DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following issues:
FIGs. 1A-C, 2, & 3A-B fail to comply with PCT Rule 11.13, including:
11.13(a): Drawings shall be executed in durable, black, sufficiently dense and dark, uniformly thick and well-defined, lines and strokes without colorings.
11.13(b): Cross-sections shall be indicated by oblique hatching which should not impede the clear reading of the reference signs and leading lines.
FIGs 1A, 1B & 2 are grayscale graphics rather than black-and-white drawings executed by thick, well-defined lines and strokes, and fail to include required hatching of cross-sections.
FIGs 1C, 3A & 3B are grayscale photographs. As set forth in MPEP § 1825, the PCT makes no provision for photographs. While they may be allowed where it is impossible to present in a drawing what is to be shown (for instance, crystalline structures), that is not the case here, as the subject matter could be readily shown by conventional drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. 9, line 1: “extend along” should read “extends along”.
Para. 11, line 3: “outer sheet” should read “outer sheath”.
Para. 76 explains that the longitudinal guides are shown in gray scale. See related drawing objections. Upon corrections to the drawings, the specification should be reviewed and amended where necessary for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term KEVLAR, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 8 & 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (lines 3-4) & claim 11 (lines 2-3): “…outer sheath supporting a plurality of first longitudinal guides being in parallel relationship with the outer sheath…” is grammatically improper. Compare to “… [an] outer sheath supporting a plurality of first longitudinal guides arranged parallel to the outer sheath…” (or similar).
Claim 7 recites “…and wherein the central-positioned longitudinal guide being surrounded by the other first longitudinal guides…” should read “…and wherein the central-positioned longitudinal guide is surrounded by the other first longitudinal guides…” or similar.
Claim 8: “fiberglass or aramid fiber or Kevlar yarn, nylon yarn” should read “fiberglass or aramid fiber or Kevlar yarn or nylon yarn”. However, as Kevlar is a trade name for aramid, this might instead read “fiberglass or aramid fiber or aramid yarn or nylon yarn” (or similar).
Claim 11, line 2: “…comprising outer sheath…” should read “…comprising an outer sheath…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “tensile strength unit” in claims 1 & 7.
Note that the term “tensile strength unit” is also recited in claims 2, 3, 9 & 11, however, these claims (or claims upon which they depend) further recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function (i.e., providing tensile strength).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the at least one tensile strength unit comprises…”, however, claim 1 recites “at least one tensile strength unit” as merely one option among a list of alternatives. It is unclear if claim 2 is implicitly requiring the assembly to include the at least one tensile strength unit, or if claim 2 is merely further defining the at least one tensile strength unit when present, causing the claim to take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. By way of example, an assembly as in claim 1 having a metal rod (but not a tensile strength unit) may still read on claim 2 as presented.
Claims 2, 9 & 11 recite “loose aramid fibers” and “loose fiberglass”. It is unclear what is required to read on the term “loose” in these instances. While it is understood that the individual fibers may be unbound from one another (i.e., a fiber tow), the fibers would still be restrained at least to some degree between the inner sheath and the second longitudinal guide.
Claim 2 further recites “…or the at least one metal rod or the loose fiberglass or the fiberglass”, which renders the claim indefinite. As best understood, the phrase “or the loose fiberglass or the fiberglass” was likely intended to read “or the loose aramid fibers or the loose fiberglass”. However, as presented, the phrase appears to omit the “loose aramid fibers” and, by reciting “the fiberglass” might be seen to suggest that the inner sheath also supports the “fiberglass extending inside the outer sheath” from claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the outer sheath and/or the inner sheath originating from an extrusion process an interference fitting between the outer sheath and the plurality of first longitudinal guides and the at least one tensile strength unit and/or the inner sheath and the second longitudinal guide and the at least one longitudinal fiber rod” which raises several issues.
First, the claim appears to be missing a word or phrase between “extrusion process” and “an interference fitting”.
It is also unclear, as a whole, what this limitation is intended to establish.
