DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 have been examined.
Drawings
The examiner notes that drawings should not contain excessive text; however, reasonable text provided for clarity is permitted. Figures 1-3 provides a diagram and a flow chart with labeled steps which correspond in the specification to brief text elements that would be appropriate for such figures. While the submitted figures do conform to MPEP § 507, interpretation of the figures could be improved by including the text corresponding to each step. The examiner encourages the applicant to consider adding appropriate text to the stages depicted in Figures 1-3.
Note: - Monitoring function is implemented by or carried out by a computing unit, which is intended to perform the method for operating the steering system as mention in specification paragraph [0008].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being patentable over Albrecht (US20230017618A1).
Claim.1 Albrecht discloses a method for operating a steering system of a vehicle (see at least fig.1, abstract, a steer-by-wire steering system for a vehicle,p77, the steer-by-wire steering system 100) in which the steering system is designed as a steer-by-wire steering system (see at least fig.1, p77, the steer-by-wire steering system 100) and comprises (i) an operating unit with at least one steering handle (see at least fig.1, p76, a steering input device 10 which in this exemplary embodiment of a steer-by-wire steering system 100 according to the invention is a steering wheel 10 )and at least one feedback actuator that interacts with the steering handle (see at least fig.1, p77, a feedback actuator installation 30, p78, a resisting steering torque and/or a restoring torque, can be generated at the steering input device 10 by means of the feedback actuator installation 30), and (ii) at least one wheel steering angle control element (see at least fig.1, a steering actuator installation 70 by means of which a steering movement of the steerable wheels 82), which is operatively connected to the operating unit (see at least fig.1, p76, a steering input device 10 which in this exemplary embodiment of a steer-by-wire steering system 100 according to the invention is a steering wheel 10 ), for changing a steering angle of at least one vehicle wheel (see at least fig.1, a steering actuator installation 70 by means of which a steering movement of the steerable wheels 82), the method comprising: monitoring an operation of the feedback actuator (see at least fig.1, p77, a feedback actuator installation 30, p78, a resisting steering torque and/or a restoring torque, can be generated at the steering input device 10 by means of the feedback actuator installation 30) using a monitoring function (see at least fig.1, p84, the steer-by-wire steering system 100 furthermore has a feedback actuator monitoring installation 51 which for monitoring the feedback actuator installation 30 is configured and specified for identifying at least one state of the feedback actuator installation 30, in particular at least one error state, and in the event of an error for preferably transmitting an error signal to the control installation 50, wherein the feedback actuator monitoring installation 51 in this exemplary embodiment is integrated in the control installation 50, the feedback actuator monitoring installation 51 could also be integrated in the feedback actuator installation 30); in at least one operating state in which a disturbance and/or failure of the feedback actuator is ascertained via the monitoring function (see at least fig.1, p84, the steer-by-wire steering system 100 furthermore has a feedback actuator monitoring installation 51 which for monitoring the feedback actuator installation 30 is configured and specified for identifying at least one state of the feedback actuator installation 30, in particular at least one error state, and in the event of an error for preferably transmitting an error signal to the control installation 50, wherein the feedback actuator monitoring installation 51 in this exemplary embodiment is integrated in the control installation 50, the feedback actuator monitoring installation 51 could also be integrated in the feedback actuator installation 30), modifying a steering characteristic of the steering system monitoring a driver target specification for the wheel steering angle control element using an additional monitoring function (see at least abstract, a feedback monitoring device, the steer-by-wire steering system further has a synchronization monitoring device that is designed and configured, in at least one operating state of the steer-by-wire steering system, to determine a synchronization offset between a current position of the steering input device and a current position of the steering actuator device and/or of the at least one steerable vehicle wheel, p52, an error state of the feedback actuator installation, and a more targeted and more reliable actuation can thus be achieved,p63, when an error-free state of the feedback actuator installation has been identified, it is preferable for a synchronization offset between a current position of the steering input device and a current position of the steering actuator installation and/or of the at least one steerable vehicle wheel to be determined, in particular by means of the synchronization monitoring installation, in particular in a further step, and should a synchronization offset be present, for the steering actuator installation to be furthermore actuated as a function of the synchronization offset determined by the synchronization monitoring installation); in the event that a dynamic of the driver target specification exceeds a threshold value in the operating state, ascertaining a compensation variable; and modifying the driver target specification using the compensation variable in order to modify the steering characteristic (see at least fig.1-2, p53-58, an error-free state of the feedback actuator installation, is in particular configured and specified for actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a steering input and as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable, actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable in such a manner that as a response to a steering input performed in the event of an existing synchronization offset in the error-free state of the feedback actuator installation, actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable in such a manner that a corrected wheel steering movement is effected, the latter, when reaching a reference position of the steering input device, in particular when reaching a straight-ahead position of the steering input device, leading to a synchronization offset being balanced, wherein the offset correction variable is preferably chosen in such a manner that the desired, corrected wheel steering movement which balances the offset is effected in response to a steering input performed in the error-free state of the feedback actuator installation).
