medium storing a computer program to perform the steps as recited above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 comprises substantially similar limitations as claimed above in claim 1, claimed as an optimization node configured to optimize network performance in a wireless communications network to perform the steps as recited above in claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Yoon discloses configuring the one or more base station in accordance with the estimated configuration; obtaining further measurement data related to the performance of the wireless communications network, which further measurement data comprises location information associated to the measurement data (Paragraphs 0036-0037, 0089-0096 discloses the one or more processor(s) 512 may generate configuration data that identifies one or more locations to configure one or more network resources of the telecommunications network. As discussed above, the configuration component 120 may identify that a region may not include enough cells (e.g., 5G cells) within a geographic area/region to handle current or predicted load. For instance, the network metrics 124 may indicate that a geographic area is currently congested. The configuration component 120 may also identify that a region may include cells that are not being utilized and/or not predicted to be utilized);
wherein the evaluating comprises determining whether or not the estimated configuration restrains the performance degradation in relation to the performance criteria (Paragraphs 0089-0096 disclose the configuration component 120 may identify that one or more particular RF resources (e.g., one or more bands) within a region are congested. In response to determining that an RF resource is congested, or more than one RF resource is congested, the configuration component 120 may change the RF resource(s) being utilized at the congested location to a different generation technology if the UEs (or some number of the UEs, such as a majority) support the different generation technology (first action). As a particular example, assume that a number of UEs are causing congestion in LTE bands 4, 2, 12 and 71 within a particular region. In an attempt to alleviate this congestion, the configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RF resource (e.g., NR band 261, or some other band) that may be utilized to resolve the congestion. Upon determining that another RF resource is available to be utilized that is not congested, the configuration component 120 causes the UEs to utilize the uncongested RF resource (e.g., NR band 261 in this example) to attempt to resolve the congestion (second action)).
Yoon does not explicitly disclose updating the generated coverage map, which update is based on the obtained further measurement data; and evaluating the estimated configuration based on the updated coverage map.
In an analogous art, Svenn discloses updating the generated coverage map, which update is based on the obtained further measurement data; and evaluating the estimated configuration based on the updated coverage map (Paragraph [0125] discloses updating the base station coverage map and/or block 1206 to continue receiving and processing link performance prediction (LPP) requests).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Svenn to the system of Yoon to provide techniques and systems relate to utilizing network utilization to optimize performance and network coverage for a telecommunications network (abstract).
Regarding Claims 3, 11, 15 and 19, Yoon discloses wherein the estimated configuration further comprises any one or more out of: adding a base station to the wireless communications network; changing location of a base station; adding an antenna to a base station; and changing direction of one or more antennas comprises in the one or more base stations (Paragraphs 0047-0052 disclose the heat map 300 can be used, at least in part, to determine one or more configurations (e.g., the configuration(s) 122 in FIG. 1). The configuration(s) 122 may include one or more suggested locations where active transmitters (e.g., the transmitter 302, 303, or 304) are located, what type of transmitters to deploy (e.g., 4G, 5G, . . . ), where user equipment experience interference, weak or strong signal strength, etc., and/or where to deploy additional base stations, for example. In other instances, the size, shape, location, call density, or other information associated with the regions 310-318 may be used to determine one or more configurations for augmenting the infrastructure of the telecommunications network).
Regarding claims 5, 13, 17, 21 Yoon discloses wherein the performance requirement comprises any one or more out of: a latency requirement; a bit-rate requirement; a capacity requirement; a retransmission requirement; and a signal strength requirement (Paragraphs 0023, 0038 discloses the network device(s) 112 can include a network coverage component 116 that can receive the one or more metrics 124 from the UE 102, as well as other user equipment, and aggregate the metrics 124 that are utilized to generate a visualization 126 and/or one or more configuration(s) 122. In some instances discussed herein, the visualization 126 can be used, at least in part, to determine and/or indicate locations of transmitters 110 that are active and that are being accessed by UE 102 within the area of coverage, to determine locations where to deploy base stations or other network devices 112, to determine and/or indicate locations having and not having signal strength that meets or exceeds a signal strength threshold, to determine and/or indicate locations where a device activity density associated with the location meets or exceeds a device activity density threshold, to determine and/or indicate locations where a network signal is associated with poor quality, and to inform decisions regarding optimization of wireless transmissions, among other functions).
Regarding claims 6, 14, 18, Yoon does not specifically disclose wherein the measurement data further comprises data related to any one or more out of: latency of transmissions; bitrate of transmissions; network capacity; and retransmission of data.
