DETAILED ACTION
This final Office action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment filed August 6, 2026. Claims 1-4 and 6-9 have been amended. Claims 1-9 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Preliminarily, it is noted that the previously-pending rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s claim amendments.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, “Applicant respectfully submits that the human mind is not equipped to perform the claimed information analysis step. using a computer, which includes analyzing the work actions using information, as an evaluation index, indicating at least one of an angular velocity distribution, an average velocity, a velocity ratio, and a distribution distortion, as the human mind cannot perform such features, with or without pencil and paper.” (Page 26 of the response) The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that a human could indeed analyze work actions using information, as an evaluation index, indicating at least one of an angular velocity distribution, an average velocity, a velocity ratio, and a distribution distortion. The use of the computer is only generally applied to facilitate the abstract ideas. The processing components presented in the claims simply utilize the capabilities of a general-purpose computer and are, thus, merely tools to implement the abstract idea(s). As seen in MPEP § 2106.05(a)(I) and § 2106.05(f)(2), the court found that accelerating a process when the increased speed solely comes from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality and it amounts to a mere invocation of computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process (see FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Applicant argues that the claims do not recite details of organizing human activity (pages 26-29 of Applicant’s response). MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II) explains:
Applicant’s claims evaluate work actions of a worker and, based on a broadest reasonable interpretation, a worker may be a human worker. The claims specifically evaluate finger positions too, further implying that the movement of human workers is quite likely being evaluated. As explained in paragraph 51 of Applicant’s Specification, advice is provided to the worker to improve the worker’s work (Spec: ¶ 51 – “A feedback field 194 explains the analyzed factors concerning the worker and provides advice to improve the work. The feedback field 194 includes the text describing that the head was located away from the third part and the worker needs to be alerted to increase the possibility of noticing the particle while working.”). This is clearly an example of managing personal behavior, including following instructions.
Applicant makes general assertions that the amended claims impart a practical application and present a technological improvement (pages 29-41 of Applicant’s response); however, Applicant fails to point out which specific additional element(s) and corresponding function(s) allegedly present anything beyond generally applying the additional element(s) to the abstract ideas. Applicant also fails to explicitly explain what the asserted technological improvement is. Again, the use of the computer and other processing elements recited in the claims is only generally applied to facilitate the abstract ideas. The processing components presented in the claims simply utilize the capabilities of a general-purpose computer and are, thus, merely tools to implement the abstract idea(s). As seen in MPEP § 2106.05(a)(I) and § 2106.05(f)(2), the court found that accelerating a process when the increased speed solely comes from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality and it amounts to a mere invocation of computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process (see FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Applicant submits that claims 1 and 9 do not merely recite insignificant extra-solution activity (page 48 of Applicant’s response). In the rejection, the Examiner has not made an assertion that the claims merely recite insignificant extra-solution activity.
Regarding the prior art rejections, on pages 49-56 of the response, Applicant submits that the cited prior art references do not address the claim amendments. The Yoshimoto and Wang references have been introduced into the art rejections in order to help address the claim amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“storage device in which work information …is stored” (in claim 1)
“indicator that outputs..” (in claim 1)
** Regarding the “storage device,” paragraph 22 of the Specification explains that “[t]he maintenance work analysis system 1 may be configured as hardware including computers and servers or as a cloud service, for example.” Storage operations are described as well (Spec: ¶ 11 – “FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating the use of the
maintenance work analysis system according to the embodiment. FIG. 1 illustrates the relationship among a maintenance work analysis system 1, a measurement system 2, a maintenance work DB (database) 3, and an evaluation system 4.”).
Regarding the “indicator that outputs,” paragraph 21 of the Specification states, “The output portion 19 supplies the visualization information output from the information visualization portion 18 to the worker of the maintenance work and the user of the maintenance work analysis system 1. The output portion 19 is applicable to a display, a mobile terminal such as a smartphone, or an HMD (Head Mounted Display). The output portion 19 used as HMD can display AR contents superimposed on the actual semiconductor manufacturing equipment.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claimed invention is directed to “a maintenance work analysis system and a maintenance work analysis method for semiconductor manufacturing equipment” (Spec: ¶ 1) without significantly more.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes – The claims fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. Process (claim 9), Apparatus (claims 1-8)
Independent claims:
Step
Analysis
2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes – Aside from the additional elements identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below, the claims recite:
[Claim 1] analyzing work actions in maintenance work on a semiconductor manufacturing equipment, comprising the following:
storing work information including movement information indicating the movement of a worker performing the maintenance work;
analyzing a work action of the worker using the work information; and
outputting a difference between reference maintenance work and maintenance work performed by the worker,
wherein the work information includes, as the movement information, information indicating finger positions and actions in the movement of the worker, and analyzing the work actions using information, as an evaluation index, indicating at least one of an angular velocity distribution, an average velocity, a velocity ratio, and a distribution distortion.
