DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to application filed 09/06/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0362937 to ZHANG et al. (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method (see Zhang, Fig 4 and Fig 5), comprising:
receiving, by a processor of an apparatus implemented in a user equipment (UE), from a network a configuration of multiple overlapping configured grants (CGs) (see Zhang, ¶ 0004: the processor is configured to determine, based on a configuration received from the base station, a first set of configured grant PUSCHs. Each configured grant PUSCH of the first set of configured grant PUSCHs overlaps with the PUCCH, and is configured to transmit data from the UE to the base station; ¶ 0024: a UE can determine, based on a configuration received from the base station, a first set of CG PUSCHs, where each CG PUSCH of the first set of CG PUSCHs overlaps with the PUCCH; ¶ 0052: UE 101 can receive a configuration from a base station for configuring CG PUSCHs. For example, UE 101 can receive configuration 211 from base station 103 for configuring the first set of CG PUSCHs 213; ¶ 0061: At 504. UE 101 can determine, based on a configuration received from the base station, a first set of CG PUSCHs, where each CG PUSCH of the first set of CG PUSCHs overlaps with the PUCCH, and is configured to transmit data from the UE to the base station. For example, based on configuration 211, UE 101 can determine the first set of CG PUSCHs 213, where each CG PUSCH of the first set of CG PUSCHs 213 overlaps with PUCCH 111);
selecting, by the processor, a CG from the multiple overlapping CGs to perform transmission in the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0024: a CG PUSCH can be selected from the second set of CG PUSCHs based on an index of the CG PUSCH, a logical channel priority for data mapped to the CG PUSCH, or a transmission duration of the CG PUSCH; ¶ 0054: UE 101 can determine, based on the configuration or DCI received from the base station, any available CG PUSCHs or DGPUSCHs overlapping with the PUCCH, and further select a CG PUSCH to transmit the UCI; ¶ 0063: At 508, UE 101 can select a CG PUSCH from the second set of CG PUSCHs to carry the UCI contained in the PUCCH. For example, UE 101 can select CG PUSCH 112 from the second set of CG PUSCHs 215 to carry UCI 113 contained in the PUCCH 111); and
indicating, by the processor, the selected CG to the network (see Zhang, ¶ 0058 and ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the multiple overlapping CGs overlap in a time domain (see Zhang, ¶ 0031: In some examples, when CG PUSCH 112 and PUCCH 111 overlaps in time……; ¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indicating of the selected CG comprises transmitting to the network a signaling CG to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein the indicating of the selected CG further comprises transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) in the signaling CG to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0040: processor 109 can operate MAC layer 220 to select CG PUSCH 112 from the second set of CG PUSCHs 215 based on data availability and prioritization).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indicating of the selected CG comprises transmitting to the network a scheduling request (SR) in a SR occasion or using a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0040: MAC layer 220 does prioritization and delivers the selected CG PUSCH 112 to PHY 110 together with data, e.g., data 223 or data 224. PHY 110 receives data for the selected CG PUSCH 112 from MAC layer 220, and further multiplex UCI 113 on the selected CG PUSCH 112. If PHY 110 does not receive any data for any CG PUSCH of the second set of CG PUSCHs 215, UCI can be dropped or transmitted on PUCCH 111; ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indicating of the selected CG comprises transmitting to the network an uplink control information (UCI) signal in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0040: MAC layer 220 does prioritization and delivers the selected CG PUSCH 112 to PHY 110 together with data, e.g., data 223 or data 224. PHY 110 receives data for the selected CG PUSCH 112 from MAC layer 220, and further multiplex UCI 113 on the selected CG PUSCH 112. If PHY 110 does not receive any data for any CG PUSCH of the second set of CG PUSCHs 215, UCI can be dropped or transmitted on PUCCH 111; ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indicating of the selected CG comprises transmitting to the network a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or an uplink control information (UCI) signal with the selected CG to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0058 and ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103).
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0362937 to ZHANG et al. (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a method (see Zhang, Fig 4 and Fig5), comprising:
receiving, by a processor of an apparatus implemented in a user equipment (UE), from a network a configuration of multiple overlapping dynamic grants (DGs) (see Zhang, ¶ 0022: A PUSCH can be dynamically scheduled as a dynamic grant (DG) PUSCH by an UL grant in a DCI, or a configured grant (CG) Type 1 or Type 2……..Upon detection of a DCI scheduling a DG PUSCH, UE 101 can transmit the corresponding DG PUSCH unless the UE does not generate a transport block, and there is no PUCCH with CSI/HARQ-ACK that overlaps in time with the DG PUSCH. In some examples, when a DG PUSCH overlaps with a CG PUSCH, the CG PUSCH can be dropped or without being transmitted. When there are multiple CG PUSCHs and DG PUSCHs overlapping with a PUCCH, a mechanism can be developed herein to select a CG PUSCH or a DG PUSCH to transmit the UCI included in the PUCCH);
selecting, by the processor, a CG from the multiple overlapping CGs to perform transmission in the selected DG (see Zhang, ¶ 0024: a CG PUSCH can be selected from the second set of CG PUSCHs based on an index of the CG PUSCH, a logical channel priority for data mapped to the CG PUSCH, or a transmission duration of the CG PUSCH; ¶ 0054: UE 101 can determine, based on the configuration or DCI received from the base station, any available CG PUSCHs or DGPUSCHs overlapping with the PUCCH, and further select a CG PUSCH to transmit the UCI; ¶ 0063: At 508, UE 101 can select a CG PUSCH from the second set of CG PUSCHs to carry the UCI contained in the PUCCH. For example, UE 101 can select CG PUSCH 112 from the second set of CG PUSCHs 215 to carry UCI 113 contained in the PUCCH 111); and
indicating, by the processor, the selected CG to the network (see Zhang, ¶ 0058 and ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103).
