Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16, 18-24, 26, 28-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1: WO 2021/10935.
Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a method comprising:
at an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, in a core network of a cellular communications system (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, e.g., AMF):
sending, to a Session Management Function, SMF, associated with a first network slice, a first message that initiates transfer of one or more Protocol Data Unit, PDU, sessions of a User Equipment, UE, from the first network slice to a second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE, and page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (comprising, e.g., the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, N2 SM Information) to the SMF); and
at the SMF :
receiving the first message from the AMF (see D1, page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request); and
sending, toward the UE, a session management message that causes the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions of the UE from the first network slice to the second network slice (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
Regarding claim 2, D1 disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the first message comprises information that indicates the second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE).
Regarding claim 3, D1 disclose the method of claim 2 wherein the first message further comprises information that indicates the first network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE).
Regarding claim 4, D1 disclose the method of claim 2 wherein the first message further comprises:(a) information that indicates whether the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions from the first network slice to the second network slice is to be performed immediately (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE, and page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (comprising, e.g., the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, N2 SM Information) to the SMF) or at a scheduled time; (b) information that indicates that SSC mode 3 logic can be applied; or (c) both (a) and (b).
Regarding claim 5, D1 disclose the method of claim 1 wherein: at the SMF, sending the session management message toward the UE comprises sending a second message comprising the session management message to the AMF (see D1, Fig. 6B, page 16, e.g., step 618, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF) and the method further comprises, at the AMF: receiving the second message from the SMF (see D1, Fig. 6B, page 16, e.g., step 617); and sending the session management message to the UE (see D1, Fig. 6B, page 17, e.g., step 619).
Regarding claim 6, D1 disclose the method of claim 1 further comprising: at the UE:
receiving the session management message (see D1, Fig. 6B, page 17, e.g., step 619); and performing one or more actions to effect the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions from the first network slice to the second network slice responsive to the session management message (see D1, Fig. 6B, page 17, e.g., steps 620-621).
Regarding claim 7, D1 disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the first message is a Nsmf_PDUSessionUpdateSMContext Request (see D1, page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request).
Regarding claim 8, D1 disclose the method of claim l wherein the session management message is a PDU session modification request (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
Regarding claim 9, D1 discloses a method performed by an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, in a core network of a cellular communications system, the method comprising:
sending, to a Session Management Function, SMF, associated with a first network slice, a first message that initiates transfer of one or more Protocol Data Unit, PDU, sessions of a User Equipment, UE, from the first network slice to a second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE, and page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (comprising, e.g., the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, N2 SM Information) to the SMF);
receiving, from the SMF, a second message comprising a session management message that causes the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions of the UE from the first network slice to the second network slice (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)); and
sending the session management message to the UE (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
Regarding claim 10, D1 disclose the method of claim 10 wherein the first message comprises information that indicates the second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE).
Regarding claim 11, D1 disclose the method of claim 11 wherein the first message further comprises information that indicates the first network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE).
Regarding claim 12, D1 disclose the method of claim 11
Regarding claim 13, D1 disclose the method of claim 10 wherein the session management message is a PDU session modification request (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
Regarding claim 14, D1 disclose the method of claim 10 wherein the first message is a NsmfPDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request (see D1, page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request).
15. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 16, D1 discloses a network node for implementing an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, e.g., AMF), for a core network of a cellular communications system, the network node comprising processing circuitry configured to cause the network node to:
send, to a Session Management Function, SMF, associated with a first network slice, a first message that initiates transfer of one or more Protocol Data Unit, PDU, sessions of a User Equipment, UE, from the first network slice to a second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE, and page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (comprising, e.g., the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, N2 SM Information) to the SMF);
receive, from the SMF, a second message comprising a session management message that causes the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions of the UE from the first network slice to the second network slice (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)); and
send the session management message to the UE (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
17. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 18, D1 discloses a method performed by a Session Management Function, SMF (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, e.g., SMF), associated with a first network slice in a core network of a cellular communications system, the method comprising:
receiving, from an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF , a first message that initiates transfer of one or more Protocol Data Unit, PDU, sessions of a User Equipment, UE, from the first network slice to a second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE, and page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (comprising, e.g., the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, N2 SM Information) to the SMF); and
sending, toward the UE, a session management message that causes the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions of the UE from the first network slice to the second network slice (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
Regarding claim 19, D1 disclose the method of claim 20 wherein the first message comprises information that indicates the second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE).
