DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I (claims 1-9, 11-18 and 62-83) in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction requirement is based on an improper grouping and the claims constitute a single invention. This is not found persuasive because the claims of the elected group are distinct from the non-elected groups and represent a serious search/examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-18 and 62-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HU et al. (US 2024/0179624 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, HU et al. teach a method/an apparatus (see fig. 11: a terminal device) comprising: at least one processor (see fig. 11: 1180); and at least one memory including computer program code (see fig. 11: 1120); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor (see fig. 11), cause the apparatus at least to: receive, from a serving cell, a conditional handover configuration, wherein the conditional handover configuration is associated with an energy saving mode (see fig. 3, par. 0084, and par. 0092: 301 and par. 0093: In an operation 301, the network device sends an indication message to the terminal device. The indication message is configured to indicate that the network device will shut down a first cell; In an operation 302, in a case where the terminal device takes the first cell as a primary cell and the network device configures a conditional handover (CHO) for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication message, a CHO execution condition corresponding to a candidate cell in a CHO candidate-cell list), wherein the conditional handover configuration comprises: an indication of one or more candidate target cells, and information for target cell selection (see par. 0096: [0096] In some embodiments, the network device sends first configuration information to the terminal device. The terminal device receives the first configuration information sent by the network device. The first configuration information includes the CHO candidate-cell list and the CHO execution condition corresponding to each candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list); after receiving the conditional handover configuration, receive, from the serving cell, an indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell (see par. 0124: Based on the energy-saving strategy, the network device, in response to deciding to shut down the first cell, sends the indication message to the terminal device to indicate the terminal device that the network device will shut down the first cell); and conditionally on receiving the indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell, select, from the one or more candidate target cells, a target cell for handover based on the information for target cell selection comprised in the conditional handover configuration (see par. 0124: For the terminal device which has established the RRC connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO execution condition. That is, the UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell may handover to another cell more quickly).
Regarding claim 71, HU et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor (see par. 0014) to perform at least the following:
receive, from a serving cell, a conditional handover configuration, wherein the conditional handover configuration is associated with an energy saving mode (see fig. 3, par. 0084, and par. 0092: 301 and par. 0093: In an operation 301, the network device sends an indication message to the terminal device. The indication message is configured to indicate that the network device will shut down a first cell; In an operation 302, in a case where the terminal device takes the first cell as a primary cell and the network device configures a conditional handover (CHO) for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication message, a CHO execution condition corresponding to a candidate cell in a CHO candidate-cell list), wherein the conditional handover configuration comprises: an indication of one or more candidate target cells, and information for target cell selection (see par. 0096: [0096] In some embodiments, the network device sends first configuration information to the terminal device. The terminal device receives the first configuration information sent by the network device. The first configuration information includes the CHO candidate-cell list and the CHO execution condition corresponding to each candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list);
after receiving the conditional handover configuration, receive, from the serving cell, an indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell (see par. 0124: Based on the energy-saving strategy, the network device, in response to deciding to shut down the first cell, sends the indication message to the terminal device to indicate the terminal device that the network device will shut down the first cell); and
conditionally on receiving the indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell, select, from the one or more candidate target cells, a target cell for handover based on the information for target cell selection comprised in the conditional handover configuration (see par. 0124: For the terminal device which has established the RRC connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO execution condition. That is, the UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell may handover to another cell more quickly).
Regarding claims 2, 14 and 74, HU et al. also teach wherein the indication of activation of the energy saving mode is included in a broadcast message (see par. 0086: the network device broadcasts the indication message).
Regarding claims 3, 15 and 75, HU et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: disconnect from the serving cell; and synchronize with the selected target cell (see par. 0051: In response to the UE determining, based on the condition configured by the network, that the condition related to the target cell is triggered, the UE handovers (i.e., triggering a random access process is triggered and a handover completion message is sent) to the target cell based on the HO command that is configured in advance).
Regarding claims 4, 16 and 76, HU et al. also teach wherein the conditional handover configuration further comprises an indication of one or more measurements to perform (see par. 0106: The channel quality measurement value (such as RSRP, RSRQ, RS-SINR, and so on) of the PCell is adjusted (reduced), based on the indication message, to reach the first measurement value. The first measurement value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device).
Regarding claims 5, 17 and 77, HU et al. also teach performing at least one of the one or more measurements; and select the target cell based, at least partially, on a result of the at least one performed measurement (see pars. 0116-0117: [0116] Method 3: The terminal device determines, based on indication message, that the condition “the channel quality of the PCell being below the threshold value a5-Threshold1” is always met. That is, the determination of whether the condition is met is not determined based on the measurement value or the threshold value. [0117] 3. The CHO candidate-cell list includes a third CHO candidate cell. The CHO execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell includes a CHO event A4. The operation of the terminal device adjusting, based on the indication message, the CHO execution condition corresponding to the candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, may include the following. The terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell).