As best understood, this was likely intended to state that the “outer sheath and/or the inner sheath” are formed by an extrusion process which results in an interference fit between the outer sheath and the plurality of first longitudinal guides and the at least one tensile strength unit and/or the inner sheath and the second longitudinal guide and the at least one longitudinal fiber rod. However, this still presents issues as it appears to provide for scenarios where the outer sheath is formed by an extrusion process which results in the interference fit between the inner sheath and the second longitudinal guide or where the inner sheath is formed by an extrusion process which results in the interference fit between the outer sheath and the plurality of first longitudinal guides and the at least one tensile strength unit, which do not make sense.
Additionally, as with claim 2, it is unclear if claim 3 is implicitly requiring the assembly to include at least one tensile strength unit, or if this limitation is only required when at least one tensile strength unit is present, causing the claim to take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the plurality of first longitudinal guides comprises at least 2-5, 6-9, 11-16, or 17-25 microducts” which renders the claim indefinite.
The phrase “at least” suggests that the follow value is establishing a minimum value (e.g. “at least 2”), but the following ranges appear to have upper and lower bounds (e.g. “17-25”), causing the scope of the claim to take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.
It is also unclear why the adjacent ranges “2-5” & “6-9”, and “11-16” & “17-25” are separated. As best understood, this limitation should establish either that the plurality of first longitudinal guides comprises at least 2 microducts, or that the plurality of first longitudinal guides comprises 2-9 or 11-25 microducts.
Regarding claim 6, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation of the outer sheath having a thickness between 0.5 – 1.3 mm , and the claim also recites a second range of 0.7 – 1.1 mm, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 7 recites that the central-positioned longitudinal guide is “surrounded by the other first longitudinal guides and the at least one tensile strength unit”, however, claim 1 recites “at least one tensile strength unit” as merely one option among a list of alternatives. It is unclear if claim 7 is implicitly requiring the assembly to include at least one tensile strength unit, or if this limitation is only required when at least one tensile strength unit is present, causing the claim to take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.
Claim 8 recites “wherein at least one of the at least one longitudinal fiber rod comprises a fiber reinforced polymer such as fiberglass or aramid fiber or Kevlar yarn [or] nylon yarn” which raises several issues.
First, claim 1 recites “at least one longitudinal fiber rod” as merely one option among a list of alternatives. It is unclear if claim 8 is implicitly requiring the assembly to include at least one longitudinal fiber rod, or if this limitation is only required when at least one longitudinal fiber rod is present, causing the claim to take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.
It is also unclear how “at least one of the at least one longitudinal fiber rod” is to be interpreted. As best understood, this likely was intended to mean that, in the event that the assembly comprises a plurality of longitudinal fiber rods, at least one comprises said fiber reinforced polymer, but this is ambiguous or vague as currently presented.
The phrase "such as" also renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations (examples) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Finally, it is noted that the phrase “a fiber reinforced polymer such as fiberglass or aramid fiber, Kevlar yarn [or] nylon yarn” appears to suggest that that the cited examples are examples of a “fiber reinforced polymer”, however, they are actually examples of reinforcement fibers, not fiber reinforced polymers.
Claim 10 recites “A method comprising: utilizing the multiduct or flatliner assembly according to claim 1 to pull through channels below infrastructure”, which is ambiguous or vague.
As best understood, the multiduct or flatliner assembly may be utilized by being pulled through channels below infrastructure but the claim as currently written appears to suggests that the claimed assembly is the device performing the pulling (of some unspecified element).
Claim 11 recites “utilizing a tensile strength unit for increasing tensile of a multiduct or flatliner assembly”, which appears to be missing a word or phrase after “tensile”, causing the claim to take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. While this might simply have been intended to read “tensile strength”, it may instead have recited some other tensile property (e.g., tensile modulus).
