DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 23-24 of Remarks that Hu does not disclose or suggest “wherein the conditional handover configuration is associated with an energy saving mode”. Examiner disagrees. First, the limitation “wherein the conditional handover configuration is associated with an energy saving mode” as claimed in independent claim 1 is very broad. Examiner interprets “the conditional handover configuration associated with an energy saving mode” such as “the network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication message, the CHO execution condition corresponding to each candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, shutting down the first cell based on the energy-saving strategy of Hu (see par. 0124). Second, in dependent claim 8 of the instant application mentions the energy saving mode at the serving cell comprises an indication of cell shutdown. It is very clear that Hu teaches “wherein the conditional handover configuration is associated with an energy saving mode” as claimed in independent claim 1.
Applicant also argues that Hu does not teach “conditionally on receiving the indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell, select, from the one or more candidate target cells, a target cell for handover, based on the information for target cell selection comprised in the conditional handover configuration. Examiner disagrees. Par. 0124 of Hu mentions: “ For the terminal device which has established the RRC connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO execution condition. That is, the UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell may handover to another cell more quickly. On the one hand, the signaling overhead is reduced; and on the other hand, a delay of the terminal device in performing the above processes is significantly shortened, such that the network device may save energies”. It is clear that Hu teaches the limitation “conditionally on receiving the indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell, select, from the one or more candidate target cells, a target cell for handover, based on the information for target cell selection comprised in the conditional handover configuration”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-18 and 62-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HU et al. (US 2024/0179624 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, HU et al. teach a method/an apparatus (see fig. 11: a terminal device) comprising: at least one processor (see fig. 11: 1180); and at least one memory including computer program code (see fig. 11: 1120); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor (see fig. 11), cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from a serving cell, a conditional handover configuration, wherein the conditional handover configuration is associated with an energy saving mode (see fig. 3, par. 0084, and par. 0092: 301 and par. 0093: In an operation 301, the network device sends an indication message to the terminal device. The indication message is configured to indicate that the network device will shut down a first cell; In an operation 302, in a case where the terminal device takes the first cell as a primary cell and the network device configures a conditional handover (CHO) for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication message, a CHO execution condition corresponding to a candidate cell in a CHO candidate-cell list), wherein the conditional handover configuration comprises: an indication of one or more candidate target cells, and information for target cell selection (see par. 0096: [0096] In some embodiments, the network device sends first configuration information to the terminal device. The terminal device receives the first configuration information sent by the network device. The first configuration information includes the CHO candidate-cell list and the CHO execution condition corresponding to each candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list); after receiving the conditional handover configuration, receive, from the serving cell, an indication of activation of
the energy saving mode at the serving cell (see par. 0124: Based on the energy-saving strategy,
the network device, in response to deciding to shut down the first cell, sends the indication
message to the terminal device to indicate the terminal device that the network device will shut
down the first cell); and conditionally on receiving the indication of activation of the energy
saving mode at the serving cell, select, from the one or more candidate target cells, a target cell
for handover based on the information for target cell selection comprised in the conditional
handover configuration (see par. 0124: For the terminal device which has established the RRC
connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network
device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO
execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO
execution condition. That is, the UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell
may handover to another cell more quickly).
Regarding claim 71, HU et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable medium
comprising instructions stored thereon which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the
at least one processor (see par. 0014) to perform at least the following:
receive, from a serving cell, a conditional handover configuration, wherein the
conditional handover configuration is associated with an energy saving mode (see fig. 3, par.
0084, and par. 0092: 301 and par. 0093: In an operation 301, the network device sends an
indication message to the terminal device. The indication message is configured to indicate that
the network device will shut down a first cell; In an operation 302, in a case where the terminal
device takes the first cell as a primary cell and the network device configures a conditional
handover (CHO) for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication
message, a CHO execution condition corresponding to a candidate cell in a CHO candidate-cell
list), wherein the conditional handover configuration comprises: an indication of one or more
candidate target cells, and information for target cell selection (see par. 0096: [0096] In some
embodiments, the network device sends first configuration information to the terminal device.
