DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. (US Pat 5,501,289) in view of Ahn et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0231222).
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa et al. disclose a seat mounting structure, comprising: a right side sill 12 and a left side sill 12 that extend in a front-rear direction (see Figures 1-3; Col. 3, lines 34-38); a central member 8 extending in the front-rear direction between the right side sill 12 and the left side sill 12 (see Figures 1 and 3; Col. 3, lines 47-58); a plurality of cross members 6, 7, 9 provided to be spaced from each other in the front-rear direction and each extending laterally and joined to the central member 8, the right side sill 12, and the left side sill 12 (see Figure 3; Col. 3, lines 39-63); a floor 2 provided on the central member 8 and the plurality of cross members 6, 7, 9 and joined to the right side sill 12 and the left side sill 12 (see Figure 3; Col. 3, lines 9-16, lines 51-58); a plurality of right battery connection parts 5A joined to the right side sill 12 (see Figures 1 and 3; Col. 3, lines 34-38); a plurality of left battery connection parts 5A joined to the left side sill 12 (see Figures 1 and 3; Col. 3, lines 34-38); a plurality of central battery connection parts 19 joined to the central member 8 (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 15-28); a plurality of right batteries 10 extending laterally and joined to the right battery connection parts 5A and the central battery connection parts 19 (see Figures 1-4 and annotated Figure 1 below; Col. 3, lines 59-63; Col. 4, lines 50-52); a plurality of left batteries 10 extending laterally and joined to the left battery connection parts 5A and the central battery connection parts 19 (see Figures 1-4 and annotated Figure 1 below; Col. 3, lines 59-63; Col. 4, lines 50-52).
Nishikawa et al. fail to disclose a seat mounted on an upper surface of the floor via a seat support part, wherein the seat support part is provided between the right battery connection parts and the central battery connection parts or between the left battery connection parts and the central battery connection parts.
Ahn et al. disclose a seat mounting structure, comprising: a right side sill 15 and a left side sill 15 that extend in a front-rear direction (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 34-35); a central member 13 extending in the front-rear direction between the right side sill 15 and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 40-41); a plurality of cross members 12 provided to be spaced from each other in the front-rear direction and each extending laterally and joined to the central member 13, the right side sill 15, and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 39-41); a floor 11 provided on the central member 13 and the plurality of cross members 12 and joined to the right side sill 15 and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 39); a plurality of right battery connection parts 63 joined to the right side sill 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 43); a plurality of left battery connection parts 63 joined to the left side sill 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 43); a plurality of central battery connection parts 42 joined to the central member 13 by the cross members 12 (see Figure 6; Paragraph 48); and a seat mounted on an upper surface of the floor 11 via a seat support part 17 (seat not shown; see Paragraph 39), wherein the seat support part 17 is provided between the right battery connection parts 63 and the central battery connection parts 42 or between the left battery connection parts 63 and the central battery connection parts 42 (see Figures 1-6; Paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the seat mounting structure of Nishikawa with a seat mounted on an upper surface of the floor via a seat support part, wherein the seat support part is provided between the right battery connection parts and the central battery connection parts or between the left battery connection parts and the central battery connection parts, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional stiffness to the floor in a longitudinal direction, as taught by Ahn et al..
Regarding claim 6, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., disclose the seat mounting structure according to claim 1. The right batteries 10 and left batteries 10 are positioned near the front cross member 6 where a dash panel would be positioned, maximizing the number of batteries that could be used in the vehicle (see Figures 2-4; Col. 3, lines 9-16).
Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., fail to disclose a front end portion of the seat support part is disposed more rearward than front end portions of the right batteries and the left batteries.