[Claim 9] A maintenance work analysis method of analyzing work actions in maintenance work on semiconductor manufacturing equipment, comprising:
an information acquisition step to acquire work information including movement information indicating the movement of a worker conducting the maintenance work;
an information analysis step to analyze work actions of the worker from the work information; and
an information visualization step to display a difference between reference maintenance work and maintenance work conducted by the worker,
wherein the work information includes, as the movement information, information indicating finger positions and actions in the movement of the worker, and
wherein the information analysis step further comprises analyzing the work actions using information, as an evaluation index, indicating at least one of an angular velocity distribution, an average velocity, a velocity ratio, and a distribution distortion.
Aside from the additional elements, the aforementioned claim details exemplify the abstract idea(s) of a mental process (since the details include concepts performed in the human mind, including an observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion). As explained in MPEP § 2106(a)(2)(C)(III), “The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that ‘can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper’ to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, ‘methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’’ 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)).” The limitations reproduced above, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the additional elements identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind and/or by a human using a pen and paper. For example, but for the recitations of generic computer and other processing components (identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below), the respectively recited steps/functions of the claims, as drafted and set forth above, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind and/or with the use of pen and paper. A human user can acquire information, analyze it, output results, etc. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (and/or with pen and paper) but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Aside from the additional elements, the aforementioned claim details exemplify a method of organizing human activity (since the details include examples of commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). More specifically, the evaluated process is related to analyzing work actions of a worker, which (under its broadest reasonable interpretation) is an example of managing personal behavior (i.e., organizing human activity); therefore, aside from the recitations of generic computer and other processing components (identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below), the limitations identified in the more detailed claim listing above encompass the abstract idea of organizing human activity.
2A – Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No – The judicial exception(s) is/are not integrated into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites a maintenance work analysis system comprising a storage device (to store movement information), a plurality of sensors (to collect movement information), an indicator (to output information), and a computer that generally perform the recited operations.
Claim 9 does not include any additional elements and is, thus, directed to the abstract ideas per se.
The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea(s) in a computer environment. The claimed processing elements are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s). Simply implementing the abstract idea(s) on a general-purpose processor is not a practical application of the abstract idea(s); Applicant’s specification discloses that the invention may be implemented using general-purpose processing elements and other generic components (Paragraph 22 of the Specification explains that “[t]he maintenance work analysis system 1 may be configured as hardware including computers and servers or as a cloud service, for example.” Throughout the Specification, the portions are described as part of the maintenance work analysis system.).
The use of a processor/processing elements (e.g., as recited in all of the claims) facilitates generic processor operations. The use of a memory or machine-readable media with executable instructions facilitates generic processor operations.
The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic processing elements performing generic computer functions) such that the incorporation of the additional processing elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception(s) using generic computer components. There is no indication in the Specification that the steps/functions of the claims require any inventive programming or necessitate any specialized or other inventive computer components (i.e., the steps/functions of the claims may be implemented using capabilities of general-purpose computer components). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea(s).
The processing components presented in the claims simply utilize the capabilities of a general-purpose computer and are, thus, merely tools to implement the abstract idea(s). As seen in MPEP § 2106.05(a)(I) and § 2106.05(f)(2), the court found that accelerating a process when the increased speed solely comes from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality and it amounts to a mere invocation of computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process (see FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
There is no transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing recited in the claims.
Additionally, even when considering the operations of the additional elements as an ordered combination, the ordered combination does not amount to significantly more than what is present in the claims when each operation is considered separately.
2B: Claim(s) Provide(s) an Inventive Concept?
No – The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, the use of the additional elements to perform the steps identified in Step 2A – Prong 1 above amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer component(s). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component(s) cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims:
Step
Analysis
2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes – Aside from the additional elements identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below, the claims recite:
[Claim 2] combining the work information of the worker with result information including information regarding a success or failure of the maintenance work conducted by the worker, to analyze a factor of the result information, and
wherein, when the result information indicates a failure, outputting information regarding work and parts as a possible factor.
[Claim 3] wherein the work information includes preliminary information that indicates history information and maintenance work concerning a process performed in the semiconductor manufacturing equipment, and
analyzing the work action by using the history information and the preliminary information.
[Claim 4] wherein the work information includes information indicating at least one of line of sight, head position/movement, finger position/movement, and work posture as the movement information, and
analyzing the work action by using at least one piece of the movement information as an evaluation index.
[Claim 5] wherein information concerning the success or failure of the maintenance work includes at least one of the presence or absence of leakage, amount of a particle, and process performance or yield after maintenance.
[Claim 6] analyzing the work action by using association information that associates the movement of a worker with a work target to be maintained, and
analyzing the work action by presenting an evaluation index specific to the work target.
[Claim 7] analyzing the work action by focusing on a specific work that is included in the work target that is particularly related to the success or failure of the maintenance work.
[Claim 8] wherein the specific work is cleaning work, and
analyzing the trajectory and a speed of body parts of the worker during the cleaning work.
The dependent claims further present details of the abstract ideas identified in regard to the independent claims.
