DETAILED ACTION
1.This communication is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 11/04/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
1a. Status of the claims:
Claims 1, 4, 6-18 are amended.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Objection
2. Claim 1 is objected to because “the enhance MRF” appears to be -the enhance MRF-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Zielinski document ( hereinafter “ Zielinski”) (IMS Data Channel White Paper), an IDS provided reference.
Regarding claim 1, Zielinski discloses a method performed by a first network node, such as an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem Application Server, IMS AS, for handling an IMS session of one or more user equipments, UEs2 in a communication network, the method comprising:
obtaining data relating to bootstrapping of data channel information to the IMS session ("Data Channel Server Control Functions Implements data channel business logic using DC control API. Initiates and terminates the bootstrap and application data channel control procedures [..] MRF IMS data channel media function Executes IMS data channel media operations such as creation and closure of bootstrap data channel(s). Initiates and terminates connectivity for the bootstrap data channel(s). Initiates and terminates connectivity for the application data channel(s)", initiating and terminating connectivities are data channel information to a IMS that obtains information related to bootstrapping. Initiating and terminating connectivities are obtained to create and close bootstrap of data channels, Zielinski, see Page 45 fig. A-2 and Page 46, Table A-2; Table -2 describes in details how “Data Channel Server Control Functions” and MRF operate ); and reserving one or more needed media resources at a second network node, such as the enhanced Media Resource Function, MRF, for bootstrapping data channel information to the IMS session (optional feature, see clarity objection below), for bootstrapping data channel information to the IMS session ("IMS AS Uses the Data Channel Control API for allocating (=reserving) data channels with DCS. Support the data channel specific interaction needed for media control of the MRF for Mb to IF1 connectivity. Note: IMS AS is a generic term for any application server supporting IMS data channel usage, e.g. MMTEL AS, SIP Trunking AS. Table A-2: IMS Data Channel Network Functions", allocation of data channel is made at the MRS server (media resource function server) that is the second node; where the data channels is the media resources that contains the bootstrapping data channel information. Bootstrapping information is information about session connectivity; Where allocation of data channel is reservation of data channel, Zielinski, Page 46; the second network node is the point where data channel control is located see Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 2, Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 1; wherein reserving the needed one or more media resources comprises transmitting a request to the second network node to reserve media resources, and receiving a response from the second network node ( "IMS call control, including management of IMS call event subscription and notification, and controlling of IMS call; - Management of bootstrap data channels (DC = 0, 10, 100, 110), including bootstrap data channel setup, release, etc.; (via Mr'/Cr for MRF anchoring) - Management of application data channel (DC >= 1000), including application data channel setup, release, etc. (UE to UE, or anchoring in MRF for DC media breakout to web server logic in DCS or provided by a 3rd party)", since the IMS AS is performing the bootstrap data channel setup/release it is implicit that theMRF replies with ACK/NACK of the reserved resources ", MRS Server that is second network node is the server that handles IMS sessions managing calls for bootstrap channel setup and release; where the calls for bootstrap channel setup and release are request for bootstrap setup and release channel. The ACKs/NACKs are the response to a request for setup and release of a channel, Zielinski, Page 72 )).
Regarding claim 3, Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the response comprises resource information such as MRF egress information. (MRF egress information is the media that flows out of the MRF, MRF (Message Routing Framework) egress information refers to a message leaving a Message Routing Proxy toward a specific destination point. As the ACK/NACK of the resources are the response to a request for setup and release information of a channel for bootstrapping. When the acknowledgment of the channel is sent the information is about the message that has reached its destination, see Fig.4. 4.2, Zielinski, Page 72; Fig A.4.2)).
Regarding claim 4, Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising - providing, to the second network node and/or a third network node, such as a data channel, DC, server (optional feature, see clarity objection below), contact information relating to the IMS session, e.g. address information, Internet Protocol, IP information, and/or UE information, and/or resource information required for bootstrapping the data channel information to the IMS session ("data channel session setup shall determine the following session parameters, and additional session parameters may be determined depending on specific cases: 1. IP address(es) 2. UDP port number(s) 3. SCTP Port number(s) 4. DTLS server/client role(s) 5. DTLS ID(s)), Zielinski, Page 47) (data channel, DC server ( third node of the network))).
