Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9-9-2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a data processor, a data processing utility, an optimizer utility, a spectral analyzer, a in claims 1, & 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1-7, the claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. The claim has no clear preamble and it isn’t clear where the limitations start. For example, the repeated use of “comprising” makes it unclear where the preamble ends and the body of the claim begins. Further, The terms “relatively high/low” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The multiple uses of the terms “relatively high/low” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Finally, the claims appear to be written in narrative form, where the elements of the apparatus are not actively claimed, making unclear what elements are part of the claimed invention or merely elements upon which the apparatus acts upon. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (PGPub 2018/0112968)(Chen).
Regarding Claims 1 & 6, Chen discloses a control system for use in optical measurements on patterned samples (Abstract, Figs. 3 & 16), the control system comprising
a computer system (130, Fig. 3) configured for data communication with a measured data provider and comprising:
a data processor (131) configured and operable to receive and process raw measured data of first and second types concurrently collected from the patterned sample being measured (Paragraphs 45 & 104),
said first and second types of the measured data comprising, respectively, scatterometry measured data, characterized by first relatively high signal-to-noise and predetermined first relatively low spatial resolution, and interferometric measured data characterized by second relatively low signal-to-noise and predetermined second relatively high spatial resolution (Paragraph 105). Among the disclosed types of metrology techniques that may be used in this method are a Spectroscopic scatterometry and a UV Linnik interferometer which meets this limitation;
said data processor being configured to process the measured data to determine pattern parameters along said patterned sample characterized by said first signal to-noise and said second spatial resolution (Fig. 16, Steps 305-308).
The method steps of Claim 6 are also met by this disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Barak et al (PGPub 2017/0016835) (Barak).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose a measurement system configured to concurrently perform scatterometric measurements and spectral interferometric measurements on each measured spot on the sample, the measurement system comprising: a broadband light source generating light propagating along an illumination channel towards the measured spot, an interferometric assembly, and a detection system comprising a spectrometer and a pixelated detector generating, respectively, first type measured data and second type measured data concurrently collected from the measured spot on the sample, being scatterometry measured data characterized by first relatively high signal-to-noise and first relatively low spatial resolution, and interferometric measured data characterized by second relatively low signal-to-noise and second relatively high spatial resolution;
However, Barak teaches a measurement system configured to concurrently perform scatterometric measurements and spectral interferometric measurements on each measured spot on the sample (Fig. 1a), the measurement system comprising:
a broadband light source (14, Paragraph 52) generating light propagating along an illumination channel (Lp) towards the measured spot, an interferometric assembly (26 & 28), and a detection system comprising a spectrometer (19B) and a pixelated detector generating (Fig. 1C, 18), respectively, first type measured data and second type measured data concurrently collected from the measured spot on the sample, being scatterometry measured data characterized by first relatively high signal-to-noise and first relatively low spatial resolution, and interferometric measured data characterized by second relatively low signal-to-noise and second relatively high spatial resolution (Paragraph 57). As can be seen in a further explanation of the embodiment in Fig. 1C the spectrometer is consists of a grating and a 2D sensor (applicant’s pixelated detector) which is capable of gathering both the interferometric data (Applicant’s interferometric measured data) and the spectral reflectometer data (applicant’s scatterometry measured data);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen with a measurement system configured to concurrently perform scatterometric measurements and spectral interferometric measurements on each measured spot on the sample, the measurement system comprising: a broadband light source generating light propagating along an illumination channel towards the measured spot, an interferometric assembly, and a detection system comprising a spectrometer and a pixelated detector generating, respectively, first type measured data and second type measured data concurrently collected from the measured spot on the sample, being scatterometry measured data characterized by first relatively high signal-to-noise and first relatively low spatial resolution, and interferometric measured data characterized by second relatively low signal-to-noise and second relatively high spatial resolution because this is functionally equivalent to the systems proposed to be used in Chen and would be chosen based upon cost and availability of parts.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose to selectively activate the interferometric assembly to collect said second type measured data and disactivate the interferometric assembly to collect the scatterometric measured data;
However, Chen discloses to selectively activate the interferometric assembly to collect said second type measured data and disactivate the interferometric assembly to collect the scatterometric measured data (Paragraph 57). The proposed not using the mirror by way of moving it out of the optical path or a shutter would meet this limitation;
The reasons for combination remain the same as those in the rejection of claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, & 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 2 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an optimizer utility configured and operable to process the interferometric measured data to transform each pixel-related interferogram of the interferometric measured data into a pixel-related spectrum, and utilize the scatterometry measured data to extract, from said each pixel-related spectrum, a spectral part matching the scatterometry data, and generate respective first and second matching spectra; and a spectral analyzer utility configured and operable to analyze the first and second matching spectra and extract, from a spectral difference between the first and second matching spectra, distribution of pixel-related measured values of said at least one parameter in a pixel matrix of a size of the measured spot, and generate output data indicative of said distribution, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claim 3 would be allowable based upon its dependency.
As to Claim 7 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious processing the interferometric measured data to transform each pixel-related interferogram of the interferometric measured data into a pixel-related spectrum, utilizing the scatterometry measured data to extract, from said each pixel-related spectrum, a spectral part matching the scatterometry data, and generating respective first and second matching spectra; and analyzing the first and second matching spectra and extracting from a spectral difference between the first and second matching spectra, distribution of pixel-related measured values of said at least one parameter in a pixel matrix of a size of the measured spot and generating output data indicative of said distribution, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PGPub 2022/0316856 would also meet the scope of the independent claims since it also uses an interferometer and a scatterometer to determine parameters of a test object.
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 March 25, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877