DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the substrate is configured to move in the first direction or the second direction” of Claim 6 and “an input chamber capable of inputting the substrate in a plurality of directions comprising the first direction and the second directions perpendicular to each other at the front end of the first deposition chamber” of Claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s), see also 112 rejection below. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) The “is 60 degrees to 95 degrees” of Claim 2 should be “is in a range of 60 degrees to 95 degrees”.
(2) The “to forms a first organic light emitting layer” of Claim 4 should be “to form a first organic light emitting layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim interpretation
(1) In regard to the “a first deposition chamber comprising a first evaporation source configured to discharge a third light emitting material for forming a third organic light emitting device through a first nozzle disposed”, “a second deposition chamber comprising a second evaporation source configured to discharge a first light emitting material for forming a first organic light emitting device through a second nozzle disposed”, and “a third deposition chamber comprising a third evaporation source configured to discharge a second light emitting material for forming a second organic light emitting device through a third nozzle disposed” of Claim 1,
The “first”, “second” and “third” merely define a different identity or different naming, thus they are intended use of an apparatus, in other words;
Adding A material into A source, adding A material into B source or adding B material into A source or any other source having different name is mere different use of a source. All the chamber naming, material naming, light emitting device naming
A mere different use of an apparatus does not add a patentable weight to the cited apparatus, see the MPEP citations below.
Consequently, when an apparatus of a prior art teaches plural chambers and plural sources, it will be considered meeting the limitation.
Similarly, in regard to the “wherein the first light emitting material is a red light emitting material, the second light emitting material is a green light emitting material, and the third light emitting material is a blue light emitting material” of Claim 9 and “wherein the first light emitting material is a green light emitting material, the second light emitting material is a red light emitting material, and the third light emitting material is a blue light emitting material” of Claim 10,
Naming A material as a first, second, or third material, naming B material as a first, second, or third material, and naming C material as a first, second, or third material are also intended use, thus a mere different naming does not add a patentable weight to the cited apparatus.
(2) In regard to the “to face a separation area between adjacent stripe patterns on a substrate having a plurality of stripe patterns”, “to face a first area of the stripe pattern”, and “to face a second area of the stripe pattern” of Claim 1,
The “a separation area between adjacent stripe patterns on a substrate having a plurality of stripe patterns”, “a first area of the stripe pattern”, and “a second area of the stripe pattern” are features related with the substrate to be processed by the claimed apparatus.
Emphasized herein, the substrate is not a structural component to constituting the claimed apparatus, rather it is a product to be processed by the claimed apparatus.
Further the examiner notes the strip pattern features on the substrate are already formed, before processing by the claimed apparatus, in other words, they are not features obtained by the claimed apparatus.
Thus, the substrate related features, such as a property of the substrate itself or a feature formed on the substrate surface before processing by the claimed apparatus, do not add a patentable weight to the claimed apparatus, see the MPEP citations below.
Consequently, when an apparatus of a prior art is capable of facing a surface of a substrate, it will be considered meeting the limitation.
(3) As discussed in the item (2) above,
The “wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of pixels, each of the plurality of pixels comprises a first subpixel, a second subpixel, and a third subpixel, the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel are alternately arranged along the first direction and elongated along the second direction, the inclination angle of the first area and the second area of the stripe pattern is 60 degrees to 95 degrees” of Claim 2 also defines substrate related features, which are not obtained by the claimed apparatus, thus, they do not add a patentable weight to the claimed apparatus.
Consequently, when an apparatus of a prior art teaches a substrate, it will be considered meeting the limitation.
(4) In case the claims 3-5 have substrate related features discussed in the items (1), (2) and (3) above, they will be examined with the same manners.
MPEP citations:
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (See MPEP 2106; Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409). When apparatus is capable of performing such functions, it is considered to meet the claim limitations. Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (See MPEP 2111.02, 2115; In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (See MPEP 2112.01; In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430,433 (CCPA 1977). It has further been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969); and the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). While features of an apparatus may be described either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus MUST be distinguished from prior art in terms of structure rather than function (See MPEP §2114).
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP §2114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
(1) Claim 1 recites “a first area of the strip pattern” and “a second area of the strip pattern”. It is not clear whether the “strip pattern” means the previously recited “adjacent strip patterns”, “a plurality of strip patterns” or another strip pattern.
An appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
(2) Claim 1 recites “the moving direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The limitation will be examined inclusive of “a moving direction”.
(3) Claim 2 is not clear.
First, claim 2 is dependent from Claim 1. Claim 1 recites “plural strip patterns”, then claim 2 recites “plural pixels. It is not clear what difference is required to distinguish the “strip patterns” from the “pixels”.
Second, claim 2 recites the “along the first direction and elongated along the second direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because the earlier recited claims do not define the “first and second directions”.
Third, claim 2 recites “the inclination angle of the first area and the second area”.
It is not clear whether the claim requires an angle between the first and second areas, or each inclination angle of each area.
The metes and bounds of Claim 2 cannot be clearly determined.
(4) The “wherein the first region has at least one or more first surface” of Claim 4, and “wherein the second region has at least one or more second surface” of Claim 5 are not clear.
First, it is not clear whether the “first region” and “second region” is a part of the apparatus, or a part of the substrate, because the earlier recited claims do not define the “first and second regions”.
Second, it is not clear whether the “first region” and “second region” are the “first area” and “second area” of claim 1. Further, it is not clear what difference is required to distinguish the “area” from the “region”.
The metes and bounds of Claims 4-5 cannot be clearly determined.
(5) Claim 6 is not clear.
First, claim 6 is dependent from Claim 1. Claim 6 recites the “the first direction” and “the second direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because the earlier recited claims do not define the “first and second directions”, and further do not recite how the two directions are defined.
Second, claim 6 recites “during a deposition process in the first deposition chamber, the substrate is configured to move in the first direction or the second direction”. It is not clear what structure requirement is required to move in the second direction, in addition to the first direction. The written description and drawing fail to clearly link the corresponding structure to perform the function of the movement. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function, rather it merely states the same language as the claim without providing any particular structure, thus it is not clear what detailed structural configuration is required to meet the claimed limitation.
The metes and bounds of Claim 6 cannot be clearly determined.
(6) Claim 8 is not clear.
First, claim 8 recites “the front end”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because the earlier recited claims do not define the “front end”.
Second, the “capable of inputting” is not clear. The term “capable” merely means “capability”, in other words, regardless of actual performance of inputting or actual structure to perform the “input”, when the capability is presented or assumed, it still reads into the claimed limitation, thus it is not clear whether the term requires capability or actual structure.
Third, claim 8 recites the “in a plurality of directions comprising the first direction and the second directions perpendicular to each other at the front end of the first deposition chamber”. However, the written description and drawing fail to clearly link the corresponding structure to perform the function of inputting from plural directions. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function, rather it merely states the same language as the claim without providing any particular structure, thus it is not clear what detailed structural configuration is required to meet the claimed limitation.
The metes and bounds of Claim 6 cannot be clearly determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonenkov (US 20130277645, hereafter ‘645) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20170137930, hereafter ‘930).
Regarding Claim 1, ‘645 teaches:
A manufacturing method of an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display (abstract, note the manufacturing method is performed by a manufacturing apparatus, and further Figs. 4, 6 and 8 show deposition sources, which are apparatus, the claimed “An apparatus for manufacturing an organic light emitting display device”);
the third organic material 30 is sprayed in a third direction k3, to form the third color organic emission layer 230 ([0065], note Fig. 8 clearly shows the k3 is a vertical direction, thus the first deposition source 500 is capable of facing an area between two strip patterns, see the claim interpretation above, the claimed “comprising: comprising a first evaporation source configured to discharge a third light emitting material for forming a third organic light emitting device through a first nozzle disposed to face a separation area between adjacent stripe patterns on a substrate having a plurality of stripe patterns”);
the first organic material 10 is sprayed in the first direction k1 as a spray direction of the first organic material 10 to form the first color organic emission layer 210 ([0062], note Fig. 4 clearly shows the k1 is an oblique direction to face a side of a strip, thus the second deposition source 500 is capable of facing an area of a strip pattern, the claimed “comprising a second evaporation source configured to discharge a first light emitting material for forming a first organic light emitting device through a second nozzle disposed to face a first area of the stripe pattern”);
the second organic material 20 is sprayed in a second direction k2 to form the second color organic emission layer 220 ([0063], note Fig. 6 clearly shows the k2 is another oblique direction to face opposite side of the strip, thus the third deposition source 500 is capable of facing another area of the strip pattern, the claimed “and comprising a third evaporation source configured to discharge a second light emitting material for forming a second organic light emitting device through a third nozzle disposed to face a second area of the stripe pattern”);
the second direction k2 is about 180 degrees from the first direction k1 ([0063]), and the thin film transistor panel 100 is moved in the horizontal direction ([0061] and [0063], the claimed “wherein the second nozzle and the third nozzle are inclined in directions opposite to each other with respect to the moving direction of the substrate”).
