AnDETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 13, 15-17, 25, 27, 37, 39-41, 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (US Publication No. 2018/0145838), hereinafter “Wang”, and further in view of Marpe et al., (US Publication No. 2005/0012648), hereinafter “Marpe”.
Regarding claims 1, 13, Wang discloses
transmitting a first binary to a network device, the first binary comprising a k-bit secret K [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1];
selecting a first Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1];
receiving from the network device a set of device unique function responses, wherein the device unique function responses are generated based on challenges derived from the first set of IVs and the secret K [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1]; and
applying a transformation to the set of device unique function responses resulting in a transformation vector [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1].
Wang does not specifically disclose, however Marpe teaches
transmitting the first set of IVs to the network device [Marpe, paragraph 25].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a set of initial values rather than a single initial value in order to provide additional security for a system. It would have been obvious to combine Marpe with Wang as both arts relate to a similar concept.
Regarding claims 3, 15, 27, 39, Wang-Marpe further discloses
wherein the transformation comprises one or more of a permutation, substitution, masking, demasking, encryption, and decryption [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1].
Regarding claims 4, 16, 40, Wang-Marpe further discloses
wherein the secret K is camouflaged [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1].
Regarding claims 5, 17, 41, Wang-Marpe further discloses
wherein the first binary further comprises one or more of a one way function H, a random number generator G, and the device unique function [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1].
Regarding claims 25, 37, Wang-Marpe further discloses
receiving (1112) a first binary from a client device, the first binary comprising a k-bit secret K [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1];
receiving (1114) from the client device a selected first set of initialization values (IVs) from a set of all possible IVs associated with a device unique function associated with the network device [Marpe, paragraph 25];
generating (1116) device unique function responses based on challenges [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1] derived from the first set of IVs [Marpe, paragraph 25] and the secret K [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1]; and
transmitting (1118) the device unique function responses to the client device [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1].
Regarding claim 45, Wang-Marpe further discloses
wherein the network device comprises a field programmable gate array (FPGA) and the first and second binaries comprise programmable logic instructions [Wang, paragraphs 73, 80, figure 1].
Regarding claim 46, Wang-Marpe further discloses
wherein the network device comprises a processing element and the first and second binaries comprise machine code [Wang, paragraphs 30-32, 34-35, figure 1].
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang-Marpe as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Guajardo Merchan et al., (US Publication No 2011-0191837), hereinafter “Merchan”.
Regarding claim 47, Wang-Marpe does not specifically disclose, however Merchan teaches
wherein the device unique function comprises one of a physically unclonable function (PUF) and a message authentication code (MAC) [Merchan, paragraphs 45-48].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a message authentication code in order to provide additional security for a system. It would have been obvious to combine Merchan with Wang-Marpe as all arts relate to a similar concept.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 14, 18-20, 26, 38, 42-44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433