DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenichiro (JP 2000005964 A) in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0016779 A1). (Citations to Kenichiro are directed to attached machine translation.)
Regarding claim 1, Kenichiro discloses a product carrying-out device for a steel material cutting machine, comprising: a product information acquisition unit configured to acquire information on a product length and a product diameter of a product made by a cutting work of a steel material cutting machine (see at least paras. 0023, 0029); a product laying unit configured to judge, based on the information acquired by the product information acquisition unit, whether or not the product can be laid under a state in which a cut surface thereof is made perpendicular to a ground surface (see at least paras. 008, 0010, 0012); a storage box information acquisition unit configured to acquire information on a shape of a storage box corresponding to a carrying-out destination of the product made by the cutting work (see at least paras. 0028-0032); a carrying-out position determination unit configured to determine a carrying-out position of the product in the storage box corresponding to the carrying-out destination based on the information acquired by the product information acquisition unit, information judged by the product laying unit, and the information acquired by the storage box information acquisition unit (see at least paras. 0028-0032); and a carrying-out control unit configured to control a carrying-out mechanism to carry out the product made by the steel material cutting machine to the carrying-out position determined by the carrying-out position determination unit (see at least paras. 0028-0032). Kenichiro discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose a product laying-stability judgement unit configured to judge, based on the information acquired by the product information acquisition unit, whether or not the product can be laid stably; or that the carrying-out position determination unit is additionally configured to determine a carrying-out position of the product in the storage box corresponding to the carry-out destination based on the information acquired by the information judged by the product laying-stability judgement unit. However, Wang discloses a similar device which includes a product laying-stability judgement unit configured to judge, based on the information acquired by a product information acquisition unit, whether or not the product can be laid stably (see at least paras. 0027-0029 and 0068-0082); and that the carrying-out position determination unit is additionally configured to determine a carrying-out position of the product in the storage box corresponding to the carry-out destination based on the information acquired by the information judged by the product laying-stability judgement unit (see at least paras. 0027-0029 and 0068-0082) for the purpose of ensuring that products are properly stacked in a storage box. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize a product laying-stability judgement unit configured to judge, based on the information acquired by the product information acquisition unit, whether or not the product can be laid stably; and have the carrying-out position determination unit additionally configured to determine a carrying-out position of the product in the storage box corresponding to the carry-out destination based on the information acquired by the information judged by the product laying-stability judgement unit, as disclosed by Wang, for the purpose of ensuring that products are properly stacked in a storage box.
Regarding claim 4, Kenichiro discloses A product carrying-out method for a steel material cutting machine, comprising: acquiring information on a product length and a product diameter of a product made by a cutting work of a steel material cutting machine (see at least paras. 0023, 0029); judging, based on the acquired information on the product length and the product diameter of the product, whether or not the product can be laid under a state in which a cut surface thereof is made perpendicular to a ground surface (see at least paras. 008, 0010, 0012); acquiring information on a shape of a storage box corresponding to a carrying-out destination of the product made by the cutting work (see at least paras. 0028-0032); determining a carrying-out position of the product in the storage box corresponding to the carrying-out destination based on the acquired information on the product length and the product diameter of the product, information on the shape of the storage box, and a judgement result of judging whether or not the product can be laid; and carrying out, by a carrying-out mechanism, the product made by the steel material cutting machine to the determined carrying-out position (see at least paras. 0028-0032). Kenichiro discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose judging, based on the acquired information on the product length and the product diameter of the product, whether or not the product can be laid stably; or a judgement result of judging whether or not the product can be laid stably. However, Wang discloses a similar method which includes judging, based on the acquired information on a product length and the product diameter of the product, whether or not the product can be laid stably (see at least paras. 0027-0029 and 0068-0082); and a judgement result of judging whether or not the product can be laid stably for the purpose of ensuring that products are properly stacked in a storage box (see at least paras. 0027-0029 and 0068-0082). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Kenichiro to include judging, based on the acquired information on the product length and the product diameter of the product, whether or not the product can be laid stably; and a judgement result of judging whether or not the product can be laid stably, as disclosed by Wang, for the purpose of ensuring that products are properly stacked in a storage box.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner reviewed the claims for compliance with 35 U.S.C. § 101. Although the claims recite limitations directed toward an abstract idea, when analyzed in their entirety, the independent claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and recite elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cui et al. (CN 120841067 A), although not prior art, is pertinent because it discloses a guiding system for stacking items after cutting. Tanehara (JP 2002293426 A) discloses a device for determining a stacking location for an item after cutting.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653