‘645 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 1: a first deposition chamber comprising a first evaporation source configured to discharge a third light emitting material for forming a third organic light emitting device through a first nozzle disposed to face a separation area between adjacent stripe patterns on a substrate having a plurality of stripe patterns; a second deposition chamber comprising a second evaporation source configured to discharge a first light emitting material for forming a first organic light emitting device through a second nozzle disposed to face a first area of the stripe pattern; and a third deposition chamber comprising a third evaporation source configured to discharge a second light emitting material for forming a second organic light emitting device through a third nozzle disposed to face a second area of the stripe pattern.
‘930 is analogous art in the field of substrate processing (abstract). ‘583 teaches reference numeral 706 denotes an evaporation chamber for film formation of an organic EL material by evaporation… a light emitting layer for emitting red color light is deposited in the evaporation chamber (B) 706 ([0074]), reference numeral 707 denotes an evaporation chamber for film formation of an organic EL material by evaporation… a light emitting layer for emitting green color light is deposited in the evaporation chamber (C) 707 ([0075]), and reference numeral 708 denotes an evaporation chamber for film formation of an organic EL element by evaporation… a light emitting layer for emitting blue color light is deposited in the evaporation chamber (D) 708 ([0056]). Note, each chamber has an evaporation source having a corresponding deposition material.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted each material evaporation source of ‘645 to be disposed in each deposition chamber, for the purpose of performing the intended deposition process, as required by ‘645.
Regarding Claim 2, ‘645 teaches:
a thin film transistor panel 100 ([0050], note the panel is the substrate to be processed by the apparatus of ‘642. Further, any type of the substrate can be processed by the apparatus, see also the claim interpretation above, the claimed “wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of pixels, each of the plurality of pixels comprises a first subpixel, a second subpixel, and a third subpixel, the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel are alternately arranged along the first direction and elongated along the second direction, the inclination angle of the first area and the second area of the stripe pattern is 60 degrees to 95 degrees”);
the third organic material 30 is sprayed… while the linear deposition source 500 is fixed, the thin film transistor panel 100 is moved in the horizontal direction ([0065]), and the second organic material 20 is sprayed… while the linear deposition source 500 is fixed, the thin film transistor panel 100 is moved in the horizontal direction ([0063]), and the first organic material 10 is sprayed while the linear deposition source 500 is fixed and the thin film transistor panel 100 is moved in the horizontal direction ([0061], the claimed “and during deposition in each of the first deposition chamber, the second deposition chamber, and the third deposition chamber, the substrate is configured to move in the first direction”).
Regarding Claim 3,
‘645 teaches the third organic material 30 is sprayed in a third direction k3, to form the third color organic emission layer 230 ([0065], note as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, the source is disposed in each deposition chamber. Further, Fig. 8 clearly shows the k3 is a vertical direction, thus the first deposition source is capable of discharging the third light emitting material to commonly form a third organic light emitting layer on flat surfaces, the claimed “wherein the first deposition chamber is configured to discharge the third light emitting material toward the separation area to commonly form a third organic light emitting layer in each of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel”).
Regarding Claim 4,
‘645 teaches the first organic material 10 is sprayed in the first direction k1 as a spray direction of the first organic material 10 to form the first color organic emission layer 210 ([0062], note as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, the source is disposed in each deposition chamber. Further, Fig. 4 clearly shows the k1 is an oblique direction to face a side of a strip, thus the second deposition source is capable of discharging the first light emitting material to form a first organic light emitting layer on side surfaces from the one oblique direction, the claimed “wherein the first region has at least one or more first surface, and the second deposition chamber is configured to discharge the first light emitting material toward the at least one or more first surface to forms a first organic light emitting layer in the first subpixel”).
