DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-22 are currently being examined. Claims 7 and 17 were canceled in a Preliminary Amendment.
Specification
The Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
s
Claims 2, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor or the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 contains a limitation with the phrase “the payload position relative to fork tines”. Claim 1, from which Claim 2 depends, recites “a pair of fork tines”. Are the “fork tines” in Claim 2 somehow different from the “fork tines’ introduced in Claim 1? As a result, Claim 2 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter being regarded as the invention.
Claim 6 contains a limitation with the phrase “the at least one carriage sensor” that lacks a proper antecedent basis that renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 8 contains a limitation with the phrase “a payload”. Claim 1, from which Claim 8 depends, recites “a payload”. Is the “a payload” in Claim 8 somehow different from the “a payload’ introduced in Claim 1? As a result, Claim 8 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter being regarded as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-16, 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shah et al (US Published Patent Application No. 2019/0194005).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Shah et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 1 as follows:
An autonomous mobile robot, comprising:
a payload engagement portion comprising a pair of fork tines in a payload engagement area; (See Pars. 0076, 0077, 0138-0143; Fig. 1B, 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 160(autonomous mobile robot), 162,1002,1004(fork tines)
at least one processor in communication with at least one computer memory device; and (See Pars 0052, 0053; Fig. 1A; Ref. Numerals 102(processor), 104(memory device)
a payload monitoring system comprising: (See Pars. 0076, 0077; Fig. 1B; Ref. Numerals 160(autonomous mobile robot), 162(fork tines)
at least one sensor arranged between the fork tines to acquire position data in and beyond the payload engagement area; and (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0135-0143; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensor), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
a computer program code executable by the at least one processor to process the position data to determine a position of a payload relative to the fork tines. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0138-0143; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensors), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 2, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 2, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the payload monitoring system is further configured to provide continuous estimation of the payload position relative to fork tines. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0135; Figs. 1A, 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensors), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 3, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 3, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the payload monitoring system is further configured to determine if the payload is being picked up or dropped off based on the position data. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0135-0143; Figs. 1A, 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensors), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 4, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 4, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the payload monitoring system is further configured to generate a signal for use by a drive system of the robot to stop, pause, or alter navigation based on a determination by the payload monitoring system that the payload is being pushed or dragged. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0106, 0109, 0135, 0138-0143; Figs. 1A, 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 112,1006(sensor), 107,1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 5, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 5, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a 2D LiDAR sensor that has PLd field occlusion detection and raw data output. (See Pars. 0038, 0065, 0078)
With respect to Claim 6, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 6, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one carriage sensor comprises a laser scanner. (See Pars. 0078, 0086)
With respect to Claim 8, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 8, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to monitor a leading edge of a payload along the fork tines. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0106, 0109, 0135-0139; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 112,1006(sensors), 107,1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 9, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 9, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is positioned to have a line of sight with the fork tines of the robot. (See Pars. 0138-0144; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 1006(sensors), 1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 10, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 10, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the fork tines are at an elevation and along a reach axis, and (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0106, 0109, 0135- 0137, 0139; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 112,1006(sensors), 107,1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)-
the at least one sensor acquires position data indicating a position of the payload relative to the fork tines along the reach axis. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0106, 0109, 0135- 0137, 0139; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 112,1006(sensors), 107,1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 22, which depends from independent Claim 1, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 22, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The robot of claim 1, wherein the payload monitoring system is further configured to provide a set of discrete outputs at specified distances along the fork tines to determine the location of the payload relative to the fork tines. (See Pars. 0138-0143; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1010(payload), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1030,1032(discrete outputs)
With respect to independent Claim 11, Shah et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 11 as follows:
A method of monitoring a payload by an autonomous mobile robot, the robot comprising a payload engagement portion comprising a pair of fork tines in a payload engagement area, the method comprising: (See Pars. 0076, 0077, 0138-0143; Fig. 1B, 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 160(autonomous mobile robot), 162,1002,1004(fork tines)
disposing at least one sensor between the fork tines; (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0135-0143; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensor), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
the at least one sensor acquiring position data in and beyond the payload engagement area; and (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0135-0143; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensor), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
computer processing the position data to determine a position of a payload relative to the fork tines. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0138-0143; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensors), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 12, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 12, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 11, further including providing continuous estimation of the payload position relative to the fork tines. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0135; Figs. 1A, 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensors), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 13, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 13, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 11, further comprising determining if the payload is being picked up or dropped off based on the position data. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0135-0143; Figs. 1A, 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 112,1006(sensor), 107(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 14, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 14, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 11, further comprising generating a signal for use by a drive system of the robot to stop, pause, or alter navigation based on a determination of the payload being pushed or dragged. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0106, 0109, 0135, 0138-0143; Figs. 1A, 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 112,1006(sensor), 107,1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 15, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 15, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 11, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a 2D LiDAR sensor that has PLd field occlusion detection and raw data output. ((See Pars. 0038, 0065, 0078)
With respect to Claim 16, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 16, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 11, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a 2D LiDAR sensor that has PLd field occlusion detection and raw data output. (See Pars. 0078, 0086)
With respect to Claim 18, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 18, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 11, further comprising the at least one sensor monitoring a leading edge of the payload relative to the fork tines. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0106, 0109, 0135-0139; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 112,1006(sensors), 107,1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 19, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 19, Shah et al discloses as follows:
. The method of claim 11, wherein the at least one sensor is arranged in a line-of-sight the fork tines of the robot. (See Pars. 0138-0144; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 1006(sensors), 1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 20, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 20, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 11, wherein the fork tines are at an elevation and along a reach axis, and (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0106, 0109, 0135- 0137, 0139; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 112,1006(sensors), 107,1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)-
the method includes processing the position data to determine a position of the payload relative to the fork tines along the reach axis. (See Pars. 0052-0057, 0064-0066, 0077, 0106, 0109, 0135- 0137, 0139; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1000(mobile robot), 112,1006(sensors), 107,1018(position data), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1010(payload)
With respect to Claim 21, which depends from independent Claim 11, Shah et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 11 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 21, Shah et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 11, wherein determining the location of the payload relative to the fork tines further comprising providing a set of discrete outputs at specified distances along the fork tines. ((See Pars. 0138-0143; Figs. 10A-10C; Ref. Numerals 1010(payload), 1002,1004(fork tines), 1030,1032(discrete outputs)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations. Any other hypothetical prior art rejections based on these references would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
/THOMAS RANDAZZO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 July 17, 2026