The terminal device receives the first configuration information sent by the network device. The
first configuration information includes the CHO candidate-cell list and the CHO execution
condition corresponding to each candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list);
after receiving the conditional handover configuration, receive, from the serving cell, an
indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell (see par. 0124: Based on
the energy-saving strategy, the network device, in response to deciding to shut down the first
cell, sends the indication message to the terminal device to indicate the terminal device that the
network device will shut down the first cell); and
conditionally on receiving the indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the
serving cell, select, from the one or more candidate target cells, a target cell for handover based
on the information for target cell selection comprised in the conditional handover configuration
(see par. 0124: For the terminal device which has established the RRC connection in the first cell
(i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network device configures the CHO
for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition, and performs
evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO execution condition. That is, the
UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell may handover to another cell
more quickly).
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 74, HU et al. also teach wherein the indication of activation
of the energy saving mode is included in a broadcast message (see par. 0086: the network device
broadcasts the indication message).
Regarding claims 3, 15 and 75, HU et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory and
the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus
to: disconnect from the serving cell; and synchronize with the selected target cell (see par. 0051:
In response to the UE determining, based on the condition configured by the network, that the
condition related to the target cell is triggered, the UE handovers (i.e., triggering a random access
process is triggered and a handover completion message is sent) to the target cell based on the
HO command that is configured in advance).
Regarding claims 4, 16 and 76, HU et al. also teach wherein the conditional handover
configuration further comprises an indication of one or more measurements to perform (see par.
0106: The channel quality measurement value (such as RSRP, RSRQ, RS-SINR, and SO on) of
the PCell is adjusted (reduced), based on the indication message, to reach the first measurement
value. The first measurement value is a preset value or a value configured by the network
device).
Regarding claims 5, 17 and 77, HU et al. also teach performing at least one of the one or
more measurements; and select the target cell based, at least partially, on a result of the at least
one performed measurement (see pars. 0116-0117: [0116] Method 3: The terminal device
determines, based on indication message, that the condition "the channel quality of the PCell
being below the threshold value a5-Threshold1" is always met. That is, the determination of
whether the condition is met is not determined based on the measurement value or the threshold
value. [0117] 3. The CHO candidate-cell list includes a third CHO candidate cell. The CHO
execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell includes a CHO event A4.
The operation of the terminal device adjusting, based on the indication message, the CHO
execution condition corresponding to the candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, may
include the following. The terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition corresponding
to the third CHO candidate cell).
Regarding claims 6, 18 and 78, HU et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory and
the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus
to: select the target cell based, at least partially, on one of: predetermined information, located at
the apparatus, that is associated with the target cell, or the information for target cell selection,
comprising at least one of: a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the
serving cell or the target cell, a reference signal received power value associated with the serving
cell or the target cell, a downlink beam of the serving cell or the target cell, or selection criteria
(see par. 0095: In an operation 302, in a case where the terminal device takes the first cell as a
primary cell and the network device configures a conditional handover (CHO) for the terminal
device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication message, a CHO execution condition
corresponding to a candidate cell in a CHO candidate-cell list).
Regarding claims 7 and 79, HU et al. also teach wherein the apparatus is in a radio
resource control connected state (see par. 0124: For the terminal device which has established
the RRC connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the
network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO
execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO
execution condition. That is, the UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell may
handover to another cell more quickly).
Regarding claims 8 and 80, HU et al. also teach wherein the indication of activation of
the energy saving mode at the serving cell comprises an indication of at least one of: cell
shutdown, network transmit power reduction, or multiple-in multiple-out transmit antenna
element muting (see par. 0005: The present disclosure provides a method of shutting down a cell,
a terminal device, a network device, and a storage medium. According to the present disclosure,
a signaling overhead for shutting down a first cell is reduced, allowing the network device to
rapidly saving energy).
