DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Non-Final Office Action in response to preliminary amendments received on 9/16/24.
Claims 1, 4-5, 9, 15, 17-18, 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 10-14, 16, 19 have been amended.
Claims 21-27 have been added.
Therefore, Claims 2-3,6-8,10-14,16, 19, 21-27 are now pending and have been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the fire safety attribute" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are rejected due to their dependence from claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-3,6-8,10-14,16, 16, 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
In the instant case, claims 2-3, 8, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-27 are directed to a system, claim 7 is directed to a non-transitory medium and claim 6 is directed to a method. Thus, the claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong 1 Identifying a Judicial Exception
Under Step 2A, prong 1, Claims 2-3,6-8,10-14,16, 16, 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claims 2, 6, 7 and 8 recite methods for fire protection asset that includes a machine-readable code or tag, the machine-readable code or tag comprising fire protection asset information, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier; reading the machine-readable code or tag, to send and/or receive fire protection asset information; wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data.
These limitations as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers methods of organizing human activity (including commercial interactions such as business relations, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) including interaction between person and computer), but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the structural elements (such as Claim 2 a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets, reading device, one or more database, Claim 6 a fire protection asset, database, Claim 7 non-transitory medium, computer readable code, device, database, Claim 8 fire protection asset, server, processor, database), the claims are directed to determining a fire safety attribute of a fire protection asset. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of receiving data, analyzing it, and providing fire safety attribute for asset. In particular, the claims only recites the additional element – Claim 2 a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets, reading device, one or more database, Claim 6 a fire protection asset, database, Claim 7 non-transitory medium, computer readable code, device, database, Claim 8 fire protection asset, server, processor, database. The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims are directed to an abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic components is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims are directed to an abstract idea. When considered in combination, the claims do not amount to improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a), applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b), effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c), or applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(e). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Considering Additional Elements
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” to; provide fire safety attribute for asset. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The dependent claims are not significantly more because they are part of the identified judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The claims are not patent eligible. With respect to Claim 2 a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets, reading device, one or more database, Claim 6 a fire protection asset, database, Claim 7 non-transitory medium, computer readable code, device, database, Claim 8 fire protection asset, server, processor, database, these limitations are described in Applicant’s own specification as generic and conventional elements. See Applicants specification, Paragraph [0130] details “ The computer module 201 typically includes at least one processor 205, and a memory 206 for example formed from semiconductor random access memory (RAM) and semiconductor read only memory (ROM)..” These are basic computer elements applied merely to carry out data processing such as, discussed above, receiving, analyzing, transmitting and displaying data, which fall under well-understood, routine and conventional functions of generic computers. Furthermore, the use of such generic computers to receive or transmit data over a network has been identified as a well understood, routine and conventional activity by the courts. See Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AVAuto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result-a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added)); Also see MPEP 2106.05(d) discussing elements that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine and conventional activities in particular fields. Lastly, the additional elements provides only a result-oriented solution which lacks details as to how the computer performs the claimed abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply the exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, these steps/components are not explicitly recited and therefore must be construed at the highest level of generality and amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Therefore, the claimed invention does not demonstrate a technologically rooted solution to a computer-centric problem or recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the function of any computer itself, applying the exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field, add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment such as computing. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Taking the additional claimed elements individually and in combination, the computer components at each step of the process perform purely generic computer functions. Viewed as a whole, the claims do not purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself, or to improve any other technology or technical field. Use of an unspecified, generic computer does not transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention. Thus, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 3, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-27 add additional limitations, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as Independent claims.
