DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities: the comma is misplaced in the phrase “to 1,0000 mmH2O” describing the water pressure resistance (A) range upper end point and should read “to 10,000 mmH2O”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino (JP 2014/009954 A; machine translation) in view of Shibata et al. (WO 2019/171995 A1; machine translation) in further view of Nakamura et al. (WO 2016/175250 A1; machine translation) and in further view of Sadato (WO 2016/006418 A1; machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-4,
Makino teaches a garment (cloth) composed of: a multilayered nonwoven fabric including a first outermost layer of a first spunbond nonwoven fabric (51) having antistatic agent (B) located at the surface of said outermost layer wherein said first outermost layer is located on an outer side of the cloth, a second outermost layer of a second spunbond nonwoven fabric (53) and no mention of the antistatic member in the second outermost layer and thus may be considered to be within the claimed range of 0.01% by mass or less and the second outermost layer is located on an inner side of the cloth, and a melt blown nonwoven layer (51) (Makino: abstract; Fig. 6; pg. 4, par. 2-4); a sewn part region (included in what may be considered a joint region); and a seal-up tape (a tape member) which is shown to have a rectangular shape in Figure 1 (Makina: abstract; Fig. 1; pg. 3, par. 6).
The joint region including sewn portions (A) is sealed by the seal-up tape on the inside of the nonwoven fabric laminate and thus the seam allowance may be located on the inner side of the cloth and the tape member, wherein the tape member seals from the inside by said cover tape (T). The seam allowance may thus be considered to include a layered region formed by layering a part of one or more of the layered nonwoven fabrics, the said layered region includes a sewn region and a fused region as the tape that seals the sewn region may be a hot melt tape (melting would result in fusing). Thus, the seam allowance is covered with said tape member and said tape member is located on the inner side of the cloth wherein both end portions of the tape member in a short-side direction are fixed to the second outermost layer (the inner layer of the nonwoven laminate that makes up the cloth/garment) (Makino: abstract; Fig. 1 and 6; pg. 3, par. 6). At least one of the sewn region and the fusion region would have surfaces horizontal to a thickness direction at two end portions of at least one of the layered nonwoven fabrics would face each other as they are sewn and fused via the hot melt tape at end portions as shown in Figures 1-4 and any face next to each other in this region may be considered to “face each other”.
Makino is silent towards the antistatic agent in the first outermost layer being in the range of 0.02 to 0.50% by mass relative to the entire layer.
Shibata teaches a dustproof fabric comprising a first fiber layer and a second fiber layer wherein the first fiber layer comprises an antistatic agent in the amount of from 0.1% by mass or more, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.02 to 0.50% by mass, to improve surface electrical resistance (Shibata: abstract; pg. 3-4). The static agent is noted to not migrate to the second layer (Shibata: pg. 3).
Mikino and Shibata are in the corresponding field of fabric laminates which comprise antistatic agents. Therefore, it would be obvious to configure the antistatic agent in the first nonwoven layer of Mikino to be within the claimed range to provide improved surface electrical resistance and dustproofing as taught by Shibata.
Mikino does not explicitly teach where the first nonwoven spunbond fabric has a basis weight of from 20 to 50 g/m2 and the second spunbond nonwoven layer has a basis weight of from 5 to 30 g/m2, wherein the basis weight of the second is smaller than the basis weight of the first spunbond nonwoven layer.
Nakamura teaches a nonwoven fabric laminate in the form of a protective layer to improve barrier properties composed of a first spunbond nonwoven fabric layer having a basis weight, for example, of 40 g/m2 and a second nonwoven fabric layer having a basis weight, for example, of 30 g/m2 which would result in an upper spunbond nonwoven fabric layer may have a basis weight larger than the second nonwoven fabric layer (Nakamura: abstract; pg. 4-6 and 18).
Mikino and Nakamura are in the corresponding field of nonwoven laminated fabrics for use in barrier properties of clothing. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the first and second spunbond nonwoven fabric layers of Mikino to have the claimed basis weight proportions to provide improved barrier properties as taught by Nakamura.
Makino does not explicitly teach wherein the tape member is a layered body including a base material layer and an adhesive resin layer, wherein the thickness of the adhesive resin layer is 100 to 200 µm.
Sadato teaches a bias tape for sealing a sewn seam (6) (a tape member) on a fabric (2) (Sado: abstract; pgs. 1-3); The tape member comprises a layered body including a waterproof film (4, a base material layer) and an adhesive layer (5) to provide improved waterproofness to fabric products (Sadato: pgs. 1-6). The adhesive layer may be a hot melt adhesive layer and may have a thickness of from 50 to 200 µm, which overlaps with the claimed 100 to 200 µm, to provide an amount of resin that is sufficient to completely close the sewn portion (Sadato: pg. 6). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Mikino and Sadato are in the corresponding field of cloth products with sealed sewn portions by hot melt adhesive tape members. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the adhesive layer to be within the claimed range and configuring the tape member of Mikino to have a base member layer to provide improved waterproofness while also having enough adhesive sufficient to seal the sewn portion as taught by Sadato.
Makino is silent towards the water pressure resistance (A) of the layered nonwoven fabric measured according to JIS L 1092 (2009) A method is in a range of 1,000 mmH2O to 10,000 mmH2O, and a ratio of water pressure resistance (B) of the joint region measured according to JIS L 1092 (2009) A method of the water pressure resistance (A) is 0.4 to 1.0. However Makino does discuss the desire for improved water pressure resistance (Mikino: pg. 4).
However, Nakamura does teach the desire for the protective layer having the multibaric layer to have a water pressure resistance of greater than 500 mmH2O, which overlaps with the claimed range, to provide improved repellency against various liquids (Nakamura: pg. 6). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Therefore, it would be obvious to configure the laminate of Mikino, Shibata, Nakamura, and Sadato to have the claimed water pressure resistance when measured by the claimed methods to provide improved water pressure resistance and barrier properties as taught by Nakamura.
Additionally, as the combination of Mikino, Shibata, Nakamura, and Sadato teach the claimed structure as explained above, it would be expected to result in a laminate with the same properties, such as the claimed water pressure resistance (A) and at the joint region (B) with the claimed ranges and ratios. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 5,
Mikino, Shibata, Nakamura, and Sadato teach the cloth required by claim 1. The combination is silent towards the layered nonwoven fabric having the claimed air permeability of 2.0 to 40.0 measured in the claimed Frazier method. However, as noted above, Mikino, Shibata, Nakamura, and Sadato teach the same structure required by the claims and disclosed in the specification which would necessarily result in the claimed air permeability properties. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783