Regarding claims 6, 18 and 78, HU et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: select the target cell based, at least partially, on one of: predetermined information, located at the apparatus, that is associated with the target cell, or the information for target cell selection, comprising at least one of: a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the serving cell or the target cell, a reference signal received power value associated with the serving cell or the target cell, a downlink beam of the serving cell or the target cell, or selection criteria (see par. 0095: In an operation 302, in a case where the terminal device takes the first cell as a primary cell and the network device configures a conditional handover (CHO) for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication message, a CHO execution condition corresponding to a candidate cell in a CHO candidate-cell list).
Regarding claims 7 and 79, HU et al. also teach wherein the apparatus is in a radio resource control connected state (see par. 0124: For the terminal device which has established the RRC connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO execution condition. That is, the UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell may handover to another cell more quickly).
Regarding claims 8 and 80, HU et al. also teach wherein the indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell comprises an indication of at least one of: cell shutdown, network transmit power reduction, or multiple-in multiple-out transmit antenna element muting (see par. 0005: The present disclosure provides a method of shutting down a cell, a terminal device, a network device, and a storage medium. According to the present disclosure, a signaling overhead for shutting down a first cell is reduced, allowing the network device to rapidly saving energy).
Regarding claims 9, 68 and 81, HU et al. also teach wherein the indication of the one or more candidate target cells is based, at least partially, on at least one of: one or more network shutdown policies of the serving cell, one or more frequency layers of the serving cell that are shut down, an order of shutdown of the one or more frequency layers of the serving cell that are shut down, or a frequency layer of a same power saving group as at least one of the one or more frequency layers of the serving cell that are shut down (see par. 0124: Based on the energy-saving strategy, the network device, in response to deciding to shut down the first cell, sends the indication message to the terminal device to indicate the terminal device that the network device will shut down the first cell. For the terminal device which has established the RRC connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO execution condition. That is, the UE that has established the RRC connection in the first cell may handover to another cell more quickly).
Regarding claims 11, 69 and 82, HU et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of when the conditional handover configuration is to be applied, wherein the indication comprises at least one of: the indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell, a network offload indication, an indication of an activation of the conditional handover configuration, or an indication of a time for enforcement of the conditional handover configuration, comprising at least one of: a system frame number, a hyper frame number, or a number of time units (see pars. 0091-0095: the UE receives a system information (such as MIB/SIB 1/other SIB) sent by the base station. The system information includes the indication message, which indicates that the base station is going to shut down the first cell. Whether to shut down a certain cell is determined based on an energy-saving strategy of the network device and will not be limited herein. [0092] Information related to the base station shutting down the first cell may include the following: [0093] (1) the frequency point corresponding to the first cell and the PCI of the first cell; and [0094] (2) time information for the base station to shut down the first cell. The time information may be: the UTC time and/or the SFC received by the terminal device. [0095] In an operation 302, in a case where the terminal device takes the first cell as a primary cell and the network device configures a conditional handover (CHO) for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts, based on the indication message, a CHO execution condition corresponding to a candidate cell in a CHO candidate-cell list).
Regarding claims 12, 70 and 83, HU et al. also teach wherein the network offload indication or the indication of an activation of the conditional configuration comprises one of: downlink control information, or a medium access control control element (see par. 002: the terminal may transmit and receive data on the SCell. An initial state of a configured SCell is the inactive state. The SCell may be activated or de-activated in the following two manners: [0043] (1) activating/de-activating the SCell indicated based on a SCell activation/de-activation medium access control element (MAC CE)).
Regarding claims 62 and 72, HU et al. also teach wherein the information for target cell selection comprises one or more execution conditions, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: evaluate the one or more execution conditions and select the target cell from the one or more candidate target cells based on evaluating the one or more execution conditions (see pars. 0100-0103: the operation of the terminal device adjusting the CHO execution condition corresponding to the first CHO candidate cell based on the indication message, may include at least one of the following. [0101] (1) The terminal device reduces, based on the indication message, a3-Offset corresponding to the CHO event A3 to reach a first threshold value. The first threshold value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0102] (2) The terminal device reduces, based on the indication message, a channel quality measurement value of the primary cell to reach a first measurement value. The first measurement value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0103] In some embodiments, the channel quality measurement value may include at least one of: a measurement value of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a measurement value of reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a measurement value of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), and a measurement value of a signal-to interference plus noise ratio (SINR). The SINR may include a reference signal-signal-to interference plus noise ratio (RS-SINR)).