Claims 3, 22, 26 recites one or more database comprising fire protection information and fire protection asset information wherein the one or more database comprises a certification agency database wherein the one or more database shares data with a regulator and/or other industry participants. These limitations further define the type of information stored in database, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 10, 19 recites wherein the fire protection asset is automatically activatedprovides an electronic alert [[when]] on a date or time-period associated with the stored one or more of the fire protection asset information and/or the one or more installation location information stored in the one or more database. These limitations further define the function of asset, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 11-12, wherein the fire protection asset comprises a sprinkler; a flow meter; a valve such as, a shut off valve, a flow valve, an isolation valve or a drain valve; a gauge; a valve monitor; a pump; a switch such as, a pressure switch or a flow switch; a smoke detector; a siren; a pull station; a control point; an intercom point; a carbon monoxide monitor; a carbon dioxide monitor; a heat detector; or a passive fire protection component wherein the fire protection asset is a fire sprinkler or fire sprinkler head; or fire sprinkler adaptor These limitations further define the type of asset, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 13-14, 16, 23-24, 25 recites wherein the fire protection asset information comprises . These limitations further define the type of asset information, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 21, 27 recites wherein the counterfeit status or genuine part status is determined using a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset; the fire protection asset is positively identified, queried, and confirmed as fit for the intended purpose. These limitations further define the type of information for asset, therefore narrowing the abstract idea of claim 2. The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, dependent claims do not integrate into a practical application. As such, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application, but rather, the recitation of any additional element amounts to merely reciting the words “apply it” (or equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The dependent claims also do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are merely used to apply the abstract idea to a technological environment. These limitations do not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05d. Thus, the claims do not add significantly more to an abstract idea. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See (Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 10, 13-14, 16, 19, 21, 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pichard et al. (US 9,162,097 B2) in view of Verdegan et al. (US 9,597,620 B2), further in view of Jiang (CN103699978A)
Regarding Claim 2. (Currently Amended), Pichard discloses the fire protection system ( Col 1 lines 20-22 A pressure extinguisher, for example, comprises a tank of extinguishing agent designed to put out the fire, and a pressurized gas cartridge.)
Pichard discloses a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets (Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified), each asset of the plurality comprising a machine-readable code or tag disposed on the respective machine- readable fire protection asset (Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266),
Pichard discloses the machine-readable code or tag comprising fire protection asset information for the respective machine-readable fire protection asset on which the machine-readable code or tag is disposed (Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified, Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.), the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier for each respective machine-readable fire protection asset (Col 4 lines 65-67The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.); and at least one reading device for reading the machine-readable code or tag (Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified),
Pichard discloses the reading device configured to send and/or receive fire protection asset information from and/or to one or more database (Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. he corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.);
Pichard does not specifically teach wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information, installation location, installation date data, installer data, and asset performance data. Pichard teaches a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset (Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.
Verdegan teaches wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status. (Fig 1 # is marker detected; yes filter is genuine; No filter is counterfeit, Col 4 lines 49-60 detecting the presence of a genuine serviceable product component in an engine includes detecting, with an interface module, information from a serviceable product component, and receiving, with an electronic control module, the information detected from the interface module. A determination is made as to whether the product component is genuine based on the information received from the interface module. Such a determination is made by use of an identity module that has an identity component and a status of use component, where the information contained therein is configured to indicate that the product component is genuine., Fig 21# 2100 and Col 24 lines 23-30 In FIG. 21, a component Identity Code is found to be not valid at the time of product activation and the operator is warned that the component may be defective, incorrect, non-genuine, or counterfeit. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status, as disclosed by Verdegan in the system disclosed by Pichard/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for determination whether the product component is genuine based on the information received to prevent or at least limit counterfeiting/unauthorized use and to improve system reliability. (Col 1 lines 15-18 Verdegan)
Pichard/Verdegan do not specifically teach and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. However, Pichard teaches installation location information. (Col 3 lines 27-32the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher.)
Jiang teaches a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets ([0008] the code device on the corresponding firefighting device, the barcode information of the fire-fighting equipment for matching); the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. ([0010] the basic information of the firefighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information. Installation information of the firefighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance, as disclosed by Jiang in the system disclosed by Pichard, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire-fighting equipment by obtaining the unique bar code matching of the fire-fighting equipment, send and display on the mobile terminal, the information comprises the basic information, installation information, network information and the associated maintenance information will be generated. ([0026] Jiang)
Regarding Claim 3. (Currently Amended) Pichard/Verdegan/Jiang teaches the system of claim 2 further comprising
Pichard teaches the one or more database comprising fire protection information and fire protection asset information. (Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n.)