Claims recited in the section heading above but not specifically discussed are rejected due to dependency upon at least one rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 & 8 (as understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2006/0153510 A1; hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (fig. 3; see also alt. embodiments in figs. 1 & 2) a multiduct or flatliner assembly (A; see also 10 in figs. 1 & 2) for guiding and protecting optical fiber cables or optical waveguides, the multiduct or flatliner assembly comprising:
an outer sheath (120; incl. 120a-c) supporting a plurality of first longitudinal guides (90) which are parallel to the outer sheath (see lower part of fig. 3; para. 33: “at least one loose tube optical fiber unit 90 elongated to the longitudinal direction…without intended helical or SZ twist around the tensile strength member 80”) and
at least one tensile strength unit extending inside the outer sheath and/or at least one longitudinal fiber rod extending inside the outer sheath, and/or at least one metal rod extending inside the outer sheath, and/or aramid fibers extending inside the outer sheath, and/or fiberglass extending inside the outer sheath (i.e., tensile strength member 80; which may be a “Kevlar aramid yarn” [i.e., aramid fibers], a “fiberglass epoxy rod” or “an FRP (fiberglass reinforced plastic)” [i.e., a longitudinal fiber rod], or “a steel or a steel wire” [i.e., at least one metal rod][para. 38]), and
the plurality of first longitudinal guides (90) configured for receiving optical fiber cable (i.e., the groups of optical fibers 140).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the additional limitation wherein the plurality of first longitudinal guides (90) comprises at least 2-5, 6-9, 11-16 or 17-25 microducts (i.e. 2 such microducts 90 are shown).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the additional limitation wherein the at least one longitudinal fiber rod (i.e., tensile strength member 90) comprises fiber reinforced polymer such as fiberglass or aramid fiber or Kevlar yarn or nylon yarn.
See para. 38: the tensile strength member 80 may use “Kevlar aramid yarn, a fiberglass epoxy rod, an FRP (fiberglass reinforced plastic) …”.
See also para. 50, where the tensile strength member may be a fiberglass reinforced polypropylene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5 & 7 (as understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chastain et al. (US 2003/0035635 A1; hereafter Chastain) in view of Rhoney et al. (US 2004/0190842 A1; hereafter Rhoney).
Regarding claim 1, Chastain discloses (various embodiments in figs. 2-6, but see also prior art embodiment in fig. 1) a multiduct or flatliner assembly (e.g., 30 in figs. 4A-C; 40 in figs. 5 & 6) for guiding and protecting optical fiber cables or optical waveguides, the multiduct or flatliner assembly comprising:
an outer sheath (32 / 44) supporting a plurality of first longitudinal guides (20) which are parallel to the outer sheath (see para. 28: “the resulting tube cables will be either of a planetary cabled, SZ cabled and/or parallel construction”),
the plurality of first longitudinal guides (20) configured for receiving optical fiber cable (see, e.g., para. 5: “an air blown fiber (ABF) tube within which one or more air blown optical fiber units can be installed”; see also abstract, para. 18; published claims 1 & 15, etc.).
Chastain also discloses (figs. 5 & 6; paras. 14, 15, 22) that the assembly may optionally comprise a tensile strength member (42) in the form of a rod extending longitudinally inside the outer sheath, and suggests that they may be formed of a dielectric or metallic materials (claim 14), however, Chastain does not explicitly disclose the tensile strength member to be at least one tensile strength unit and/or at least one longitudinal fiber rod, and/or at least one metal rod, and/or aramid fibers, and/or fiberglass.
Additionally, as can be seen by comparing figures 4C & 4D to figures 5 & 6, respectively, Chastain reasonably discloses that central element of the assembly may be either a central strength member (as optionally shown in figs. 5 & 6) or may simply be another one of the first longitudinal guides.
Rhoney teaches (fig. 5) a multiduct assembly (50) for guiding and protecting optical fiber cables or optical waveguides comprising an outer sheath (56; shown but not labelled in fig. 5; see para. 26) supporting a plurality of longitudinal guides (labelled at 20, 30, 40, respectively) configured for receiving optical fiber cable.
Rhoney teaches that a variety of different longitudinal guide types may be provided together within the external sheath. The example of fig. 5 shows three first longitudinal guides (at 20; i.e., tube 27 of assembly 20 shown in fig. 2; for receiving fiber optic subunit 22) and one second longitudinal guide (at 30; i.e., tube 27 thereof used as an inner layer of a multilayer tube in fig. 3, where jacket 36 is a sheath, and a tensile strength component 32 is provided therebetween; see para. 23).
