DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “which fluid unit comprises” should be “which the fluid unit comprises” to be consistent with its use throughout the remaining claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wiper blade device” in Claims 1-8, 11, and 12, “wind deflector unit” in Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 11, “fluid output unit” in Claims 1, 3, 10, and 11, “fluid unit” in Claim 1, “fluid output element” in Claims 3-5, 11, and 12, and “spoiler element” in Claim 6, “connecting element” in Claim 7, “wiper arm unit” in Claim 8, “valve unit” in Claim 9, and “valve element” in Claim 9.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Depondt US 2021/0046906 (hereafter Depondt) in view of multiple embodiments.
Regarding Claim 1, Depondt teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) A wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) comprising:
at least one wiper lip (wiper lip, Paragraph [0026]) for wiping a surface (surface, Paragraph [0004]) and
at least one wind deflector unit (wind deflector unit 18a-18c) for utilizing an airstream to press the wiper lip (wiper lip, Paragraph [0026]) against the surface (surface, Paragraph [0004]),
a fluid output unit (fluid output, Abstract), and
a fluid unit (assembly comprising fluid channels for routing fluid) for guiding wiper fluid to a fluid output (fluid output opening 16a, 16a’, 16b, 16b’, 16c, 16c’), which fluid unit comprises at least one fluid channel (fluid channel 32c) delimited by the wind deflector unit (wind deflector unit 18a-18c)(shown in Figure 7), which channel extends along a longitudinal axis (main axis 52b, 52c) of the wind deflector unit (wind deflector unit 18a-18c) over at least 10% of a maximum longitudinal extension (overall length of wind deflector unit 18a-18c) of the wind deflector unit (wind deflector unit 18a-18c)(over 90%, Paragraphs [0010] and [0011]),
wherein
Depondt discloses an embodiment shown in Figure 7 that includes two fluid channels 14c and 32c. Depondt disclose a different embodiment shown in Figure 5 where an internal fluid channel is moved to the outside, as fluid channel 14b, adjacent wind deflector surface. In Paragraph [0037], Depondt discloses “The configuration of the fluid channel 14b can easily be transferred to the further alternative refinements, in particular having the letter a or c.” Therefore, Depondt discloses that the configuration shown in Figure 5 with an external fluid channel 14b can be transferred to either the embodiment with fluid channel 14a or fluid channel 14c. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment shown in Figure 7 to include an external fluid channel 14b as taught in the embodiment shown in Figure 5 with the motivation to strengthen the wind deflector body by filling in the hollow fluid channel 14c to be solid yet retain the fluid path as taught in Figure 5.
Regarding Claim 2, Depondt teaches:
2. (Currently Amended) The wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 1, wherein
Regarding Claim 3, Depondt teaches:
3. (Currently Amended) The wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 1, wherein
Regarding Claim 4, Depondt teaches:
4. (Currently Amended) The wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 3, wherein the at least one further fluid channel (fluid channel 14c modified to be externally located embodiment fluid channel 14b).
Regarding Claim 5, Depondt teaches:
5. (Currently Amended) The wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 3, further comprising
Regarding Claim 6, Depondt teaches:
6. (Currently Amended) The wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 1
Regarding Claim 7, Depondt teaches:
7. (Currently Amended) The wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 1 further comprisin
Regarding Claim 8, Depondt teaches:
8. (Currently Amended) A windshield wiper (wiper system 40a) comprising at least one wiper arm unit (one wiper arm 44a) and comprising a wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 1
Regarding Claim 11, Depondt teaches:
11. (New) The wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 2, wherein the fluid output unit (fluid output, Abstract) comprises at least one fluid output element (nozzle element 50a, 50a′; 50b, 50b′; 50c, 50c′) connected to the further fluid channel (fluid channel 14c modified to be externally located embodiment fluid channel 14b) for fluid output in a direction at least substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis (main axis 52b, 52c) of the wind deflector unit (wind deflector unit 18a-18c).
Regarding Claim 12, Depondt teaches:
12. (New) The wiper blade device (wiper blade 42a) according to claim 4, further comprising at least one end cap (wiper blade end cap 12a, 12a′, 12b, 12b′, 12c, 12c′), in which the at least one fluid output element (additional fluid output element 26c) is arranged.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Depondt US 2021/0046906 (hereafter Depondt) in view of Caillot FR 2991948 (hereafter Caillot).
Regarding Claim 9, Depondt teaches:
9. (Currently Amended) The windshield wiper (wiper system 40a) according to claim 8, further comprising configured to stop and/or enable a fluid flow through the at least one further fluid channel (fluid channel 14c modified to be externally located embodiment fluid channel 14b) as a function of a wiping angle (see discussion below).
Depondt discloses a wiper system 40a that discloses the dispersant of fluid onto a windshield during operation. Depondt does not disclose a valve unit with a valve element that is selectively opened and closed allowing the fluid to flow when desired by the user. Although not disclosed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Depondt device would include a valve unit and a valve element that control the on/off state of the stream of fluid being dispersed. The Caillot reference discloses a wiper system employs a control device that includes a valve and valve element that detects the angular position of the wiper and selectively operates or deactivates the fluid supply device based on the position. Therefore, Caillot discloses the use of a valve unit that comprises at least one valve unit that stops/enables a fluid flow through an internal channel as a function of a wiping angle as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Depondt device to include a control system that operates a valve to selectively control the dispersant of fluid as a function of the detected angular position of the wiper as taught by Caillot with the motivation to prevent fluid from being dispersed in wiper angular positions where it would be wasteful.
Regarding Claim 10, Depondt teaches:
10. (Currently Amended) A method for operating a windshield wiper (wiper system 40a) according to claim 8, wherein
Depondt discloses a wiper system 40a that discloses the dispersant of fluid onto a windshield during operation. Depondt does not disclose a valve unit with a valve element that is selectively opened and closed allowing the fluid to flow when desired by the user. Although not disclosed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Depondt device would include a valve unit and a valve element that control the on/off state of the stream of fluid being dispersed. The Caillot reference discloses a wiper system employs a control device that includes a valve and valve element that detects the angular position of the wiper and selectively operates or deactivates the fluid supply device based on the position. Therefore, Caillot discloses the use of a valve unit that comprises at least one valve unit that stops/enables a fluid flow through an internal channel as a function of a wiping angle as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Depondt device to include a control system that operates a valve to selectively control the dispersant of fluid as a function of the detected angular position of the wiper as taught by Caillot with the motivation to prevent fluid from being dispersed in wiper angular positions where it would be wasteful.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of wipers with fluid delivery.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723