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Pichard discloses the computer-implemented method for determining a fire safety attribute of a fire protection asset (Col 1 lines 20-22 A pressure extinguisher, for example, comprises a tank of extinguishing agent designed to put out the fire, and a pressurized gas cartridge., the method comprising:
Pichard discloses interrogating one or more database comprising fire protection asset information, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier for each fire protection asset (Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266, Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified (query), Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system);
Pichard discloses providing a result extracted from the one or more database, the result comprising at least the unique identifier for each fire protection asset and the fire safety attribute to thereby determine the fire safety attribute (Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified, Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified; Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. The corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-I (result), the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n. (fire safety attribute));,
Pichard does not specifically teach wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information, installation location, installation date data, installer data, and asset performance data. Pichard teaches a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset (Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.
Verdegan teaches wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status. (Fig 1 # is marker detected; yes filter is genuine; No filter is counterfeit, Col 4 lines 49-60 detecting the presence of a genuine serviceable product component in an engine includes detecting, with an interface module, information from a serviceable product component, and receiving, with an electronic control module, the information detected from the interface module. A determination is made as to whether the product component is genuine based on the information received from the interface module. Such a determination is made by use of an identity module that has an identity component and a status of use component, where the information contained therein is configured to indicate that the product component is genuine., Fig 21# 2100 and Col 24 lines 23-30 In FIG. 21, a component Identity Code is found to be not valid at the time of product activation and the operator is warned that the component may be defective, incorrect, non-genuine, or counterfeit. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status, as disclosed by Verdegan in the system disclosed by Pichard/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for determination whether the product component is genuine based on the information received to prevent or at least limit counterfeiting/unauthorized use and to improve system reliability. (Col 1 lines 15-18 Verdegan)
Pichard/Verdegan do not specifically teach and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. However, Pichard teaches installation location information. (Col 3 lines 27-32the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher.)
Jiang teaches a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets ([0008] the code device on the corresponding firefighting device, the barcode information of the fire-fighting equipment for matching); the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. ([0010] the basic information of the firefighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information. Installation information of the firefighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance, as disclosed by Jiang in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire-fighting equipment by obtaining the unique bar code matching of the fire-fighting equipment, send and display on the mobile terminal, the information comprises the basic information, installation information, network information and the associated maintenance information will be generated. ([0026] Jiang)
Regarding Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Pichard discloses the non-transitory computer program product ( Col 3 lines 26-32 the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher.) comprising:
Pichard discloses a computer usable medium and computer readable program code embodied on said computer usable medium for determining a fire safety attribute of a fire protection asset, the computer readable code comprising (Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266, Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified (query), Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system);
Pichard discloses computer readable program code devices (ii) configured to cause the computer to provide a result extracted from the one or more database, the result comprising at least the unique identifier for each fire protection asset and the fire safety attribute to thereby determine the fire safety attribute (Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified, Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified; Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. The corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-I (result), the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system. Col 6 lines 57-65 The central monitoring station 100 is configured to know the identifying code of each extinguisher 260-1 . . . 260-n placed on each mount 250-1 . . . 250-n according to data received from extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n. By comparing the identifying code of extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n and the identifying code of mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n held in a data table (database) in the memory 106, the central monitoring station 100 can verify that all the mounts 250-1 . . . 250-n correctly hold the intended extinguishers 260-1 . . . 260-n. (fire safety attribute));,
Pichard does not specifically teach wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information, installation location, installation date data, installer data, and asset performance data. Pichard teaches a unique serial number and/or the unique identifier for each fire protection asset (Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified.