Aside from the additional elements, the aforementioned claim details exemplify the abstract idea(s) of a mental process (since the details include concepts performed in the human mind, including an observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion). As explained in MPEP § 2106(a)(2)(C)(III), “The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that ‘can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper’ to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, ‘methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’’ 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)).” The limitations reproduced above, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the additional elements identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind and/or by a human using a pen and paper. For example, but for the recitations of generic computer and other processing components (identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below), the respectively recited steps/functions of the claims, as drafted and set forth above, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind and/or with the use of pen and paper. A human user can acquire information, analyze it, output results, etc. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (and/or with pen and paper) but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Aside from the additional elements, the aforementioned claim details exemplify a method of organizing human activity (since the details include examples of commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). More specifically, the evaluated process is related to analyzing work actions of a worker, which (under its broadest reasonable interpretation) is an example of managing personal behavior (i.e., organizing human activity); therefore, aside from the recitations of generic computer and other processing components (identified in Step 2A – Prong 2 below), the limitations identified in the more detailed claim listing above encompass the abstract idea of organizing human activity.
2A – Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No – The judicial exception(s) is/are not integrated into a practical application.
The dependent claims include the additional elements of their independent claims.
Claims 1-8 recite a maintenance work analysis system comprising a storage device (to store movement information), a plurality of sensors (to collect movement information), an indicator (to output information), and a computer that generally perform the recited operations.
Claim 9 does not include any additional elements and is, thus, directed to the abstract ideas per se.
The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea(s) in a computer environment. The claimed processing elements are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s). Simply implementing the abstract idea(s) on a general-purpose processor is not a practical application of the abstract idea(s); Applicant’s specification discloses that the invention may be implemented using general-purpose processing elements and other generic components (Paragraph 22 of the Specification explains that “[t]he maintenance work analysis system 1 may be configured as hardware including computers and servers or as a cloud service, for example.” Throughout the Specification, the portions are described as part of the maintenance work analysis system.).
The use of a processor/processing elements (e.g., as recited in all of the claims) facilitates generic processor operations. The use of a memory or machine-readable media with executable instructions facilitates generic processor operations.
The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic processing elements performing generic computer functions) such that the incorporation of the additional processing elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception(s) using generic computer components. There is no indication in the Specification that the steps/functions of the claims require any inventive programming or necessitate any specialized or other inventive computer components (i.e., the steps/functions of the claims may be implemented using capabilities of general-purpose computer components). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea(s).
The processing components presented in the claims simply utilize the capabilities of a general-purpose computer and are, thus, merely tools to implement the abstract idea(s). As seen in MPEP § 2106.05(a)(I) and § 2106.05(f)(2), the court found that accelerating a process when the increased speed solely comes from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality and it amounts to a mere invocation of computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process (see FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
There is no transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing recited in the claims.
Additionally, even when considering the operations of the additional elements as an ordered combination, the ordered combination does not amount to significantly more than what is present in the claims when each operation is considered separately.
2B: Claim(s) Provide(s) an Inventive Concept?
No – The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, the use of the additional elements to perform the steps identified in Step 2A – Prong 1 above amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions using a generic computer component(s). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component(s) cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2023/0044842) in view of Kagaya et al. (Kagaya, Munehito, et. al. "Using an Optical Motion Sensor for Visualization and Analysis of Maintenance Work on Semiconductor Manufacturing Equipment." IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing, vol. 30, no. 4, pp. 333-338, November 2017) in view of Yoshimoto et al. (JP 2023045885 A, referencing the English Translation of JP-2023045885-A) in view of Wang et al. (CN-110680332-A, referencing the English Translation of CN-110680332-A).
[Claim 1] Sato discloses a work analysis system to analyze work actions in work on a manufacturing equipment (¶ 24 – “work analyzing device in which a processor is caused to perform operations to output analytical information on a work efficiency status of a worker based on a video of working activities of the worker “; ¶ 56 – “a worker performs working activities on a workbench, such as a working activity of sorting parts to be used in a production line by type”), comprising:
a storage device in which work information including movement information indicating the movement of a worker performing the maintenance work is stored, the movement information being collected by at least one of a plurality of sensors (¶¶ 49-51 – “[0049] The camera 1 shoots working activities of the worker at the worker's place. [0050] The recorder 2 records video data provided from the camera. [0051] The server 3 acquires a video(s) from the camera 1 and/or the recorder 2, analyzes the work efficiency status of the worker based on the video, and outputs results of the analysis.”; ¶ 53 – “The server 3 may perform real-time operations while the camera is shooting a video, or post-processing operations after the camera shoots a video. When the real-time operations are performed, the camera 1, the server 3, and the user terminal 4 may be connected via a network. When only the post-processing operations are performed, video recordings accumulated in the recorder 2 may be transferred to the server 3 by using an appropriate storage medium.”; NOTE: As explained in Application’s Specification, cameras are examples of sensors (Applicant’s Spec: ¶ 18).);