Rhoney suggests that the tensile strength component 32 between the second longitudinal guide (i.e., the inner tube) and the sheath (jacket 36) may be, e.g., “impregnated fiberglass yarn strands; however, any other suitable tensile yarns or materials can be used such as aramid yarns” (para. 23).
As best understood, the term “tensile strength unit” is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) to mean a unit comprising at least one longitudinal guide, at least one tensile strength element (e.g., a longitudinal fiber rod), and a sheath fixing the tensile strength element to the longitudinal guide.
In view of the above, the combination of the second longitudinal guide (inner tube 27), the tensile strength component (32), and the sheath (36), when provided within the multiduct assembly as shown at 30 in fig. 5, is seen to read on “at least one tensile strength unit extending inside the outer sheath”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Chastain to further include at least one tensile strength unit extending inside the outer sheath, in view of the teachings of Rhoney, as the simple substitution of one known element (one of the first longitudinal guides of Chastain) for another (a tensile strength unit having a second longitudinal guide, a tensile strength component external to the second longitudinal guide, and sheath supporting the tensile strength component and the second longitudinal guide; as in Rhoney) to obtain predictable results (e.g., providing additional tensile strength to the second longitudinal guide, protecting the optical fiber cables within from higher tensile forces, and which may enable the second longitudinal guide to function as a “breakout” cable, as suggested by Rhoney), especially considering that Rhoney reasonably teaches that both first longitudinal guides (i.e., tubes without tensile strength members) and tensile strength units (i.e., second longitudinal guides having tensile strength members and a sheath provided therein) may be provided together in a multiduct assembly within the same outer sheath.
To promote compact prosecution, it is also noted that Rhoney teaches that the multiduct assembly may further comprise a central tensile strength member (52), analogous to the optional tensile strength member (42) of Chastain, and further suggests that this may be made from “glass-reinforced plastic or steel wire for providing tensile strength” (para. 26).
As such, it would have been otherwise obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the optional rod-type tensile strength member of Chastain (which, when present, extends longitudinally inside the outer sheath) from glass-reinforced plastic, in view of the teachings of Rhoney, thereby forming a longitudinal fiber rod extending inside the outer sheath, especially considering that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 4, the assembly of Chastain, as modified above, reads on the additional limitation wherein the plurality of first longitudinal guides comprises at least 2-5, 6-9, 11-16 or 17-25 microducts.
Chastain discloses that the original assembly may have any number of first longitudinal guides / microducts “in accordance with customer demands” (para. 17), but specifically shows examples of two (fig. 4A), three (fig. 4B), six (fig. 5), seven (fig. 4C), eighteen (fig. 6), and nineteen (fig. 4D). Note that, if the examples in figs. 5 & 6 were provided without the optional strength member, then then they would have the same numbers as figs. 4C & 4D, respectively.
When modified as set forth for claim 1 above such that one of the first longitudinal guides is replaced with a tensile strength unit, each assembly would simply have one fewer first longitudinal guide / microduct (e.g. the 3-tube example of fig. 4B would have two first longitudinal guides / microducts, the 7-tube example in fig. 4C would have six first longitudinal guides / microducts, etc.), whereby all of the disclosed configurations except for the 2-tube embodiment of fig. 4A would meet the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Chastain discloses the additional limitation wherein the microducts comprise an outer diameter between 7-20 mm.
In particular, Chastain discloses that, as an example, the microducts / first longitudinal guides may have an outer diameter of 8 mm (e.g. “8.00±0.13 millimeters”), but explains that they also “may be manufactured in either smaller or larger diameters as required to accommodate optical fiber counts and tube cable designs as a matter of design choice” (para. 18; see also para. 17, lines 6-10; para. 23, lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 7, Chastain discloses the additional limitations wherein the plurality of first longitudinal guides comprises a central-positioned longitudinal guide surrounded by the other first longitudinal guides (i.e., see central-positioned longitudinal guide in the 7-tube example of fig. 4C and the 19-tube example in fig. 4D; i.e., the central-positioned longitudinal guides being those replaced by the optional central strength member 42 in figs. 5 & 6).
