DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024 and 01/07/2026 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 53, 55-60, 65 and 67-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Qualcomm Incorporated (R1-1911110 “Physical Layer Procedures for Sidelink”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘QUALCOMM’).
Regarding claim 53, QUALCOMM teaches a first apparatus (
Page 1 Section 2.1 PSFCH Resource Management
Paragraph 1:
UEs sending ACK feedbacks) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor (
Page 1 Section 2.1 PSFCH Resource Management
Paragraph 1:
UEs sending ACK feedbacks), cause the first apparatus to:
receive a transmission (
Page 2 Proposal 4
Second sub-bullet:
….. different RX UEs for HARQ feedback of the same PSSCH transmission);
transmit a first feedback in response to the transmission (
Page 2 Proposal 4
Second sub-bullet:
For groupcast HARQ feedback Option 2, support CDM and FDM between PSFCH resources used by different RX UEs for HARQ feedback of the same PSSCH transmission);
wherein the first apparatus uses a plurality of resource blocks to form a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) transmission for the first feedback (
Page 1 Section 2.1
Paragraph 5:
A compromised implementation for Option 2 feedback multiplexing is FDM+CDM. Specifically, two HARQ feedback frequency resources are reserved for a data transmission, one for ACK and the other one for NACK; NACK (or ACK) feedbacks from multiple receivers are CDM multiplexed, e.g., different cyclic shifts can be applied to the NACK (or ACK) sequence. This further clarifies the following agreement concluded from in RAN1 email discussions.
See also Page 2 Proposal 4
Second sub-bullet cited above,
Page 2 Paragraph 3:
From PSFCH resource management perspective, to accommodate feedbacks from different UEs for different feedback options and cast types, a straightforward solution is to configure two HARQ resource sets with different frequency locations in a PSFCH slot. One of the resource sets is used for NACK transmission (NACK for both feedback options, as well as NACK for unicast transmission), the other resource set is used for ACK transmission (ACK for unicast and ACK for feedback Option 2). Take N=2, K=2, BW=100 RBs, Subchannel=10 RBs as an example.);
wherein the plurality of resource blocks comprises a first resource block, and at least one second resource block (
Page 2 Paragraph 3:
From PSFCH resource management perspective, to accommodate feedbacks from different UEs for different feedback options and cast types, a straightforward solution is to configure two HARQ resource sets with different frequency locations in a PSFCH slot. One of the resource sets is used for NACK transmission (NACK for both feedback options, as well as NACK for unicast transmission), the other resource set is used for ACK transmission (ACK for unicast and ACK for feedback Option 2).);
wherein a second resource block in the at least one second resource block is configured to be reusable for the first feedback, and for a second feedback of a second apparatus (
Page 1 Section 2.1 Paragraph 5:
A compromised implementation for Option 2 feedback multiplexing is FDM+CDM. Specifically, two HARQ feedback frequency resources are reserved for a data transmission, one for ACK and the other one for NACK; NACK (or ACK) feedbacks from multiple receivers are CDM multiplexed, e.g., different cyclic shifts can be applied to the NACK (or ACK) sequence. This further clarifies the following agreement concluded from in RAN1 email discussions.
See also Page 2 Proposal 4
Second sub-bullet cited above,
Page 2 Proposal 1b:
For feedbacks acknowledging the same PSSCH transmission in Option 2: ACK and NACK are FDM multiplexed; multiple ACK (or NACK) from different receivers are CDM multiplexed.
(Construed one or second of the two resource block of PSFCH is shared or reused by different receivers or first UE apparatus and second UE apparatus for ACK or NACK feedback transmission, the respective feedback from each UE apparatus are having different cyclic shift for CDM multiplexing on the shared PSFCH)).
Regarding claim 65, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 53 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 53.
Regarding claim 72, QUALCOMM teaches a third apparatus (
Page 1 Section 2.1 Paragraph 2:
transmitter UE to differentiate feedbacks from different receivers) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor (
Page 1 Section 2.1 Paragraph 2:
transmitter UE).
Further claim 72 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 53 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 53.
