DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Final Office Action in response to preliminary amendments received on 4/22/26.
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-12, 15, 17-18, 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 6-8,10,13-14,16,19, 21-27 have been amended.
Therefore, Claims 6-8,10,13-14,16,19, 21-27 are now pending and have been addressed below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant cancelled Claim 2 to overcome the 35 U.S.C 112b rejections. Examiner withdraws the 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections with respect to these and all depending claims unless otherwise indicated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-8,10,13-14,16,19, 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
In the instant case, claims 6,10,13-14,16,19, 21-27 are directed to a method, claim 7 is directed to a non-transitory medium and claim 8 is directed to a system. Thus, the claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong 1 Identifying a Judicial Exception
Under Step 2A, prong 1, Claims 6-8,10,13-14,16,19, 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claims 6, 7 and 8 recite methods for fire protection asset that includes reading a machine-readable code or tag, the machine-readable code or tag comprising fire protection asset information, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier; reading the machine-readable code or tag, to send and/or receive fire protection asset information; wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data.
These limitations as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers methods of organizing human activity (including commercial interactions such as business relations, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) including interaction between person and computer), but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the structural elements (such as, Claims 6-8 fire sprinkler or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, a fire protection asset, reading device, one or more database, Claim 7 non-transitory medium, computer readable code, Claim 8 server, processor ), the claims are directed to determining a fire safety attribute of a fire protection asset including fire sprinkler, sprinkler heard or adaptor. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of receiving data, analyzing it, and providing fire safety attribute for asset. In particular, the claims only recites the additional element – Claims 6-8 fire sprinkler or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, a fire protection asset, reading device, one or more database, Claim 7 non-transitory medium, computer readable code, Claim 8 server, processor. The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims are directed to an abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic components is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims are directed to an abstract idea. When considered in combination, the claims do not amount to improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a), applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b), effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c), or applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(e). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Considering Additional Elements
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” to; provide fire safety attribute for asset. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The dependent claims are not significantly more because they are part of the identified judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The claims are not patent eligible. With respect to Claims 6-8 fire sprinkler or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, a fire protection asset, reading device, one or more database, Claim 7 non-transitory medium, computer readable code, Claim 8 server, processor, these limitations are described in Applicant’s own specification as generic and conventional elements. See Applicants specification, Paragraph [0130] details “ The computer module 201 typically includes at least one processor 205, and a memory 206 for example formed from semiconductor random access memory (RAM) and semiconductor read only memory (ROM)..” These are basic computer elements applied merely to carry out data processing such as, discussed above, receiving, analyzing, transmitting and displaying data, which fall under well-understood, routine and conventional functions of generic computers. Furthermore, the use of such generic computers to receive or transmit data over a network has been identified as a well understood, routine and conventional activity by the courts. See Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AVAuto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result-a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added)); Also see MPEP 2106.05(d) discussing elements that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine and conventional activities in particular fields. Lastly, the additional elements provides only a result-oriented solution which lacks details as to how the computer performs the claimed abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply the exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, these steps/components are not explicitly recited and therefore must be construed at the highest level of generality and amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Therefore, the claimed invention does not demonstrate a technologically rooted solution to a computer-centric problem or recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the function of any computer itself, applying the exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field, add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment such as computing. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Taking the additional claimed elements individually and in combination, the computer components at each step of the process perform purely generic computer functions. Viewed as a whole, the claims do not purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself, or to improve any other technology or technical field. Use of an unspecified, generic computer does not transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention. Thus, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 10, 13-14, 16, 19, 21-27 add additional limitations, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as Independent claims.
