Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hudson et al. (USPGPub 2016/0163558).
Regarding claims 1, 4-5 Hudson teaches that it is known to generate a first plasma using an etching reactant and partially etching a feature of a stack and thereafter depositing a film on the sidewalls of the feature by forming a protective coating on the sidewalls of the feature [0009] by allowing a first reactant to adsorb onto the surface of the substrate followed by exposure to a second reactant to form a protective film [0048] wherein the film is formed of a first reactant that may be an organic metal precursor and the second may be a diamine [0052] wherein the first reactant may further comprise formaldehyde wherein the protective coating comprises oxygen [0083] wherein the deposition may be repeated multiple times [0006] and the etching and film deposition are repeated in a cyclical manner until a desired etch depth is reached (see Fig. 2A) and wherein the feature has an aspect ratio in the range claimed [0066].
Regarding claim 7, the protective film may be deposited without the use of plasma in the reaction chamber [0049].
Regarding claim 9, the etching and coating operations of Hudson may be performed in the same chamber [0065].
Regarding claim 10, Hudson further teaches the use of fluorocarbon etchants [0073].
Regarding claim 11, Hudson further teaches wherein an optional purge step may take place during the formation of the protective film [0097].
Regarding claim 12, Hudson further teaches a stack formation reading upon that claimed [0008].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson et al. (USPGPub 2016/0163558) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7 and 9-12 above and further in view of Hudson et al. (USPGPub 2016/0163561)(referred to herein as Hudson2).
Regarding claim 6, the teachings of Hudson are as shown above. Hudson teaches the use of diamine reactants but fails to cite those specifically claimed. However, Hudson2, incorporated by reference into Hudson [0052], teaches that the use of some of the specific diamines claimed [0007]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific diamines of Hudson2 in the invention of Hudson because Hudson generally teaches the obviousness of doing so implicitly by incorporating those elements into his invention from Hudson2.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson et al. (USPGPub 2016/0163558) as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 7 and 9-12 above and further in view of Hudson et al. (USPGPub 0268141)(referred to herein as Hudson3).
Regarding claim 8, the teachings of Hudson are as shown above. Hudson fails to teach the use of polyazomethines in his composition. However, Hudson3 teaches that it is known to employ polyazomethine as a protective polymer in the sidewall passivation of high aspect ratio features as in Hudson [0065](abstract), in processes wherein a first and second reactant are employed to form the composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the polyazomethine (and the components necessary to form it) in the invention of Hudson as guided by Hudson3 as a simple substitution of one known protective layer employed in the sidewall passivation of high aspect ratio structures for another wherein the results of the substitution would have been predictable based upon the teachings of Hudson3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-22 were allowed.
Claims 2-3 were objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: it is not known in the prior art to method of form an etched feature in a stack comprising a dielectric material on a semiconductor substrate, the method comprising:(a) generating a first plasma comprising an etching reactant, exposing the substrate to the first plasma, and partially etching the feature in the stack;(b) after (a), depositing a protective film on sidewalls of the feature by (i) exposing the substrate to a first reactant and allowing the first reactant to adsorb onto the substrate, wherein the first reactant comprises an aldehyde functional group;(ii) exposing the substrate to a second reactant, and wherein the first and second reactants react with one another to form the protective film, and(iii) repeating (i) and (ii) in a cyclic manner until the protective film reaches a target thickness, wherein the protective film is an organic polymeric film; and(c) repeating (a) and (b) until the feature is etched to a final depth, wherein the protective film deposited in (b) substantially prevents lateral etch of the feature during (a'), and wherein the feature has an aspect ratio of about 5 or greater at its final depth wherein the first reactant is a dialdehyde or a trialdehyde as in claim 2 or to
form an etched feature in a stack comprising a dielectric material on a semiconductor substrate, the method comprising: (a)generating a first plasma comprising an etching reactant, exposing the substrate to the first plasma, and partially etching the feature in the stack; (b) after (a),depositingaprotectivefilmonsidewallsofthefeatureby(i)exposing the substrate to a first reactant and allowing the first reactant to adsorb onto the substrate wherein the first reactant comprises an isocyanate functional group;(ii)exposing the substrate toa second reactant, and wherein the first and second reactants react with one another to form the protective film, and(iii)repeating(i)and(ii) in a cyclic manner until the protective film reaches a target thickness, wherein the protective film is an organic polymeric film; and (c) repeating(a) and (b) until the feature is etched to a final depth, wherein the protective film deposited in(b)substantially prevents lateral etch of the feature during (a), and wherein the feature has an aspect ratio of about 5 or greater at its final depth as in claim 13.
The most pertinent prior art (cited above as Hudson and having at least one inventor in common with the current application) generally teaches a sidewall passivation technique involving an etching step and a protective film forming step as in the current claims wherein formaldehyde may be present as an additive. However, the prior art does not teach the use of dialdehydes and trialdehydes wherein there is no evidence of record to show these components as obvious various of formaldehyde, which is the simplest aldehyde form comprising a single aldehyde group. Further Hudson is entirely silent as to the use of isocyanates as first reactants in his protective film.
Another prior art (cited above as Hudson2 and having at least one inventor in common with the current application) was incorporated by reference into Hudson as cited above but fails to teach the use of aldehyde chemistry at all. Further Hudson is entirely silent as to the use of isocyanates as first reactants in his protective film.
Another prior art (cited above as Hudson3 and having at least one inventor in common with the current application) teaches that it is known to employ polyazomethines as polymers used for sidewall protection in the formation of high aspect ratio stack structures but the reference is silent as to the use of isocyanate components, dialdehydes or trialdehydes.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717