Zhang discloses selecting a CG and indicating a CG but does not explicitly disclose selecting a DG from the multiple overlapping DGs to perform transmission in the selected DG; and indicating, by the processor, the selected DG to the network.
However, since Zhang discloses a PUSCH can be a configured grant PUSCH or a dynamic grant PUSCH (see Zhang, ¶ 0003), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and indicate DG from plurality of DG based on user design preference to achieve efficiently multiplex uplink control information in the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the multiple overlapping CGs overlap in a time domain (see Zhang, ¶ 0031: In some examples, when CG PUSCH 112 and PUCCH 111 overlaps in time……; ¶ 0064). Zhang does not explicitly disclose DGs.
However, since Zhang discloses a PUSCH can be a configured grant PUSCH or a dynamic grant PUSCH (see Zhang, ¶ 0003), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select DG and incorporate to replace CG based on user design preference to efficiently multiplex uplink control information in the communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indicating of the selected CG comprises transmitting to the network a signaling CG to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103). Zhang does not explicitly disclose DG.
However, since Zhang discloses a PUSCH can be a configured grant PUSCH or a dynamic grant PUSCH (see Zhang, ¶ 0003), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select DG and incorporate to replace CG based on user design preference to efficiently multiplex uplink control information in the communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein the indicating of the selected CG further comprises transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) in the signaling CG to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0040: processor 109 can operate MAC layer 220 to select CG PUSCH 112 from the second set of CG PUSCHs 215 based on data availability and prioritization). Zhang does not explicitly disclose DG.
However, since Zhang discloses a PUSCH can be a configured grant PUSCH or a dynamic grant PUSCH (see Zhang, ¶ 0003), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select DG and incorporate to replace CG based on user design preference to efficiently multiplex uplink control information in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indicating of the selected CG comprises transmitting to the network a scheduling request (SR) in a SR occasion or using a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0040: MAC layer 220 does prioritization and delivers the selected CG PUSCH 112 to PHY 110 together with data, e.g., data 223 or data 224. PHY 110 receives data for the selected CG PUSCH 112 from MAC layer 220, and further multiplex UCI 113 on the selected CG PUSCH 112. If PHY 110 does not receive any data for any CG PUSCH of the second set of CG PUSCHs 215, UCI can be dropped or transmitted on PUCCH 111; ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103). Zhang does not explicitly disclose DG.
However, since Zhang discloses a PUSCH can be a configured grant PUSCH or a dynamic grant PUSCH (see Zhang, ¶ 0003), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select DG and incorporate to replace CG based on user design preference to efficiently multiplex uplink control information in the communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indicating of the selected CG comprises transmitting to the network an uplink control information (UCI) signal in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0040: MAC layer 220 does prioritization and delivers the selected CG PUSCH 112 to PHY 110 together with data, e.g., data 223 or data 224. PHY 110 receives data for the selected CG PUSCH 112 from MAC layer 220, and further multiplex UCI 113 on the selected CG PUSCH 112. If PHY 110 does not receive any data for any CG PUSCH of the second set of CG PUSCHs 215, UCI can be dropped or transmitted on PUCCH 111; ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103). Zhang does not explicitly disclose DG.
However, since Zhang discloses a PUSCH can be a configured grant PUSCH or a dynamic grant PUSCH (see Zhang, ¶ 0003), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select DG and incorporate to replace CG based on user design preference to efficiently multiplex uplink control information in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the indicating of the selected CG comprises transmitting to the network a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) or an uplink control information (UCI) signal with the selected CG to indicate the selected CG (see Zhang, ¶ 0058 and ¶ 0064: At 510, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH carrying the UCI of the PUCCH to the base station. For example, UE 101 can transmit the selected CG PUSCH 112 carrying UCI 113 of PUCCH 111 to base station 103). Zhang does not explicitly disclose DG.
However, since Zhang discloses a PUSCH can be a configured grant PUSCH or a dynamic grant PUSCH (see Zhang, ¶ 0003), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select DG and incorporate to replace CG based on user design preference to efficiently multiplex uplink control information in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0053550 to Li et al. discloses a method of wireless communication includes receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a plurality of uplink configured grant (UL-CG) configurations and receiving, by the UE, an UL-CG. The method further includes selecting, based on a resource configuration associated with a slot, an UL-CG configuration from among the plurality of UL-CG configurations for an occasion of the UL-CG that is to occur during the slot. The method further includes performing an uplink transmission during the occasion of the UL-CG based on the selected UL-CG configuration.
US 2022/0052787 to FU et al. discloses a network device sends configuration information of the CG resource configured for the terminal device to the terminal device through an RRC reconfiguration message. Optionally, an Information Element (IE) containing the configuration information may be ConfiguredGrantConfig. Optionally, the configuration information, sent by the network device, of the configured CG resource includes a period, a repetition count repK, and an RV number repK-RV for the repetition. Under the condition that the configuration information includes the repetition count repK and the RV number repK-RV for the repetition, the configured CG resource is a CG resource configured with the repetition. The terminal device selects a position of one repetition from multiple repetitions of the CG resource configured with the repetition as the target position. In an example, the transmission period of the CG resource is 20 ms, the repetition count is 5, and RV numbers for all repetitions are 0, 2, 3, 1, and 2 respectively.
/RASHEED GIDADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464