With respect to the limitation wherein the central-positioned longitudinal guide is also surrounded by the at least one tensile strength unit, as set forth in the grounds of rejection for claim 1, the modification to include the at least one tensile strength unit involves replacing one of the first longitudinal guides with said tensile strength members. In the arrangement shown in fig. 5 of Rhoney, the tensile strength unit is not centrally located and, instead, surrounds a central strength member (52). As mentioned, Rhoney also teaches that the tensile strength unit may be used as a breakout cable.
As set forth in MPEP § 2141.03(I), "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when modifying the assembly of Chastain in view of Rhoney to include the at least one tensile strength unit (as set forth for claim 1 above), to provide the at least one tensile strength unit in a position originally corresponding to one of the non-centrally positioned first longitudinal guides, whereby the central-positioned longitudinal guide is surrounded by the other first longitudinal guides and the at least one tensile strength unit, in view of the teachings of Rhoney, e.g., to enable the tensile strength unit to be more easily accessed from the outside for use as a breakout cable (as suggested by Rhoney).
With respect to the limitation wherein the central-positioned longitudinal guide has an outer diameter of at least 20 mm, it is first noted that the application as originally filed does not appear to attribute the claimed range as being critical for achieving some unexpected result. Rather, the specification appears to suggest this to be an optional modification (“may comprise a central positioned longitudinal guide with an outer diameter of at least 20 mm”) which merely results in a different packing arrangement when the other microducts are of a smaller diameter (pg. 7, lines 10-16), however this would be a predictable result of having a larger centrally-positioned guide, rather than an unexpected result.
Moreover, as claim 7 depends from claim 1, and as neither claim 1 nor 7 requires the other first longitudinal guides to have any particular outer diameter, claim 7 does not actually require the centrally positioned longitudinal guide to be larger than the other first longitudinal guides; the claim would also appear to encompass embodiments wherein all of the first longitudinal guides are the same size (i.e. at least 20 mm). As a result, the limitation wherein the outer diameter is at least 20 mm appears to merely be design preference rather than a value critical to achieving some unexpected result.
As previously mentioned for claim 5, Chastain discloses that first longitudinal guides (including the centrally-positioned first longitudinal guide) may have an outer diameter of 8 mm (e.g. “8.00±0.13 millimeters”), but explains that they also “may be manufactured in either smaller or larger diameters as required to accommodate optical fiber counts and tube cable designs as a matter of design choice” (para. 18; see also para. 17, lines 6-10; para. 23, lines 5-13).
Furthermore, as set forth in MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Chastain such that the central-positioned longitudinal guide has any reasonable outer diameter as may be required to accommodate a desired optical fiber count for a particular application (e.g., based on customer demands), including an outer diameter of at least 20 mm, as Chastain explicitly teaches that the first longitudinal guides “may be manufactured in either smaller or larger diameters as required to accommodate optical fiber counts and cable tube designs as a matter of design choice”, and further obvious when considering that it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device [Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc.].
Claims 2, 3, 9 & 11 (as understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chastain in view of Rhoney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Panuska et al. (US 5,109,457; hereafter Panuska).
Regarding claim 2, the assembly of Chastain, as modified in view of Rhoney as set forth for claim 1 to include at least one tensile strength unit, reads on or otherwise renders obvious the additional limitations wherein the at least one tensile strength unit (corresponding to 30 of Rhoney) comprises a second longitudinal guide (corresponding to the inner tube 27 of Rhoney, as shown in figs. 2 & 3) configured for receiving optical fiber cable (e.g., optical fiber subunit 22 of Rhoney),
a tensile strength component (32) external to the second longitudinal guide, and
an inner sheath (jacket 36) supporting the second longitudinal guide and the tensile strength component (32).
As previously explained for claim 1, Rhoney suggests that the tensile strength component 32 between the second longitudinal guide (i.e., the inner tube) and the inner sheath (jacket 36) may be, e.g., “impregnated fiberglass yarn strands; however, any other suitable tensile yarns or materials can be used such as aramid yarns” (para. 23).
Rhoney does not explicitly disclose the tensile strength component external to the second longitudinal guide and supported by the inner sheath to be at least one longitudinal fiber rod, at least one metal rod, loose aramid fibers, or loose fiberglass.
