Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Chen was disclosed in the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 13 recites “the circuit board is adapted to be placed in the heat dissipation channels”, which is unclear to the office. The specification lacks any disclosure regarding placing a circuit board within a heat dissipation channel. The office is unsure how that is even possible, as the gaps between adjacent fins are very narrow. The office will interpret said limitation as the circuit board is placed in thermal connection with a heat dissipation channel.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 15 recites “the circuit board is adapted to be placed in the heat dissipation channels”, which is unclear to the office. The specification lacks any disclosure regarding placing a circuit board within a heat dissipation channel. The office is unsure how that is even possible, as the gaps between adjacent fins are very narrow. The office will interpret said limitation as the circuit board is placed in thermal connection with a heat dissipation channel.
Dependent claim 16 is also rejected under 112(a) as being dependent upon claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites “the circuit board is placed in a heat dissipation channel”, however, the office is unclear to how this arrangement works. The claims lacks any details to where or how the heat dissipation channels are formed/located; therefore, the office will interpret said limitation as the circuit board is placed in thermal connection with a heat dissipation channel.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites “the circuit board is placed in a heat dissipation channel”, however, the office is unclear to how this arrangement works. The claims lacks any details to where or how the heat dissipation channels are formed/located; therefore, the office will interpret said limitation as the circuit board is placed in thermal connection with a heat dissipation channel.
Dependent claim 16 is also rejected under 112(b) as being dependent upon claim 15.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the circuit board is adapted to be placed in the heat dissipation channels” in claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a guide strip is provided on one of the shell and the heat sinks & a guide slot is formed on the other of the shell” in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the circuit board is adapted to be placed in heat dissipation channels” in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a plurality of heat sinks of any one of claim 1, wherein the heat sinks are disposed on the first side or a second side of the circuit board.” in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings only disclose a single heat sink disposed on either side, no figures discloses multiple heatsinks disposed on either side. The office will interpret said limitation as the heat sink disposed on the first side or second side. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (U.S 2009/0120612 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Zhang discloses a heat sink, comprising: a base (Fig.2, #12); and a plurality of heat dissipation fins (Fig.2, #14) disposed on the base at intervals along a first direction (Fig.2, #144 extends upwards (vertical direction)), wherein two of the heat dissipation fins adjacent to each other and the base jointly define a heat dissipation channel (Fig.2, #140 is the heat dissipation channels) extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig.2, #140 extends (horizontal) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical)
In regards to Claim 2, Zhang discloses the heat sink of claim 1, wherein, along the first direction or the second direction, the heat dissipation capacity of at least part of the heat dissipation fins in at least one end region is less than the heat dissipation capacity of at least part of the heat dissipation fins located in a middle region (Fig.2 and paragraph [0019], which discloses the heat dissipation capacity of the fins is less at one end region (shorter fins) compared to the fins located in the middle region (higher fins))
In regards to Claim 3, Zhang discloses the heat sink of claim 1, wherein, along the first direction or the second direction, the overall rib face efficiency of at least part of the heat dissipation fins in at least one end region is less than the overall rib face efficiency of at least part of the heat dissipation fins located in a middle region (Fig.2 #144 and the end region has less rib face efficiency than the middle region fins due to their surface area’s being different in size).
In regards to Claim 4, Zhang discloses the heat sink of claim 1, wherein, along the first direction or the second direction, the height of at least part of the heat dissipation fins in at least one end region is less than the height of at least part of the heat dissipation fins located in a middle region (Fig.2 and paragraph [0019], discloses fins #144 at one end region is less than the height of fins #144 in the middle region).
In regards to Claim 6, Zhang discloses the heat sink of claim 1, wherein, along the first direction or the second direction, the surface area of at least part of the heat dissipation fins in at least one end region is less than the surface area of at least part of the heat dissipation fins located in a middle region ((Fig.2 and paragraph [0019], discloses fins #144 at one end region has less surface area (total size) than the surface area of fins #144 in the middle region).
In regards to Claim 7, Zhang discloses the heat sink of claim 1, wherein, along the first direction or the second direction, the thermal conductivity of at least part of the heat dissipation fins in at least one end region is less than the thermal conductivity of at least part of the heat dissipation fins located in a middle region (Fig.2 and paragraph [0019], discloses fins #144 at one end region has less surface area which would result in less thermal conductivity than the fins #144 in the middle region having greater surface area, thus greater thermal conductivity).
In regards to Claim 8, Zhang discloses the heat sink of claim 1, wherein, along the first direction or the second direction, the height of at least one end of at least one of the heat dissipation fins is less than the height of a middle portion of the heat dissipation fin (Fig.2 and paragraph [0019], discloses #144 at the one end region has fins of less height compared to the fins located in the middle region).
In regards to Claim 15, Zhang discloses a circuit board, comprising: a substrate (Fig.1, #22 which can be a single circuit board (substrate), see paragraph [0018]); and a plurality of heat generation components (Fig.2, #24) disposed on a first side of the substrate (Fig.1), wherein the plurality of heat generation components is disposed at intervals along a first direction to define a plurality of heat dissipation gaps (Fig.1, #24 are placed having gaps between the next component #24, which are consider the heat dissipation gaps) the circuit board is adapted to be placed in heat dissipation channels (Fig.1, #22 is thermally connected to the heat dissipation channels #140 formed via fins #144), and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the heat dissipation channels (Fig.2, #144 extend in the vertical direction while the heat dissipation channels extend in perpendicularly to the first (horizontal direction).
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 111867338 A).