Regarding claim 55, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
wherein the second feedback is transmitted by the second apparatus using a plurality of resource blocks comprising a third resource block, and at least one fourth resource block, wherein the first resource block for the first feedback is in a first PSFCH subchannel, wherein the second resource block for the first feedback is in a second PSFCH subchannel (
Page 2 Paragraph 3:
From PSFCH resource management perspective, to accommodate feedbacks from different UEs for different feedback options and cast types, a straightforward solution is to configure two HARQ resource sets with different frequency locations in a PSFCH slot. One of the resource sets is used for NACK transmission (NACK for both feedback options, as well as NACK for unicast transmission), the other resource set is used for ACK transmission (ACK for unicast and ACK for feedback Option 2). Take N=2, K=2, BW=100 RBs, Subchannel=10 RBs as an example. There would be totally 20 data transmissions in a feedback period (at most). Based on the discussed approach, 40 PSFCH resources are needed in a PSFCH slot; it is obvious that a feedback slot can provide sufficient resources for PSFCH given the 1 or 2 RBs PSFCH transmission bandwidth.
Proposal 1c: Two feedback resource sets are configured in PSFCH slots, one for NACK transmission, the other one for ACK transmission.
Page 2 (2nd) Proposal 4
For implicit mechanism for PSFCH resource determination,
Support FDM between PSFCH resources used for HARQ feedback of PSSCH transmissions with different starting sub-channel in the same slot
….
….
FFS whether/when to support CDM between PSFCH resources used for HARQ feedback of PSSCH transmissions (e.g., when PSFCH resource is insufficient)
See also Page 3, Fig. 1. An example for HARQ feedback resource mapping
(Construed from above each subchannel having 10 RBs provides for a second PSFCH resource set for second feedback of NACK used at least a third resource block, and at least one fourth resource block with Sub Channel 1 and Sub Channel 2,
wherein the first resource block for the first feedback with ACK is in a first PSFCH Sub Channel 3 or 4, wherein the second resource block for the first feedback is in a second PSFCH Sub Channel 2));
wherein the third resource block for the second feedback is in a third PSFCH subchannel (
See Page 3 Fig. 1 Sub Channel 1);
wherein a fourth resource block in the at least one fourth resource block for the second feedback is in a fourth PSSCH subchannel (
See Page 3 Fig. 1 Sub Channel 2);
wherein the first PSFCH subchannel is different with the third PSFCH subchannel (
See Page 3 Fig. 1 Sub Channel 1 for second feedback for NACK and Sub Channel 3 for first feedback for ACK are different);
wherein the first resource block is orthogonal to the third resource block (
See Page 1 Introduction
In this paper we discuss remaining open issues related to NR V2X PHY procedures.
Page 3 Fig. 1 Sub Channel 1 and Sub Channel 3 are orthogonal being in the same slot, as known in the art of NR using OFDM subcarriers); and
wherein the second resource block overlaps with the fourth resource block (
See Page 2 Proposal 1b:
For feedbacks acknowledging the same PSSCH transmission in Option 2: ACK and NACK are FDM multiplexed; multiple ACK (or NACK) from different receivers are CDM multiplexed.
and
Page 2 (2nd) Proposal 4, 4th bullet:
FFS whether/when to support CDM between PSFCH resources used for HARQ feedback of PSSCH transmissions (e.g., when PSFCH resource is insufficient)
(Although FFS, the bullet teaches concept of using same PSFCH resource for more than one UE using CDM cyclic shift for each UE as in Proposal 1b, discloses shared or a second resource block overlaps with the fourth resource block when available PSFCH resource is insufficient for using only FDM for a group of receiving UEs, therefore Sub channel 2 may be shared with CDM between 2 or more receiving UEs)).
Regarding claim 67, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 55.
Regarding claim 56, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 55,
wherein the first resource block is associated to a first PSSCH of the transmission received by the first apparatus (
Page 2 Proposal 4
Second sub-bullet:
For groupcast HARQ feedback Option 2, support CDM and FDM between PSFCH resources used by different RX UEs for HARQ feedback of the same PSSCH transmission
Page 3, Fig. 1. An example for HARQ feedback resource mapping
FDMed sub channels for ACK);
wherein the second resource block is associated to the first PSSCH, and/or to the first resource block (
Page 2 (2nd) Proposal 4, and
Page 3, Fig. 1. An example for HARQ feedback resource mapping
FDMed sub channels for ACK );
wherein the third resource block is associated to a second PSSCH of a transmission received by the second apparatus (
See Page 2 Paragraph 3: feedbacks from different UEs for different feedback options and cast types, a straightforward solution is to configure two HARQ resource sets with different frequency locations in a PSFCH slot.