Ahn et al. disclose a seat mounting structure, comprising: a right side sill 15 and a left side sill 15 that extend in a front-rear direction (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 34-35); a central member 13 extending in the front-rear direction between the right side sill 15 and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 40-41); a plurality of cross members 12 provided to be spaced from each other in the front-rear direction and each extending laterally and joined to the central member 13, the right side sill 15, and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 39-41); a floor 11 provided on the central member 13 and the plurality of cross members 12 and joined to the right side sill 15 and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 39); a plurality of right battery connection parts 63 joined to the right side sill 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 43); a plurality of left battery connection parts 63 joined to the left side sill 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 43); a plurality of central battery connection parts 42 joined to the central member 13 by the cross members 12 (see Figure 6; Paragraph 48); and a seat mounted on an upper surface of the floor 11 via a seat support part 17 (seat not shown; see Paragraph 39), wherein the seat support part 17 is provided between the right battery connection parts 63 and the central battery connection parts 42 or between the left battery connection parts 63 and the central battery connection parts 42 (see Figures 1-6; Paragraph 39). A front end portion of the seat support part 17 is disposed more rearward than front end portions of a plurality of batteries 60 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 39, 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a front end portion of the seat support part of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., more rearward than front end portions of the right batteries and left batteries, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Ahn et al., to maximize the amount of space utilized under the floor for battery capacity while leaving enough leg room for passengers.
Regarding claim 7, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., disclose the seat mounting structure according to claim 1, wherein the right battery connection parts 5A, the left battery connection parts 5A, and the central battery connection parts 19 comprise hooks for supporting the right batteries 10 and the left batteries 10 (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 34-37; Col. 4, lines 11-14; see also Figure 6). Merriam-Webster defines a hook as: “a curved or bent device for catching, holding, or pulling”. The battery connection parts 5A, 19 are bent devices for holding, meeting the definition of a hook. A second embodiment additionally discloses a more traditional hook for the right and left battery connection parts 5A shown in Figure 6.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., in view of Lee (US PG Pub 2021/0387550), and Sumida et al. (US Pat 7,252,318).
Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., disclose, the seat mounting structure according to claim 1.
Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., fails to disclose the seat support part comprises a first rail joined to the floor and a first slider slidably supported by the first rail and joined to the seat, and the first rail crosses at least three of the cross members.
Lee discloses a seat mounting structure, comprising: a right side sill 14 and a left side sill 14 that extend in a front-rear direction (see Figures 1-3; Paragraph 32); a plurality of cross members 15 provided to be spaced from each other in the front-rear direction and each extending laterally and joined to the right side sill 14 and the left side sill 14 (see Figures 1-3; Paragraph 36); a floor 11 provided on the plurality of cross members 15 and joined to the right side sill 14 and the left side sill 14 (see Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 30 and 32); a plurality of right battery connection parts 27 joined to the right side sill 14 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 45); a plurality of left battery connection parts 27 joined to the left side sill 14 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 45); a plurality of central battery connection parts 23 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 46); and a seat support part 13 mounted on an upper surface of the floor 11 (see Figures 1-4), wherein the seat support part 13 is provided between the right battery connection parts 27 and the central battery connection parts 23 or between the left battery connection parts 27 and the central battery connection parts 23 (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39-40 and 47). The seat support part comprises a first rail 13 joined to the floor 11 and the first rail 13 crosses at least three of the cross members 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 40).
Sumida et al. disclose a seat mounting structure having a seat support part comprising a seat rail 19, 20 joined to a floor 5 and a slider 23 supported by the seat rail 19, 20 and joined to the seat 7 (see Figures 1, 5, and 7-8; Col. 7, lines 17-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the seat support part of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., comprising a first rail joined to the floor that crosses at least three of the cross members, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve stiffness of the seat rail, as taught by Lee.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the seat support part of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al. and Lee, with a first slider slidably supported by the first rail and joined to the seat, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Sumida et al., to enable the seat to move and adjust with a passenger’s preference.
Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., Lee, and Sumida et al., disclose the seat mounting structure according to claim 2.
Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., Lee, and Sumida et al., fail to disclose the first rail is received in a recessed groove provided on the floor and extending in the front-rear direction.