Regarding claim 5, Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein providing contact information and/or resource information to the second network node and/or the third network node comprises updating the third network node with MRF egress information, or requesting the contact information from the third network node, and receiving a response comprising contact information of the third network node such as the DC Server ingress Information, or a separate subsequent request including contact information of the third network node(IMS AS - DCS - MRF interaction Zielinski, Page 47) (data channel, DC server ( third node of the network))).
Regarding claim 6. Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 4 , wherein providing contact information and/or resource information to the second network node and/or the third network node comprises; updating the second network node with Internet Protocol, IP, Access Gateway, AGW, Egress information and/or with DC Server ingress Information. (IMS AS - DCS - MRF interaction, Zielinski, Page 47 ) (data channel, DC server ( third node of the network))).
Regarding claim 7, Zielinski discloses a method performed by a second network node, such as an enhanced Media Resource Function, MRF, or MRF node, for handling an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem, IMS, session of one or more user equipments, UEs2 in a communication network (for handling an IMS session of one or more UEs in a communication network ("MRF IMS data channel media function Executes IMS data channel media operations such as creation and closure of bootstrap data channel(s). Initiates and terminates connectivity for the bootstrap data channel(s). Initiates and terminates connectivity for the application data channel(s).") Zielinski, Page 45) (MRS Server ( second network node))., the method comprising;
- receiving a request from a first network node, indicating a need to reserve one or more media resources for bootstrapping data channel, DC media information to the IMS session ("IMS AS Uses the Data Channel Control API for allocating data channels with DCS. Support the data channel specific interaction needed for media control of the MRF for Mb to IF1 connectivity", since the IMS AS is controlling the media channels of the MRF it is indeed sending the corresponding request to the MRF), Receiving from the IMS AS server calls for bootstrap channel setup and release are requests for bootstrap setup and release channel are received to allocate of data channel is made at the MRS server (media resource function server) ; where the data channels is the media resources that contains the bootstrapping data channel information. Bootstrapping information is information about session connectivity , Zielinski, Page 46 )); and
- transmitting a response to the first network node, wherein the response indicates rejection or confirmation of one or more media resources reserved for the IMS session ("IMS call control, including management of IMS call event subscription and notification, and controlling of IMS call; -Management of bootstrap data channels (DC = 0,10,100,110), including bootstrap data channel setup, release, etc.; (via Mr'/Cr for MRF anchoring) -Management of application data channel (DC >= 1000), including application data channel setup, release, etc. (UE to UE, or anchoring in MRF for DC media breakout to web server logic in DCS or provided by a 3rd party)" since the IMS AS is performing the bootstrap data channel setup/release it is implicit that theMRF replies with ACK/NACK of the reserved resources); IMS AS server calls for bootstrap channel setup and release are requests for bootstrap setup and release channel are received to allocate of data channel is made at the MRS server (media resource function server) ; where the data channels is the media resources that contains the bootstrapping data channel information. Bootstrapping information is information about session connectivity; The ACKs/NACKs are the response to a request for setup and release of the server resources for the channel, Zielinski, Page 72; (Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem Application Server ( first node) ).
Regarding claim 8. Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising;- reserving one or more media resources and mapping a session identifier, IDs to the reserved one or more media resources ( mapping a session identifier is a standard behaviour at an MRF when reserving media resources and seen as implicitly disclosed, in MRF traffic is not forwarded blindly, session identifier is mapped to reserved media resources, Zielinski, Page 72)
Regarding claim 9, Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising;- obtaining contact information and/or resource information for bootstrapping the DC media information to the IMS session ( "data channel session setup shall determine the following session parameters, and additional session parameters may be determined depending on specific cases: 1. IP address(es) 2. UDP port number(s) 3. SCTP Port number(s) 4. DTLS server/client role(s) 5. DTLS ID(s) 6. Stream ID(s)" Zielinski, Page 47) (Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem Application Server ( first node) ).