a computer configured to analyze a work action of the worker using the work information (¶ 51 – “The server 3 acquires a video(s) from the camera 1 and/or the recorder 2, analyzes the work efficiency status of the worker based on the video, and outputs results of the analysis.”; ¶ 65 – “In the case of a skilled worker, the worker makes little wasted motions of each part of the body, and moves the parts of the body in a synchronized manner. In particular, the worker uses the left hand and right hands for the respective routine operations such that the both hand are moved in a synchronized manner. For example, in the case where an operation needs to repeat a set of tasks of acquiring parts and storing the parts, a skilled worker simultaneously acquires different types of parts with both hands, respectively, and then performs the task of storing the parts with the right hand. In other cases, a skilled worker uses the left hand to acquire parts and then uses the right hand to store the parts. In this case, a time series graph can show that, for example, both hands move to the right at the same time, which means that the worker acquires parts with both hands.”; ¶ 66 – “In the case of a beginner worker, the worker makes a lot of wasted motions of each part of the body, and moves the parts of the body in an unsynchronized, irregular manner. In particular, the left hand and right hands are not used for the respective routine operations and are not moved in a synchronized manner. For example, in the case where an operation needs to repeat a set of tasks of acquiring parts and storing the parts, a beginner worker tends to pick up one part with one hand. In this case, a time series graph can show that, for example, only the left hand moves to the right, which means that the worker acquires parts with one hand.“; ¶ 68 – “In the present embodiment, the system evaluates work efficiency according to whether or not the respective parts of the body are moved in a synchronized manner. Furthermore, in the present embodiment, the system calculates the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints, and determines, based on the calculated similarity, whether or not the respective parts of the body are moved in a synchronized manner. In other words, the system evaluates work efficiency based on the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints. For example, when the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high, the system determines that the work efficiency is high, and when the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is low, the system determines that the work efficiency is low.”; ¶ 150 – processor); and
an indicator that outputs a difference between reference work and work performed by the worker (figs. 8-12 – display/output; ¶ 69 – “In the present embodiment, the system calculates a co-occurrence score (efficient motion score) representing the degree of similarity as an index value for evaluating work efficiency. The system compares the co-occurrence score with a predetermined threshold to thereby determine if the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high; that is, if the work efficiency is high. More specifically, when the co-occurrence score is equal to or higher than the threshold value, the system determines that the work efficiency is high.”; figs. 9-12; ¶ 138 – “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 11, one target range is included in a time series graph. However, when two or more periods with low co-occurrence scores appear intermittently, a plurality of target ranges may be indicated based on the number of target ranges set by using the setting screen of FIG. 9.”).
Sato does not explicitly disclose that the system is specifically a maintenance work analysis system and that the maintenance work is on a semiconductor manufacturing equipment. Kagaya discloses use of an optical motion sensor to analyze and determine worker movement and performance while performing tasks related to cleaning semiconductor manufacturing equipment (Kagaya: p. 333: title, abstract, I. Introduction). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Sato such that the system is specifically a maintenance work analysis system and such that the maintenance work is on a semiconductor manufacturing equipment in order to expand the usefulness of Sato’s worker efficiency evaluations across various fields of use, including a maintenance work analysis system, wherein the maintenance work may include cleaning semiconductor manufacturing equipment since this field of use is ripe for such analysis and related improvements, as explained by Kagaya (Kagaya: p. 333 – “The effects of maintenance work variations on productivity are not limited to the above case. In our experience, for example, we have observed similar variations in maintenance tasks where parts are wiped clean. To improve productivity, it is therefore important to conduct a detailed analysis of the work flow and identify the key factors that make a large contribution to productivity.”). Additionally, the substitution of Kagaya’s specific manufacturing-related field of use for Sato’s specific manufacturing-related field of use would have been well within the technical capability of those skilled in the art prior to Applicant’s invention and such a substitution would have yielded predictable and expected results.
Sato monitors and evaluates the movement of hands of a worker (Sato: ¶ 65 – “In the case of a skilled worker, the worker makes little wasted motions of each part of the body, and moves the parts of the body in a synchronized manner. In particular, the worker uses the left hand and right hands for the respective routine operations such that the both hand are moved in a synchronized manner. For example, in the case where an operation needs to repeat a set of tasks of acquiring parts and storing the parts, a skilled worker simultaneously acquires different types of parts with both hands, respectively, and then performs the task of storing the parts with the right hand. In other cases, a skilled worker uses the left hand to acquire parts and then uses the right hand to store the parts. In this case, a time series graph can show that, for example, both hands move to the right at the same time, which means that the worker acquires parts with both hands.”; ¶ 66 – “In the case of a beginner worker, the worker makes a lot of wasted motions of each part of the body, and moves the parts of the body in an unsynchronized, irregular manner. In particular, the left hand and right hands are not used for the respective routine operations and are not moved in a synchronized manner. For example, in the case where an operation needs to repeat a set of tasks of acquiring parts and storing the parts, a beginner worker tends to pick up one part with one hand. In this case, a time series graph can show that, for example, only the left hand moves to the right, which means that the worker acquires parts with one hand.”).
Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein the work information includes, as the movement information, information indicating finger positions and actions in the movement of the worker, and the computer is further configured to analyze the work actions using information, as an evaluation index, indicating at least one of an angular velocity distribution, an average velocity, a velocity ratio, and a distribution distortion.