Page 2 (2nd) Proposal 4,
Support FDM between PSFCH resources used for HARQ feedback of PSSCH transmissions with different starting sub-channel in the same slot
Page 2, Proposal 1d: HARQ feedbacks acknowledging PSSCH transmissions having different locations (either frequency location or time location) are FDM multiplexed.
Page 3, Fig. 1. An example for HARQ feedback resource mapping
FDMed sub channels for NACK);
wherein the fourth resource block is associated to the second PSSCH, and/or to the third resource block (
See Page 2 (2nd) Proposal 4 1st Bullet.
Page 2, Proposal 1d: HARQ feedbacks acknowledging PSSCH transmissions having different locations (either frequency location or time location) are FDM multiplexed.
Page 3, Fig. 1. An example for HARQ feedback resource mapping
FDMed sub channels for NACK).
Regarding claim 68, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 56.
Regarding claim 57, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
wherein the first resource block is configured as a primary resource block reserved for the first feedback;
wherein the at least one second resource block is configured as at least one secondary resource block;
wherein the at least one secondary resource block is distributed in frequency domain;
wherein the at least one secondary resource block is preconfigured not to overlap with a primary resource block, or the first apparatus selects the at least one secondary resource block not overlapping with a primary resource block based on sensing result (
Page 3, Fig. 1. An example for HARQ feedback resource mapping
FDMed sub channels in same slot and/or different slots for ACK and/or NACK).
Regarding claim 69, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 57.
Regarding claim 58, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
wherein the same content is transmitted in the first resource block and the second resource block (
Page 3, Fig. 1. An example for HARQ feedback resource mapping
FDMed sub channels in same slot and/or different slots for ACK and/or NACK); and
wherein a same or different Zadoff-Chu sequence and/or cyclic shift are used for the first resource block and the second resource block (
Page 1 Section 2.1 Paragraph 5:
NACK (or ACK) feedbacks from multiple receivers are CDM multiplexed, e.g., different cyclic shifts can be applied to the NACK (or ACK) sequence…
Page 2 Proposal 4
Second sub-bullet:
For groupcast HARQ feedback Option 2, support CDM and FDM between PSFCH resources used by different RX UEs for HARQ feedback of the same PSSCH transmission
Page 2 (2nd) Proposal 4, 4th bullet:
FFS whether/when to support CDM between PSFCH resources used for HARQ feedback of PSSCH transmissions (e.g., when PSFCH resource is insufficient).
Regarding claim 70, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 58.
Regarding claim 59, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
wherein different contents are transmitted in the first resource block and the second resource block (
See Page 2 Proposal 1b:
For feedbacks acknowledging the same PSSCH transmission in Option 2: ACK and NACK are FDM multiplexed; multiple ACK (or NACK) from different receivers are CDM multiplexed.).
Regarding claim 71, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 59.
Regarding claim 60, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
wherein each second resource block in the at least one second resource block is orthogonal with each other in code domain by applying different cyclic shifts (
See Page 1 Section 2.1 Paragraph 5:
NACK (or ACK) feedbacks from multiple receivers are CDM multiplexed, e.g., different cyclic shifts can be applied to the NACK (or ACK) sequence…
See Page 2 Proposal 1b:
For feedbacks acknowledging the same PSSCH transmission in Option 2: ACK and NACK are FDM multiplexed; multiple ACK (or NACK) from different receivers are CDM multiplexed.).
Regarding claim 63, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
wherein a position for the second resource block in a PSFCH subchannel is preconfigured (
Page 2, Proposal 1c: Two feedback resource sets are configured in PSFCH slots, one for NACK transmission, the other one for ACK transmission.);
and/or wherein the second resource block is muted when a distance from the second resource block to the first resource block is less than a preconfigured threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54, 61 and 66 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm Incorporated (R1-1911110 “Physical Layer Procedures for Sidelink”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘QUALCOMM’) in view of Wu et al. (US 20200351032 A1, hereinafter ‘WU’).