In an analogous art, Svenn discloses wherein the measurement data further comprises data related to any one or more out of: latency of transmissions; bitrate of transmissions; network capacity; and retransmission of data (Paragraph [0037, 0025, 0139] discloses measurement data includes latency information, network capacity of network/link etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Svenn to the system of Yoon to provide techniques and systems relate to utilizing network utilization to optimize performance and network coverage for a telecommunications network (abstract).
Claims 4, 12, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2021/0377788 A1) in view of Svennebring et al. (US 2023/0308199 A1, hereinafter referred as Svenn) and further in view of Flanagan et al. (US 2016/0212634 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 16, 20, Yoon discloses evaluating the estimated configuration based on the update coverage map, wherein the evaluating comprises determining whether or not the estimated configuration restrains the performance degradation in relation to the performance criteria (Paragraphs 0036-0037, 0089-0096 discloses the one or more processor(s) 512 may generate configuration data that identifies one or more locations to configure one or more network resources of the telecommunications network. As discussed above, the configuration component 120 may identify that a region may not include enough cells (e.g., 5G cells) within a geographic area/region to handle current or predicted load. For instance, the network metrics 124 may indicate that a geographic area is currently congested. The configuration component 120 may also identify that a region may include cells that are not being utilized and/or not predicted to be utilized. Paragraphs 0089-0096 disclose the configuration component 120 may identify that one or more particular RF resources (e.g., one or more bands) within a region are congested. In response to determining that an RF resource is congested, or more than one RF resource is congested, the configuration component 120 may change the RF resource(s) being utilized at the congested location to a different generation technology if the UEs (or some number of the UEs, such as a majority) support the different generation technology (first action). As a particular example, assume that a number of UEs are causing congestion in LTE bands 4, 2, 12 and 71 within a particular region. In an attempt to alleviate this congestion, the configuration component 120 determines that many of these UEs (e.g., a majority or some other portion) support an RF resource (e.g., NR band 261, or some other band) that may be utilized to resolve the congestion. Upon determining that another RF resource is available to be utilized that is not congested, the configuration component 120 causes the UEs to utilize the uncongested RF resource (e.g., NR band 261 in this example) to attempt to resolve the congestion (second action)); performing, in accordance with the estimated configuration, any one or more out of: adding a base station to the wireless communications network; changing location of a base station; adding an antenna to a base station; and changing direction of one or more antennas comprised in the one or more base stations (Paragraphs 0047-0052 disclose the heat map 300 can be used, at least in part, to determine one or more configurations (e.g., the configuration(s) 122 in FIG. 1). The configuration(s) 122 may include one or more suggested locations where active transmitters (e.g., the transmitter 302, 303, or 304) are located, what type of transmitters to deploy (e.g., 4G, 5G, . . . ), where user equipment experience interference, weak or strong signal strength, etc., and/or where to deploy additional base stations, for example. In other instances, the size, shape, location, call density, or other information associated with the regions 310-318 may be used to determine one or more configurations for augmenting the infrastructure of the telecommunications network).
Yoon does not explicitly disclose wherein the second action comprises: simulating the operation of the wireless communications network, which simulation is based on the estimated configuration and historical data; updating the generated coverage map, which update is based on simulated measurement data obtained from the simulation.
In an analogous art, Svenn discloses updating the generated coverage map, which update is based on simulated measurement data obtained from the simulation (Paragraph [0125] discloses updating the base station coverage map and/or block 1206 to continue receiving and processing link performance prediction (LPP) requests).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Svenn to the system of Yoon to provide techniques and systems relate to utilizing network utilization to optimize performance and network coverage for a telecommunications network (abstract).
The combination of Yoon and Svenn do not explicitly disclose wherein the second action comprises: simulating the operation of the wireless communications network, which simulation is based on the estimated configuration and historical data.
In an analogous art, Flanagan discloses wherein the second action comprises: simulating the operation of the wireless communications network, which simulation is based on the estimated configuration and historical data (Paragraph 0098 discloses perform a network simulation analysis that simulates real-time or near real-time behavior of the network based on the processed geolocated subscriber records and a plurality of altered configurations of a parameter of a base station that controls behavior of a cell site; and provide, to another device, a new network configuration in real-time or near real-time based on the network simulation analysis, the new network configuration including at least one of the plurality of altered configurations of the parameter of the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Flanagan to the modified system of Yoon and Svenn to provide network optimization, and more particularly, to techniques for dynamic network optimization using geolocation and network modeling (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Horn et al. (US 2022/0393910 A1) discloses the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, a report of the one or more channel condition parameters that are associated with the uplink channel estimations (e.g., a report indicating values for the one or more channel condition parameters). The UE may be enabled to use the values for the one or more channel condition parameters to perform channel estimations and/or channel synchronizations. As a result, the channel condition signaling may optimize a UE channel estimation and synchronization in high frequency bands (Paragraph 0065).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413