Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2004/0146692 A1) in view of Chu et al. (US 5,049,615 A).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 6-7, Inoue discloses a resin composition for printed wiring boards (para 0002) comprising polyphenylene ether having an unsaturated carbon-carbon double bond at a terminal (Abstract, 0016, 0029-0030).
Inoue does not disclose the resin composition comprises the resin (A) as claimed.
Chu discloses engineering thermoplastic compositions for electrical applications (Col 1, lines 20-23), comprising polyindane (Col 4, line 43). The polyindane structure comprises units according to Formulas (I), (II), and (III) (Col 3, line 53 – Col 4, line 10):
which correspond to the claimed units (a), (b), and (c). The indane content (i.e. unit (I)) comprises 90% or more of the polyindane, and the weight average molecular weight of the polyindane is less than 10,000 (Col 5, lines 2-6). Chu discloses adding 1-30 wt % polyindane structure to engineering thermoplastics such as polyphenylene ether, in order to lower viscosity, improve melt processibility, and impart shear thinning properties (Col 3, lines 20-30; Col 6, lines 25-26).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Inoue to incorporate the teachings of Chu and produce the resin composition of Inoue further comprising the polyindane structure of Chu, in an amount of 1-30% polyindane with respect to the total of polyindane and polyphenylene ether. Doing so would lower viscosity, improve melt processibility, and impart shear thinning properties.
Inoue in view of Chu does not specifically disclose the polyindane having a terminal group according to the Formula (T1) as claimed or number average molecular weight as claimed.
However, Chu discloses the polyindane is synthesized in the same manner as taught by the present invention, including ratio monomers, type of solvent, use of up to 20% acidic clay catalyst, and polymerization temperatures of 100-180 °C (Chu, Col 4, Example 1; Present Specification paras 0030-0033). Therefore, the polyindane of Chu would be expected to have the same structure according to Formula (T1-1) as claimed, including terminal group according to Formula (T1) as claimed, and number average molecular weight as claimed. Further, given the relationship between weight average molecular weight (Mw) and number average molecular weight (Mn), i.e. Mw/Mn>1, it is clear that the number average molecular weight would necessarily overlap that presently claimed.
Regarding Claims 3-4, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue further discloses the polyphenylene ether compound has a structure according to the Formula (I):
wherein X is an aryl group (i.e. aromatic group); (Y)m is a poly(phenylene ether) moiety; Z is a phenylene group; R1 to R3 each independently is a hydrogen atom, and the like; n is an integer of 1 to 6; and q is an integer of 1 to 4 (Abstract; paras 0016-0017). The poly(phenylene ether) moiety Y is represented by formula (II) (para 0020):
.
Therefore the polyphenylene ether compound of Inoue corresponds to the claimed polyphenylene ether compounds represented by Formula (OP) wherein Rx is (Rx-1), and Formula (OP-1).
Regarding Claim 5, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue further discloses the number averaged molecular weight of the polyphenylene ether compound is 1000-7000 (para 0023).
While Inoue in view of Chu does not disclose the weight average molecular weight of the polyphenylene ether compound, since Inoue discloses polyphenylene ether compound a structure and number averaged molecular weight overlapping that claimed and given the relationship between weight average molecular weight (Mw) and number average molecular weight (Mn), i.e. Mw/Mn>1, the polyphenylene ether compound of Inoue would be expected to also have weight average molecular weight overlapping that claimed.
Regarding Claim 8, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue in view of Chu does not disclose or require the use of polymerization inhibitor. Therefore it would have been obvious to produce the resin composition comprising no polymerization inhibitor.
Regarding Claims 9-10, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue further discloses the resin composition may further comprise polyfunctional (meth)acrylate compounds (para 0044), unmodified polyphenylene ether compounds (para 0047), and/or styrene-containing compatibilizers (para 0048).
Regarding Claim 11, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above, including amount of 1-30% polyindane with respect to the total of polyindane and polyphenylene ether.
Inoue further discloses a ratio of polyphenylene ether compound to curing agent is 30/70 to 90/10 (para 0032). No other resin are required.
Therefore the total content of polyindane and polyphenylene ether compound relative to 100 parts resin solid content would be 30.2 to 92.8% (
30
+
30
99
70
+
30
+
30
99
*
100
t
o
90
+
30
*
90
70
10
+
90
+
30
*
90
70
*
100
).