Regarding claim 10, Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein obtaining the contact information and/or resource information comprises receiving from the first network node Internet Protocol, IP, Access Gateway, AGW, Egress information and/or with DC Server ingress Information. IMS AS - DCS - MRF interaction Zielinski, Page 47 see Table A-2 IMS Data channel Network Function; Zielinski, Page 47) (Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem Application Server ( first node) ).
Regarding claim 11, Zielinski discloses a method performed by a third network node, such as a data channel, DC server, for handling an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem, IMS, session of one or more user equipments, UEs, in a communication network ("IF6: the interface between MMTEL AS and the DCS is used for reporting the call events. When 5G subscriber initiates a call with the data channel capability specified in section 6.2.10 of 3GPP TS 26.114 [1], MMTEL AS sends the call events notification to the DCS. The DCS subscription information determines whether the DCS should be notified of the particular call. IF6 interface allows the DCS to request the following services from MMTEL AS" Zielinski, Page 52)).), the method comprising - obtaining contact and/or resource information required for bootstrapping data channel information to the IMS session, wherein the resource information is related to one or more media resources reserved for the IMS session ("Functionality of DC Control API The DC Control API should provide the (Page 71 ff., "Functionality of DC Control API The DC Control API should provide the functionality required to manage the life cycle of data channel services; the bootstrap and the application data channel management including setup, takedown and accounting." Zielinski, Page 71)).).
Regarding claim 12, Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein obtaining resource information comprises receiving from the first network node Media Resource Function, MRF Egress information, such as address, for Bootstrap data. (MRF "data channel session setup shall determine the following session parameters, and additional session parameters may be determined depending on specific cases: 1. IP address(es) 2. UDP port number(s) 3. SCTP Port number(s) 4. DTLS server/client role(s) 5. DTLS ID(s) 6. Stream ID(s)" Zielinski, see Page 47; (Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem Application Server ( first node) )
Regarding claim 13, Zielinski discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising - transmitting a response, to a request or the obtained resource information, to the first network node, wherein the response comprises contact information of the third network node such as the DC Server ingress Information, or transmit a separate subsequent request including contact information of the third network node. ("IMS call control, including management of IMS call event subscription and notification, and controlling of IMS call; -Management of bootstrap data channels (DC = 0,10,100,110), including bootstrap data channel setup, release, etc.; (via Mr'/Cr for MRF anchoring) - Management of application data channel (DC >= 1000), including application data channel setup, release, etc. (UE to UE, or anchoring in MRF for DC media breakout to web server logic in DCS or provided by a 3rd party)", since the IMS AS is performing the bootstrap data channel setup/release it is implicit that the MRF replies with ACK/NACK of the reserved resources Zielinski, transmitting to the IMS AS ACK/NACK of the reserved resources for bootstrapping data channel setup/release information coming from DC server that is the third node of the network, see Page 72; (data channel) DC server ( third node of the network)).
Regarding claim 14, Zielinski discloses A first network node, such as an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem Application Server, IMS AS, for handling an IMS session of one or more user equipments, UEs2 in a communication network (Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem Application Server ( first node) that handles IMS sessions, IMS AS, Zielinski, see Page 45 fig. A-2); in addition, claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 15, Zielinski discloses a second network node, such as an enhanced Media Resource Function, MRF, node, for handling an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem, IMS, session of one or more user equipments, UEs2 in a communication network (MRS Server ( second network node) that handles IMS sessions, IMS AS, Zielinski, see Page 45 fig. A-2); in addition, claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 7, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 16, Zielinski discloses a third network node, such as data channel, DC server, for handling an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem, IMS, session of one or more user equipments, UEs2 in a communication network (data channel, DC server ( third node of the network), for handling an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem, IMS, session, Zielinski, see Page 44 fig. A-1); in addition, claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 11, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 17, Zielinski discloses a computer program product comprising instructions, which, when executed on at least one processor ( a programming language for processing is disclosed, Zielinski, see Page 91); in addition,, claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 18, Zielinski discloses a computer-readable storage medium ( a storage is disclosed, Zielinski, see Page 65), having stored thereon a computer program product comprising instructions which, when executed on at least one processor ( a programming language for processing is disclosed, Zielinski, see Page 91); in addition,, claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Conclusion
/MARIEGEORGES A HENRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2455
/ZI YE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455