DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 section of Remarks”, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendment of claim 1 to incorporate new claim limitations than previously presented thus, changing the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gysi (US 1281352 A) in view of Lang et al. (US 4445863 A), Andreiko et al. (US 5395238 A), Ai et al. (GB 2196856 A) and further in view of Anahita et al. (“Impact of Scoring Single or Multiple Occlusal Lesions on Estimates of Diagnostic Accuracy of the Visual ICDAS-II System”).
Gysi discloses a group of artificial teeth (Figs. 1-8), comprising an upper jaw (Fig. 1), and a lower jaw (Fig. 2) (see Figs. 3-5 for an illustration of the upper jaw and the lower jaw in occlusion), wherein
the upper jaw includes a first base (2 Fig. 1) and a first group of artificial teeth fixed to the first base (see Fig. 1),
the lower jaw includes a second base (3 Fig. 2) and a second group of artificial teeth fixed to the second base (see Fig. 2),
each of the artificial teeth is a premolar (6/6a/7/7a Figs. 1 and 2) or a molar (4/4a/5/5a Figs. 1 and 2);
the first group and the second group of artificial teeth includes at least a first molar (4/4a Figs. 1 and 2 );
a lingual cusp (8, 9, 10 and 11 Fig. 1), a buccal cusp (12 and 13 Fig. 1), and a pit (16 Fig. 1) between the lingual cusp and the buccal cusp (Col.3 lines 30 - 35) are formed on an occlusal surface (see attached Fig. 1) of each of the artificial teeth,
occlusal facets (see attached Fig. 1) are provided on a slope between the lingual cusp and the pit, and on a slope between the buccal cusp and the pit (see attached Fig. 1), respectively,
in a lateral occlusal position of the upper jaw and the lower jaw (Fig. 6), on a working side (see attached Fig. 6), the buccal cusps of the artificial teeth (see attached Fig. 6) of the upper jaw and the lower jaw come into contact with each other (see attached Fig. 6), and the lingual cusps of the upper jaw and the lower jaw come into contact with each other (see attached Fig. 6), to form a space between the pits of the artificial teeth of the upper jaw and the lower jaw (see attached Fig. 6).
Gysi is silent regarding a group of artificial teeth wherein in a centric occlusal position of the upper jaw and the lower jaw, the buccal cusp of the artificial teeth of the lower jaw is arranged to enter the pit of the artificial teeth of the upper jaw, so that the occlusal facets of the artificial teeth of the lower jaw and the occlusal facets of the artificial teeth of the upper jaw come into contact with each other.
Lang et al. teaches an artificial posterior denture wherein in a centric occlusal position of the upper jaw (14 Fig. 1) and the lower jaws (18 Fig. 1) (Figs. 1 and 3; Col. 3 lines 16 - 26), the buccal cusp of the artificial teeth (see Fig. 1) of the lower jaw is arranged to enter the pit of the artificial teeth (see Fig. 1) of the upper jaw, so that the occlusal facets of the artificial teeth of the lower jaw and the occlusal facets of the artificial teeth of the upper jaw come into contact with each other (see annotated Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the artificial teeth disclosed by Gysi be configured, wherein in a centric occlusal position wherein the buccal cusp of the artificial teeth of the lower jaw is arranged in the pit of the artificial teeth of the upper jaw, so that the occlusal facets come into contact with each other as taught by Lang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to inhibit deflective occlusal contacts and promote continuously balanced occlusion as suggested by Lang et al.
Furthermore, Gysi is silent regarding a group of artificial teeth wherein an angle formed by the slope between the lingual cusp and the pit and the slop between the buccal cusp and the pit is different between the premolars and the molars.
Andreiko et al. teaches a set of posterior teeth (Figs. 4 - 7) wherein an angle formed by the slope between the lingual cusp and the pit and the slop between the buccal cusp and the pit is different between the premolars and the molars (see attached Figs. 4b and 6b; the distance between the slopes of the buccal and lingual internal cusp at the distal ends is qualitatively different between the upper molar and the upper bicuspid. An alternative angular measurements (maxillary (degrees) shows differing angular measurements between the molar and the bicuspid (Col. 11 line 65 - Col. 12 line 5)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the artificial teeth disclosed by Gysi be configured with the angle formed by the slope between the lingual cusp and the pit and the slop between the buccal cusp and the pit is different between the premolars and the molars, as taught by Andreiko et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order create posterior artificial teeth with distinct occlusal surfaces across the premolars and molars as characterized by the respective steepness of the slopes between the buccal and lingual internal cusp and their corresponding angles.
Furthermore, Gysi is silent regarding a group of artificial teeth wherein a buccolingual diameter D of the occlusal surface of each first molar is larger with respect to a mesiodistal distance E of the occlusal surface, and a ratio of the buccolingual diameter D to the mesiodistal distance E is no less than 0.69.
Ai et al. teaches an analogous device (Figs. 1-4), wherein a buccolingual diameter D (W2 Fig. 2; Col. lines 110-116: W2 is the buccolingual length) of the occlusal surface (1d Fig. 2) of each first molar (1 Fig. 2) is larger with respect to a mesiodistal distance E (W1 Fig. 2; Col. lines 110-116: W1 is the mesiodistal length) of the occlusal surface (1d Fig. 2), and a ratio of the buccolingual diameter D to the mesiodistal distance E is no less than 0.69 (Col. lines 110-116: the ratio of W2 to W1 falls in the range of 55 to 95% of that of a normal tooth. The ratio of a buccolingual diameter to the mesiodistal distance of a natural tooth is approximately 0.87, as taught by Anahita et al. (Fig. 1). Therefore, 55 to 95% of the ratio of the buccolingual diameter to the mesiodistal distance of a natural tooth would be 0.48-0.82 which discloses the claimed ratio. W2 is larger with respect to the W1 given that the ratio of W2 to W1 is less than 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gysi to be configured the buccolingual diameter of the occlusal surface of each first molar is larger with respect to a mesiodistal distance E of the occlusal surface, as taught by Ai et al. and Anahita et al., in order to make a dental device provided with a substantial center for proper mastication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772