DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 15-17, 61 and 78-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al (US20190159286), in view of Zhang et al (WO2021029816A1, US20220248396 is being used for mapping the claims).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Nilsson discloses a method of controlling communication in a wireless communication network (¶0008 discloses a method for data relaying in a wireless communications network), the method comprising: a wireless device receiving a first device-to-device, D2D, communication message from a first other wireless device and a second D2D communication message from a second other wireless device; from the first D2D communication message (¶0050 discloses that wireless device 300 will then simultaneously receive … the uplink data sent from the wireless device 400a, 400b. ¶0070 discloses that the wireless device 300 receives uplink data from the second wireless device 400 a, 400 b in the timeslot), the wireless device decoding first uplink control data from the first other wireless device; from the second D2D communication message, the wireless device decoding second uplink control data from the second other wireless device (¶0083 discloses that the wireless device 300 to process the uplink data before it is forwarded to the network node 200…the wireless device 300 decodes the uplink data before forwarding it. ¶0085 further discloses that the wireless device 300 could thus decode the data for the second wireless device 400a, 400b); and the wireless device sending an uplink message comprising the first uplink control data and the second uplink control data to a node of the wireless communication network (¶0092 discloses that the uplink data received by wireless device 300 can
be appended to the normal uplink data transmitted by the wireless device 300 to the network node 200 where Fig.7 discloses that the wireless device 300 transmits one sub-block of its own uplink data 710, one sub-block of relayed uplink data 720 received from wireless device 400a, and one sub-block of relayed uplink data 730 received from wireless device 400b). However, Nilsson does not explicitly teach the uplink message indicates an association of the first uplink control data to the first other wireless device and an association of the second uplink control data to the second other wireless device by a configured bit mapping which maps the first other wireless device to a first part of the uplink message and maps the second other wireless device to a second part of the uplink message.
In an analogous art Zhang discloses wherein the uplink message indicates an association of the first uplink control data to the first other wireless device and an association of the second uplink control data to the second other wireless device by a configured bit mapping which maps the first other wireless device to a first part of the uplink message and maps the second other wireless device to a second part of the uplink message (¶0025 discloses that the first UCI and the second UCI are combined by using a first beta factor for the first UCI to generate at least one coded bit of the first UCI; using a second beta factor for the second UCI to generate at least one coded bit of the second UCI, the second beta factor of the second UCI being independent of the first beta factor of the first UCI; and concatenation of the at one coded bit of the first UCI and the at one coded bit of the second UCI into a concatenated coded bit sequence; and the combined first and second UCIs being multiplexed with the PUSCH by multiplexing the concatenated coded bit sequence of the first and second UCIs with at least one coded bit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Zhang to save uplink resources and maximize total network throughput.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. Nilsson further discloses the uplink message further comprises user plane data from the wireless device (¶0076 discloses traffic data) and Zhang further discloses uplink control data from the wireless device (¶0013 discloses receiving at least a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI in a time resource).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. Zhang further discloses the uplink message indicates an association of the first uplink control data to the first other wireless device and an association of the second uplink control data to the second other wireless device by at least one of: - comprising an identifier of the first other wireless device, - comprising an identifier of the second other wireless device, - comprising a group identifier of a group of wireless devices comprising at least the first other wireless device and the second other wireless device, and - a configured resource mapping which maps the first other wireless device to a first part of resources used for transmission of the uplink message and maps the second other wireless device to a second part of the resources used for transmission of the uplink message (¶0015 discloses determining a first uplink control information, UCI, and a second UCI, the first UCI associated with a first sub-slot and a first physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, resource and the second UCI associated with a second sub-slot and a second PUCCH resource, and the first and second sub-slots being comprised within a slot).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. Zhang further discloses the first uplink control data comprises first physical layer Uplink Control Information, UCI, from the first other wireless device (¶0013 discloses receiving at least a first uplink control information (UCI) and a second UCI).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. Zhang further discloses the first physical layer UCI comprises a scheduling request from the first other wireless device or channel state information, CSI, from the first other wireless device or an acknowledgement for downlink data transmitted from the node to the first other wireless device (¶0004 discloses Uplink control information (UCI) … contains one or several uplink control information (UCI), e.g., DL acknowledgement (acknowledgment/non-acknowledgement or ACK/NACK) or scheduling request (SR)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. Zhang further discloses the first uplink control data comprises first physical layer Uplink Control Information, UCI, from the first other wireless device (¶0013 discloses receiving a second UCI (uplink control information)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 6. Zhang further discloses the second physical layer UCI comprises a scheduling request from the second other wireless device, CSI from the second other wireless device, or an acknowledgement for downlink data transmitted from the node to the second other wireless device (¶0004 discloses Uplink control information (UCI) … contains one or several uplink control information (UCI), e.g., DL acknowledgement (acknowledgment/non-acknowledgement or ACK/NACK) or scheduling request (SR)).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 3. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 3.