Regarding claims 9, 68 and 81, HU et al. also teach wherein the indication of the one or
more candidate target cells is based, at least partially, on at least one of: one or more network
shutdown policies of the serving cell, one or more frequency layers of the serving cell that are
shut down, an order of shutdown of the one or more frequency layers of the serving cell that are
shut down, or a frequency layer of a same power saving group as at least one of the one or more
frequency layers of the serving cell that are shut down (see par. 0124: Based on the energy-
saving strategy, the network device, in response to deciding to shut down the first cell, sends the
indication message to the terminal device to indicate the terminal device that the network device
will shut down the first cell. For the terminal device which has established the RRC connection
in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network device
configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO execution
condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO execution
condition. That is, the UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell may handover
to another cell more quickly).
Regarding claims 11, 69 and 82, HU et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory
and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the
apparatus to: receive an indication of when the conditional handover configuration is to be
applied, wherein the indication comprises at least one of: the indication of activation of the
energy saving mode at the serving cell, a network offload indication, an indication of an activation of the conditional handover configuration, or an indication of a time for enforcement
of the conditional handover configuration, comprising at least one of: a system frame number, a
hyper frame number, or a number of time units (see pars. 0091-0095: the UE receives a system
information (such as MIB/SIB 1/other SIB) sent by the base station. The system information
includes the indication message, which indicates that the base station is going to shut down the
first cell. Whether to shut down a certain cell is determined based on an energy-saving strategy
of the network device and will not be limited herein. [0092] Information related to the base
station shutting down the first cell may include the following: [0093] (1) the frequency point
corresponding to the first cell and the PCI of the first cell; and [0094] (2) time information for
the base station to shut down the first cell. The time information may be: the UTC time and/or
the SFC received by the terminal device. [0095] In an operation 302, in a case where the terminal
device takes the first cell as a primary cell and the network device configures a conditional
handover (CHO) for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication
message, a CHO execution condition corresponding to a candidate cell in a CHO candidate-cell
list).
Regarding claims 12, 70 and 83, HU et al. also teach wherein the network offload
indication or the indication of an activation of the conditional configuration comprises one of:
downlink control information, or a medium access control control element (see par. 002: the
terminal may transmit and receive data on the SCell. An initial state of a configured SCell is the
inactive state. The SCell may be activated or de-activated in the following two manners: [0043]
(1) activating/de-activating the SCell indicated based on a SCell activation/de-activation medium
access control element (MAC CE)).
Regarding claims 62 and 72, HU et al. also teach wherein the information for target cell
selection comprises one or more execution conditions, wherein the at least one memory and the
computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
evaluate the one or more execution conditions and select the target cell from the one or more
candidate target cells based on evaluating the one or more execution conditions (see pars. 0100-
0103: the operation of the terminal device adjusting the CHO execution condition corresponding
to the first CHO candidate cell based on the indication message, may include at least one of the
following. [0101] (1) The terminal device reduces, based on the indication message, a3 -Offset
corresponding to the CHO event A3 to reach a first threshold value. The first threshold value is a
preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0102] (2) The terminal device
reduces, based on the indication message, a channel quality measurement value of the primary
cell to reach a first measurement value. The first measurement value is a preset value or a value
configured by the network device. [0103] In some embodiments, the channel quality
measurement value may include at least one of: a measurement value of a reference signal
received power (RSRP), a measurement value of reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a
measurement value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), and a measurement value of a
signal-to interference plus noise ratio (SINR). The SINR may include a reference signal-signal-to
interference plus noise ratio (RS-SINR)).
Regarding claims 63 and 73, HU et al. also teach wherein the information for target cell
selection comprises one or more radio conditions to be evaluated (see pars. 0113-0117: [0113]
Exemplarily, when the CHO execution condition of the second CHO candidate cell includes the
CHO event A5 (i.e. CondEvent A5), following method may be performed. [0114] Method 1: The
threshold value a5-Threshold1 of CondEvent A5 is increased, based on the indication message,
to reach the second threshold value. In some embodiments, the threshold value a5-Threshold2 of
CondEvent A5 is adjusted (reduced) to reach the third threshold value. Each of the second
threshold value and the third threshold value is a preset value or a value configured by the
network device. [0115] Method 2: The channel quality measurement value (such as RSRP,
RSRQ, RS-SINR, and so on) of the PCell is adjusted (reduced), based on indication message, to
reach the second measurement value. The second measurement value is a preset value or a value
configured by the network device. [0116] Method 3: The terminal device determines, based on
indication message, that the condition "the channel quality of the PCell being below the
threshold value a5-Threshold is always met. That is, the determination of whether the
condition is met is not determined based on the measurement value or the threshold value. [0117]
3. The CHO candidate-cell list includes a third CHO candidate cell. The CHO execution
condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell includes a CHO event A4. The
operation of the terminal device adjusting, based on the indication message, the CHO execution
condition corresponding to the candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, may include the
following. The terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition corresponding to the third
CHO candidate cell)).