Claim 10, 19 recites wherein the fire protection asset is automatically activated by: a temperature responsive element, or [[more]] an automatically activated alarm; the one or more database an electronic alert [[when]] on a date or time-period associated with the stored one or more of the fire protection asset information and/or the one or more installation location information stored in the one or more database. These limitations further define the function of asset, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 13-14, 16, 23-24, 25 recites wherein the fire protection asset information comprises . These limitations further define the type of asset information, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 21, 27 recites wherein the counterfeit status or genuine part status is determined using a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset; the fire protection asset is positively identified, queried, and confirmed as fit for the intended purpose. These limitations further define the type of information for asset, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 22, 26 recites one or more database comprising fire protection information and fire protection asset information wherein the one or more database comprises a certification agency database wherein the one or more database shares data with a regulator and/or other industry participants. These limitations further define the type of information stored in database, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, dependent claims do not integrate into a practical application. As such, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application, but rather, the recitation of any additional element amounts to merely reciting the words “apply it” (or equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The dependent claims also do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are merely used to apply the abstract idea to a technological environment. These limitations do not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05d. Thus, the claims do not add significantly more to an abstract idea. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See (Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 10, 13-14, 16, 19, 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichard et al. (US 9,162,097 B2) in view of Verdegan et al. (US 9,597,620 B2), further in view of Jiang (CN103699978A) and Moren (US 11,126,966 B2).
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Pichard discloses the computer-implemented method for determining a fire safety attribute of a fire asset (Col 1 lines 20-22 A pressure extinguisher, for example, comprises a tank of extinguishing agent designed to put out the fire, and a pressurized gas cartridge. (Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified), the method comprising:
Pichard discloses reading with at least one reading device a machine-readable code or tag disposed on fire asset (Fig 3 # 281 reading device), the machine- readable code or tag comprising fire protection asset information for the respective machine-readable fire asset on which the machine-readable code or tag is disposed, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier for each respective machine-readable fire asset (Fig 3 # 281 reading device, Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. he corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.);
Pichard discloses the reading device configured to send and/or receive fire protection asset information from and/or to one or more database (Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. he corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.);
Pichard discloses interrogating the one or more database comprising fire protection asset information, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier received from at least one reading device for each fire protection asset (Fig 3 # 281 reading device, Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266, Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified (query), Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system);
Pichard discloses providing a result extracted from the one or more database, the result comprising at least the unique identifier for each fire protection asset and the fire safety attribute to thereby determine the fire safety attribute (Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified, Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified; Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. The corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-I (result), the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n. (fire safety attribute));
Pichard does not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor; wherein the attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information, installation location, installation date data, installer data, and asset performance data. Pichard teaches a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset (Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.)
Verdegan teaches wherein the attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status. (Fig 1 # is marker detected; yes filter is genuine; No filter is counterfeit, Col 4 lines 49-60 detecting the presence of a genuine serviceable product component in an engine includes detecting, with an interface module, information from a serviceable product component, and receiving, with an electronic control module, the information detected from the interface module. A determination is made as to whether the product component is genuine based on the information received from the interface module. Such a determination is made by use of an identity module that has an identity component and a status of use component, where the information contained therein is configured to indicate that the product component is genuine., Fig 21# 2100 and Col 24 lines 23-30 In FIG. 21, a component Identity Code is found to be not valid at the time of product activation and the operator is warned that the component may be defective, incorrect, non-genuine, or counterfeit. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status, as disclosed by Verdegan in the system disclosed by Pichard/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for determination whether the product component is genuine based on the information received to prevent or at least limit counterfeiting/unauthorized use and to improve system reliability. (Col 1 lines 15-18 Verdegan)
Pichard/Verdegan do not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. However, Pichard teaches installation location information. (Col 3 lines 27-32the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher.)