Claim.2 Albrecht discloses wherein the modifying of the steering characteristic includes considering a current driving situation and/or an imminent driving situation (see at least fig.1-2, p20, a vehicle state or a characteristic driving maneuver, for example driving straight ahead, negotiating curves, drifting, a braking maneuver, an evasive maneuver, an acceleration procedure, a parking maneuver or a turning maneuver which can preferably be characterized by one or a plurality of driving state variables such as, for example, a vehicle speed, a longitudinal, transverse and/or vertical acceleration, a yaw angle and/or a yaw rate, a pitch angle and/or a pitch rate, a roll angle and/or a roll rate and/or a slip angle, wherein one or a plurality of the aforementioned driving states and/or driving maneuvers here can be further categorized).
Claim.3 Albrecht discloses wherein the at least one operating state corresponds to cornering and the modifying of the steering characteristic includes changing the steering characteristic only when the wheel steering angle of the vehicle wheel is not equal to zero (see at least fig.1, p5, restrict the functionality of the steer-by-wire steering system and/or to have to completely switch off the latter, this being associated with limited availability and being undesirable, p15, a reduced wheel steering angle in comparison to a wheel steering angle which is actually to be implemented in the event of a steering input of this type, and the steering input device relative to the available steering input travel is consequently situated at a different position than a steerable vehicle wheel relative to the total available wheel turning angle).
Claim.4 Albrecht discloses wherein the modifying of the steering characteristic includes considering a dynamic and/or an absolute value of the driver target specification (see at least fig.1, p22-23, an absolute-measuring steering angle sensor, in particular when the steering input device is a steering wheel, determine a position of the steering actuator installation, a steer-by-wire steering system according to the invention furthermore preferably has a position determining installation for determining a position of the steering assembly, the steering actuator installation and/or at least one steerable vehicle wheel which in a functionally installed state in a vehicle is in particular connected to the steering assembly. The determining of the position of the steering assembly in a steering assembly having a rack-and-pinion steering gear can take place with the aid of a position determining installation for determining a position of a rack, for example. The determining of the position of the steering actuator installation can take place with the aid of a position determining installation for determining a rotor angle of a rotor of an associated steering actuator, for example. The determining of the position of a steerable wheel can take place with the aid of a calculation based on a single-track model, for example, in particular as a function of a steering angle which is detected by means of an absolute-measuring steering angle sensor on a steering gear proximal steering shaft).
Claim.5 Albrecht discloses wherein the modifying of the steering characteristic includes modifying the driver target specification using the compensation variable such that the driver target specification is reduced in the at least one operating state (see at least fig.1-2, p53-58, an error-free state of the feedback actuator installation, is in particular configured and specified for actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a steering input and as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable, actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable in such a manner that as a response to a steering input performed in the event of an existing synchronization offset in the error-free state of the feedback actuator installation, actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable in such a manner that a corrected wheel steering movement is effected, the latter, when reaching a reference position of the steering input device, in particular when reaching a straight-ahead position of the steering input device, leading to a synchronization offset being balanced, wherein the offset correction variable is preferably chosen in such a manner that the desired, corrected wheel steering movement which balances the offset is effected in response to a steering input performed in the error-free state of the feedback actuator installation).
