DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-11, 13-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0232463 A1 to Sadique et al. (hereafter refers as Sadique).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Sadique teaches a method and an apparatus implementable in a user equipment (UE) (a method and a UE for performing the method, Fig. 5, 8-9), comprising:
a transceiver (the UE comprises a communication circuitry, Fig. 3, elements 329-330) configured to communicate wirelessly with a network (configured to wirelessly communicate with a network, paragraphs [93-95, 98, 102]); and
a processor (the UE comprises a processor, paragraphs [98, 100-102] and Fig. 3) coupled to the transceiver (wherein the processor coupled to the communication circuitry, Fig. 3) and configured to perform operations (configured to perform the operations of the UE, paragraphs [98, 100-102]) comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver (the UE communicates messages via the communication circuitry, Fig.3 and paragraphs [93-95, 98, 102]), from a satellite access cell of the network (receives message from a satellite access cell, i.e. AMF/VPLMN/HPLMN of NTN network, Fig. 3, 8-9, wherein the NTN network is a satellite network, paragraphs [3, 81, 112, 119, 130]) a message with a reject cause (the message includes a reject cause, paragraphs [129-135, 140]); and
either or both refraining to attempt a satellite access (the UE, either or both refrains from performing PLMN search and registration to the NTN network, paragraphs [130, 141, 167]) and disabling the satellite access capability of the UE responsive to receiving the message (and disables an attempt to access the NTN network and updates NTN access status as not allowed, in response to receive the message with the reject cause, paragraphs [132-134, 141]).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Sadique further teaches wherein the reject cause indicates that the satellite access is not allowed (wherein the reject cause indicates that the NTN access and/or satellite access is not allowed, paragraphs [130, 132-133]), and wherein the either or both refraining to attempt the satellite access and disabling the satellite access capability of the UE comprises refraining to attempt the satellite access and disabling the satellite access capability of the UE for one or more of:
a specific access for which the message was received (for a first PLMN for which the message was received, paragraphs [129-130]);
an access to all satellites (for all PLMNs, paragraph [133]); and
a specific public land mobile network (PLMN) for which the message was received or all PLMNs until (for a first PLMN for which the message was received, paragraphs [129-130] or for all PLMNs, paragraph [133], until):
the UE being switched off and back on (UE being powers off and on again, paragraphs [131-133]); or
a different Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) being inserted into the UE (or until a current USIM being removed, paragraphs [131-132, 155]); or
expiry of a timer (for a period of time, paragraph [141]).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Sadique further teaches wherein the reject cause indicates that attempting a specific satellite access is not allowed (reject cause indicates that attempt to access the specific satellite access is not allowed, paragraphs [130-134]), and wherein the either or both refraining to attempt the satellite access and disabling the satellite access capability of the UE comprises refraining to attempt the specific satellite access and disabling the specific satellite access by the UE for a specific public land mobile network (PLMN) for which the message was received or all PLMNs until (for a first PLMN for which the message was received, paragraphs [129-130] or for all PLMNs, paragraph [133], until):
the UE being switched off and back on (UE being powers off and on again, paragraphs [131-133]); or
a different Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) being inserted into the UE (or until a current USIM being removed, paragraphs [131-132, 155]); or
expiry of a timer (for a period of time, paragraph [141]).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Sadique further teaches wherein the reject cause indicates that re-attempting a specific satellite access is not allowed for a specific public land mobile network (PLMN) (reject cause indicates that attempting to access a satellite network is not allowed for a first PLMN, paragraph [130]), and wherein the disabling of the satellite access capability of the UE comprises disabling the specific satellite access by the UE for the specific PLMN for which the message was received (the UE stops attempting to access the satellite network for the first PLMN for which the message was received, paragraph [130]).
Regarding claim 5, Sadique further teaches enabling, by the processor, the satellite access capability of the UE upon expiry of a related timer (the UE attempts to access the satellite after a period of time, paragraph [141]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Sadique further teaches wherein the message comprises a reject message (wherein the message is a service rejection message, paragraphs [128, 140]) or a DEREGISTRATION message (or a deregistration message, paragraphs [128, 140]), and wherein the receiving of the message comprises receiving the message upon the network determining that a UE subscription has changed while the UE is registered in the network (wherein the message is received upon the network determining that a subscription of the UE has changed while the UE is registered in the network, paragraph [128, 138-140]), and in a CONNECTED mode (and in a connected mode with a first network, paragraph [141]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Sadique further teaches either or both, by the processor, allowing to access the satellite access and enabling the satellite access capability of the UE responsive to (the UE resets its access ability to satellite access ability, paragraphs [131-133]):
the UE being switched off and back on (in response to power off and power on again, paragraphs [131-133]); or
a different Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) being inserted into the UE (a current USIM being removed, paragraphs [131-132, 155]); or
expiry of a timer (or after the period of time, paragraph [141]).
Regarding claim 10, Sadique teaches a method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of a user equipment (UE) (the UE comprises a processor for perform the functions of the UE, paragraphs [98, 100-102] and Fig. 3), that satellite access by the UE is allowed according to a UE configuration (determines whether the satellite access/NTN access, paragraphs [3, 81, 112, 119, 130], by the UE is allowed based on a UE configuration, paragraphs [155, 165]); and
implementing, by the processor, a result of the determining (the UE with the processor, determines to use a particular PLMN and/or prioritize the NTN/satellite access based on the UE configuration, paragraphs [155, 165]),
wherein the UE configuration comprises a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) configuration (wherein the UE configuration comprises a USIM configuration, paragraphs [155, 165]).
