DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 13 September 2024, 18 September 2024, and 21 November 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “the imaging elements” in line 4 should be “the plurality of imaging elements” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 16: “the imaging elements” in line 6 should be “the plurality of imaging elements” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “the unit region” in line 9 and “the corresponding color filter” in line 11 both lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore both unclear. (Note: unit regions have been mentioned in the plural tense previously, but not singularly, so to which unit region is the limitation referring?)
Claims 2-15 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, “the imaging element” in lines 3 and 3-4 respectively, and “the color filter” in lines 3 and 4 respectively all lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore all unclear.
Regarding claim 10, “the imaging element” in lines 3 and 3-4 respectively, and “the color filter” in lines 3 and 4 respectively all lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore all unclear.
Regarding claim 11, “the imaging elements” in line 3, “the imaging element” in lines 3-4, 4, and 5 respectively, and “the color filter” in lines 4, 5, and 6 respectively all lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore all unclear.
Regarding claim 12, “the imaging elements” in line 3, “the imaging element” in lines 3-4, 4, and 5 respectively, and “the color filter” in lines 4, 5, and 6 respectively all lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore all unclear.
Regarding claim 16, “the unit region” in line 11 and “the corresponding color filter” in line 13 both lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore both unclear. (Note: unit regions have been mentioned in the plural tense previously, but not singularly, so to which unit region is the limitation referring?)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP 6473350 B2) in view of Cheng et al. (Five-Primary-Color LCDs).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi teaches an imaging device comprising a pixel array unit configured by two-dimensionally arranging unit regions each including a plurality of imaging elements (¶19, the color image sensor according to this invention is composed of a plurality of cells (not shown) consisting of photoelectric conversion elements arranged vertically and horizontally (two-dimensional arrangement)… This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid), wherein each of the imaging elements includes a color filter that has a rectangular shape in plan view and transmits light having a wavelength in a predetermined wavelength band (¶19, the color image sensor according to this invention is composed of a plurality of cells (not shown) consisting of photoelectric conversion elements arranged vertically and horizontally (two-dimensional arrangement), and a color filter placed on the light-receiving surface of each cell; and ¶9, The color filters are rectangular or square in shape), and a photoelectric conversion unit that generates a charge by light incident through the color filter (¶19, the color image sensor according to this invention is composed of a plurality of cells (not shown) consisting of photoelectric conversion elements arranged vertically and horizontally (two-dimensional arrangement), and a color filter placed on the light-receiving surface of each cell), and in the unit region, five or more types of the plurality of imaging elements distinguished by a wavelength of light transmitted through the corresponding color filter are arranged in m rows and n columns (see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors)), at least a first imaging element including a first color filter that transmits red light, a second imaging element including a second color filter that transmits green light, and a third imaging element including a third color filter that transmits blue light are included, and the first imaging element and a fourth imaging element including a fourth color filter are not arranged so as to be in contact with each other on two or more sides of the first imaging element (see figures 1-5, and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors)). However, Yamaguchi fails to explicitly teach the fourth color filter having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the first color filter at a wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm.
However, Cheng teaches the fourth color filter having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the first color filter at a wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm (see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the red filter (i.e. first imaging element wavelength) having near 0 transmittance (very high refractive index) and the cyan or yellow wavelengths (i.e. fourth imaging element wavelength) having a higher transmittance than red (i.e. lower refractive index) in the specified range; and Note: the relationship between transmittance and refractive index is proven by the following equation:
T
=
1
-
(
n
-
1
n
+
1
)
2
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamaguchi to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to have a color filter other than red have a lower refractive index than red in response to light in the green wavelength as it is well known in the art that a red color filter works by completely blocking green and blue light.
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the refractive index of the fourth color filter is lower than the refractive index of the first color filter at the wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors); and Lee, see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the red filter (i.e. first imaging element wavelength) having near 0 transmittance (very high refractive index) and the cyan or yellow wavelengths (i.e. fourth imaging element wavelength) having a higher transmittance than red (i.e. lower refractive index) in the specified range). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the refractive index is lower by 0.1 or more.