Lee discloses a seat mounting structure, comprising: a right side sill 14 and a left side sill 14 that extend in a front-rear direction (see Figures 1-3; Paragraph 32); a plurality of cross members 15 provided to be spaced from each other in the front-rear direction and each extending laterally and joined to the right side sill 14 and the left side sill 14 (see Figures 1-3; Paragraph 36); a floor 11 provided on the plurality of cross members 15 and joined to the right side sill 14 and the left side sill 14 (see Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 30 and 32); a plurality of right battery connection parts 27 joined to the right side sill 14 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 45); a plurality of left battery connection parts 27 joined to the left side sill 14 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 45); a plurality of central battery connection parts 23 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 46); and a seat support part 13 mounted on an upper surface of the floor 11 (see Figures 1-4), wherein the seat support part 13 is provided between the right battery connection parts 27 and the central battery connection parts 23 or between the left battery connection parts 27 and the central battery connection parts 23 (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39-40 and 47). The seat support part comprises a first rail 13 joined to the floor 11 and the first rail 13 crosses at least three of the cross members 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 40). The first rail 13 is received in a recessed groove 34 provided on the floor 11 and extending in the front-rear direction (see Figure 4; Paragraph 40). The first rail 13 is received in the cavity 34 to minimize exposure of the first rail 13 and improve the exterior styling (see Figure 4; Paragraph 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive the first rail of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., Lee, and Sumida et al., in a recessed groove provided in the floor and extending in the front-rear direction, with a reasonable expectation, to minimize exposure of the first rail and improve the exterior style, as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 4, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., Lee twice, and Sumida et al., disclose the seat mounting structure according to claim 3.
Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., Lee twice, and Sumida et al., fail to disclose the floor comprises a lower floor panel extending along a bottom portion of the recessed groove and an upper floor panel extending along an upper portion of the recessed groove.
Lee discloses a seat mounting structure, comprising: a right side sill 14 and a left side sill 14 that extend in a front-rear direction (see Figures 1-3; Paragraph 32); a plurality of cross members 15 provided to be spaced from each other in the front-rear direction and each extending laterally and joined to the right side sill 14 and the left side sill 14 (see Figures 1-3; Paragraph 36); a floor 11 provided on the plurality of cross members 15 and joined to the right side sill 14 and the left side sill 14 (see Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 30 and 32); a plurality of right battery connection parts 27 joined to the right side sill 14 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 45); a plurality of left battery connection parts 27 joined to the left side sill 14 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 45); a plurality of central battery connection parts 23 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 46); and a seat support part 13 mounted on an upper surface of the floor 11 (see Figures 1-4), wherein the seat support part 13 is provided between the right battery connection parts 27 and the central battery connection parts 23 or between the left battery connection parts 27 and the central battery connection parts 23 (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39-40 and 47). The seat support part comprises a first rail 13 joined to the floor 11 and the first rail 13 crosses at least three of the cross members 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 40). The first rail 13 is received in a recessed groove 34 provided on the floor 11 and extending in the front-rear direction (see Figure 4; Paragraph 40). The first rail 13 is received in the cavity 34 to minimize exposure of the first rail 13 and improve the exterior styling (see Figure 4; Paragraph 40). The floor 11 comprises a lower floor panel 11 extending along a bottom portion of the recessed groove 34 and an upper floor panel 18 extending along an upper portion of the recessed groove 34 (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 37-40). The double panel structure enables capacity of the battery assembly 20 to be relatively increased and secures a relatively large space in the passenger compartment compared to related art (see Paragraph 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the floor of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., Lee twice, and Sumida et al., comprising a lower floor panel extending along a bottom portion of the recessed groove and an upper floor panel extending along an upper portion of the recessed groove, with a reasonable expectation of success, to increase capacity of the battery assembly and the passenger compartment compared to related art, as taught by Lee.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., in view of Sumida et al..
Regarding claim 5, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., disclose the seat mounting structure according to claim 1.
Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., fail to disclose at least one of left and right end portions of the seat is disposed above the plurality of right battery connection parts or the plurality of central battery connection parts.