Verdegan teaches wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status. (Fig 1 # is marker detected; yes filter is genuine; No filter is counterfeit, Col 4 lines 49-60 detecting the presence of a genuine serviceable product component in an engine includes detecting, with an interface module, information from a serviceable product component, and receiving, with an electronic control module, the information detected from the interface module. A determination is made as to whether the product component is genuine based on the information received from the interface module. Such a determination is made by use of an identity module that has an identity component and a status of use component, where the information contained therein is configured to indicate that the product component is genuine., Fig 21# 2100 and Col 24 lines 23-30 In FIG. 21, a component Identity Code is found to be not valid at the time of product activation and the operator is warned that the component may be defective, incorrect, non-genuine, or counterfeit. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the fire safety attribute comprises counterfeit status or genuine part status, as disclosed by Verdegan in the system disclosed by Pichard/Jiang, for the motivation of providing a method for determination whether the product component is genuine based on the information received to prevent or at least limit counterfeiting/unauthorized use and to improve system reliability. (Col 1 lines 15-18 Verdegan)
Pichard/Verdegan do not specifically teach and/or the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. However, Pichard teaches installation location information. (Col 3 lines 27-32the processing means are arranged so as to obtain information about the nature of the extinguishing agent contained in the extinguisher and/or the location of the extinguisher. According to an embodiment, the management device also comprises a memory for storing information about at least one extinguisher.)
Jiang teaches a plurality of machine-readable fire protection assets ([0008] the code device on the corresponding firefighting device, the barcode information of the fire-fighting equipment for matching); the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance data. ([0010] the basic information of the firefighting device, wherein the basic information of the fire-fighting equipment including, but not limited to: device name, manufacturer, device image information. Installation information of the fire fighting device, wherein the installation information of the fire-fighting equipment including but not limited to equipment installed in building, floor, the plane position information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the fire protection asset information comprises one or more of manufacturer information; installation location; installation date data; installer data; and asset performance, as disclosed by Jiang in the system disclosed by Pichard/Verdegan, for the motivation of providing a method for managing fire-fighting equipment by obtaining the unique bar code matching of the fire-fighting equipment, send and display on the mobile terminal, the information comprises the basic information, installation information, network information and the associated maintenance information will be generated. ([0026] Jiang)
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Pichard discloses computer server-based system for determining a fire safety attribute of a fire protection asset ( Col 1 lines 20-22 A pressure extinguisher, for example, comprises a tank of extinguishing agent designed to put out the fire, and a pressurized gas cartridge.), the system comprising:
Pichard discloses one or more server adapted to receive a query comprising at least one unique identifier for a machine-readable fire protection asset (Col 4 lines 42-45 a central monitoring station 100 connected by means of the wireless connections 50-1 . . . 50-n to extinguisher apparatuses 200-1 . . . 200-n, distributed in an area to be protected, Fig 1 # 200-1 – 200-n fire protection assets (extinguishers) Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified. Fig 1 #266 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266, Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified (query), Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system);
Pichard discloses a processor to cause the computer to interrogate one or more database comprising fire protection asset information, the fire protection asset information comprising a unique identifier for each fire protection asset, the interrogation based on the received query (Col 5 lines 2-6 a reading device 281 for reading the identifying code of the identifying element 266 allowing an extinguisher to be identified, Fig 2 # 266 and Col 4 lines 65-67 The extinguisher is equipped with an identifying element 266 that comprises an identifying code allowing the extinguisher 260 to be identified, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code 255 of the mount 250 of the extinguisher 260 can be transmitted to the control unit with the extinguisher identifying code 266. Data received from the reading device 280, it appears that an extinguisher 260-i is missing or that the wrong type of extinguisher 260-i is at a given location on a given mount 250-i, the central monitoring station 100 can then trigger an alarm or transmit this information to a management system; and
Pichard discloses the one or more server adapted to provide a result extracted from the one or more database, the result comprising at least the unique identifier for each fire protection asset and the fire safety attribute to thereby determine the fire safety attribute (Col 5 lines 12-40 the activation device 282 activates the reading device 281, which then inputs the extinguisher identifying code on the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260. The corresponding messages are received by the communications module 283 of the identifying device 280. In response, the activation circuit 282 activates the reading means of the reading device 281, which receives the identifying code of the identifying element 266 of the extinguisher 260 and transmits it to the communications module 283, Col 6 lines 22-27 The central monitoring station 100 also comprises a processor 105 to manage these means and memory 106 to store the data. The identifying code