CTNF 18/845,023 CTNF 91684 DETAILED ACTION This office action is a response to an application filed on 09/09/2024. Claims 1 and 3-11 are pending for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-fti AIA The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Drawings The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 09/09/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 3- 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 20220278880 A1); hereinafter “Matsumura” . Regarding claim 1, Matsumura teaches A method performed by a radio node, the method comprising: estimating channel characteristics or receiving channel characteristics through signaling [Abstract] ; and depending on the channel characteristics, performing Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS, Orthogonal Cover Code, OCC, decoding based on either: (a) sub-length orthogonal Frequency Domain OCC, FD-OCC, combined with sub-length orthogonal Time Domain OCC, TD-OCC, over one or more additional DMRS symbols or (b) FD-OCC [Figs. 9a,b; Par. 149- 155 teaches DMRS is transmitted by using the excess of the REs in the PRB/PRG, whether or not the OCC (FD-OCC/TD-OCC) is applied to the excess of the REs in the PRB/PRG, or the like may be configured (indicated) for the UE by using higher layer signaling]. PNG media_image1.png 456 690 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 3, Matsumura further teaches A radio node comprising: a communication interface comprising a receiver; and processing circuitry associated with the communication interface [ Fig. 22] , the processing circuitry configured to cause the radio node to: estimate channel characteristics or receiving channel characteristics through signaling [Abstract] ; and depending on the channel characteristics, perform Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS, Orthogonal Cover Code, OCC, decoding based on either: (a) sub-length orthogonal Frequency Domain OCC, FD-OCC, combined with sub-length orthogonal Time Domain OCC, TD-OCC, over one or more additional DMRS symbols or (b) FD-OCC [Figs. 9a,b; Par. 149- 155 teaches DMRS is transmitted by using the excess of the REs in the PRB/PRG, whether or not the OCC (FD-OCC/TD-OCC) is applied to the excess of the REs in the PRB/PRG, or the like may be configured (indicated) for the UE by using higher layer signaling]. PNG media_image1.png 456 690 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 4, Matsumura further teaches A method performed by a radio node, the method comprising: transmitting Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, or Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS, using Time Domain Orthogonal Cover Codes, TD-OCC over additional DMRS symbols and Frequency Domain Orthogonal Cover Codes, FD-OCC, such that the DMRS ports are separable based on FD-OCC and such that the DMRS ports are separable based on TD-OCC over additional DMRS symbols [Figs. 9a,b; Par. 149- 155 teaches DMRS is transmitted by using the excess of the REs in the PRB/PRG, whether or not the OCC (FD-OCC/TD-OCC) is applied to the excess of the REs in the PRB/PRG, or the like may be configured (indicated) for the UE by using higher layer signaling]. PNG media_image1.png 456 690 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 5, Matsumura further teaches wherein a separate FD-OCC is applied for each of the DMRS ports and a separate TD-OCC is applied for each of the DMRS ports [Fig. 4; 9a,b; Par. 152 teaches The TD-OCC according to a second embodiment may be applied to RE pairs of N (N>1) symbols including non-contiguous symbols. The TD-OCC may correspond to the TD-OCC that the UE corresponding to NR later than Rel. 15 assumes to be applied to the DMRS. [0153] In other words, in the second embodiment, the TD-OCC having a sequence length of N may be used. In this case, the number of DMRS ports can be increased to N times] Regarding claim 6, Matsumura further teaches A radio node comprising: a communication interface comprising a transmitter [Figs. 20, 21] ; and processing circuitry associated with the communication interface , the processing circuitry configured to cause the radio node to [Figs. 20, 21] ; transmit Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, or Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS, using Time Domain Orthogonal Cover Codes, TD-OCC over additional DMRS symbols and Frequency Domain Orthogonal Cover Codes, FD-OCC, such that the DMRS ports are separable based on FD-OCC and such that the DMRS ports are separable based on TD-OCC over additional DMRS symbols [Figs. 9a,b; Par. 149- 155 teaches DMRS is transmitted by using the excess of the REs in the PRB/PRG, whether or not the OCC (FD-OCC/TD-OCC) is applied to the excess of the REs in the PRB/PRG, or the like may be configured (indicated) for the UE by using higher layer signaling]. PNG media_image1.png 456 690 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 7, Matsumura further teaches wherein a separate FD-OCC is applied for each of the DMRS ports and a separate TD-OCC is applied for each of the DMRS ports [Fig. 4; 9a,b; Par. 152 teaches The TD-OCC according to a second embodiment may be applied to RE pairs of N (N>1) symbols including non-contiguous symbols. The TD-OCC may correspond to the TD-OCC that the UE corresponding to NR later than Rel. 15 assumes to be applied to the DMRS. [0153] In other words, in the second embodiment, the TD-OCC having a sequence length of N may be used. In this case, the number of DMRS ports can be increased to N times] Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6. Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7. Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6. Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7. Conclusion The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of the action. An extension of time may be obtained under 37 CFR 1.136(a). However, in no event, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYAW Z SOE whose telephone number is (571)270-0304. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles C Jiang can be reached at 5712707191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/845,023 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/845,023 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/845,023 Page 4 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/845,023 Page 5 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/845,023 Page 6 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/845,023 Page 7 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/845,023 Page 8 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/845,023 Page 9 Art Unit: 2412