Sumida et al. disclose a seat mounting structure having a seat support part comprising a seat rail 19, 20 joined to a floor 5 and a slider 23 supported by the seat rail 19, 20 and joined to the seat 7 (see Figures 1, 5, and 7-8; Col. 7, lines 17-34). The seat 7 has right end portions disposed above a side sill 6 and left end portions above a central member 12 to properly support the seat 7 (see Figure 5; Col. 7, lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position at least one of left and right end portions of the seat of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., above the plurality of right battery connection parts joined to the side sill or the plurality of central battery connection parts joined to the central member, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure the seat is well supported and enforced, as taught by Sumida et al..
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., in view of Dry et al. (US Pat 10,569,669).
Regarding claim 8, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., disclose the seat mounting structure according to claim 1.
Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., fail to disclose an article is mounted on the floor via a pair of article support parts, the pair of article support parts are respectively disposed on both sides of the plurality of central battery connection parts with respect to a left-right direction, and one of the article support parts is provided between the seat support part and the plurality of central battery connection parts with respect to the left-right direction.
Dry et al. disclose a seat mounting structure having a seat support part 38 mounted to an upper surface of a floor 46 and supporting a seat 58 (see Figures 1-4 and 7; Col. 4, lines 37-54). An article 94 is mounted to the floor by a pair of article support parts 86 disposed on both sides of a centerline 90 in a left-right direction and one of the article support parts 86 is mounted between the seat support part 38 and the centerline 90 in the left-right direction (see Figures 1-4; Col. 4, line 55-Col. 5, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount an article on the floor of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., using a pair of article support parts, wherein the pair of article support pars are respectively disposed on both sides of the plurality of central battery connection parts in a left-right direction and one of the article support parts is disposed between the seat support part and the plurality of central battery connection parts with respect to the left-right direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional storage or a work surface for passengers, as taught by Dry et al..
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al, as modified by Ahn et al. and Dry et al., in view of Dry et al. and Ahn et al..
Regarding claim 9, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al. and Dry et al., disclose the seat mounting structure according to claim 8.
Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al. and Dry et al., fail to disclose the pair of article support parts each include a second rail joined to the floor and a second slider slidably supported by the second rail and joined to the article, and the second rail crosses at least three of the cross members.
Dry et al. disclose a seat mounting structure having a seat support part 38 mounted to an upper surface of a floor 42 and supporting a seat 58 (see Figures 1-4 and 7; Col. 4, lines 37-54). An article 94 is mounted to the floor 42 by a pair of article support parts 86 disposed on both sides of a centerline 90 in a left-right direction and one of the article support parts 86 is mounted between the seat support part 38 and the centerline 90 in the left-right direction (see Figures 1-4; Col. 4, line 55-Col. 5, line 15). The pair of article support parts 86 comprise rails joined to the floor 42 and a slider 122 slidably supported by the rail and joined to the article 94 (see Figures 6 and 8-13; Col. 6, lines 11-60).
Ahn et al. disclose a seat mounting structure, comprising: a right side sill 15 and a left side sill 15 that extend in a front-rear direction (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 34-35); a central member 13 extending in the front-rear direction between the right side sill 15 and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 40-41); a plurality of cross members 12 provided to be spaced from each other in the front-rear direction and each extending laterally and joined to the central member 13, the right side sill 15, and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 39-41); a floor 11 provided on the central member 13 and the plurality of cross members 12 and joined to the right side sill 15 and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 39); a plurality of right battery connection parts 63 joined to the right side sill 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 43); a plurality of left battery connection parts 63 joined to the left side sill 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 43); a plurality of central battery connection parts 42 joined to the central member 13 by the cross members 12 (see Figure 6; Paragraph 48); and a seat mounted on an upper surface of the floor 11 via a seat support part 17 (seat not shown; see Paragraph 39), wherein the seat support part 17 is provided between the right battery connection parts 63 and the central battery connection parts 42 or between the left battery connection parts 63 and the central battery connection parts 42 (see Figures 1-6; Paragraph 39). The central member 13 supports a rail for a center console, or “article”, and the central member 13 crosses at least three of the cross members 12 and allows the center console to move in a longitudinal direction (see Figure 1; Paragraph 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the pair of article support parts of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al. and Dry et al., to include a second rail joined to the floor and a second slider slidably supported by the second rail and joined to the article, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the article to move along the front-rear direction of the vehicle and be accessed by all passengers in the vehicle, as taught by Dry et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the second rail of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al. and Dry et al. twice, such that it crosses at least three of the cross members, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the article to move along the front-rear direction of the vehicle and be accessed by all passengers while remaining securely supported, as taught by Ahn et al..