Regarding claim 61, the claim is drawn to a wireless device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 78, the cited reference Nilsson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program code to be executed by at least one processor of a wireless device (Fig. 13 and ¶0101), whereby execution of the program code causes the wireless device to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 79, the cited reference Nilsson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program code to be executed by at least one processor of a node for a wireless communication network, whereby execution of the program code causes the node (Fig. 9 and ¶0093), whereby execution of the program code causes the wireless device to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al (US20190159286), in view of Zhang et al (WO2021029816A1, US20220248396 is being used for mapping the claims), in further view of Akkarakaran et al (US20190357078).
Regarding claims 8-9, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of
claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach the first uplink control data comprises at least one first Medium Access Control Element, MAC-CE, from the first other wireless device (claim 8) and the at least one first MAC-CE comprises a buffer status report or a power headroom report (Claim 9).
In an analogous art Akkarakaran teaches teach the first uplink control data comprises at least one first Medium Access Control Element, MAC-CE, from the first other wireless device (claim 8) (¶0060 discloses that receive MAC-CEs for the communication of control information between different wireless devices) and the at least one first MAC-CE comprises a buffer status report or a power headroom report (Claim 9) (¶0060 discloses that MAC-CEs may include information related to buffer status reports, power headroom reporting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Akkarakaran because using MAC-CE provide a fast and efficient way to exchange critical control information between communication devices in a network system.
Regarding claims 10-11, the claims are drawn to the method performing substantially the same features of the method of claims 8 and 9 respectively. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claims 8 and 9 respectively.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al (US20190159286), in view of Zhang et al (WO2021029816A1, US20220248396 is being used for mapping the claims), in further view of Akkarakaran et al (US20190357078), in further view of Ding et al (US20220330209).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach the wireless device receiving a downlink message from the node, the downlink message comprising first downlink control data for the first other wireless device; from the downlink message, the wireless device decoding the first downlink control data; and the wireless device sending a D2D communication message to the first other wireless device, the D2D communication message comprising the first downlink control data.
In an analogous art Ding teaches teach the wireless device receiving a downlink message from the node, the downlink message comprising first downlink control data for the first other wireless device; from the downlink message, the wireless device decoding the first downlink control data; and the wireless device sending a D2D communication message to the first other wireless device, the D2D communication message comprising the first downlink control data (Abstract discloses that a first terminal apparatus receives at least two pieces of downlink control information from a first network apparatus in a first slot, where the at least two pieces of downlink control information include first downlink control information and second downlink control information, the first downlink control information is used to indicate a first sidelink resource used by the first terminal apparatus to send first sidelink information to a second terminal apparatus, and the second downlink control information is used to indicate a second sidelink resource used by the first terminal apparatus to send second sidelink information to a third terminal apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Ding to reduce delay in a control information delivery process and improve efficiency of an overall cooperation transmission process.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Nilsson and Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach the wireless device receiving a downlink message from the node, the downlink message comprising second downlink control data for the second other wireless device; from the one or more downlink messages, the wireless device decoding the second downlink control data; and the wireless device sending a D2D communication message to the second other wireless device, the D2D communication message comprising the second downlink control data.
In an analogous art Ding teaches teach the wireless device receiving a downlink message from the node, the downlink message comprising second downlink control data for the second other wireless device; from the one or more downlink messages, the wireless device decoding the second downlink control data; and the wireless device sending a D2D communication message to the second other wireless device, the D2D communication message comprising the second downlink control data (Abstract discloses that a first terminal apparatus receives at least two pieces of downlink control information from a first network apparatus in a first slot, where the at least two pieces of downlink control information include first downlink control information and second downlink control information, the first downlink control information is used to indicate a first sidelink resource used by the first terminal apparatus to send first sidelink information to a second terminal apparatus, and the second downlink control information is used to indicate a second sidelink resource used by the first terminal apparatus to send second sidelink information to a third terminal apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Ding to reduce delay in a control information delivery process and improve efficiency of an overall cooperation transmission process.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Nilsson, Zhang, and Ding discloses all limitations of claim 13. Ding further discloses the wireless device decodes the first downlink control data and the second downlink control data from the same downlink message (¶0042 discloses receive at least two pieces of downlink control information from a first network apparatus in a first slot, where the at least two pieces of downlink control information include first downlink control information and second downlink control information, the first downlink control information is used to indicate to send first sidelink information to a second terminal apparatus on a first sidelink resource, the second downlink control information is used to indicate to send second sidelink information to a third terminal apparatus on a second sidelink resource, and the at least two pieces of downlink control information are further used to determine a sequence of transport blocks included in the first sidelink information and a sequence of transport blocks included in the second sidelink information. Which means that the two pieces of downlink control information are been decoded).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462