Claim.6 Albrecht discloses wherein the driver target specification and the compensation variable are added together in order to change the steering characteristic (see at least fig.1-2, p10, a synchronization monitoring installation, wherein the synchronization monitoring installation in at least one operating state of the steer-by-wire steering system is configured and specified for determining a synchronization offset, in particular a current synchronization offset, between a current position of the steering input device and a current position of the steering assembly, the steering actuator installation and/or the at least one steerable vehicle wheel, and wherein the control installation in at least one operating state of the steer-by-wire steering system is furthermore configured and specified for actuating the steering actuator installation furthermore as a function of the synchronization offset determined by the synchronization monitoring installation).
Claim.7 Albrecht discloses wherein a maximum height of the compensation variable is limited (see at least p36-37, at least one operating state of the steer-by-wire steering system is in particular configured and specified for actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of an applied steering input and of at least one determined correction variable, in particular as a function of a steering input correction variable and/or a driving state correction variable and/or a synchronization offset correction variable, for connecting the defined wheel steering movement to be actually implemented, preferably as a function of a state of the steer-by-wire steering system, Each correction variable here can in particular be a reduction variable, i.e. have an effect that reduces the actual actuation, or be an amplification variable and have an effect amplifying the actual actuation, or else in some cases have a neutral effect, i.e. having been determined in such a manner that this results in neither a reducing nor an amplifying effect on the actual, original, non-corrected actuation).
Claim.8 Albrecht discloses wherein the ascertaining of the compensation variable comprises: using a compensation function, to which the driver target specification and an error signal provided by the monitoring function are supplied as input variables; and using a dynamic gradient limitation that limits an increase in the driver target specification a function of at least one driving parameter (see at least fig.1-2, p53-58, an error-free state of the feedback actuator installation, is in particular configured and specified for actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a steering input and as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable, actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable in such a manner that as a response to a steering input performed in the event of an existing synchronization offset in the error-free state of the feedback actuator installation, actuating the steering actuator installation as a function of a synchronization offset and/or an offset correction variable in such a manner that a corrected wheel steering movement is effected, the latter, when reaching a reference position of the steering input device, in particular when reaching a straight-ahead position of the steering input device, leading to a synchronization offset being balanced, wherein the offset correction variable is preferably chosen in such a manner that the desired, corrected wheel steering movement which balances the offset is effected in response to a steering input performed in the error-free state of the feedback actuator installation).
Claim.9 Albrecht discloses wherein the dynamic gradient limitation takes is dependent on a current driving situation (see at least p20, one or a plurality of driving state variables such as, for example, a vehicle speed, a longitudinal, transverse and/or vertical acceleration, a yaw angle and/or a yaw rate, a pitch angle and/or a pitch rate, a roll angle and/or a roll rate and/or a slip angle, wherein one or a plurality of the aforementioned driving states and/or driving maneuvers here can be further categorized, for example by characterizing the vehicle speed arising therein. For example, driving straight ahead can be categorized as driving straight ahead at high speed, at average speed or at moderate speed or a parking speed, wherein a high speed can be, for example, a vehicle speed v.sub.x of more than 150 km/h, whereas 80 km/h≤v.sub.x≤150 km/h preferably applies to an average speed, 25 km/h≤v.sub.x<80 km/h preferably applies to a moderate speed, and v.sub.x<25 km/h applies in particular to a parking speed).
Claim.10 Albrecht discloses wherein: the at least one driving parameter includes (i) a steering direction and/or steering movement correlated with the driver target specification and/or (ii) in the event that the operating state corresponds to cornering, a cornering direction (see at least fig.1-2, p58, the steer-by-wire steering system is furthermore particularly configured in such a manner that a wheel steering movement for reducing a synchronization offset is able to be effected only in the same direction as a steering input applied by the driver. That is to say that a wheel steering movement is in principle preferably possible only in the same direction).
Claim.11 Albrecht discloses wherein the change in the steering characteristics in the operating state is initially maintained for a first time interval and is the reduced in a controlled manner over a defined second time interval (see at least fig.2, p86, wherein at least one steering input correction variable here can in each case be determined as a function of a steering angle δ detected over a defined time prior to the error state arising, a steering angle velocity {dot over (δ)} detected over a defined time prior to the error state arising, and a steering angle acceleration {umlaut over (δ)} detected over a defined time prior to the error state arising, as well as in each case as a function of a steering angle δ detected over a defined time when or after the error state arises, a steering angle velocity {dot over (δ)} detected in this time, and a steering angle acceleration {umlaut over (δ)} detected in this time).