Regarding Claim 5,
‘645 teaches the second organic material 20 is sprayed in a second direction k2 to form the second color organic emission layer 220 ([0063], note as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, the source is disposed in each deposition chamber. Further, Fig. 6 clearly shows the k2 is another oblique direction to face opposite side of the strip, thus the third deposition source is capable of discharging the second light emitting material to form a second organic light emitting layer on opposite side surfaces from the other oblique direction, the claimed “wherein the second region has at least one or more second surface, and the third deposition chamber is configured to discharge the second light emitting material toward the at least one or more second surface to form a second organic light emitting layer in the second subpixel”).
Regarding Claim 6, ‘645 teaches:
the third organic material 30 is sprayed… while the linear deposition source 500 is fixed, the thin film transistor panel 100 is moved in the horizontal direction ([0065], the claimed “wherein during a deposition process in the first deposition chamber, the substrate is configured to move in the first direction or the second direction”);
the second organic material 20 is sprayed… while the linear deposition source 500 is fixed, the thin film transistor panel 100 is moved in the horizontal direction ([0063]), and the first organic material 10 is sprayed while the linear deposition source 500 is fixed and the thin film transistor panel 100 is moved in the horizontal direction ([0061], the claimed “and during deposition processes in the second deposition chamber and the third deposition chamber, the substrate is configured to move in the first direction”).
Regarding Claims 9-10,
‘645 teaches The first color organic emission layer may include a red organic emission layer, the second color organic emission layer may include a green organic emission layer, and the third color organic emission layer may include a blue organic emission layer ([0012], note different naming is an intended use, see the claim interpretation above, the claimed “wherein the first light emitting material is a red light emitting material, the second light emitting material is a green light emitting material, and the third light emitting material is a blue light emitting material” of Claim 9, and “wherein the first light emitting material is a green light emitting material, the second light emitting material is a red light emitting material, and the third light emitting material is a blue light emitting material” of Claim 10).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘645 and ‘930, as being applied to Claim 5 rejection above, further in view of YAMADA et al. (JP 2014070242, filed in IDS, hereafter ‘242).
Regarding Claim 7,
‘645 further teaches the second organic material 20 is sprayed in a second hexahedral direction j2 that is 120 degrees from the first hexahedral direction j1, to form the second color organic emission layer 220 (Fig. 15, [0083]), and the third organic material 30 is sprayed in a third hexahedral direction j3 that is 120 degrees from the second hexahedral direction j2, to form the third color organic emission layer 230 (Fig. 16, [0084]).
Consequently, ‘645 clearly acknowledges at least rotation of either the evaporation source or the substrate is required while depositing.
‘645 and ‘930 do not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 7: comprising: a rotation chamber configured to rotate the substrate by 90 degrees between the first deposition chamber and the second deposition chamber.
‘242 is analogous art in the field of substrate processing (English abstract). ‘242 teaches the substrate rotation chamber 4b (2nd paragraph of page 2 of the English translation, note Fig. 1 shows the rotation chamber is provided between the deposition chambers 1au/1bu).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a rotation chamber rotating the substrate by at least 360 degree, between the deposition chambers, for the purpose of performing the intended deposition process, as required by ‘645, by rotation of the substrate.
Regarding Claim 8,
‘645 is silent about the “input chamber” of Claim 8, however, in order to provide a substrate to be processed into the deposition chamber, the apparatus of ‘645 would have required a load unit providing the substrate. This is commonly well-known feature in the art, for instance, see [0069] of ‘930 teaching a load chamber (the claimed “comprising: an input chamber capable of inputting the substrate in a direction comprising the first direction at the front end of the first deposition chamber”).
‘645 and ‘930 do not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 8: comprising: an input chamber capable of inputting the substrate in a plurality of directions comprising the first direction and the second directions perpendicular to each other at the front end of the first deposition chamber.
Fig. 1 of ‘242 shows an input chamber capable of inputting a substrate from plural directions, such as from the plural preparation chambers 3 (2nd paragraph of page 3), plural plasma clean chambers 6 (last paragraph of page 2), plural substrate stock chambers 9 (last paragraph of page 3) and pretreatment robot chamber 5 (1st paragraph of page 3).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have configured the input chamber of ‘645, so to have plural input directions, for the purpose of providing various pre-treatment process or substrate stocking.
Conclusion
/AIDEN LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718