However, without showing criticality of the specified difference in refractive indices, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to have a difference in refractive indices that produces the best filtering results (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein in the unit region, the second imaging element and a fifth imaging element including a fifth color filter having a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the second color filter at the wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm are not arranged so as to be in contact with each other on two or more sides of the second imaging element (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors); and Lee, see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the green filter (i.e. second imaging element wavelength) having a high transmittance, near 0.7 (very low refractive index) and the cyan filter (i.e. fifth imaging element wavelength) having a lower transmittance than green (i.e. higher refractive index) in the specified range).
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 3, wherein the refractive index of the fifth color filter is higher than the refractive index of the second color filter at the wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors); and Lee, see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the green filter (i.e. second imaging element wavelength) having a high transmittance, near 0.7 (very low refractive index) and the cyan filter (i.e. fifth imaging element wavelength) having a lower transmittance than green (i.e. higher refractive index) in the specified range). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the refractive index is higher by 0.1 or more.
However, without showing criticality of the specified difference in refractive indices, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to have a difference in refractive indices that produces the best filtering results (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein in the unit region, the second imaging element and a sixth imaging element including a sixth color filter having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the second color filter at the wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm are arranged so as to be in contact with each other (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors); and Lee, see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the green filter (i.e. second imaging element wavelength) having a transmittance near 0.7 (very low refractive index) and the yellow filter (i.e. sixth imaging element wavelength) having a slightly higher transmittance than green (i.e. higher refractive index) in the specified range).
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 5, wherein the refractive index of the sixth color filter is lower than the refractive index of the second color filter at the wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors); and Lee, see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the green filter (i.e. second imaging element wavelength) having a transmittance near 0.7 (very low refractive index) and the yellow filter (i.e. sixth imaging element wavelength) having a slightly higher transmittance than green (i.e. higher refractive index) in the specified range). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the refractive index is lower by 0.1 or more.
However, without showing criticality of the specified difference in refractive indices, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to have a difference in refractive indices that produces the best filtering results (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 7, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein in the unit region, the third imaging element and a seventh imaging element including a seventh color filter having a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the third color filter at a wavelength of 440 nm to 480 nm are not arranged so as to be in contact with each other on two or more sides of the third imaging element (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors); and Lee, see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the blue filter (i.e. third imaging element wavelength) having a high transmittance, near 0.8 (very low refractive index) and the yellow filter (i.e. seventh imaging element wavelength) having a low transmittance near 0 (i.e. higher refractive index) in the specified range).
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 7, wherein the refractive index of the seventh color filter is higher than the refractive index of the third color filter at the wavelength of 440 nm to 480 nm (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors); and Lee, see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the blue filter (i.e. third imaging element wavelength) having a high transmittance, near 0.8 (very low refractive index) and the yellow filter (i.e. seventh imaging element wavelength) having a low transmittance near 0 (i.e. higher refractive index) in the specified range). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the refractive index is higher by 0.1 or more.
However, without showing criticality of the specified difference in refractive indices, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to have a difference in refractive indices that produces the best filtering results (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the unit region includes the imaging element including the color filter that transmits cyan light or the imaging element including the color filter that transmits jade green light (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors)).
Regarding claim 10, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the unit region includes the imaging element including the color filter that transmits cyan light and the imaging element including the color filter that transmits jade green light (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors); and Note: jade green is a subset of wavelength located in the green spectrum, so a green color filter transmits jade green light).
Regarding claim 11, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the unit region includes at least one of the imaging elements selected from a group consisting of the imaging element including the color filter that transmits white light, the imaging element including the color filter that transmits yellow light, and the imaging element including the color filter that transmits magenta light (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors)).
Regarding claim 12, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the unit region includes at least two of the imaging elements selected from a group consisting of the imaging element including the color filter that transmits white light, the imaging element including the color filter that transmits yellow light, and the imaging element including the color filter that transmits magenta light (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors)).
Regarding claim 14, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the unit region is configured by arranging the plurality of imaging elements in six rows and six columns (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5; and ¶18, This is a diagram showing the basic arrangement pattern of a 6x6 cell group).