Regarding Claim 12, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue further discloses the composition may comprise fillers (para 0049).
Regarding Claim 13, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 12 above. The examples of Inoue further disclose using 14 parts silica inorganic filler relative to 100 parts resin solids (para 0081).
Regarding Claim 14, Inoue discloses a resin composition for printed wiring boards (para 0002) comprising polyphenylene ether having an unsaturated carbon-carbon double bond at a terminal (Abstract, 0016, 0029-0030).
Inoue further discloses the polyphenylene ether compound has a structure according to the Formula (I):
Wherein X is an aryl group (i.e. aromatic group); (Y)m is a poly(phenylene ether) moiety; Z is a phenylene group; R1 to R3 each independently is a hydrogen atom, and the like; n is an integer of 1 to 6; and q is an integer of 1 to 4 (Abstract; paras 0016-0017). The poly(phenylene ether) moiety Y is represented by formula (II) (para 0020):
.
Therefore the polyphenylene ether compound of Inoue corresponds to the claimed polyphenylene ether compounds represented by Formula (OP) wherein Rx is (Rx-1).
Inoue further discloses the number averaged molecular weight of the polyphenylene ether compound is 1000-7000 (para 0023).
While Inoue does not disclose the weight average molecular weight of the polyphenylene ether compound, since Inoue discloses polyphenylene ether compound a structure and number averaged molecular weight overlapping that claimed, and given the relationship between weight average molecular weight (Mw) and number average molecular weight (Mn), i.e. Mw/Mn>1, the polyphenylene ether compound of Inoue would be expected to also have weight average molecular weight overlapping that claimed.
Inoue does not disclose or require the use of polymerization inhibitor. Therefore it would have been obvious to produce the resin composition comprising no polymerization inhibitor.
Inoue does not disclose the resin composition comprises the resin (A) as claimed.
Chu discloses engineering thermoplastic compositions for electrical applications (Col 1, lines 20-23), comprising polyindane (Col. 3, line 43). The polyindane structure comprises units according to Formulas (I), (II), and (III) (Col 3, line 53 – Col 4, line 10):
Which correspond to the claimed units (a), (b), and (c). The indane content (i.e. unit (I)) comprises 90% or more of the polyindane, and the weight average molecular weight of the polyindane is less than 10,000 (Col 5, lines 2-6). Chu discloses adding 1-30 wt % polyindane structure to engineering thermoplastics such as polyphenylene ether, in order to lower viscosity, improve melt processibility, and impart shear thinning properties (Col 3, lines 20-30; Col 6, lines 25-26).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Inoue to incorporate the teachings of Chu and produce the resin composition of Inoue further comprising the polyindane structure of Chu, in an amount of 1-30% polyindane with respect to the total of polyindane and polyphenylene ether. Doing so would lower viscosity, improve melt processibility, and impart shear thinning properties.
Inoue in view of Chu does not specifically disclose the polyindane having a terminal group according to the Formula (T1) as claimed or number average molecular weight as claimed.
However, Chu discloses the polyindane is synthesized in the same manner as taught by the present invention, including ratio monomers, type of solvent, use of up to 20% acidic clay catalyst, and polymerization temperatures of 100-180 °C (Chu, Col 4, Example 1; Present Specification paras 0030-0033). Therefore, the polyindane of Chu would be expected to have the same structure according to Formula (T1-1) as claimed and number average molecular weight as claimed. Further, given the relationship between weight average molecular weight (Mw) and number average molecular weight (Mn), i.e. Mw/Mn>1, it is clear that the number average molecular weight would necessarily overlap that presently claimed.
Regarding Claim 15, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue further discloses a cured product of the resin composition (para 0060).
Regarding Claim 16, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue further discloses a prepreg comprising the resin composition and a substrate (para 0060).
Regarding Claim 17, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 16 above. Inoue further discloses a laminate comprising a metal foil placed on one or both faces of the prepreg (para 0062).
Regarding Claim 18, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue further discloses the resin composition disposed on a substrate (i.e. support) (para 0059).
Regarding Claim 19, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Inoue further discloses a printed wiring board (para 0002) comprising a metal foil (i.e. conductor layer) disposed on a surface of a prepreg comprising the resin composition (para 0062) which forms an insulation layer (para 0063).
Regarding Claim 20, Inoue in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 19 above. Inoue further discloses the resin composition is for production of printed wiring boards and semiconductor devices (para 0004).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (JP 2010/053178 A) in view of Chu.