Regarding claim 20, D1 disclose the method of claim 21 wherein the first message further comprises information that indicates the first network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE).
Regarding claim 21, D1 disclose the method of claim 21 wherein the first message further comprises:(a) information that indicates whether the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions from the first network slice to the second network slice is to be performed immediately (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE, and page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (comprising, e.g., the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, N2 SM Information) to the SMF) or at a scheduled time; (b) information that indicates that SSC mode 3 logic can be applied; or (c) both (a) and (b).
Regarding claim 22, D1 disclose the method of claim 20 wherein: sending the session management message toward the UE comprises sending a second message comprising the session management message to the AMF (see D1, Fig. 6B, page 16, e.g., step 618, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF) and the method further comprises, at the AMF: receiving the second message from the SMF (see D1, Fig. 6B, page 16, e.g., step 617).
Regarding claim 23, D1 disclose the method of claim 20 wherein the first message is a NsmfPDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request (see D1, page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request).
Regarding claim 24, D1 disclose the method of claim 20 wherein the session management message is a PDU session modification request (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
25. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 26, D1 discloses a network node for implementing a Session Management Function, SMF, associated with a first network slice in a core network of a cellular communications system, the network node comprising processing circuitry configured to cause the network node to:
receive, from an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF , a first message that initiates transfer of one or more Protocol Data Unit, PDU, sessions of a User Equipment, UE,
send, toward the UE, a session management message that causes the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions of the UE from the first network slice to the second network slice (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
27. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 28, D1 discloses a method performed by a User Equipment, UE (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, e.g., UE), the method comprising:
receiving a first message from a Session Management Function, SMF, wherein the first message initiates transfer of one or more Protocol Data Unit, PDU, sessions of the UE from a first network slice to a second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE, and page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (comprising, e.g., the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, N2 SM Information) to the SMF); and
performing one or more actions to effect the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions from the first network slice to the second network slice responsive to the first message (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
Regarding claim 29, D1 disclose the method of claim 31 wherein the first message comprises information that indicates the second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE).
Regarding claim 30, D1 disclose the method of claim 32 wherein the first message further comprises information that indicates the first network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE).
Regarding claim 31, D1 disclose the method of claim 31 wherein the first message is a PDU session modification request (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
32. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 33, D1 discloses a User Equipment, UE, comprising: one or more transmitters; one or more receivers; processing circuitry associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers, the processing circuitry configured to cause
the UE to:
receive a first message from a Session Management Function, SMF, wherein the first message initiates transfer of one or more Protocol Data Unit, PDU, sessions of the UE from a first network slice to a second network slice (see D1, Figs. 6A-B, page 14, e.g., step 603, the AMF generates the new S-NSSAI based on the current S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#1) of the PDU session and the S-NSSAI (i.e. the network slice S#2) supported by the target RAN node RAN2 of the UE, and page 15, step 604, e.g., the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request (comprising, e.g., the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, N2 SM Information) to the SMF); and perform one or more actions to effect the transfer of the one or more PDU sessions from the first network slice to the second network slice responsive to the first message (see D1, Figs 6A-B, page 16, step 618, e.g., when the SMF determines that the current network slice of the PDU session is modified in step 604, the SMF initiates to modify (e.g. update) the network slice information of the PDU session, e.g., in the AMF and/or the UE. In this embodiment, the SMF sends an Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. This message includes parameters such as the PDU session ID, the new S-NSSAI, the N1 SM container (comprising, e.g. PDU session modification command (new S-NSSAI)), and page17, step 619, e.g., the AMF updates the PDU session context with the new S-NSSAI. The AMF sends a PDU session modification command (message) (comprising the new S-NSSAI) to the UE, to modify the slice information of the PDU session).
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477