Panuska teaches (various embodiments in figs. 1-10) a tensile strength unit comprising a longitudinal guide (34) for receiving optical fiber cable (e.g., 21 in figs 1 & 2; or 37 in figs. 3-4), a plurality of longitudinal tensile strength components (e.g., 62) external to the longitudinal guide, and a sheath (46) supporting the longitudinal guide and the longitudinal tensile strength components.
Panuska further teaches that the longitudinal tensile strength components may include longitudinal fiber rods (col. 6, lines 55-59: “each of relatively stiff members 62 comprises a relatively inflexible rod-like member which is made of glass fibers in the form of a yarn or roving and impregnated with a resinous material”).
Panuska explains that providing tensile strength members as longitudinal rods (rather than a helically wound / braided layer) promotes easier access to the internal cables through the sheath, and simplifies manufacturing by avoiding the need to rotate heavy supplies (see col. 2, lines 34-67)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Chastain (as otherwise modified above) such that the tensile strength component external to the second longitudinal guide and supported by the inner sheath is provided as at least one longitudinal fiber rod (whereby the at least one tensile strength unit includes at least one longitudinal fiber rod external to the second longitudinal guide, and whereby the inner sheath supports both the second longitudinal guide and the at least one longitudinal fiber rod), in view of the teachings of Panuska, as the simple substitution of one known tensile strength element for a fiber optic tube/duct (i.e., the original impregnated fiberglass or aramid yarns of Rhoney) for another (at least one longitudinal fiber rod, as suggested by Panuska) to obtain predictable results (e.g., providing easier access to the internal cables through the sheath, as may be required for making connections / splices, and simplifying manufacture by removing the need to rotate certain components during assembly, etc., each as suggested by Panuska), especially considering that Rhoney teaches that “any other suitable tensile yarns or materials can be used” for the tensile strength component.
Regarding claim 3, Chastain further discloses that the outer sheath (32) may be formed by an extrusion process (para. 21, lines 5-7), however Chastain does not explicitly disclose the extrusion process as generating an interference fit.
Panuska, however, teaches that the tensile strength unit may be formed by disposing the longitudinal fiber rods against the second longitudinal guide so as to make intimate contact therewith, whereupon the inner sheath (46) is “pressure extruded” over the longitudinal fiber rods and, when the material of the inner sheath cools, it forms a “tight fight” which “substantially mitigates against relative circumferential movement of the strength member” with respect to the sheath, and provides sufficient strength to couple the sheath and tensile strength members over the length of the unit, while still allowing longitudinal movement under local bending (col. 7, lines 46-68; col. 8, lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the inner sheath by an extrusion process wherein an interference fit is present between the inner sheath and the second longitudinal guide and the at least one longitudinal fiber rod, in view of the teachings of Panuska, to provide a tight fit between the recited components which mitigates against relative circumferential movement of the longitudinal fiber rod with respect to the inner sheath and couples the inner sheath and longitudinal fiber rod to the second longitudinal guide over the length of the tensile strength unit, but still permits longitudinal movement under local bending (as suggested by Panuska).