Claim.14 Albrecht discloses A vehicle comprising: the steering system according to claim 13 (see at least fig.1, abstract, a steer-by-wire steering system for a vehicle, p77, the steer-by-wire steering system 100).
Claim.15 Albrecht discloses wherein the vehicle is a motor vehicle (see at least abstract, a steer-by-wire steering system for a vehicle).
Claim.16 Albrecht discloses wherein the compensation variable is an offset (see at least p36, a function of a steering input correction variable and/or a driving state correction variable and/or a synchronization offset correction variable).
Claim.17 Albrecht discloses wherein the steering system is a steer-by-wire steering system (see at least abstract, a steer-by-wire steering system for a vehicle).
Claim.18 Albrecht discloses wherein the vehicle is a motor vehicle (see at least abstract, a steer-by-wire steering system for a vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albrecht (US20230017618A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Engels (US20190367074A1).
Claim.12 Albrecht does not discloses a computing unit comprising: at least one operating memory; and at least one processor configured to execute program instructions stored in the at least one operating memory to perform the claim 1.
However, Engels discloses a computing unit comprising: at least one operating memory; and at least one processor configured to execute program instructions stored in the at least one operating memory to perform the claim 1 (see at least fig.1, p48, The steer-by-wire controller 12 may be implemented by one or more analog or digital circuit(s), logic circuits, programmable processor(s), programmable controller(s), graphics processing unit(s) (GPU(s)), digital signal processor(s) (DSP(s)), application specific integrated circuit(s) (ASIC(s)), programmable logic device(s) (PLD(s)) and/or field programmable logic device(s) (FPLD(s)). The steer-by-wire controller 12 is programmed to execute instructions (e.g., stored on a memory) to implement any of the example operations disclosed herein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Albrecht to include a computing unit comprising: at least one operating memory; and at least one processor configured to execute program instructions stored in the at least one operating memory to perform the claim 1 by Engels in order to detect a current steering wheel angle of a steering wheel of the motor vehicle (see Engels’s p5).
Claim.13 Albrecht discloses a steering system (see at least fig.1, abstract, a steer-by-wire steering system for a vehicle,p77, the steer-by-wire steering system 100) comprising: an operating unit which comprises at least one steering handle (see at least fig.1, p76, a steering input device 10 which in this exemplary embodiment of a steer-by-wire steering system 100 according to the invention is a steering wheel 10 ) and at least one feedback actuator that interacts with the steering handle(see at least fig.1, p77, a feedback actuator installation 30, p78, a resisting steering torque and/or a restoring torque, can be generated at the steering input device 10 by means of the feedback actuator installation 30); at least one wheel steering angle control element operatively connected to the operating unit (see at least fig.1, a steering actuator installation 70 by means of which a steering movement of the steerable wheels 82) and configured to control a steering angle of at least one vehicle wheel see at least fig.1, p76, a steering input device 10 which in this exemplary embodiment of a steer-by-wire steering system 100 according to the invention is a steering wheel 10 ).
Albrecht does not discloses the computing unit according to claim 12.
However, Engels discloses the computing unit according to claim 12 (see at least fig.1, p48, The steer-by-wire controller 12 may be implemented by one or more analog or digital circuit(s), logic circuits, programmable processor(s), programmable controller(s), graphics processing unit(s) (GPU(s)), digital signal processor(s) (DSP(s)), application specific integrated circuit(s) (ASIC(s)), programmable logic device(s) (PLD(s)) and/or field programmable logic device(s) (FPLD(s)). The steer-by-wire controller 12 is programmed to execute instructions (e.g., stored on a memory) to implement any of the example operations disclosed herein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Albrecht to include the computing unit according to claim 12 by Engels in order to detect a current steering wheel angle of a steering wheel of the motor vehicle (see Engels’s p5).
Conclusion
Related References
The related art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 2022/0119033 A1 by Minninger teaches a steer-by-wire steering system.
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664