CTNF 18/845,607 CTNF 85131 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/10/2024, 08/01/2025, 09/30/2025, 02/02/2026, 03/06/2026, and 04/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Objection/s to the Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention, “LENS UNIT AND LAYERED FILM,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le (US 20210215865 A1) in view of He (US 20210294105 A1) and in further view of Hokazono (KR 20080083070 A) . Regarding claims 1 and 10, Le teaches a lens unit and a method to be used in a display system configured to display an image to a user, the lens unit and method (Fig. 1-14) comprising: a reflection-type polarizing member (630) configured to reflect light, which has been emitted toward a front side from a display surface of a display element (604) configured to display the image, and has passed through a polarizing member (691) and a first λ/4 member (685; [0088]); a first lens portion (610/611) arranged on an optical path between the display element (604) and the reflection-type polarizing member (630); a half mirror (620; [0032]) arranged between the display element (604) and the first lens portion (610/611), the half mirror (620) being configured to transmit the light emitted from the display element (604) and to reflect the light reflected by the reflection-type polarizing member (630) toward the reflection-type polarizing member (630); a second λ/4 member (625, [0088]) arranged on an optical path between the half mirror (620) and the reflection-type polarizing member (630); a protective member/laminate film (anti-reflective coating 629), arranged on an optical path between the half mirror (620) and an absorptive polarizer (661), and wherein the protective member/laminate film (anti-reflective coating 629) is brought into contact with a space formed between the protective member/laminate film (anti-reflective coating 629) and at least one of the first lens portion (611) or the absorptive polarizer (661). Le further teaches one or more lenses in the optical system ([0047]) but does not explicitly teach a second lens portion arranged on the front side of the reflection-type polarizing member (630). He teaches a second lens portion (26-3) arranged on the front side of the reflection-type polarizing member (30) and an absorptive polarizer (34). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Le with He, which results in the protective member/laminate film (anti-reflective coating 629) arranged on the optical path between the half mirror (620 of Le) and the second lens portion (26-3 of He); because it provides optically superior design ([0058], [0084]). Neither Le nor He teaches the protective member/laminate film (anti-reflective coating 629) having a maximum value for a 5° specular reflectance spectrum of 1.2% or less in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm. Hokazono teaches an anti-reflective film having a maximum value for a 5° specular reflectance spectrum of 1.2% or less in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm (p. 4, 9, 32 of the translation). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Le and He with Hokazono; because the anti-reflective film provided by Hokazono is superior in quality and lower in cost. Regarding claim 2, the combination of Le, He and Hokazono, consequently results in the protective member (anti-reflective coating of Hokazono) has a 5° specular reflectance at a wavelength of 450 nm of 0.3% or less in average value in measurement (p. 4, 9, 32 of the translation). Regarding claim 3, the combination of Le, He and Hokazono, consequently results in the protective member (anti-reflective coating of Hokazono) has a 5° specular reflectance at a wavelength of 600 nm of 0.3% or less in average value in measurement (p. 4, 9, 32 of the translation). Regarding claim 4, the combination of Le, He and Hokazono, consequently results in the protective member (anti-reflective coating) has a surface smoothness of 0.5 arcmin or less, i.e., roughness RA 6.3µm (p. 7, 13, 21 of Hokazono). Regarding claim 6, Le, as combined with He and Hokazono, further teaches the lens unit comprises a laminate portion including the second λ/4 member (625), the reflection-type polarizing member (630), and the protective member (629; Fig. 6). Regarding claim 7, Le, as combined with He and Hokazono, further teaches the laminate portion includes an absorption-type polarizing member (661) arranged between the reflection-type polarizing member (630) and the protective member (anti-reflective coating 629; [0088]). Regarding claim 8, Le, as combined with He and Hokazono, further teaches the laminate portion includes a third λ/4 member (663) arranged between the reflection-type polarizing member (630) and the protective member (anti-reflective coating 629; [0088]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of He and Hokazono in further view of Teijin PURE-ACE RM . Regarding claim 5, Le, as combined with He and Hokazono, further teaches the second λ/4 member (625) being a Teijin FM-143 ([0088]). Teijin FM-143 does not specify Re(450) < Re(550). Teijin PURE-ACE RM specifies Re(450) < Re(550) ( see RE(λ)/Re(550nm) chart; p. 08). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Teijin FM-143 with Teijin PURE-ACE WRF-S; because Teijin PURE-ACE RM offers better performance and newer. Regarding claim 9, Le, as combined with He and Hokazono, further teaches the third λ/4 member (663) being a Teijin FM-143 ([0088]). Teijin FM-143 does not specify Re(450) < Re(550). Teijin PURE-ACE RM specifies Re(450) < Re(550) ( see RE(λ)/Re(550nm) chart; p. 08). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Teijin FM-143 with Teijin PURE-ACE WRF-S; because Teijin PURE-ACE RM offers better performance and newer. Conclusion The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent documents, US 20210173134 A1, US 20220244552 A1, US 20210271082 A1, US 20200132994 A1, US 20210072533 A1, US 20200142276 A1, US 11885959 B1, US 20210294012 A1, US 20200041785 A1, US 20190384070 A1, US 20200348527 A1, US 20190265493 A1, US 20190265494 A1, US 20190196174 A1, US 20190086675 A1, US 20190377182 A1, US 20200319388 A1, US 20190086672 A1, US 20200073123 A1, US 20200053350 A1, US 20200081234 A1, US 20180299676 A1, US 20190018255 A1, US 20190384045 A1, US 20180239146 A1, US 20190243147 A1, US 20200192126 A1, US 10691198 B1, US 20180039052 A1, US 20170227777 A1, US 20170227770 A1, US 20170068102 A1, US 20150370074 A1, US 20100177113 A1, US 20070273970 A1, US 20070070508 A1, US 20020021499 A1, US 6400493 B1, US 6661495 B1, US 6271969 B1, US 6262841 B1, US 5966242 A, US 5853240 A, and US 5715023 A, disclose optical stacks for head mounted displays. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BAO-LUAN Q LE whose telephone number is (571)270-5362. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday; 9:00AM-5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Minh-Toan Ton can be reached on (571) 272 230303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Any response to this action should be mailed to: Commissioner for Patents P.O. Box 1450 Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450 Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry) Or: (571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”) Hand-delivered responses should be brought to: Customer Service Window Randolph Building 401 Dulany Street Alexandria, VA 22314 /BAO-LUAN Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/845,607 Page 2 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/845,607 Page 3 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/845,607 Page 4 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/845,607 Page 5 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/845,607 Page 6 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/845,607 Page 7 Art Unit: 2882