Regarding claim 9, the assembly of Chastain, as modified in view of Rhoney and Panuska (as set forth for claims 1-3 above) reads on or otherwise renders obvious a method of producing a multiduct or flatliner assembly with a tensile strength unit, the method comprising:
providing a second longitudinal guide (corresponding to inner tube 27 of Rhoney / inner tube 34 of Panuska) configured for receiving optical fiber cable (subunit 22 of Rhoney / 37 of Panuska), and at least one longitudinal fiber rod, or at least one metal rod or loose aramid fibers, or loose fiberglass (i.e., at least one longitudinal fiber rod, corresponding to 62 of Panuska / an alternative to impregnated yarn strength members 32 of Rhoney; see grounds of rejection for claim 2 above); and
orienting the at least one longitudinal fiber rod or the at least one metal rod or the loose aramid fibers, or the loose fiberglass external to and in parallel with the second longitudinal guide (see figs. 1 & 3 of Panuska; see also col. 2, lines 34-67 & col. 6, lines 44-51: as explained in rejection for claim 2, providing the longitudinal fiber rods to extend parallel with the second longitudinal guide enables easier access to the internal cables through the sheath, and simplifies manufacturing by avoiding the need to rotate heavy supplies);
extruding an inner sheath (corresponding to 36 of Rhoney / 46 of Panuska) around the second longitudinal guide and the at least one longitudinal fiber rod or the at least one metal rod or the loose aramid fibers, or the loose fiberglass; thereby forming a tensile strength unit (i.e., by “pressure extrusion”, as taught by Panuska; see grounds of rejection for claim 3 above, not repeated for brevity);
providing a plurality of first longitudinal guides (i.e., guides 20 of Chastain);
orienting the tensile strength unit and the plurality of first longitudinal guides in parallel (as explained for claim 1, Chastain discloses that the first longitudinal guides may be arranged in parallel; see para. 28: “the resulting tube cables will be either of a planetary cabled, SZ cabled and/or parallel construction”; when the assembly of Chastain is modified in view of Rhoney by substituting one of the first longitudinal guides for a tensile strength unit, as set forth for claim 1, the resulting assembly would read on the limitation wherein the tensile strength unit and plurality of first longitudinal guides are oriented in parallel); and
extruding an outer sheath (i.e., 32 of Chastain) around the tensile strength unit and the plurality of first longitudinal guides (see Chastain para. 21, lines 5-7: “The tubes within air blown fiber (ABF) tube cable 30 may be either tube 10 of FIG. 2 or tube 20 of FIG. 3 with jacket 32 extruded thereover”).
Regarding claim 11, the assembly of Chastain, as modified in view of Rhoney and Panuska (as set forth for claims 1-3 above) reads on or otherwise renders obvious a method comprising:
utilizing a tensile strength unit (i.e., by replacing one of the first longitudinal guides of Chastain with a tensile strength unit as taught by Rhoney, to provide additional tensile strength to the second longitudinal guide, protecting the optical fiber cables within from higher tensile forces, and which may enable the second longitudinal guide to function as a “breakout” cable; see grounds of rejection for claim 1 above; not repeated for brevity) for increasing tensile strength of a multiduct or flatliner assembly (see below) comprising an outer sheath (32 of Chastain) supporting a plurality of first longitudinal guides (i.e. 20 of Chastain) parallel to said outer sheath (as explained for claim 1, Chastain discloses that the first longitudinal guides may be arranged in parallel; see para. 28: “the resulting tube cables will be either of a planetary cabled, SZ cabled and/or parallel construction”), wherein the tensile strength unit comprises:
a second longitudinal guide (corresponding to inner tube 27 of Rhoney / inner tube 34 of Panuska) configured for receiving optical fiber cable (subunit 22 of Rhoney / 37 of Panuska),
at least one longitudinal fiber rod or at least one metal rod or loose aramid fibers or loose fiberglass extending along and external to the second longitudinal guide (i.e., at least one longitudinal fiber rod, corresponding to 62 of Panuska / an alternative to impregnated yarn strength members 32 of Rhoney; see grounds of rejection for claim 2 above), and
an inner sheath (corresponding to 36 of Rhoney / 46 of Panuska) supporting the second longitudinal guide and the at least one longitudinal fiber rod or the at least one metal rod or the loose aramid fibers or the loose fiberglass (i.e., by “pressure extrusion”, as taught by Panuska; see grounds of rejection for claim 3 above, not repeated for brevity).
Regarding the limitation wherein the tensile strength unit is utilized “for increasing tensile strength of a multiduct or flatliner assembly”, it is noted that substituting one of the first longitudinal guides of an assembly as in Chastain for a tensile strength unit having a tensile strength element (e.g., at least one longitudinal fiber rod) would reasonably increase the overall tensile strength of the multiduct assembly as claimed, at least in the same manner as applicant’s disclosed embodiments. Whether the prior art provided the tensile strength unit for reinforcing the second longitudinal guide (e.g., to enable use as a breakout cable) or for reinforcing the overall tensile strength of the assembly, the resulting structure and methods would appear to be the same, differing only in the reasoning of the maker.
As set forth in MPEP § 2144(IV), the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006)
As set forth in MPEP § 2112(I), "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See also MPEP § 2112(II).
Claim 6 (as understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chastain in view of Rhoney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wells et al. (US 2020/0012059 A1; hereafter Wells).