Jiang teaches a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets ([0008] the code device on the corresponding firefighting device, the barcode information of the fire-fighting equipment for matching); the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. ([0010] the basic information of the firefighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information. Installation information of the firefighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information [0019] installation information for firefighting device, Page 6 Claim 4 fire information comprises basic information of the firefighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance, as disclosed by Jiang in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire-fighting equipment by obtaining the unique bar code matching of the fire-fighting equipment, send and display on the mobile terminal, the information comprises the basic information, installation information, network information and the associated maintenance information will be generated. ([0026] Jiang)
Pichard teaches fire protection equipment/asset such as extinguisher (Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n). Jiang teaches firefighting devices ([0010]. However, Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang do not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor
Moren teaches the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor (Col 1 lines 22-25assets requiring annual or regular inspection are fire sprinkler systems, fire alarm systems, kitchen hood systems, fire extinguishers Col 4 lines 21-32the fire sprinkler industry, national code requires annual inspections of fire sprinkler systems and related components (such as standpipes, fire department connections, fire pumps). In one embodiment, the fire marshal/building official will input information via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection. A year later, the property owner will receive notice (via email, physical mail, or other) that the fire sprinkler system is due for annual inspection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, as disclosed by Moren in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire sprinkler system via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection and sending notice for fire sprinkler when annual inspection is due (Col 4 lines 21-30 Moren)
Regarding Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Pichard discloses the non-transitory computer program product ( Col 3 lines 26-32 the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher.) comprising:
Pichard discloses a computer usable medium and computer readable program code embodied on said computer usable medium for determining a fire safety attribute of a fire protection asset, the computer readable code comprising (Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266, Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified (query), Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system);
Pichard discloses computer readable program code devices (ii) configured to cause the computer to interrogate the one or more database comprising the fire protection asset information, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier for each fire protection asset , the unique identifier received from at least one reading device a machine-readable code or tag disposed on fire asset (Fig 3 # 281 reading device, Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266, Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified (query), Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system);
Pichard discloses the machine- readable code or tag comprising fire protection asset information for the respective machine-readable fire asset on which the machine-readable code or tag is disposed, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier for each respective machine-readable fire asset (Fig 3 # 281 reading device, Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. he corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.);
Pichard discloses the reading device configured to send and/or receive fire protection asset information from and/or to one or more database (Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. he corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.);
Pichard discloses computer readable program code devices (ii) configured to cause the computer to provide a result extracted from the one or more database, the result comprising at least the unique identifier for each fire protection asset and the fire safety attribute to thereby determine the fire safety attribute (Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified, Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified; Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. The corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-I (result), the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n. (fire safety attribute));,
Pichard does not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor; wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information, installation location, installation date data, installer data, and asset performance data. Pichard teaches a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset (Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.
Verdegan teaches wherein the attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status. (Fig 1 # is marker detected; yes filter is genuine; No filter is counterfeit, Col 4 lines 49-60 detecting the presence of a genuine serviceable product component in an engine includes detecting, with an interface module, information from a serviceable product component, and receiving, with an electronic control module, the information detected from the interface module. A determination is made as to whether the product component is genuine based on the information received from the interface module. Such a determination is made by use of an identity module that has an identity component and a status of use component, where the information contained therein is configured to indicate that the product component is genuine., Fig 21# 2100 and Col 24 lines 23-30 In FIG. 21, a component Identity Code is found to be not valid at the time of product activation and the operator is warned that the component may be defective, incorrect, non-genuine, or counterfeit. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status, as disclosed by Verdegan in the system disclosed by Pichard/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for determination whether the product component is genuine based on the information received to prevent or at least limit counterfeiting/unauthorized use and to improve system reliability. (Col 1 lines 15-18 Verdegan)
Pichard/Verdegan do not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. However, Pichard teaches installation location information. (Col 3 lines 27-32the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher.)
