Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner disagrees with the applicant’s argument that Lucas does not show “wherein the cylindrical probe is connected to the casing unit so that the center axis is coaxial with the oscillation axis of the laser light”. The applicant argues that the dotted line doesn’t mean it’s necessarily meeting this limitation. However, it’s shown central, and for most optics it would be known to center it around the laser axis if for no reason other than to allow the maximum amount of room on either side through the probe for the beam to travel through. Thus, it appears that should be sufficient to meet the scope.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: optical fiber light receiver, an angle adjustment mechanism, a spectral optical element, a processor, a cooling mechanism, in claims 1, 7, 8, & 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, & 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas et al (PGPub 2003/0234928) (Lucas) in view of Day et al (US PAT 9,952,100) (Day).
Regarding Claim 1, Lucas discloses an optical device for laser emission spectroscopic analysis, which is used for analyzing a component of molten metal (Fig. 1, Paragraph 28), comprising:
a casing unit (see fig. 1) that has a laser oscillator oscillating laser light (14), a condenser lens (13) condensing the laser light and on which the laser light emitted from the laser oscillator is directly incident, and an optical fiber light receiver (22) receiving light emitted from plasma generated by irradiating the laser light onto the molten metal at a light-receiving end surface (Paragraph 38). The laser light is directly incident on the condenser lens because it is not redirected to other uses or split in any way; and
a cylindrical probe (18) that is connected to the casing unit so that a center axis is parallel to an oscillation axis of the laser light in the laser oscillator (See fig. 1), supplies inert gas to an opening end located downstream of the laser light traveling direction and guides the laser light toward the opening end to irradiate on the molten metal (Paragraphs 38 & 50). A tube describes a cylindrical hollow pipe. The laser and probe are both shown in to extend in the same direction thus the center axis of the probe is parallel to the axis of the laser light in the laser oscillator;
wherein a surface normal direction at the light-receiving end surface of the optical fiber light receiver is parallel to the oscillation axis of the laser light (See fig. 1). Where the fiber is shown interfacing with the casing it meets this limitation;
wherein the cylindrical probe is connected to the casing unit so that the center axis is coaxial with the oscillation axis of the laser light (See fig. 1). The fiber (22) is attached to the case such that the dotted line of the light going into the fiber line is parallel to the dotted line that represents the laser emitting the laser light thus this limitation is met;
Lucas fails to explicitly show the laser oscillator is directly incident without redirection on the condenser lens;
However, Day discloses a handheld libs spectrometer (fig. 1) that directly illuminates a lens (14) without redirection that condenses the light onto a sample (18);
Further, the examiner notes that Day also shows a casing (360, Fig. 18) with a probe (320) attached with aa cylindrical beam channel (326) and a condenser lens (324) where the laser beam (336) is shown coaxial to the center of the channel;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas with the laser oscillator is directly incident without redirection on the condenser lens because this is one of many obvious configurations and would be chosen because it allows for the laser to be directly beamed onto the sample without redirection which might be done for reasons such as packaging constraints or to have as few intervening optics as possible between the beam and the sample to prevent intensity loss.
Regarding Claim 4, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned. Further, Lucas discloses wherein at least a part of the light emission is incident on the light-receiving end surface of the optical fiber light receiver in a state where the light is not condensed. In Lucas the emission light that goes directly through the center of the lens (20) will not be diffracted thus it will not be condensed and this meets the limitation.
Regarding Claim 5, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the laser oscillator is a diode-pumped laser oscillator;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas as modified by day with wherein the laser oscillator is a diode-pumped laser oscillator because this laser if functionally equivalent to the one disclosed and would be chosen based upon such factors as availability and cost.
Regarding Claim 6, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the condenser lens has an antireflection film on its surface to prevent reflection of the laser light;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas as modified by Day with wherein the condenser lens has an antireflection film on its surface to prevent reflection of the laser light because such coatings are commonplace on lenses and are used because the reduce noise in the measurement caused by those reflections thus improving the signal-to-noise ratio of the measurement.
Regarding Claims 8 & 13, Lucas as modified by Day as modified by day discloses the aforementioned. Further, Lucas discloses a spectral optical unit (24) that spectrally disperses the light emission guided by the optical fiber light receiver (Paragraph 43);
a detector (26) that detects the light emission spectrally dispersed by the spectral optical unit (Paragraph 43); and
a component analysis unit (28) that analyzes components of molten metal based on detection results of the light emission by the detector (Paragraphs 38 & 44).
Regarding Claim 9, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned. Further, Lucas discloses wherein the detector is an image intensifier charge-coupled device detector (Paragraph 43).
Regarding Claim 10, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose a cooling mechanism that cools an inside of the casing unit;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas as modified by Day with a cooling mechanism that cools an inside of the casing unit because maintaining the temperature in an optical measurement device in a hot environment reduces error and noise in the measurement that those temperatures can cause via such mechanisms as thermal expansion of the lenses and noise induced on the detectors by the heat.
Regarding Claim 11, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose which analyzes molten metal in a plating bath for molten metal plating;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas as modified by Day with which analyzes molten metal in a plating bath for molten metal plating because one would want to analyze the molten liquid in a plating bath for such reasons as quality control of the plating process.
Regarding Claim 12, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned. Further, Lucas discloses wherein the molten metal plating is hot-dip galvanizing (Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 14, Lucas as modified by Day as modified by day discloses the aforementioned. Further, Lucas discloses a hot- dip galvanizing equipment to apply hot-dip galvanizing (Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 15, Lucas as modified by Day as modified by day discloses the aforementioned. Further, Lucas as modified by Day discloses wherein the surface normal direction at the light-receiving end surface of the optical fiber light receiver is parallel to the oscillation axis of the laser light extending from the laser oscillator to the molten metal, the oscillation axis extending in a constant (or single) direction from the laser oscillator to the molten metal;
This would be obvious in combination given that one would combine Lucas with day one would switch the positions of the laser (14) and the fiber receiver (22) in Lucas and thus producing a surface normal that is also parallel to the oscillation axis;
The reasons for combination remain the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas as modified by day in view of Day and further in view of Kim (US PAT 4,986,658) (Kim).
Regarding Claim 3, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the condenser lens is provided at a connection part between the casing unit and the cylindrical probe;
However, Kim discloses an optics block (16) provided at a connection part between the casing unit and the cylindrical probe (See modified Fig. 1 below);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas with wherein the condenser lens is provided at a connection part between the casing unit and the cylindrical probe because using a common set of optics in block allows for a smaller package and lets parts to be aligned.
Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas in view of Day and further in view of Ishimitsu (PGPub 2020/0064187) (Ishimitsu)
Regarding Claim 7, Lucas as modified by Day discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose an angle adjustment mechanism that adjusts a lens optical axis direction of the condenser lens by changing an attachment angle of the condenser lens;
However, Ishimitsu discloses an angle adjustment mechanism (89) that adjusts a lens optical axis direction of the condenser lens by changing an attachment angle of the condenser lens (Paragraphs 45 & 46);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas as modified by Day with an angle adjustment mechanism that adjusts a lens optical axis direction of the condenser lens by changing an attachment angle of the condenser lens because such a mechanism allows for the easy correction of a misaligned lens which improves the quality of the measurement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 October 2, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877