In regards to Claim 1, Chen disclose a heat sink (Fig.4), comprising: a base (Fig.4, #30 includes a base); and a plurality of heat dissipation fins (Fig.4, #31) disposed on the base at intervals along a first direction (Fig.4), wherein two of the heat dissipation fins adjacent to each other and the base jointly define a heat dissipation channel (Fig.4, gaps between #31 are heat dissipation channels) extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig.4, the gaps run horizontal perpendicular to the extending directions of the channels).
In regards to Claim 5, Chen discloses the heat sink of claim 1, Wherein, along the first direction or the second direction, the width of at least part of the heat dissipation channels in at least one end region is greater than the width of at least part of the heat dissipation channels located in a middle region (Fig.4, #30 includes at least one end region where the width between fins #31 is greater, than the width between fins #31 in the middle region).
In regards to Claim 9, Chen discloses the heat sink of claim 1, An electronic device, comprising: a circuit board (Fig.4, #20) having a first side provided with a plurality of heat generation components (Fig.6, discloses a plurality of heat generating components); and a plurality of heat sinks are disposed on the first side or a second side of the circuit board (Fig.4, plurality of heat sinks #30 are placed on the first side and second side of #20).
In regards to Claim 10, Chen discloses the heat sink of claim 9, wherein the heat sinks comprise a first heat sink disposed on the first side (Fig.4, #30 disposed on the top side (first side)), and a base of the first heat sink is at least partially in contact with the corresponding heat generation component(s) (Fig.4, #30 includes a base which is in thermal contact with #21 disposed on #20).
In regards to Claim 13, Chen discloses the heat sink of claim 9, wherein the plurality of heat generation components are disposed at intervals along the first direction to define a plurality of heat dissipation gaps (Fig.6, different rows of heat generating components having gaps), the circuit board is adapted to be placed in the heat dissipation channels (Fig.6, #20 is in thermally connection with the heat dissipation channels formed on heat sink #30), and, along the first direction or the second direction (Fig.6), the dimension of at least part of the heat dissipation gaps in at least one end region (Fig.6, #23 left end region) is less than the dimension of at least part of the heat dissipation gaps located in a middle region (Fig.6, middle of #20 includes #24 which include gaps bigger than the one end region on the left).
In regards to Claim 13, Chen discloses the heat sink of claim 9, further comprising: a shell (Fig.2, #10), wherein an accommodating cavity is defined in the shell (Fig.2), the circuit board and the heat sinks are both located in the accommodating cavity (Fig.1, #30 and #20 are located within #10), a guide strip is provided on one of the shell and the heat sinks (Fig.2), a guide slot (Fig.3, #30 each include a guide slot at the edge) is formed on the other of the shell and the heat sinks, and the guide strip is movably fitted in the guide slot (Fig.2-3).
In regards to Claim 15, Chen discloses a circuit board, comprising: a substrate (Fig.2-6, #20); and a plurality of heat generation components disposed on a first side of the substrate (Fig.6), wherein the plurality of heat generation components is disposed at intervals along a first direction to define a plurality of heat dissipation gaps (Fig.6), the circuit board is adapted to be placed in heat dissipation channels (Fig.6, #20 is in thermally connection with the heat dissipation channels formed on heat sink #30), and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the heat dissipation channels (Fig.4-6, extending direction is perpendicular to the first direction).
In regards to Claim 16, Chen discloses the circuit board of claim 15, wherein, along the first direction or the extending direction of the heat dissipation channel, the dimension of at least part of the heat dissipation gaps in at least one end region (Fig.6, #23 left end region having small gaps between components) is less than the dimension of at least part of the heat dissipation gaps located in a middle region (Fig.6, middle of #20 includes #24 which include gaps bigger than the one end region on the left #23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 111867338 A) in view of Lin (U.S 2011/0197950 A1).
In regards to Claim 11, Chen discloses the heat sink of claim 10.
Chen fails to disclose: Wherein an insulating layer is disposed on the first heat sink, and the insulating layer at least partially covers a surface of the first heat sink.
However, Lin discloses: Wherein an insulating layer (Fig.2, #40) is disposed on the first heat sink (Fig.2, #20 is disposed on the backside of #20), and the insulating layer at least partially covers a surface of the first heat sink (Fig.2, #40 covers the rear or back surface of #20, as such the office notes that with the combination of Chen in view of Lin, the first heat sink and circuit board having a plurality of components (as taught by Chen) would be modified to include an insulating layer between said board and heat sink (as taught by Lin) to prevent any accidental shorts between the heat sink and circuit board).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the first heat sink and circuit board having a plurality of components (as taught by Chen) to include an insulating layer between said board and heat sink (as taught by Lin) to prevent any accidental shorts between the heat sink and circuit board. By utilizing an insulating layer between the components and heatsink, would ensure that shorts would be created during use.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 111867338 A) in view of Chou (U.S 2009/0122480 A1).
In regards to Claim 12, Chen discloses the heat sink of claim 9.
Chen fails to disclose: Wherein at least one heat conducting member is disposed between the circuit board and the heat sinks.
However, Chou discloses: Wherein at least one heat conducting member (Fig.1, #33, thermal grease) is disposed between the circuit board (Fig.1, #50) and the heat sinks (Fig.1, #1, see paragraph [0016], as such the office notes that with the combination of Chen in view of Chou, the circuit board having a plurality of components having a heatsink (as taught by Chen) would be modified to include a heat conductive member between the two elements (as taught by Chou) to help better dissipate heat generated by said components).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the circuit board having a plurality of components having a heatsink (as taught by Chen) to include a heat conductive member between the two elements (as taught by Chou) to help better dissipate heat generated by said components. By including a heat conducting member between the two elements, would reduce any thermal gaps between, thereby resulting in better heat dissipation (Chou, paragraph [0016]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (U.S 2003/0141040 A1) – Discloses a circuit board having a component and a heat sink placed on top of said circuit board to dissipate heat generated via said component.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841