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al, as modified by Ahn et al. and Dry et al., in view of Ahn et al..
Regarding claim 10, Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al. and Dry et al., disclose the seat mounting structure according to claim 8. The right batteries 10 and left batteries 10 are positioned near the front cross member 6 where a dash panel would be positioned, maximizing the number of batteries that could be used in the vehicle (see Figures 2-4; Col. 3, lines 9-16).
Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al. and Dry et al., fail to disclose each of front end portions of the pair of article support parts is disposed more rearward than front end portions of the right batteries and the left batteries.
Ahn et al. disclose a seat mounting structure, comprising: a right side sill 15 and a left side sill 15 that extend in a front-rear direction (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 34-35); a central member 13 extending in the front-rear direction between the right side sill 15 and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 40-41); a plurality of cross members 12 provided to be spaced from each other in the front-rear direction and each extending laterally and joined to the central member 13, the right side sill 15, and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 39-41); a floor 11 provided on the central member 13 and the plurality of cross members 12 and joined to the right side sill 15 and the left side sill 15 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 32 and 39); a plurality of right battery connection parts 63 joined to the right side sill 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 43); a plurality of left battery connection parts 63 joined to the left side sill 15 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 43); a plurality of central battery connection parts 42 joined to the central member 13 by the cross members 12 (see Figure 6; Paragraph 48); and a seat mounted on an upper surface of the floor 11 via a seat support part 17 (seat not shown; see Paragraph 39), wherein the seat support part 17 is provided between the right battery connection parts 63 and the central battery connection parts 42 or between the left battery connection parts 63 and the central battery connection parts 42 (see Figures 1-6; Paragraph 39). A front end portion of the central member 13 is disposed more rearward than front end portions of a plurality of batteries 60 (see Figure 1; Paragraphs 39, 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a front end portion of the seat support part of Nishikawa et al., as modified by Ahn et al., more rearward than front end portions of the right batteries and left batteries, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Ahn et al., to maximize the amount of space utilized under the floor for battery capacity while leaving enough room for passengers to access the article.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Milner et al. (US PG Pub 2012/0043147) disclose a seat mounting structure having side sills, a central member, a plurality of cross members, a plurality of battery connection parts, batteries, a seat, seat support parts, and a floor. Tsuyuzaki et al. (US Pat 10,913,340 and 11,370,287) disclose a seat mounting structure having side sills, a central member, a plurality of cross members, a seat, seat support parts, and a floor. Choi et al. (US Pat 11,407,448) disclose a seat mounting structure having side sills, battery connection parts, a seat, seat support parts, and a floor. Friedman et al. (US Pat 10,889,336) disclose a seat mounting structure having side sills, a plurality of cross members, batteries, and a floor. Saje et al. (US Pat 9,751,566) disclose a seat mounting structure having side sills, a central member, a plurality of cross members, a floor, a seat, and seat support parts. Nakaya et al. (US Pat 9,884,649) disclose a seat mounting structure having side sills, a central member, a plurality of cross members, a floor, a seat, and seat support parts. Yamaguchi et al. (US Pat 8,939,246) has side sills, a central member, cross members, a floor, battery connection parts, batteries, and seat support parts.. Kawase (US PG Pub 2021/0221239) has side sills, a central member, cross members, a floor, battery connection parts, and batteries.
/VERONICA M CONDO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612