Jiang teaches a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets ([0008] the code device on the corresponding firefighting device, the barcode information of the fire-fighting equipment for matching); the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. ([0010] the basic information of the firefighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information. Installation information of the fire fighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information, [0019] installation information for fire fighting device, Page 6 Claim 4 fire information comprises basic information of the fire fighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance, as disclosed by Jiang in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire-fighting equipment by obtaining the unique bar code matching of the fire-fighting equipment, send and display on the mobile terminal, the information comprises the basic information, installation information, network information and the associated maintenance information will be generated. ([0026] Jiang)
Pichard teaches fire protection equipment/asset such as extinguisher (Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n). Jiang teaches fire fighting devices ([0010]. However, Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang do not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor
Moren teaches the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor (Col 1 lines 22-25assets requiring annual or regular inspection are fire sprinkler systems, fire alarm systems, kitchen hood systems, fire extinguishers Col 4 lines 21-32the fire sprinkler industry, national code requires annual inspections of fire sprinkler systems and related components (such as standpipes, fire department connections, fire pumps). In one embodiment, the fire marshal/building official will input information via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection. A year later, the property owner will receive notice (via email, physical mail, or other) that the fire sprinkler system is due for annual inspection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, as disclosed by Moren in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire sprinkler system via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection and sending notice for fire sprinkler when annual inspection is due (Col 4 lines 21-30 Moren)
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Pichard discloses computer server-based system for determining a fire safety attribute of a fire protection asset ( Col 1 lines 20-22 A pressure extinguisher, for example, comprises a tank of extinguishing agent designed to put out the fire, and a pressurized gas cartridge.), the system comprising:
at least one reading device a machine-readable code or tag disposed on fire asset (Fig 3 # 281 reading device, Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266, Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified (query), Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system); the machine- readable code or tag comprising fire protection asset information for the respective machine-readable fire asset on which the machine-readable code or tag is disposed, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier for each respective machine-readable fire asset (Fig 3 # 281 reading device, Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. he corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.);
Pichard discloses the reading device configured to send and/or receive fire protection asset information from and/or to one or more database (Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. he corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.);
Pichard discloses the one or more server adapted to receive a query comprising at least one unique identifier for a machine-readable fire protection asset (Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266, Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified (query), Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system);
Pichard discloses a processor to cause the computer to interrogate one or more database comprising fire protection asset information, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier for each fire protection asset, the interrogation based on the received query (Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified, Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system; and
Pichard discloses the one or more server adapted to provide a result extracted from the one or more database, the result comprising at least the unique identifier for each fire protection asset and the fire safety attribute to thereby determine the fire safety attribute (Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. The corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-I (result), the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n. (fire safety attribute));,
Pichard does not specifically teach wherein the attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information, installation location, installation date data, installer data, and asset performance data. Pichard teaches a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset (Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.
Verdegan teaches wherein the attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status. (Fig 1 # is marker detected; yes filter is genuine; No filter is counterfeit, Col 4 lines 49-60 detecting the presence of a genuine serviceable product component in an engine includes detecting, with an interface module, information from a serviceable product component, and receiving, with an electronic control module, the information detected from the interface module. A determination is made as to whether the product component is genuine based on the information received from the interface module. Such a determination is made by use of an identity module that has an identity component and a status of use component, where the information contained therein is configured to indicate that the product component is genuine., Fig 21# 2100 and Col 24 lines 23-30 In FIG. 21, a component Identity Code is found to be not valid at the time of product activation and the operator is warned that the component may be defective, incorrect, non-genuine, or counterfeit. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status, as disclosed by Verdegan in the system disclosed by Pichard/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for determination whether the product component is genuine based on the information received to prevent or at least limit counterfeiting/unauthorized use and to improve system reliability. (Col 1 lines 15-18 Verdegan)
Pichard/Verdegan do not specifically teach and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. However, Pichard teaches installation location information. (Col 3 lines 27-32the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher.)
Jiang teaches a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets ([0008] the code device on the corresponding fire fighting device, the barcode information of the fire-fighting equipment for matching); the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. ([0010] the basic information of the fire fighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information. Installation information of the fire fighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information [0019] installation information for fire fighting device, Page 6 Claim 4 fire information comprises basic information of the fire fighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance, as disclosed by Jiang in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire-fighting equipment by obtaining the unique bar code matching of the fire-fighting equipment, send and display on the mobile terminal, the information comprises the basic information, installation information, network information and the associated maintenance information will be generated. ([0026] Jiang)
Pichard teaches fire protection equipment/asset such as extinguisher (Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n). Jiang teaches fire fighting devices ([0010]. However, Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang do not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor
Moren teaches the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor (Col 1 lines 22-25assets requiring annual or regular inspection are fire sprinkler systems, fire alarm systems, kitchen hood systems, fire extinguishers Col 4 lines 21-32the fire sprinkler industry, national code requires annual inspections of fire sprinkler systems and related components (such as standpipes, fire department connections, fire pumps). In one embodiment, the fire marshal/building official will input information via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection. A year later, the property owner will receive notice (via email, physical mail, or other) that the fire sprinkler system is due for annual inspection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, as disclosed by Moren in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire sprinkler system via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection and sending notice for fire sprinkler when annual inspection is due (Col 4 lines 21-30 Moren)
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according to claim 6
Pichard teaches wherein the fire protection asset is automatically activated by: a temperature responsive element, or an automatically activated alarm. (Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.)
Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang do not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor
Moren teaches the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor (Col 1 lines 22-25assets requiring annual or regular inspection are fire sprinkler systems, fire alarm systems, kitchen hood systems, fire extinguishers Col 4 lines 21-32the fire sprinkler industry, national code requires annual inspections of fire sprinkler systems and related components (such as standpipes, fire department connections, fire pumps). In one embodiment, the fire marshal/building official will input information via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection. A year later, the property owner will receive notice (via email, physical mail, or other) that the fire sprinkler system is due for annual inspection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, as disclosed by Moren in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire sprinkler system via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection and sending notice for fire sprinkler when annual inspection is due (Col 4 lines 21-30 Moren)
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method claim 6
Pichard teaches wherein the machine-readable code or tag is one or more of an RFID chip (Col 2 lines 11-15 the identifying means comprise a device for identification by RF. According to an embodiment, the identifying means comprise an optical reader and image processing means for processing an image coming from the optical reader. Col 4 lines 65-67The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.); a QR code; a bar code or a SIM card.
Regarding Claim 14. (Currently Amended) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according claim 6
Pichard teaches wherein the fire protection asset information comprises installation location information. (Col 3 lines 27-32the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher. Col 6 lines 66-67, Col 7 lines 1-6 the data table contains the identifying codes of all the extinguisher mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n, the corresponding locations of said mounts and the type of extinguisher that must be used in each location. The data table contains the extinguisher identifying codes of the different extinguishers, the nature of the extinguishers and, where appropriate, the identifying code of the mounts on which they must be placed.))
Regarding Claim 16. (Currently Amended) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according to claim 14
Pichard does not specifically teach wherein the installation location information comprises one or more of: building address; internal location of the fire- protection asset; risk rating; occupancy type; GPS coordinates; height of the fire protection asset above the floor; design standard; drawings of the installation location; general drawings; and associated schedules; and reference to a database or list of regulations or standards to confirm compliance.
Jiang teaches wherein the installation location information comprises one or more of: building address; internal location of the fire- protection asset; risk rating; occupancy type; GPS coordinates; height of the fire protection asset above the floor; design standard; drawings of the installation location; general drawings; and associated schedules; and reference to a database or list of regulations or standards to confirm compliance. ([0010] the basic information of the fire fighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information. Installation information of the fire fighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information (building address))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the installation location information comprises one or more of: building address; internal location of the fire- protection asset; risk rating; occupancy type; GPS coordinates; height of the fire protection asset above the floor; design standard; drawings of the installation location; general drawings; and associated schedules; and reference to a database or list of regulations or standards to confirm compliance, as disclosed by Jiang in the system disclosed by Pichard, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire-fighting equipment by obtaining the unique bar code matching of the fire-fighting equipment, send and display on the mobile terminal, the information comprises the basic information, installation information, network information and the associated maintenance information will be generated. ([0026] Jiang)
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently Amended) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according to claim 14
Pichard teaches wherein the one or more database provides an electronic alert on a date or time-period associated with the stored one or more of the fire protection asset information and/or the one or more installation location information stored in the one or more database. (Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-67 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n. Col 7 lines 1-6 the data table contains the identifying codes of all the extinguisher mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n, the corresponding locations of said mounts and the type of extinguisher that must be used in each location. The data table contains the extinguisher identifying codes of the different extinguishers, the nature of the extinguishers and, where appropriate, the identifying code of the mounts on which they must be placed.))
Regarding Claim 21. (New) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according to claim 26
Pichard/Jiang do not specifically teach wherein the counterfeit status or genuine part status is determined using a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each asset. Pichard teaches a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset (Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.
