DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim is the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim is directed to “a computer program” (i.e., software) which does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17, 19, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 2017/0070967) in view of BAI et al. (US 2013/0231105).
Regarding claim 13, Harada discloses an apparatus (Fig. 6; i.e., User Equipment UE) comprising at least one processor (p. [0075]), and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (p. [0077]), to cause the apparatus to:
carry out a first cell search by monitoring for a first synchronization signal shared by the plurality of communication systems (abstract; Fig. 2, step 210; p. [0046], [0048], [0070]-[0071]; the wireless communication system may support a common synchronization signal that is shared or common among multiple RATs, i.e., multi-RAT PSS; the UE may decode the multi-RAT PSS received from the base station);
in response to detecting the first synchronization signal, monitor for an indication for determining a type of a first radio cell found in the first cell search (Fig. 2, step 215, 225; p. [0050]-[0053], [0073]; the UE decodes the SSS, the periodicity of the SSS may convey an indication of the associated RAT (i.e., type of RAT of base station), the UE identify the RAT associated with the multi-RAT PSS based on the decoded SSS).
But, Wang does not particularly disclose to determine a priority communication system among a plurality of communication systems providing communication service in a geographical area; and in the case the type of the first radio cell corresponds to the priority communication system, carry out an access procedure to the first radio cell.
However, Bai teaches to determine a priority communication system among a plurality of communication systems providing communication service in a geographical area (abstract; the mobile station maintains a RAT preference rule that includes a prioritized list of one or more PLMN/RAT combinations (i.e., priority communication systems)); and in the case the type of the first radio cell corresponds to the priority communication system, carry out an access procedure to the first radio cell (abstract; p. [0042]; the MS determines a priority of the detected PLMN/RAT combinations, and selects the highest priority or most preferred PLMN/RAT to establish a wireless connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang with the teachings of Bai, since such a modification would allow for evaluating the priority of the detected RAT to establish a connection with the highest-priority system, thus ensuring quality of service.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang and Bai disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, Wang discloses wherein the indication is for at least one frequency position of a synchronization block for system acquisition (p. [0049]; the timing and/or frequency parameters may provide an indication of the timing and/or location of a SSS for the associated RAT), the indication being informed by a secondary synchronization signal common for the plurality of communication systems (p. [0049]-[0050]; the timing and/or frequency parameters may provide an indication of the timing and/or location of a SSS (i.e., secondary synchronization signal) for the associated RAT).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang and Bai disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, Wang discloses wherein the indication is a secondary synchronization signal specific to the priority communication system (p. [0050]-[0051]; the SSS may include or convey an identification (i.e., indication) of the associated RAT (i.e., communication system)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang and Bai disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, Wang discloses wherein the indication is a secondary synchronization signal specific to the priority communication system (p. [0050]; the SSS may include or convey identification of the associate RAT), and wherein the secondary synchronization signal specific to the priority communication system is specific by a distinctive time and/or frequency domain location (p. [0050]; the periodicity (i.e., timing) may be different for the plurality of RATs, the periodicity may convey an indication of the identity of the associated RAT) .
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang and Bai disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, Wang discloses wherein the indication is a secondary synchronization signal specific to the priority communication system (p. [0051]; the SSS may include an information element that identifies the associated RAT (i.e., communication system)), and wherein the secondary synchronization signal specific to the priority communication system is specific by a distinctive sequence (p. [0051]; the SSS may include a sequence number that identifies the RAT, in some examples, include a modulation scheme, different RATs may use different modulation schemes).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang and Bai disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, Wang discloses further comprising being caused to: in the case the type of the first radio cell does not correspond to the priority communication system and the apparatus is capable of accessing the first radio cell, carry out the access procedure to the first radio cell (p. [0053]; the UE may identify the RAT associated with the multi-RAT PSS and SSS, and therefore perform wireless communications on the channels of the identified RAT).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wang and Bai disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, Wang discloses further comprising being caused to, in the case the type of the first radio cell does not correspond to the priority communication system and the apparatus is capable of accessing the first radio cell, carry out the access procedure to the first radio cell, and prior to the access procedure to the first radio cell, monitor for a signal specific to the priority communication system (p. [0053]; the UE may identify the RAT associated with the multi-RAT PSS and SSS, and therefore perform wireless communications on the channels of the identified RAT).