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 6-7, Fujiwara discloses a polyphenylene ether resin composition for a printed wiring board (para 0001), comprising a polyphenylene ether having a terminal modified with ethenylbenzyl group (para 0010).
Fujiwara does not disclose the resin composition comprises the resin (A) as claimed.
Chu discloses engineering thermoplastic compositions for electrical applications (Col 1, lines 20-23), comprising polyindane (Col.3, line 43). The polyindane structure comprises units according to Formulas (I), (II), and (III) (Col 3, line 53 – Col 4, line 10):
Which correspond to the claimed units (a), (b), and (c). The indane content (i.e. unit (I)) comprises 90% or more of the polyindane, and the weight average molecular weight of the polyindane is less than 10,000 (Col 5, lines 2-6). Chu discloses adding 1-30 wt % polyindane structure to engineering thermoplastics such as polyphenylene ether, in order to lower viscosity, improve melt processibility, and impart shear thinning properties (Col 3, lines 20-30; Col 6, lines 25-26).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Fujiwara to incorporate the teachings of Chu and produce the resin composition of Fujiwara further comprising the polyindane structure of Chu, in an amount of 1-30% polyindane with respect to the total of polyindane and polyphenylene ether. Doing so would lower viscosity, improve melt processibility, and impart shear thinning properties.
Fujiwara in view of Chu does not specifically disclose the polyindane having a terminal group according to the Formula (T1) as claimed or number average molecular weight as claimed.
However, Chu discloses the polyindane is synthesized in the same manner as taught by the present invention, including ratio monomers, type of solvent, use of up to 20% acidic clay catalyst, and polymerization temperatures of 100-180 °C (Chu, Col 4, Example 1; Present Specification paras 0030-0033). Therefore, the polyindane of Chu would be expected to have the same structure according to Formula (T1-1) as claimed, including terminal group according to Formula (T1) as claimed, and number average molecular weight as claimed. Further, given the relationship between weight average molecular weight (Mw) and number average molecular weight (Mn), i.e. Mw/Mn>1, it is clear that the number average molecular weight would necessarily overlap that presently claimed.
Regarding Claims 3-4, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara further discloses the polyphenylene ether has a structure according to Formula (I):
wherein X represents an aryl group (i.e. aromatic group), (Y)m is a polyphenylene ether moiety; R1 to R3 each independently is a hydrogen atom; n is an integer of 1 to 6; and q is an integer of 1 to 4 (paras 0019-0021). The polyphenylene ether moiety Y is represented by formula (II) (paras 0023-0024):
.
Therefore the polyphenylene ether compound of Fujiwara corresponds to the claimed polyphenylene ether compounds represented by Formula (OP) wherein Rx is (Rx-1), and Formula (OP-1).
Regarding Claim 5, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara further discloses the polyphenylene ether has a number average molecular weight of 500 to 7000 (para 0021).
While Fujiwara in view of Chu does not disclose the weight average molecular weight of the polyphenylene ether compound, since Fujiwara discloses polyphenylene ether compound a structure and number averaged molecular weight overlapping that claimed, and given the relationship between weight average molecular weight (Mw) and number average molecular weight (Mn), i.e. Mw/Mn>1, the polyphenylene ether compound of Fujiwara would be expected to also have weight average molecular weight overlapping that claimed.
Regarding Claim 8, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara in view of Chu does not disclose or require the use of polymerization inhibitor. Therefore it would have been obvious to produce the resin composition comprising no polymerization inhibitor.
Regarding Claims 9-10, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara further discloses the resin composition may further comprise polyfunctional (meth)acrylate compounds (para 0039).
Regarding Claim 11, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above, including amount of 1-30% polyindane with respect to the total of polyindane and polyphenylene ether.
Fujiwara further discloses a ratio of polyphenylene ether compound to curing agent is 30/70 to 90/10 (para 0041). No other resins are required.
Therefore the total content of polyindane and polyphenylene ether compound relative to 100 parts resin solid content would be 30.2 to 92.8% (
30
+
30
99
70
+
30
+
30
99
*
100
t
o
90
+
30
*
90
70
10
+
90
+
30
*
90
70
*
100
).
Regarding Claim 12, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara further discloses the composition may comprise inorganic filler (para 0050).