Regarding claims 63 and 73, HU et al. also teach wherein the information for target cell selection comprises one or more radio conditions to be evaluated (see pars. 0113-0117: [0113] Exemplarily, when the CHO execution condition of the second CHO candidate cell includes the CHO event A5 (i.e. CondEvent A5), following method may be performed. [0114] Method 1: The threshold value a5-Threshold1 of CondEvent A5 is increased, based on the indication message, to reach the second threshold value. In some embodiments, the threshold value a5-Threshold2 of CondEvent A5 is adjusted (reduced) to reach the third threshold value. Each of the second threshold value and the third threshold value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0115] Method 2: The channel quality measurement value (such as RSRP, RSRQ, RS-SINR, and so on) of the PCell is adjusted (reduced), based on indication message, to reach the second measurement value. The second measurement value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0116] Method 3: The terminal device determines, based on indication message, that the condition “the channel quality of the PCell being below the threshold value a5-Threshold1” is always met. That is, the determination of whether the condition is met is not determined based on the measurement value or the threshold value. [0117] 3. The CHO candidate-cell list includes a third CHO candidate cell. The CHO execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell includes a CHO event A4. The operation of the terminal device adjusting, based on the indication message, the CHO execution condition corresponding to the candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, may include the following. The terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell)).
Regarding claim 64, HU et al. also teach wherein the information for target cell selection comprises one or more execution conditions, wherein the method further comprising: evaluating the one or more execution conditions and selecting the target cell from the one or more candidate target cells based on evaluating the one or more execution conditions (see pars. 0113-0117: [0113] Exemplarily, when the CHO execution condition of the second CHO candidate cell includes the CHO event A5 (i.e. CondEvent A5), following method may be performed. [0114] Method 1: The threshold value a5-Threshold1 of CondEvent A5 is increased, based on the indication message, to reach the second threshold value. In some embodiments, the threshold value a5-Threshold2 of CondEvent A5 is adjusted (reduced) to reach the third threshold value. Each of the second threshold value and the third threshold value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0115] Method 2: The channel quality measurement value (such as RSRP, RSRQ, RS-SINR, and so on) of the PCell is adjusted (reduced), based on indication message, to reach the second measurement value. The second measurement value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0116] Method 3: The terminal device determines, based on indication message, that the condition “the channel quality of the PCell being below the threshold value a5-Threshold1” is always met. That is, the determination of whether the condition is met is not determined based on the measurement value or the threshold value. [0117] 3. The CHO candidate-cell list includes a third CHO candidate cell. The CHO execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell includes a CHO event A4. The operation of the terminal device adjusting, based on the indication message, the CHO execution condition corresponding to the candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, may include the following. The terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell)).
Regarding claim 65, HU et al. also teach wherein the information for target cell selection comprises one or more radio conditions to be evaluated (see pars. 0113-0117: [0113] Exemplarily, when the CHO execution condition of the second CHO candidate cell includes the CHO event A5 (i.e. CondEvent A5), following method may be performed. [0114] Method 1: The threshold value a5-Threshold1 of CondEvent A5 is increased, based on the indication message, to reach the second threshold value. In some embodiments, the threshold value a5-Threshold2 of CondEvent A5 is adjusted (reduced) to reach the third threshold value. Each of the second threshold value and the third threshold value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0115] Method 2: The channel quality measurement value (such as RSRP, RSRQ, RS-SINR, and so on) of the PCell is adjusted (reduced), based on indication message, to reach the second measurement value. The second measurement value is a preset value or a value configured by the network device. [0116] Method 3: The terminal device determines, based on indication message, that the condition “the channel quality of the PCell being below the threshold value a5-Threshold1” is always met. That is, the determination of whether the condition is met is not determined based on the measurement value or the threshold value. [0117] 3. The CHO candidate-cell list includes a third CHO candidate cell. The CHO execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell includes a CHO event A4. The operation of the terminal device adjusting, based on the indication message, the CHO execution condition corresponding to the candidate cell in the CHO candidate-cell list, may include the following. The terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition corresponding to the third CHO candidate cell)).
Regarding claim 66, HU et al. also teach wherein the user equipment is in a radio resource control connected state (see par. 0124: For the terminal device which has established the RRC connection in the first cell (i.e., the UE that takes the first cell as the PCell), when the network device configures the CHO for the terminal device, the terminal device adjusts the CHO execution condition, and performs evaluation and triggers the CHO based on the adjusted CHO execution condition).
Regarding claim 67, HU et al. also teach wherein the indication of activation of the energy saving mode at the serving cell comprises an indication of at least one of: cell shutdown, network transmit power reduction, or multiple-in multiple-out transmit antenna element muting (see par. 0005: The present disclosure provides a method of shutting down a cell, a terminal device, a network device, and a storage medium. According to the present disclosure, a signaling overhead for shutting down a first cell is reduced, allowing the network device to rapidly saving energy).
Conclusion
/DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643