Regarding claim 11, Sadique further teaches, wherein the USIM configuration indicates one or more of:
the satellite access to a specific service being allowed or restricted (wherein the USIM configuration indicates whether NTN NG-RAN is preferred over cellular NG-RAN, paragraph [165]); and
description of allowance of the satellite access or a restriction on the satellite access (wherein the USIM configuration indicates whether the UE is allowed access NTN NG-RAN and/or whether NTN NG-RAN is preferred over cellular NG-RAN, paragraph [165]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0232463 A1 to Sadique et al. (hereafter refers as Sadique) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2023/0358843 A1 to Ghimire et al. (hereafter refers as Ghimire).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Sadique further teaches utilizing, by the processor, a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) responsive to the USIM being inserted into the UE (the UE uses its USIM, thus the USIM being inserted into the UE, paragraphs [97, 115, 117, 124, 165]),
wherein the USIM is configured with a satellite restricted subscription (wherein the USIM is configured with a satellite restricted subscription, paragraph [165]).
However, Sadique does not explicitly teach wherein the receiving of the message with the reject cause comprises receiving the message from the network “responsive to utilizing the USIM”.
Ghimire teaches utilizing, by a processor, a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) responsive to the USIM being inserted into the UE (the UE uses its USIM, thus the USIM being inserted into the UE, paragraph [300]),
wherein the USIM is configured with a satellite restricted subscription (wherein the USIM is configured with a satellite restricted subscription, i.e. uses home PLMN to access the NTN, paragraph [300]), and
wherein a receiving of the message with the reject cause comprises receiving the message from the network responsive to utilizing the USIM (the UE receives a message with reject cause when using the USIM, paragraphs [294-300]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving of the message with the reject cause comprises receiving the message from the network responsive to utilizing the USIM as taught by Ghimire, with the teachings of receiving of the message with the reject cause and utilizing the USIM as taught by Sadique, for a purpose of increase efficiency in registering the UE by rejecting the registration based on the satellite restriction subscription set in the USIM of the UE (see Ghimire, paragraphs [294-300]).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0232463 A1 to Sadique et al. (hereafter refers as Sadique) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2017/0094501 A1 to Huang-Fu.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Sadique further teaches starting, by the processor, a timer responsive to receiving the message with the reject cause (disables registration procedures for the NTN for a predetermined period of time, paragraph [141]); and
enabling, by the processor, the satellite access capability of the UE responsive to expiry of the timer (disables registration procedures for the NTN for a predetermined period of time, paragraph [141]),
either the UE being switched off and back on or a different Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) being inserted into the UE (restarts the registration procedures for the NTN either the UE being power off and back on or remove the current USIM, paragraphs [131-133]).
However, Sadique does not explicitly teach “wherein the timer is stopped responsive to a different Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) being inserted into the UE”.
Huang-Fu teaches starting a timer responsive to receiving the message with the reject cause (starts a timer when receive a message with reject cause, paragraphs [5, 8, 22, 30]), and
enabling the access capability of the UE responsive to expiry of the timer (enabling the UE to perform access capability responsive to expire of the timer, paragraphs [28, 31, 35]),
wherein the timer is stopped responsive to a different Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) being inserted into the UE (wherein the timer is stopped when a different USIM being inserted into the UE, abstract and paragraphs [29, 31, 34, 35]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the timer is stopped responsive to a different Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) being inserted into the UE as taught by Huang-Fu, with the teachings of timer as taught by Sadique, for a purpose of increase efficiency by enabling the UE to restart the satellite access capability responsive to the different USIM being inserted into the UE, without waiting for expiration of the timer (see Huang-Fu, abstract and paragraphs [29, 31, 34, 35]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0232463 A1 to Sadique et al. (hereafter refers as Sadique) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2021/0258316 A1 to Liu.
Regarding claim 12, Sadique teaches the configuration indicating allowance or a restriction on the satellite access in one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) (configuration specifies whether the NTN access is allowed over one or more PLMNs, paragraphs [163-167]).
However, Sadique does not explicitly teach the configuration is a “MO configuration comprising a non-access stratum (NAS) configuration MO”.
Liu teaches a MO configuration comprises a non-access stratum (NAS) configuration MO indicating allowance or a restriction on an access in one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) (a UE has a configuration specifying allowance or a restriction on a network access, i.e. RLOs, in one or more PLMNs, wherein the configuration is an USIM configuration or MO configuration comprising NAS MO configuration, paragraphs [84-85, 90, 92-93, 101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of MO configuration comprises a non-access stratum (NAS) configuration MO indicating allowance or a restriction on an access in one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) as taught by Liu, with the teachings of configuration indicating allowance or a restriction on the satellite access in one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) as taught by Sadique, for a purpose of expanding functionality of the UE by enabling the UE to also store/use the MO configuration to store the configuration indicating allowance or a restriction on the satellite access in one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) (see Liu, paragraphs [84-85, 90, 92-93, 101]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0313311 A1 discloses 5GSM parameters of PLMN are predefined stored in a Management object or USIM in the UE (paragraph [95]).
US 2023/0164727 A1 discloses UE attempts to access an 5G network, receives registration reject response indicating reject cause in response to the attempt, starts a timer and in response to expiration of the timer, re-attempt to access the 5G network, and thereby receives a registration accept response (see Fig. 9).
US 2024/0031912 A1 discloses receiving rejection cause indicating said UE is not allowed to access a mobile network from a determined location (see abstract), wherein the mobile network comprising a satellite network (paragraphs [9-10, 14]).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 June 18, 2026