Regarding Claim 13, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 12 above. Fujiwara further discloses using 10-100 parts by mass inorganic filler with respect to 100 parts resins (para 0053).
Regarding Claim 14, Fujiwara discloses a polyphenylene ether resin composition for a printed wiring board (para 0001), comprising a polyphenylene ether having a terminal modified with ethenylbenzyl group (para 0010).
Fujiwara further discloses the polyphenylene ether has a structure according to Formula (I):
wherein X represents an aryl group (i.e. aromatic group), (Y)m is a polyphenylene ether moiety; R1 to R3 each independently is a hydrogen atom; n is an integer of 1 to 6; and q is an integer of 1 to 4 (paras 0019-0021). The polyphenylene ether moiety Y is represented by formula (II) (paras 0023-0024):
.
Therefore the polyphenylene ether compound of Fujiwara corresponds to the claimed polyphenylene ether compounds represented by Formula (OP) wherein Rx is (Rx-1).
Fujiwara further discloses the polyphenylene ether has a number average molecular weight of 500 to 7000 (para 21).
While Fujiwara in view of Chu does not disclose the weight average molecular weight of the polyphenylene ether compound, since Fujiwara discloses polyphenylene ether compound a structure and number averaged molecular weight overlapping that claimed, and given the relationship between weight average molecular weight (Mw) and number average molecular weight (Mn), i.e. Mw/Mn>1, the polyphenylene ether compound of Fujiwara would be expected to also have weight average molecular weight overlapping that claimed.
Fujiwara does not disclose or require the use of polymerization inhibitor. Therefore it would have been obvious to produce the resin composition comprising no polymerization inhibitor.
Fujiwara does not disclose the resin composition comprises the resin (A) as claimed.
Chu discloses engineering thermoplastic compositions for electrical applications (Col 1, lines 20-23), comprising polyindane (Col.3, line 43). The polyindane structure comprises units according to Formulas (I), (II), and (III) (Col 3, line 53 – Col 4, line 10):
Which correspond to the claimed units (a), (b), and (c). The indane content (i.e. unit (I)) comprises 90% or more of the polyindane, and the weight average molecular weight of the polyindane is less than 10,000 (Col 5, lines 2-6). Chu discloses adding 1-30 wt % polyindane structure to engineering thermoplastics such as polyphenylene ether, in order to lower viscosity, improve melt processibility, and impart shear thinning properties (Col 3, lines 20-30; Col 6, lines 25-26).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Fujiwara to incorporate the teachings of Chu and produce the resin composition of Fujiwara further comprising the polyindane structure of Chu, in an amount of 1-30% polyindane with respect to the total of polyindane and polyphenylene ether. Doing so would lower viscosity, improve melt processibility, and impart shear thinning properties.
Fujiwara in view of Chu does not specifically disclose the polyindane having a terminal group according to the Formula (T1) as claimed or number average molecular weight as claimed.
However, Chu discloses the polyindane is synthesized in the same manner as taught by the present invention, including ratio monomers, type of solvent, use of up to 20% acidic clay catalyst, and polymerization temperatures of 100-180 °C (Chu, Col 4, Example 1; Present Specification paras 0030-0033). Therefore, the polyindane of Chu would be expected to have the same structure according to Formula (T1-1) as claimed and number average molecular weight as claimed. Further, given the relationship between weight average molecular weight (Mw) and number average molecular weight (Mn), i.e. Mw/Mn>1, it is clear that the number average molecular weight would necessarily overlap that presently claimed.
Regarding Claim 15, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara further discloses a cured product of the resin composition (para 0064).
Regarding Claim 16, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara further discloses a prepreg comprising the resin composition and a substrate (paras 0058-0059).
Regarding Claim 17, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 16 above. Fujiwara further discloses a metal foil clad laminate comprising a metal foil disposed on one or both surfaces of the prepreg (para 0062).
Regarding Claim 18, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara further discloses a prepreg formed by coating a substrate (i.e. support) with the resin composition (i.e. forming a layer on the support) (paras 0058-0060).
Regarding Claim 19, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Fujiwara further discloses a printed wiring board comprising a metal foil (i.e. conductor layer) and a laminate comprising the resin composition (para 0063), wherein the resin composition is an insulating material (para 0001).
Regarding Claim 20, Fujiwara in view of Chu discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 19 above. Fujiwara further discloses the resin composition is for production of printed wiring boards and semiconductor devices (para 0002).
Conclusion
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787