However, Yoshimoto evaluates worker movement for training purposes and such evaluation includes the detection of motion of a worker’s hand and fingers with the use of a gyro sensor that detects angular velocity of the motion of the worker’s hand and a pressure sensor that detects pressure applied by the worker’s finger, as seen on page 2:
FIG. 1 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of providing a skill training sequence. A skill training sequence is an order in which multiple skills are trained. A worker W wears a glove 102 with a wearable sensor 101 on his hand, and wears a camera 103 on his head. A camera 104 is also installed in the working environment. Further, the worker W holds an electric power tool 105 such as an electric screwdriver or a spray gun. The wearable sensor 101 is a sensor that detects data related to movement of the worker W during work, and includes, for example, an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, a geomagnetic sensor, a microphone, a pressure sensor (which also serves as a slip sensor), and a transmitter. and have
An acceleration sensor detects the acceleration regarding a motion of the worker's W hand. A gyro sensor detects the angular velocity regarding the motion of the worker's W hand. The gyro sensor detects the direction of movement of the worker W's hand. The microphone collects sounds around the worker W's hand. The pressure sensor detects the pressure applied by the operator W's finger. (Yoshimoto: p. 2)
While Yoshimoto references angular velocity, Yoshimoto does not explicitly address at least one of an angular velocity distribution, an average velocity, a velocity ratio, and a distribution distortion; however, Yoshimoto does relate the monitoring of the angular velocity of the motion of a hand specifically to worker movement. Wang fills in some of the technical gaps of how angular velocity of hand and finger movement is evaluated, more specifically by sampling a distribution of the angular velocity, as seen in the following excerpt:
In this specification, "angular velocity of the finger joints" refers to phalanx with the finger joint connection between the relative angular velocity, the angular velocity sampling value " refers to the size of the relative angular velocity. connected around the finger joint rotating to angular velocity of the respective two end of the phalanx of the finger joint, the relative angular velocity thus described herein refers to a vector difference of the angular velocity of the bone.
In the present specification, the angular velocity sampling value of the finger joint distribution characteristic " refers to a distribution characteristic of the angular velocity sampling value in the sample set, the sample set may comprise angular velocity sampling values of the one or more finger joints at one time or a plurality of measured time.
distribution feature described herein may be, for example, the distribution form of curve represents. The inventors of the present invention found through deep research, distribution characteristic of the angular velocity sampling value of finger fatigue state with the sample set has high correlation. In particular, when the distribution curve to depict the distribution feature, between the shape of the curve and/or area defined by the area of the finger fatigue degree establishing mapping relationship of reliable and objective. So, according to one aspect of the present invention, the distributed state of the angular velocity sampling values of the one or more finger joints to portray fatigue characteristics of the finger. (Wang: p. 5)
Given that Sato evaluates the work efficiency status of workers, including based on a joint movement speed (Sato: ¶¶ 24, 76), Yoshimoto evaluates worker hand and finger movements based on angular velocity measurements, and Wang extends angular velocity measurements of the fingers to incorporate analysis of the distribution of angular velocity, the Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Sato wherein the work information includes, as the movement information, information indicating finger positions and actions in the movement of the worker, and the computer is further configured to analyze the work actions using information, as an evaluation index, indicating at least one of an angular velocity distribution, an average velocity, a velocity ratio, and a distribution distortion in order to facilitate more comprehensive and granular analysis of a worker’s movement in the interest of identifying work efficiency and room for improvement in worker training as well as in the interest of identifying instances in which fatigue of the hand and fingers may affect worker performance (as suggested on page 5 of Wang).
[Claim 2] Sato discloses wherein the computer is further configured to combine the work information of the worker with result information including information regarding a success or failure of the maintenance work conducted by the worker and to analyze a factor of the result information (¶ 69 – “In the present embodiment, the system calculates a co-occurrence score (efficient motion score) representing the degree of similarity as an index value for evaluating work efficiency. The system compares the co-occurrence score with a predetermined threshold to thereby determine if the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high; that is, if the work efficiency is high. More specifically, when the co-occurrence score is equal to or higher than the threshold value, the system determines that the work efficiency is high.”); and
wherein, when the result information indicates a failure, the indicator outputs information regarding work and parts as a possible factor (¶ 135 – “The time series graph indicator 51 displays rectangular labels 65 overlaid on time series graphs for the working activity to be analyzed, each rectangular label representing a target range of the working activity to be analyzed. The target range of the working activity to be analyzed is a period during which a co-occurrence score is low, more specifically, equal to or less than a predetermined threshold value.”; ¶ 65 – “In the case of a skilled worker, the worker makes little wasted motions of each part of the body, and moves the parts of the body in a synchronized manner. In particular, the worker uses the left hand and right hands for the respective routine operations such that the both hand are moved in a synchronized manner. For example, in the case where an operation needs to repeat a set of tasks of acquiring parts and storing the parts, a skilled worker simultaneously acquires different types of parts with both hands, respectively, and then performs the task of storing the parts with the right hand. In other cases, a skilled worker uses the left hand to acquire parts and then uses the right hand to store the parts. In this case, a time series graph can show that, for example, both hands move to the right at the same time, which means that the worker acquires parts with both hands.”; ¶ 66 – “In the case of a beginner worker, the worker makes a lot of wasted motions of each part of the body, and moves the parts of the body in an unsynchronized, irregular manner. In particular, the left hand and right hands are not used for the respective routine operations and are not moved in a synchronized manner. For example, in the case where an operation needs to repeat a set of tasks of acquiring parts and storing the parts, a beginner worker tends to pick up one part with one hand. In this case, a time series graph can show that, for example, only the left hand moves to the right, which means that the worker acquires parts with one hand.“; ¶¶ 69, 90 – A threshold value is used to distinguish between low and high work efficiency.; ¶ 107 – “In addition, the processor in the server 3 also performs an operation for calculating a co-occurrence score for each unit period (working activity evaluation operation), an operation for acquiring a target range (part of a work process in which work efficiency is low) (target range acquisition operation), an operation for drawing rectangular labels 65, 66 overlaid on time series graphs, each rectangular label representing a target range (target range drawing operation), an operation for generating a posture image from joint position data (posture image generation operation), an operation for overlaying the posture image on the frame image (posture image overlay operation), and an operation for generating and outputting analysis result screens including time series graphs and videos (screen generation operation).” Information regarding low efficiency (which may be interpreted as a relative failure in work efficiency) is output on analysis result screens.)