Verdegan teaches wherein the counterfeit status or genuine part status is determined using a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each asset. (Fig 1 # is marker detected; yes filter is genuine; No filter is counterfeit, Col 4 lines 49-60 detecting the presence of a genuine serviceable product component in an engine includes detecting, with an interface module, information from a serviceable product component, and receiving, with an electronic control module, the information detected from the interface module. A determination is made as to whether the product component is genuine based on the information received from the interface module. Such a determination is made by use of an identity module that has an identity component and a status of use component, where the information contained therein is configured to indicate that the product component is genuine., Fig 21# 2100 and Col 24 lines 23-30 In FIG. 21, a component Identity Code is found to be not valid at the time of product activation and the operator is warned that the component may be defective, incorrect, non-genuine, or counterfeit. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the counterfeit status or genuine part status is determined using a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each asset, as disclosed by Verdegan in the system disclosed by Pichard/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for determination whether the product component is genuine based on the information received to prevent or at least limit counterfeiting/unauthorized use and to improve system reliability. (Col 1 lines 15-18 Verdegan)
Regarding Claim 22. (New) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the system according to claim 6
Pichard teaches wherein the one or more database (Col 7 lines 12-20 the data table contains not only an identifier of the extinguisher but also its nature (water, foam, various types of powder, gases such as carbon dioxide, halon, etc.) or even the last maintenance inspection date, or other information relating to operations to be carried out, e.g. in the context of regulatory or maintenance procedures.). However, Pichard does not specifically teach database comprises a certification agency database.
Moren teaches database comprises a certification agency database. (Col 1 lines 16-24 A system for a web based compliance registry including a database configured to store owned asset information. A user interface in data communication with the database configured to show owned asset information on a display. A handheld device configured to wirelessly connect to the user interface and with the database in order to input and view owned asset data wirelessly and specific information based on its global position., Col 7 lines 12-22 the owned asset is a fire hydrant inspection database. The web based compliance registry is shown to the user using a web interface. The web interface is linked to at least one database 380 containing web based compliance registry information. In one embodiment, the web enabled interface is connected to both a proprietary mobility server 310 and a global registry of hydrants database 380 in order to exchange information related to fire hydrants 360. Hydrant information is stored in the database 380 and using a search program allows users to manipulate or view hydrant data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included database comprises a certification agency database, as disclosed by Moren in the system disclosed by Pichard/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for web enabled interface to connect to both a proprietary mobility server 310 and a global registry of hydrants database 380 in order to exchange information related to fire hydrants 360 (Col 7 lines 12-20 Moren)
Regarding Claim 23. (New) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according to claim 10
Pichard teaches wherein the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of: unique serial number (Fig 2 # 266 identifying code for asset and Col 4 lines 65-67 the extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.); asset type (Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified, Col 4 lines 56-60The extinguisher 260 is a pressure extinguisher, which comprises a tank 264 containing an extinguishing agent, which makes it possible to extinguish a fire, and a pressurized gas cartridge.); asset specification data (Col 6 lines 66-67, Col 7 lines 1-6 the data table contains the identifying codes of all the extinguisher mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n, the corresponding locations of said mounts and the type of extinguisher (asset specification) that must be used in each location.); batch information; hardware information; frequency of use data; operating environment data; other production information; a photograph; and installer data.
Also, Jiang teaches wherein the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of: unique serial number ([0010] the basic information of the fire fighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information; installation information of the fire fighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information; online information of the fire-fighting equipment, wherein the online information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: label number of the device, access time, operation state, the period information maintaining information of the fire fighting device, wherein maintenance information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to: checking, maintenance, maintenance information of the device.)