Regarding claim 22, Harada discloses a method comprising:
carrying out a first cell search by monitoring for a first synchronization signal shared by the plurality of communication systems (abstract; Fig. 2, step 210; p. [0046], [0048], [0070]-[0071]; the wireless communication system may support a common synchronization signal that is shared or common among multiple RATs, i.e., multi-RAT PSS; the UE may decode the multi-RAT PSS received from the base station);
in response to detecting the first synchronization signal, monitor for an indication for determining a type of a first radio cell found in the first cell search (Fig. 2, step 215, 225; p. [0050]-[0053], [0073]; the UE decodes the SSS, the periodicity of the SSS may convey an indication of the associated RAT (i.e., type of RAT of base station), the UE identify the RAT associated with the multi-RAT PSS based on the decoded SSS).
But, Wang does not particularly disclose to determining a priority communication system among a plurality of communication systems providing communication service in a geographical area; and in the case the type of the first radio cell corresponds to the priority communication system, carrying out an access procedure to the first radio cell.
However, Bai teaches to determining a priority communication system among a plurality of communication systems providing communication service in a geographical area (abstract; the mobile station maintains a RAT preference rule that includes a prioritized list of one or more PLMN/RAT combinations (i.e., priority communication systems)); and in the case the type of the first radio cell corresponds to the priority communication system, carrying out an access procedure to the first radio cell (abstract; p. [0042]; the MS determines a priority of the detected PLMN/RAT combinations, and selects the highest priority or most preferred PLMN/RAT to establish a wireless connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang with the teachings of Bai, since such a modification would allow for evaluating the priority of the detected RAT to establish a connection with the highest-priority system, thus ensuring quality of service.
Regarding claim 23, Harada discloses a computer program (p. [0077]) comprising instructions which, when executed by an apparatus (Fig. 6; i.e., User Equipment UE), cause the apparatus to perform at least the following:
carrying out a first cell search by monitoring for a first synchronization signal shared by the plurality of communication systems (abstract; Fig. 2, step 210; p. [0046], [0048], [0070]-[0071]; the wireless communication system may support a common synchronization signal that is shared or common among multiple RATs, i.e., multi-RAT PSS; the UE may decode the multi-RAT PSS received from the base station);
in response to detecting the first synchronization signal, monitor for an indication for determining a type of a first radio cell found in the first cell search (Fig. 2, step 215, 225; p. [0050]-[0053], [0073]; the UE decodes the SSS, the periodicity of the SSS may convey an indication of the associated RAT (i.e., type of RAT of base station), the UE identify the RAT associated with the multi-RAT PSS based on the decoded SSS).
But, Wang does not particularly disclose to determining a priority communication system among a plurality of communication systems providing communication service in a geographical area; and in the case the type of the first radio cell corresponds to the priority communication system, carrying out an access procedure to the first radio cell.
However, Bai teaches to determine a priority communication system among a plurality of communication systems providing communication service in a geographical area (abstract; the mobile station maintains a RAT preference rule that includes a prioritized list of one or more PLMN/RAT combinations (i.e., priority communication systems)); and in the case the type of the first radio cell corresponds to the priority communication system, carry out an access procedure to the first radio cell (abstract; p. [0042]; the MS determines a priority of the detected PLMN/RAT combinations, and selects the highest priority or most preferred PLMN/RAT to establish a wireless connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang with the teachings of Bai, since such a modification would allow for evaluating the priority of the detected RAT to establish a connection with the highest-priority system, thus ensuring quality of service.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. in views of BAI et al., and XU et al. (US 2013/0286965).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Bai disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, but does not particularly disclose wherein the indication is a tertiary synchronization signal specific to the priority communication system.
However, Xu teaches wherein the indication is a tertiary synchronization signal specific to the priority communication system (p. [0172]; Xu teaches that tertiary synchronization signals are unique signal that may be used for identification of radio nodes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Wang and Bai with the teachings of Xu, since tertiary synchronization signals are unique signal that may be used for identification of radio nodes.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. in views of BAI et al., and CHOE et al. (US 2020/0267640).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wang and Bai disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, but does not particularly disclose further comprising being caused to: in the case the type of the first radio cell does not correspond to the priority communication system and the apparatus is not capable of accessing the first radio cell, carry out at least one second cell search for finding a radio cell of the priority communication system.
However, Choe teaches in the case the type of the first radio cell does not correspond to the priority communication system and the apparatus is not capable of accessing the first radio cell, carry out at least one second cell search for finding a radio cell of the priority communication system (p. [0131], [0183], [0184], [0199]; if the UE does not find a suitable cell, the UE may perform a cell selection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Wang and Bai with the teachings of Choe, since such a modification would allow the UE to regularly search for a better cell.
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643