[Claim 3] Sato discloses wherein the work information includes preliminary information that indicates history information and work concerning a process performed in the manufacturing equipment (¶ 132 – “The model-record-based-comparison analysis result screen includes the time series graph indicator 51, the working worker's video indicator 52, the joint designation interface 53, the “model record comparison” button 55, the “past record comparison” button 56, and the thumbnail indicator 57, which parts indicate information associated with the working activity to be analyzed, and which are also included in the single subject mode analysis result screen (see FIG. 10)”; ¶ 140 – “This model-record-based-comparison analysis result screen includes a “model record comparison” button 55 and a “past record comparison” button 56, which are included in the single subject mode analysis result screen (see FIG. 10). When a user operates the “past record comparison” button 56 and selects one of the thumbnail images, the screen transitions to the past-record-based-comparison analysis result screen (see FIG. 12).”; ¶¶ 109-110 -- “[0109] The user terminal 4 displays a search screen which a user can use for searching for a working activity which meets search criteria. [0110] The search screen includes input interfaces 31, 32, 33 for a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID, and an analysis button 34. A use can enter a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID as search criteria using the input interfaces 31, 32, and 33. In particular, in the present embodiment, a user can select a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID from the respective pull-down menus. Each pull-down menu indicates options filtered based on conditions selected in other input interfaces.“ The user can search certain activities, which may be viewed as preliminary information that affects which activities are analyzed.), and
wherein the computer is further configured to analyze the work action by using the history information and the preliminary information (¶ 132 – “The model-record-based-comparison analysis result screen includes the time series graph indicator 51, the working worker's video indicator 52, the joint designation interface 53, the “model record comparison” button 55, the “past record comparison” button 56, and the thumbnail indicator 57, which parts indicate information associated with the working activity to be analyzed, and which are also included in the single subject mode analysis result screen (see FIG. 10)”; ¶ 140 – “This model-record-based-comparison analysis result screen includes a “model record comparison” button 55 and a “past record comparison” button 56, which are included in the single subject mode analysis result screen (see FIG. 10). When a user operates the “past record comparison” button 56 and selects one of the thumbnail images, the screen transitions to the past-record-based-comparison analysis result screen (see FIG. 12).”; ¶¶ 109-110 -- “[0109] The user terminal 4 displays a search screen which a user can use for searching for a working activity which meets search criteria. [0110] The search screen includes input interfaces 31, 32, 33 for a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID, and an analysis button 34. A use can enter a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID as search criteria using the input interfaces 31, 32, and 33. In particular, in the present embodiment, a user can select a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID from the respective pull-down menus. Each pull-down menu indicates options filtered based on conditions selected in other input interfaces.“ The user can search certain activities, which may be viewed as preliminary information that affects which activities are analyzed.).
Sato does not explicitly disclose that the work is specifically maintenance work concerning a process performed in the semiconductor manufacturing equipment. Kagaya discloses use of an optical motion sensor to analyze and determine worker movement and performance while performing tasks related to cleaning semiconductor manufacturing equipment (Kagaya: p. 333: title, abstract, I. Introduction). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Sato such that the work is specifically maintenance work concerning a process performed in the semiconductor manufacturing equipment in order to expand the usefulness of Sato’s worker efficiency evaluations across various fields of use, including a maintenance work analysis system, wherein the maintenance work may include cleaning semiconductor manufacturing equipment since this field of use is ripe for such analysis and related improvements, as explained by Kagaya (Kagaya: p. 333 – “The effects of maintenance work variations on productivity are not limited to the above case. In our experience, for example, we have observed similar variations in maintenance tasks where parts are wiped clean. To improve productivity, it is therefore important to conduct a detailed analysis of the work flow and identify the key factors that make a large contribution to productivity.”). Additionally, the substitution of Kagaya’s specific manufacturing-related field of use for Sato’s specific manufacturing-related field of use would have been well within the technical capability of those skilled in the art prior to Applicant’s invention and such a substitution would have yielded predictable and expected results.