Regarding Claim 24. (New) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according claim 23
Pichard teaches wherein the asset specification data comprises asset warranty and/or asset longevity information. (Col 7 lines 7-25 It can also check that the extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n are of the type intended at the location of the mount in question. For this, the data table contains not only an identifier of the extinguisher but also its nature (water, foam, various types of powder, gases such as carbon dioxide, halon, etc.) or even the last maintenance inspection date, or other information relating to operations to be carried out, e.g. in the context of regulatory or maintenance procedures. In the same way, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that extinguishers of the correct type are placed at the right location. In a second embodiment of the extinguisher identifying device, shown in FIG. 6, the extinguisher identifying device 380 also comprises a verification device 340 for detecting an operating fault of the extinguisher identifying device 380; and a signaling device 350 able to signal the operating fault in the extinguisher identifying device detected by the verification device 340, at the location of the extinguisher identifying device 380. (asset longevity information))
Regarding Claim 25. (New) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according claim 14
Pichard teaches wherein the installation location information is reviewed to provide an approved replacement fire protection asset when replacement is required or detected to be required. (Col 1 lines 41-48 During verification operations, or even in the event of work in the premises, an extinguisher of a given type can be put back incorrectly in a location for which another type of extinguisher was intended. In order to limit this risk, specific mounts (replacement asset) have been envisaged in order to prevent a given type of extinguisher from being mechanically received on a mount intended for another type of extinguisher. Col 9 lines 55-62when the extinguisher is no longer present in its operating position the communications module 683 is activated to automatically send an extinguisher absence signal to the central monitoring station 100 of the security system by the connection 50. Since the communications device is only activated when the extinguisher is absent, economies in the power supply of the extinguisher presence detection device 680 are realized. Col 6 lines 66-67, Col 7 lines 1-6 the data table contains the identifying codes of all the extinguisher mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n, the corresponding locations of said mounts and the type of extinguisher that must be used in each location. The data table contains the extinguisher identifying codes of the different extinguishers, the nature of the extinguishers and, where appropriate, the identifying code of the mounts on which they must be placed.))
Regarding Claim 26. (New) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according to claim 6
Pichard teaches wherein the one or more database shares data with a regulator and/or other industry participants. (Col 7 lines 7-25 It can also check that the extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n are of the type intended at the location of the mount in question. For this, the data table contains not only an identifier of the extinguisher but also its nature (water, foam, various types of powder, gases such as carbon dioxide, halon, etc.) or even the last maintenance inspection date, or other information relating to operations to be carried out, e.g. in the context of regulatory or maintenance procedures. In the same way, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that extinguishers of the correct type are placed at the right location. In a second embodiment of the extinguisher identifying device, shown in FIG. 6, the extinguisher identifying device 380 also comprises a verification device 340 for detecting an operating fault of the extinguisher identifying device 380; and a signaling device 350 able to signal the operating fault in the extinguisher identifying device detected by the verification device 340, at the location of the extinguisher identifying device 380. Col 6 lines 66-67, Col 7 lines 1-6 the data table contains the identifying codes of all the extinguisher mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n, the corresponding locations of said mounts and the type of extinguisher that must be used in each location. The data table contains the extinguisher identifying codes of the different extinguishers, the nature of the extinguishers and, where appropriate, the identifying code of the mounts on which they must be placed.)
Regarding Claim 27. (New) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang/Moren teaches the method according to claim 6
Pichard teaches the fire protection asset is positively identified, queried, and confirmed as fit for the intended purpose. (Col 2 lines 51-62 the device also comprises means for checking the operating condition of the extinguisher identifying device so as to supply information representative of the operating condition to the management device. According to an embodiment, the operating condition verification means are arranged so as to verify the power status of the extinguisher identifying device. According to an embodiment, the operating condition verification means are arranged so as to measure a parameter representative of the quantity of power remaining in the power source., Col 3 lines 33-40 the data processing means are arranged so as to obtain the data identifying the extinguisher's mount; the data identifying the extinguisher; and so as to verify that the data identifying the extinguisher's mount correspond to the data provided for identifying the extinguisher.)
Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang do not specifically teach the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor
Moren teaches the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor (Col 1 lines 22-25assets requiring annual or regular inspection are fire sprinkler systems, fire alarm systems, kitchen hood systems, fire extinguishers Col 4 lines 21-32the fire sprinkler industry, national code requires annual inspections of fire sprinkler systems and related components (such as standpipes, fire department connections, fire pumps). In one embodiment, the fire marshal/building official will input information via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection. A year later, the property owner will receive notice (via email, physical mail, or other) that the fire sprinkler system is due for annual inspection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire sprinkler, or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, as disclosed by Moren in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire sprinkler system via the online registry regarding properties with fire sprinkler systems after initial inspection and sending notice for fire sprinkler when annual inspection is due (Col 4 lines 21-30 Moren)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments regarding 101 rejection have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant on page 11 states that claims are not directed to organizing human activity. The claim limitations as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers methods of organizing human activity (including commercial interactions such as business relations, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) including interaction between person and computer), but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the structural elements (such as, Claims 6-8 fire sprinkler or fire sprinkler head or fire sprinkler adaptor, a fire protection asset, reading device, one or more database, Claim 7 non-transitory medium, computer readable code, Claim 8 server, processor ), the claims are directed to determining a fire safety attribute of a fire protection asset including fire sprinkler, sprinkler heard or adaptor. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 103 rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New limitations have been addressed above. Jiang teaches the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. ([0010] the basic information of the fire fighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information. Installation information of the fire fighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information [0019] installation information for fire fighting device, Page 6 Claim 4 fire information comprises basic information of the fire fighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN109448293 discloses system for fire protection, comprising a fire protection device collecting module, a monitoring module, an inspection module, fire pre-warning module, fire pre-warning module, fire protection cloud interaction platform and management. fire protection device collecting module for collecting the fire protection device information monitoring module is used for monitoring each floor fire protection equipment, inspection module for daily fire protection device inspection, fire pre-warning module is used for warning the fire floor and extinguish manner using the corresponding cloud interaction platform and fire protection for the fire protection device.
Wang (US 2013/0342325) discloses a processor to perform a firefighting apparatus checking method. The method is carried-out by sending an electronic map to an electronic device (50) based on a determination that identification information contained in access request matches identification information stored in a storage system. A check file corresponding to a firefighting apparatus (60) is received from the electronic device after a user checks each apparatus
(KR101932136B1) discloses monitoring a fire protection system comprises one or more processors and one or more memories to store instructions executable by the processors. The system includes: a database unit to classify and store management information of a first fire protection system connected via a network to be controlled by a manager terminal and a second fire protection system to be controlled only by manual control of a manager; a test unit to use the management information of the first and second fire protection system stored in the database unit
Moren (US 11,126,966) discloses the fire protection system (Col 1 lines 39-42 In order to ensure that a fire hydrant is working and is capable to dispense water the hydrant is preferably inspected annually. The hydrant is usually inspected by a range of individuals including but not limited to a citizen, an owner, a water purveyor, a firefighter, and/or a fire marshal. An inspector will record information about the hydrants location and operability.) comprising: Moren teaches a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets (Col 1 lines 22-30 assets requiring annual or regular inspection are fire sprinkler systems, fire alarm systems, kitchen hood systems, fire extinguishers, emergency lighting systems, backflow preventers, bridges, fire hydrants, catch basins, retention ponds, electrical systems, heating/venting/air conditioning systems, plumbing systems, aircraft, vehicles, school transportation vehicles, cranes, powerplants, dams, stormwater runoff, animals, industrial sites, environmental interests, housing, real estate, boilers, farm equipment, viaducts, tunnels, businesses, financials, pharmaceutical caches, weapon caches, amusement parks/rides, elevators, escalators, pilings, piers, safety equipment, kitchens, and others.), the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. (Col 7 lines 9-20 Once connected to the internet 320, the client device 370 accesses a web based compliance registry configured to show information on inspection compliance for an owned asset. In one embodiment, the owned asset is a fire hydrant inspection database. The web based compliance registry is shown to the user using a web interface. The web interface is linked to at least one database 380 containing web based compliance registry information. In one embodiment, the web enabled interface is connected to both a proprietary mobility server 310 and a global registry of hydrants database 380 in order to exchange information related to fire hydrants 360. Hydrant information is stored in the database 380 and using a search program allows users to manipulate or view hydrant data. Fig 20 # hydrant information such as Make (manufacturer information, manufacture year) Col 10 lines 10-14 The global registry is intended to assist the government, private owners, insurance bureaus, businesses, and the general public in providing information regarding hydrant condition, location, and water quality.)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANGEETA BAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626