DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8, 10-15, and 20-22 are objected to because of nonconsistency.:
Regarding claims 2-8, please change “The polymer” to “The stretchable light-emitting polymer”.
Regarding claims 10-15 and 17, please change “The diode” to “The stretchable organic light-emitting diode”.
Regarding claims 20-22, please change “The polymer” to “The stretchable light-emitting polymer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 15, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the polymer exhibits a crack on-set strain of greater than 100%”. It is unclear how a chance could be “greater than 100%”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the electron injection layer…” and “the hole transporting layer...” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 22 recites “the polymer exhibits a crack on-set strain of greater than 100%”. It is unclear how a chance could be “greater than 100%”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,195,886).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses stretchable light-emitting polymer of formula (I), (II), (Ill), (IV), or (V):
wherein D is a donor chemical moiety capable of donating electrons;
A is an acceptor chemical moiety capable of accepting electrons;
(Fig. 7, “p” is “m” in the claim
meets (III),
)
T is a chemical moiety comprising D bonded to A;
S is a stretchable section, comprising a stretchable chemical moiety selected from the group consisting of
(Fig. 7,
meets
)
m is an integer from 1 to 100;
n is an integer from 1 to 50.
In the Figure, Park discloses a dihedral angle of a bond; however, Park does not explicitly disclose the dihedral angle of a bond between D and A is from about 75.0° to about 90.0°. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure dihedral angle of a bond between D and A is from about 75.0° to about 90.0° in order to increase flexibility, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses a stretchable organic light-emitting diode, comprising:
a cathode layer (column 6, line 43);
an anode layer (column 6, line 32);
a film comprising a stretchable light-emitting polymer of formula (I), (II), (Ill), (IV), or (V):
wherein D is a donor chemical moiety capable of donating electrons;
A is an acceptor chemical moiety capable of accepting electrons;
(Fig. 7, “p” is “m” in the claim
meets (III),
)
T is a chemical moiety comprising D bonded to A;
S is a stretchable section, comprising a stretchable chemical moiety selected from the group consisting of
(Fig. 7,
meets
)
m is an integer from 1 to 100;
n is an integer from 1 to 50.
In the Figure, Park discloses a dihedral angle of a bond, but Park does not explicitly disclose the dihedral angle of a bond between D and A is from about 75.0° to about 90.0°. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure dihedral angle of a bond between D and A is from about 75.0° to about 90.0° in order to increase flexibility, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-21 are allowed.
Claims 2-7, 10-14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 2, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “R is a linker moiety, bonded in either direction, selected from the group consisting of
” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1 and the rest of limitations recited in claim 2.
Regarding to claim 3, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the donor chemical moiety is selected from the group consisting of D-1 to D-31 and wherein the donor chemical moiety is bonded to the acceptor chemical moiety at a carbon or nitrogen atom of the donor chemical moiety” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 4, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the acceptor chemical moiety is selected from the group consisting of A-1 to A-42 and wherein wherein the acceptor chemical moiety is bonded to the donor chemical moiety at a carbon, nitrogen, boron, or sulfur atom, and the acceptor chemical moiety is bonded to each of two stretchable sections at each of a second and a third carbon, nitrogen, boron, or sulfur atom” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 5, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the polymer is selected from the group consisting of PDKCM, PDKCP, PDKCD, PDKCH, and PTrz-tBuCz” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 6, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the polymer exhibits a charge transfer absorption at a wavelength of from 350 to 400 nanometers, and a second charge transfer absorption at a wavelength of from 400 to 450 nanometers” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 7, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the polymer exhibits a prompt decay of about 10 nanoseconds and a delayed decay of about 3 microseconds” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 10, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “R is a linker moiety, bonded in either direction, selected from the group consisting of
” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 9 and the rest of limitations recited in claim 10.
Regarding to claim 11, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the donor chemical moiety is selected from the group consisting of D-1 to D-31 and wherein the donor chemical moiety is bonded to the acceptor chemical moiety at a carbon or nitrogen atom of the donor chemical moiety” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 9.
Regarding to claim 12, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the acceptor chemical moiety is selected from the group consisting of A-1 to A-42 and wherein wherein the acceptor chemical moiety is bonded to the donor chemical moiety at a carbon, nitrogen, boron, or sulfur atom, and the acceptor chemical moiety is bonded to each of two stretchable sections at each of a second and a third carbon, nitrogen, boron, or sulfur atom” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 9.
Regarding to claim 13, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the polymer is selected from the group consisting of PDKCM, PDKCP, PDKCD, PDKCH, and PTrz-tBuCz” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 9.
Regarding to claim 14, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the cathode layer and the anode layer comprise thermoplastic polyurethane comprising transparent silver nanowire” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 9.
Regarding to claim 17, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the diode is configured to exhibit a maximum external quantum efficiency of about 10% during stretching to 100% strain” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 9.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding to claim 15, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the electron injection layer comprises poly[(9,9-bis(3' -((N,N-dimethyl)-N-ethylammonium)-propyl)-2,7-fluorene)-alt-2,7-(9,9-dioctylfluorene)] (PFN-Br) and polyethyleneimine ethoxylated (PEIE) in a weight ratio of from about 2: 1 to about 1 :4; and/or wherein the hole transporting layer comprises poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) poly(styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT:PSS) with perfluorinated ionomers (PFI) in a weight ratio of from about 3:1 to about 1:50” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 9.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-7652136-B2, US-20230192719-A1, US-11737346-B2, US-6660813-B2US-20230407009-A1, US-8318894-B2, US-12707847-B2, US-20220285624-A1US-12012481-B2, US-11552250-B2, US-6340731-B1, and US-20220407008-A1, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. In particular, the references fail to disclose a stretchable light-emitting polymer having the formula exactly as being claimed.
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897