[Claim 4] Sato discloses wherein the work information includes information indicating at least one of line of sight, head position/movement, finger position/movement (¶¶ 65-66 – Hand movement is evaluated. Hand movement is understood to incorporate finger position/movement), and work posture (¶¶ 88, 92-93 – Posture is evaluated) as the movement information, and
wherein the computer is further configured to analyze the work action by using at least one piece of the movement information as an evaluation index (¶¶ 115-116 -- “[0115] The setting screen includes a joint designation interface 41. A user can designate joints to be analyzed by using the check boxes for the respective joints in the joint designation interface 41. In the embodiments shown in FIG. 9, a user can designate any combination of the eight joints of the upper body (left wrist, left elbow, left shoulder, right shoulder, head, right elbow, right wrist, and abdomen). For example, when designating only the joint of the right arm and narrows down the analysis target thereto, a user can recognize only the motion of the right arm. [0116] This setting screen also includes a motion information designation interface 42. A user can designate either the joint position or the joint speed as the type of motion information to be analyzed by using a radio button in the motion information designation interface 42. When a user chooses the joint position, the system performs operations associated with work analysis (such as time series data generation operation, working activity evaluation operation, and time series graph generation operation) based on joint positions as motion information. When a user chooses the joint speed, the system uses joint movement speeds as motion information to perform operations associated with work analysis.”).
[Claim 5] Sato discloses wherein information concerning the success or failure of the maintenance work includes at least one of the presence or absence of leakage, amount of a particle, and process performance or yield after the work action (¶¶ 68-69 – “[0068] In the present embodiment, the system evaluates work efficiency according to whether or not the respective parts of the body are moved in a synchronized manner. Furthermore, in the present embodiment, the system calculates the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints, and determines, based on the calculated similarity, whether or not the respective parts of the body are moved in a synchronized manner. In other words, the system evaluates work efficiency based on the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints. For example, when the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high, the system determines that the work efficiency is high, and when the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is low, the system determines that the work efficiency is low. [0069] In the present embodiment, the system calculates a co-occurrence score (efficient motion score) representing the degree of similarity as an index value for evaluating work efficiency. The system compares the co-occurrence score with a predetermined threshold to thereby determine if the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high; that is, if the work efficiency is high. More specifically, when the co-occurrence score is equal to or higher than the threshold value, the system determines that the work efficiency is high.“ Work efficiency reflects process performance.).
Sato does not explicitly disclose that the work is specifically maintenance work. Kagaya discloses use of an optical motion sensor to analyze and determine worker movement and performance while performing tasks related to cleaning semiconductor manufacturing equipment (Kagaya: p. 333: title, abstract, I. Introduction). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Sato such that the work is specifically maintenance work in order to expand the usefulness of Sato’s worker efficiency evaluations across various fields of use, including a maintenance work analysis system, wherein the maintenance work may include cleaning semiconductor manufacturing equipment since this field of use is ripe for such analysis and related improvements, as explained by Kagaya (Kagaya: p. 333 – “The effects of maintenance work variations on productivity are not limited to the above case. In our experience, for example, we have observed similar variations in maintenance tasks where parts are wiped clean. To improve productivity, it is therefore important to conduct a detailed analysis of the work flow and identify the key factors that make a large contribution to productivity.”). Additionally, the substitution of Kagaya’s specific manufacturing-related field of use for Sato’s specific manufacturing-related field of use would have been well within the technical capability of those skilled in the art prior to Applicant’s invention and such a substitution would have yielded predictable and expected results.
[Claim 6] Sato discloses wherein the computer is configured to analyze the work action by using either association information that associates the movement of a worker with a work target to be maintained (¶¶ 68-69 – “[0068] In the present embodiment, the system evaluates work efficiency according to whether or not the respective parts of the body are moved in a synchronized manner. Furthermore, in the present embodiment, the system calculates the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints, and determines, based on the calculated similarity, whether or not the respective parts of the body are moved in a synchronized manner. In other words, the system evaluates work efficiency based on the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints. For example, when the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high, the system determines that the work efficiency is high, and when the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is low, the system determines that the work efficiency is low. [0069] In the present embodiment, the system calculates a co-occurrence score (efficient motion score) representing the degree of similarity as an index value for evaluating work efficiency. The system compares the co-occurrence score with a predetermined threshold to thereby determine if the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high; that is, if the work efficiency is high. More specifically, when the co-occurrence score is equal to or higher than the threshold value, the system determines that the work efficiency is high.“), and
to analyze the work action by presenting an evaluation index specific to the work target (¶¶ 68-69 – “[0068] In the present embodiment, the system evaluates work efficiency according to whether or not the respective parts of the body are moved in a synchronized manner. Furthermore, in the present embodiment, the system calculates the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints, and determines, based on the calculated similarity, whether or not the respective parts of the body are moved in a synchronized manner. In other words, the system evaluates work efficiency based on the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints. For example, when the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high, the system determines that the work efficiency is high, and when the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is low, the system determines that the work efficiency is low. [0069] In the present embodiment, the system calculates a co-occurrence score (efficient motion score) representing the degree of similarity as an index value for evaluating work efficiency. The system compares the co-occurrence score with a predetermined threshold to thereby determine if the similarity between sets of time series data for the respective joints is high; that is, if the work efficiency is high. More specifically, when the co-occurrence score is equal to or higher than the threshold value, the system determines that the work efficiency is high.“).