Regarding claim 64, HU et al. also teach wherein the information for target cell selection
comprises one or more execution conditions, wherein the method further comprising: evaluating
the one or more execution conditions and selecting the target cell from the one or more candidate
target cells based on evaluating the one or more execution conditions (see pars. 0113-0117:
[0113] Exemplarily, when the CHO execution condition of the second CHO candidate cell
includes the CHO event A5 (i.e. CondEvent A5), following method may be performed. [0114]
Method 1: The threshold value a5-Threshold1 of CondEvent A5 is increased, based on the
indication message, to reach the second threshold value. In some embodiments, the threshold
value a5-Threshold2 of CondEvent A5 is adjusted (reduced) to reach the third threshold value.
Each of the second threshold value and the third threshold value is a preset value or a value
configured by the network device. [0115] Method 2: The channel quality measurement value
(such as RSRP, RSRQ, RS-SINR, and so on) of the PCell is adjusted (reduced), based on
indication message, to reach the second measurement value. The second measurement value is a
preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0116] Method 3: The terminal device
determines, based on indication message, that the condition "the channel quality of the PCell
being below the threshold value a5-Threshold1" is always met. That is, the determination of
whether the condition is met is not determined based on the measurement value or the threshold
value. [0117] 3. The CHO candidate-cell list includes a third CHO candidate cell. The CHO
execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell includes a CHO event A4.
The operation of the terminal device adjusting, based on the indication message, the CHO
execution condition corresponding to the candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, may
include the following. The terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition corresponding
to the third CHO candidate cell)).
Regarding claim 65, HU et al. also teach wherein the information for target cell selection
comprises one or more radio conditions to be evaluated (see pars. 0113-0117: [0113]
Exemplarily, when the CHO execution condition of the second CHO candidate cell includes the
CHO event A5 (i.e. CondEvent A5), following method may be performed. [0114] Method 1: The
threshold value a5-Threshold1 of CondEvent A5 is increased, based on the indication message,
to reach the second threshold value. In some embodiments, the threshold value a5-Threshold2 of
CondEvent A5 is adjusted (reduced) to reach the third threshold value. Each of the second
threshold value and the third threshold value is a preset value or a value configured by the
network device. [0115] Method 2: The channel quality measurement value (such as RSRP,
RSRQ, RS-SINR, and so on) of the PCell is adjusted (reduced), based on indication message, to
reach the second measurement value. The second measurement value is a preset value or a value
configured by the network device. [0116] Method 3: The terminal device determines, based on
indication message, that the condition "the channel quality of the PCell being below the
threshold value a5-Threshold1" is always met. That is, the determination of whether the
condition is met is not determined based on the measurement value or the threshold value. [0117]
3. The CHO candidate-cell list includes a third CHO candidate cell. The CHO execution
condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell includes a CHO event A4. The
operation of the terminal device adjusting, based on the indication message, the CHO execution
condition corresponding to the candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, may include the
following. The terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition corresponding to the third
CHO candidate cell)).
Regarding claim 66, HU et al. also teach wherein the user equipment is in a radio
resource control connected state (see par. 0124: For the terminal device which has established
the RRC connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the
network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO
execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO
execution condition).
Regarding claim 67, HU et al. also teach wherein the indication of activation of the
energy saving mode at the serving cell comprises an indication of at least one of: cell shutdown,
network transmit power reduction, or multiple-in multiple-out transmit antenna element muting
(see par. 0005: The present disclosure provides a method of shutting down a cell, a terminal
device, a network device, and a storage medium. According to the present disclosure, a signaling
overhead for shutting down a first cell is reduced, allowing the network device to rapidly saving
energy).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643