Regarding claim 6, with respect to the limitation wherein the outer sheath comprises a thickness between 0.5 – 1.3mm or 0.7 - 1.1 mm, it is first noted that applicant’s specification does not appear to set forth any evidence of criticality of this range to achieving some unexpected result. The specification states that “In an aspect the outer sheath comprises a thickness between 0.5-1.3 mm or 0.7-1.1 mm”, “The thickness enables the outer sheath to withstand impacts and wear during the pulling of the multiduct or flatliner assembly”, however, this is merely the intended purpose of an outer sheath and there is no evidence that the particular claimed ranges are critical, especially since neither claim 6 nor claim 1 (upon which claim 6 depends) sets forth any other required dimensions for the assembly or materials for the outer sheath, etc.
Chastain discloses that a “typical thickness” for the outer sheath (32) “should be about 1.50 millimeters (mm)” (para. 21, lines 29-30), which is reasonably seen as close to the claimed ranges wherein the outer sheath comprises a thickness between 0.5 – 1.3mm or 0.7 - 1.1 mm.
As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05(I), a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the outer sheath of Chastain from “about 1.50” mm to between 0.5-1.3 mm or 0.7-1.1 mm since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists even where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim 10 (as understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chastain in view of Rhoney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allen et al. (US 2012/0248392 A1; hereafter Allen).
Regarding claim 10, Chastain discloses that the multiduct assembly (i.e., the multiduct or flatliner assembly according to claim 1, when modified in view of Rhoney) is utilized for housing optical fibers which transmit optical signals, and may be located in harsh environments, wherein the outer sheath provides “mechanical and environmental protection”.
Chastain does not explicitly disclose a method comprising utilizing the multiduct or flatliner assembly according to claim 1 to pull through channels below infrastructure.
Allen teaches (fig. 12) a method of utilizing a fiber optic cable assembly (20) to pull through channels (56; “subterranean conduit”) below infrastructure (e.g., “road 58”).
See para. 55: “FIG. 12 illustrates an exemplary environment 50 wherein it may be desired or necessary to extend a fiber optic cable 20 from a first terminal 52 to a second, remote terminal 54. The installer may wish to route the cable through a subterranean conduit 56 under a road 58, for example. The installer can grasp the cover 110 and pull the cable 20 from the first terminal 52 to the second terminal 54 thereby.”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the multiduct assembly of Chastain (as modified in view of Rhoney in the grounds of rejection for claim 1) to pull through channels below infrastructure (e.g., a conduit beneath a road), in view of the teachings of Allen, to provide a fiber optic connection (or, multiple fiber optic connections, as may be provided by the multiduct arrangement of Chastain) between terminals on opposing sides of the infrastructure (i.e., providing a fiber optic connection across a road in a buried / unobtrusive manner).
Claim 10 (as understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allen.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses that a method of utilizing / installing a multiduct assembly may include pulling the assembly (see para. 3: “…protecting an optical fiber 40 in the optical cable 10 from an external force when the cable is installed (e.g., side pressure or pulling)…”).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a method comprising utilizing the multiduct or flatliner assembly according to claim 1 to pull through channels below infrastructure.
Allen teaches (fig. 12) a method of utilizing a fiber optic cable assembly (20) to pull through channels (56; “subterranean conduit”) below infrastructure (e.g., “road 58”).
See para. 55: “FIG. 12 illustrates an exemplary environment 50 wherein it may be desired or necessary to extend a fiber optic cable 20 from a first terminal 52 to a second, remote terminal 54. The installer may wish to route the cable through a subterranean conduit 56 under a road 58, for example. The installer can grasp the cover 110 and pull the cable 20 from the first terminal 52 to the second terminal 54 thereby.”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the multiduct assembly of Kim to pull through channels below infrastructure (e.g., a conduit beneath a road), in view of the teachings of Allen, to provide a fiber optic connection (or, multiple fiber optic connections, as may be provided by the multiduct arrangement of Kim) between terminals on opposing sides of the infrastructure (i.e., providing a fiber optic connection across a road in a buried / unobtrusive manner).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the attached PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Richard K. Durden/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753