[Claim 7] Sato discloses wherein the computer is further configured to analyze the work action by focusing on a specific work that is included in the work target that is particularly related to the success or failure of the maintenance work (¶ 135 – “The time series graph indicator 51 displays rectangular labels 65 overlaid on time series graphs for the working activity to be analyzed, each rectangular label representing a target range of the working activity to be analyzed. The target range of the working activity to be analyzed is a period during which a co-occurrence score is low, more specifically, equal to or less than a predetermined threshold value.”; ¶ 65 – “In the case of a skilled worker, the worker makes little wasted motions of each part of the body, and moves the parts of the body in a synchronized manner. In particular, the worker uses the left hand and right hands for the respective routine operations such that the both hand are moved in a synchronized manner. For example, in the case where an operation needs to repeat a set of tasks of acquiring parts and storing the parts, a skilled worker simultaneously acquires different types of parts with both hands, respectively, and then performs the task of storing the parts with the right hand. In other cases, a skilled worker uses the left hand to acquire parts and then uses the right hand to store the parts. In this case, a time series graph can show that, for example, both hands move to the right at the same time, which means that the worker acquires parts with both hands.”; ¶ 66 – “In the case of a beginner worker, the worker makes a lot of wasted motions of each part of the body, and moves the parts of the body in an unsynchronized, irregular manner. In particular, the left hand and right hands are not used for the respective routine operations and are not moved in a synchronized manner. For example, in the case where an operation needs to repeat a set of tasks of acquiring parts and storing the parts, a beginner worker tends to pick up one part with one hand. In this case, a time series graph can show that, for example, only the left hand moves to the right, which means that the worker acquires parts with one hand.“; ¶¶ 109-110 -- “[0109] The user terminal 4 displays a search screen which a user can use for searching for a working activity which meets search criteria. [0110] The search screen includes input interfaces 31, 32, 33 for a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID, and an analysis button 34. A use can enter a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID as search criteria using the input interfaces 31, 32, and 33. In particular, in the present embodiment, a user can select a process ID, a measurement number, and a person ID from the respective pull-down menus. Each pull-down menu indicates options filtered based on conditions selected in other input interfaces.“ The user can search certain activities, which may be viewed as preliminary information that affects which activities are analyzed.; ¶¶ 69, 90 – A threshold value is used to distinguish between low and high work efficiency.; ¶ 107 – “In addition, the processor in the server 3 also performs an operation for calculating a co-occurrence score for each unit period (working activity evaluation operation), an operation for acquiring a target range (part of a work process in which work efficiency is low) (target range acquisition operation), an operation for drawing rectangular labels 65, 66 overlaid on time series graphs, each rectangular label representing a target range (target range drawing operation), an operation for generating a posture image from joint position data (posture image generation operation), an operation for overlaying the posture image on the frame image (posture image overlay operation), and an operation for generating and outputting analysis result screens including time series graphs and videos (screen generation operation).” Information regarding low efficiency (which may be interpreted as a relative failure in work efficiency) is output on analysis result screens.).
[Claim 8] Sato discloses wherein the computer is further configured to analyze a trajectory and a speed of body parts of the worker during the work (¶ 76 – “For example, the system may use a variance of each joint position to determine work efficiency. A greater swing width of joint position indicates that there are many wasted motions and thus a working activity is not efficient. In this case, a variance of each joint position becomes large. Thus, the system can determine work efficiency based on a variance of each joint position. In other cases, the system may use a “joint speed” (joint movement speed) to determine work efficiency.”).
Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein the specific work is cleaning work. Kagaya discloses use of an optical motion sensor to analyze and determine worker movement and performance while performing tasks related to cleaning semiconductor manufacturing equipment (Kagaya: p. 333: title, abstract, I. Introduction). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Sato wherein the specific work is cleaning work in order to expand the usefulness of Sato’s worker efficiency evaluations across various fields of use, including a maintenance work analysis system, wherein the maintenance work may include cleaning semiconductor manufacturing equipment since this field of use is ripe for such analysis and related improvements, as explained by Kagaya (Kagaya: p. 333 – “The effects of maintenance work variations on productivity are not limited to the above case. In our experience, for example, we have observed similar variations in maintenance tasks where parts are wiped clean. To improve productivity, it is therefore important to conduct a detailed analysis of the work flow and identify the key factors that make a large contribution to productivity.”). Additionally, the substitution of Kagaya’s specific manufacturing-related field of use for Sato’s specific manufacturing-related field of use would have been well within the technical capability of those skilled in the art prior to Applicant’s invention and such a substitution would have yielded predictable and expected results.
[Claim 9] Claim 9 recites limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 1 above; therefore, the same rejection applies. It is noted that Sato discloses that its output is displayed (Sato: figs. 8-12 – display/output).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSANNA M. DIAZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3625A