Regarding claim 54, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
wherein the transmission is a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) transmission (
Page 2 Proposal 4
Second sub-bullet:
….. different RX UEs for HARQ feedback of the same PSSCH transmission);
wherein a resource location of the plurality of resource blocks is derived from a resource location of the PSSCH transmission and/or the PSCCH transmission (
Page 2 Paragraph 6:
in a feedback period, a PSFCH resource is uniquely determined by location of the PSSCH transmission; the location of a PSSCH transmission is determined by the ending slot location and starting subchannel location of the PSSCH.
Proposal 1d:
HARQ feedbacks acknowledging PSSCH transmissions having different locations (either frequency location or time location) are FDM multiplexed.).
QUALCOMM does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission is a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) transmission, together with a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) transmission.
In an analogous art, WU teaches wherein the transmission is a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) transmission, together with a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) transmission (
Fig. 5, [0109] FIG. 5 illustrates a schematic diagram of a second HARQ feedback mode according to an embodiment of the disclosure.
[0110] The groupcast transmission in the sidelink communication system means that the sidelink transmission is received and decoded by a group of RX UEs, that is, the number of RX UEs is at least more than one. In the groupcast transmission, the Sidelink Control Information (SCI) carried by the PSCCH includes indication information of a destination group ID, and all UEs belonging to the destination group ID should receive and decode the PSSCH corresponding to the SCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of sidelink HARQ feedback wireless communication system for a PSCCH with corresponding PSSCH reception of WU to physical layer procedures for sidelink of QUALCOMM for an advantage of a method providing improvement of the reliability and the transmission efficiency of sidelink data transmission according to determined feedback mode (WU: [0011, 0074]).
Regarding claim 66, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 54.
Regarding claim 61, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
QUALCOMM does not explicitly disclose wherein a power of the at least one second resource block and/or a number of the at least one second resource block are controlled, based on at least one of:
a number of PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions detected by the first apparatus, and/or a power required by a HARQ transmission, and/or a resource pool occupancy level.
WU teaches wherein a power of the at least one second resource block and/or a number of the at least one second resource block are controlled, based on at least one of:
a number of PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions detected by the first apparatus, and/or a power required by a HARQ transmission, and/or a resource pool occupancy level (
[0082] In an NR V2X system, there are a plurality of sub-channels in one slot, and an RX UE attempts to receive and decode PSCCHs/PSSCHs on each sub-channel in one slot, that is, the RX UE may simultaneously receive and decode a plurality of unicast PSCCHs/PSSCHs and/or groupcast PSCCHs/PSSCHs from different TX UEs in one slot. When these unicast and/or groupcast transmissions are configured to use the HARQ feedback function, the RX UE may face a problem of simultaneously transmitting the plurality of PSFCHs in one slot. Resources of the plurality of PSFCHs may be Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM) and/or Code Division Multiplexing (CDM), and simultaneously transmitting a plurality of PSFCHs has certain requirements on the hardware capabilities of the RX UE. In addition, simultaneously transmitting a plurality of PSFCHs also affects the transmission reliability of the PSFCH, since the maximum transmitting power of the RX UE is fixed, and when a plurality of PSFCHs are simultaneously transmitted, a maximum transmitting power for each PSFCH has to be reduced, and thus the reliability of PSFCH transmission is affected.
[0084] As an example, the RX UE performs open-loop power control based on a sidelink pathloss and/or based on a downlink pathloss on a PSFCH, and the number of PSFCHs actually transmitted by the RX UE in the same slot is affected by a total transmitting power, and the RX UE calculates the open-loop transmitting power of each PSFCH based on a loop power control algorithm. If the total transmitting power of the plurality of PSFCHs does not exceed a maximum rated transmitting power of the RX UE, the RX UE may simultaneously transmit the plurality of PSFCHs in the same slot. and if the total transmitting power of the plurality of PSFCHs exceeds the maximum rated transmitting power of the RX UE, the RX UE may transmit the PSFCHs using at least one of the following methods:
See also [0085] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of sidelink HARQ feedback wireless communication system for a PSCCH with corresponding PSSCH reception of WU to physical layer procedures for sidelink of QUALCOMM for an advantage of a method providing improvement of the reliability and the transmission efficiency of sidelink data transmission according to determined feedback mode (WU: [0011, 0074]).