Regarding claim 16, Yamaguchi teaches an electronic device on which an imaging device is mounted (¶1, This invention relates to a color image sensor), wherein the imaging device includes a pixel array unit configured by two-dimensionally arranging unit regions each including a plurality of imaging elements (¶19, the color image sensor according to this invention is composed of a plurality of cells (not shown) consisting of photoelectric conversion elements arranged vertically and horizontally (two-dimensional arrangement)… This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid), each of the imaging elements includes a color filter that has a rectangular shape in plan view and transmits light having a wavelength in a predetermined wavelength band (¶19, the color image sensor according to this invention is composed of a plurality of cells (not shown) consisting of photoelectric conversion elements arranged vertically and horizontally (two-dimensional arrangement), and a color filter placed on the light-receiving surface of each cell; and ¶9, The color filters are rectangular or square in shape), and a photoelectric conversion unit that generates a charge by light incident through the color filter (¶19, the color image sensor according to this invention is composed of a plurality of cells (not shown) consisting of photoelectric conversion elements arranged vertically and horizontally (two-dimensional arrangement), and a color filter placed on the light-receiving surface of each cell), and in the unit region, five or more types of the plurality of imaging elements distinguished by a wavelength of light transmitted through the corresponding color filter are arranged in m rows and n columns (see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors)), at least a first imaging element including a first color filter that transmits red light, a second imaging element including a second color filter that transmits green light, and a third imaging element including a third color filter that transmits blue light are included, and the first imaging element and a fourth imaging element including a fourth color filter are not arranged so as to be in contact with each other on two or more sides of the first imaging element (see figures 1-5; and ¶19, This color image sensor is composed of a 3x3 cell group consisting of nine cells arranged in a 3x3 grid. Each cell in this 3x3 cell group has a color filter placed in it, and this one-pixel color filter block is considered one pixel. Each cell in a single-pixel color filter block contains one of the following color filters: red, green, or blue (the three primary colors), or yellow, cyan, or magenta (the complementary colors)). However, Yamaguchi fails to explicitly teach the fourth color filter having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the first color filter at a wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm.
However, Cheng teaches the fourth color filter having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the first color filter at a wavelength of 510 nm to 550 nm (see figure 2, transmissions spectra of RGBYC color filters. Note, transmission and refractive index are inversely proportional, so a high transmission has a low refractive index and a low transmission has a high refractive index. Figure 2 shows the red filter (i.e. first imaging element wavelength) having near 0 transmittance (very high refractive index) and the cyan or yellow wavelengths (i.e. fourth imaging element wavelength) having a higher transmittance than red (i.e. lower refractive index) in the specified range; and Note: the relationship between transmittance and refractive index is proven by the following equation:
T
=
1
-
(
n
-
1
n
+
1
)
2
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamaguchi to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to have a color filter other than red have a lower refractive index than red in response to light in the green wavelength as it is well known in the art that a red color filter works by completely blocking green and blue light.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP 6473350 B2) in view of Cheng et al. (Five-Primary-Color LCDs) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (JP 2021145121 A).
Regarding claim 13, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches wherein the unit region is configured by arranging the plurality of imaging elements in rows and columns (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach arranging the plurality of imaging elements in four rows and four columns.
However, Lee teaches arranging the plurality of imaging elements in four rows and four columns (see figure 1, imaging device 10 having pixels arranged 4x4 in a pixel unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yamaguchi and Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Lee to have the unit region configured in a 4x4 arrangement as a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 15, Yamaguchi as modified by Cheng teaches wherein the unit region is configured by arranging the plurality of imaging elements in rows and columns (Yamaguchi, see figures 1-5). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach arranging the plurality of imaging elements in eight rows and eight columns.
However, Lee teaches arranging the plurality of imaging elements in eight rows and eight columns (see figure 16, image sensor 32 having pixels arranged 8x8 in a pixel unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yamaguchi and Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Lee to have the unit region configured in an 8x8 arrangement as a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kohno et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4845548 A): Kohno teaches a color image sensor comprising green, yellow, cyan, and magenta color filters (see figure 7).
Jamin et al. (USPGPub 20240187745 A1): Jamin teaches a color image sensor having green, blue, red, white, and infrared color filters (see figures 2-10).
Yu (WO 2020237591 A1): Yu teaches a color image sensor having green, blue, red, narrowband green, narrowband blue, narrowband red, and white color filters (see all figures).
Lee (USPGPub 20190348453 A1): Lee teaches a color image sensor having 9 different color filter elements (see figure 7).
Tanaka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9143747 B2): Tanaka teaches a color imaging device having first green, second green, red, blue, and white filters.
Miyashita (USPGPub 20150185380 A1): Miyashita teaches information regarding the refractive index of different color filters.
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878