Claim 62 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm Incorporated (R1-1911110 “Physical Layer Procedures for Sidelink”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘QUALCOMM’) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20220132471 A1, hereinafter ‘HWANG’).
Regarding claim 62, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
QUALCOMM does not explicitly disclose wherein a guard band is configured beside the second resource block.
In an analogous art, HWANG teaches wherein a guard band is configured beside the second resource block (
Fig. 16, [0160] Referring to FIG. 16, an interval N RBs may be secured between the unicast PSFCH and the common PSFCH, and thus the IBE problem between PSFCH resources may be alleviated.
[0164] Based on an embodiment of the present disclosure, if PSFCH resources are divided between PSSCH receiving UEs in groupcast, the transmitting UE may receive HARQ feedback through a plurality of PSFCH resources. In the PSFCH resource set, N RB intervals may exist between a PSFCH resource corresponding to unicast and a PSFCH resource corresponding to groupcast in which PSFCH resources are divided between a plurality of PSSCH receiving UEs. That is, the transmitting UE may receive or have different offsets between PSFCH resource sets based on a cast type and/or whether a PSFCH resource are shared.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique for using RB interval or a guardband among PSFCH resources in NR V2X of HWANG to physical layer procedures for sidelink of QUALCOMM for an advantage of a method for alleviating an interference problem from inter-band emission (IBE) (HWANG: [0144, 0160]).
Claim 64 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm Incorporated (R1-1911110 “Physical Layer Procedures for Sidelink”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘QUALCOMM’) in view of Liu et al. (US 20250287401 A1 with priority of JP 2022-072435, hereinafter ‘LIU’).
Regarding claim 64, QUALCOMM teaches the first apparatus according to claim 53,
wherein the feedback is a Hybrid Acknowledge Request feedback; and/or wherein the first apparatus comprises a user equipment, UE (
Page 2 Proposal 4
For implicit mechanism for PSFCH resource determination,
…
For groupcast HARQ feedback Option 2, support CDM and FDM between PSFCH resources used by different RX UEs for HARQ feedback of the same PSSCH transmission).
QUALCOMM does not explicitly disclose wherein the first apparatus comprises a user equipment, UE, using a side link unlicensed resource.
In an analogous art, LIU teaches wherein the first apparatus comprises a user equipment, UE, using a side link unlicensed resource (
[0004] the present invention, supporting HARQ feedback transmission and reception on PSFCH over unlicensed spectrum, which may improve the communication flexibility and/or efficiency.
[0021] A communication method by a user equipment (UE) is described. The method includes transmitting, to another UE, a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) with interlaced transmission, the PSSCH being allocated with one or more resource block (RB) sets and one or more interlaces in frequency domain; and determining, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for a HARQ feedback reception in response to the transmission of the PSSCH, wherein the PSFCH resource in frequency domain corresponds to an interlace and an RB set ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique for HARQ feedback transmission and reception on PSFCH over unlicensed spectrum of LIU to physical layer procedures for sidelink of QUALCOMM for an advantage of a method for improving the communication flexibility and/or efficiency (LIU: [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Luo et al. (US 12574182 B2), describing Method Performed By User Equipment, And User Equipment
Hoang et al. (US 20250227738 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MULTICARRIER OPERATION
Talarico et al. (US 20250227737 A1), describing PHYSICAL SIDELINK FEEDBACK CHANNEL (PSFCH) AND SYNCHRONIZATION CHANNELS FOR A SIDELINK SYSTEM OPERATING IN AN UNLICENSED BAND
Luo et al. (US 12200687 B2), describing Method Performed By User Equipment, And User Equipment
Guo et al. (US 20250015930 A1), describing MULTI-BIT FEEDBACK VIA A SIDELINK FEEDBACK CHANNEL
Ko et al. (US 20240340922 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PARTIAL SENSING BASED ON SL HARQ FEEDBACK IN NR V2X
Balasubramanian et al. (US 20230337235 A1), describing METHODS FOR PROTECTING SIDELINK FEEDBACK INFORMATION
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413